Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Hilarious whether or not you're an NFL fan..."
Not for those easily offended by profanity or sexual innuendo, The League is the most entertaining, refreshingly witty show I've enjoyed since Arrested Development. The humor is simultaneously blatant and subtle, which may be due to the show's semi-scripted nature and the timing and the delivery of the actors, which are very well cast.

You don't need to...
Published on September 16, 2010 by Donna S. King

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good call if your love fantasy football
Love sports but I really felt it could be better. I'm hoping the next season is going to be a lot better.
Published 1 month ago by Christopher Meyer


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Hilarious whether or not you're an NFL fan...", September 16, 2010
This review is from: The League: Season 1 (DVD)
Not for those easily offended by profanity or sexual innuendo, The League is the most entertaining, refreshingly witty show I've enjoyed since Arrested Development. The humor is simultaneously blatant and subtle, which may be due to the show's semi-scripted nature and the timing and the delivery of the actors, which are very well cast.

You don't need to understand football, or be a fan of the NFL to enjoy The League, although it helps if you are familiar with the teams and the names of the players, if for nothing else to understand why the characters get so excited about the draft order and picks. If you have ever worked in, gone to school with, or been in a situation with a group of friends involved in any ongoing competitive event like a Fantasy Football League you will understand and enjoy this show, provided you have a broad sense of humor.

Tonight was the second season series premiere, and in true FX style it's aired practically every hour. I've watched it twice and my abdominal muscles are sore from laughing. Watch the first season "marathon" style before viewing the new episodes if you have the opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fans of fantasy football and crude humor, this is for you!, March 16, 2010
When I first saw the commercials for this show on FX I thought it could be funny. From the first scene I was hooked, this show has to be one of the funniest shows I have seen on television. Bravo to FX for releasing shows like this. If you like Its Always Sunny you may not find it funny after watching the league. The humor is straight in the gutter and although this is an FX show it still has a fair amount of language. Its mostly guy humor, tons of sex jokes, songs about genitalia, drug references, and a deal one couple makes so porn can be watched in the house.

With that in mind, and if you are still reading then you must be into some rotten humor like I am. If so, give this series a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Hate Fantasy Football, I Love The League, February 20, 2012
By 
KitKate (Charlottesville, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The League: Season 1 (DVD)
Stumbled across the League on Netflix and became hooked. Whether you love fantasy football, or can't stand it, this show will have you cracking up constantly. Extremely original content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Started watching this because of my boyfriend..., September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well the football season just started and with my boyfriend in current action with his fantasy football team, I thought this would be the perfect show. We both watch it and we love it. Its sexually humorous and great comedy. Worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shiva!!, July 25, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The League: Season 1 (DVD)
Great TV show! It starts off as a show about Fantasy Football but as the series goes on, the FF is in the background! So many great characters on this show. Watch it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this show., October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The League: Season 1 (DVD)
One of the funniest shows on TV!

You'll like this if you like:

Arrested Development
It's Always Sunny In Philadelphia
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, October 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The League: Season 1 (DVD)
I watched the season before buying. I really liked the extra scenes sections or gaffe reals. If you liked the broadcast versions then buy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, September 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really funny show. Only six episodes in season one though. It might be worth it to watch this on Netflix instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, August 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've seen every episode and was showing this to a friend. This is one of the funniest shows ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Season, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think this is the best season. Apparently I purchased it and didn't remember... maybe someone purchased it on my account? oh well. I do like the first two, third is questionable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x93204528)

This product

The League: Season 1 [Blu-ray]
The League: Season 1 [Blu-ray] by League (Blu-ray - 2010)
$29.99 $14.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.