Customer Reviews


211 Reviews
5 star:
 (174)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Hilarious whether or not you're an NFL fan..."
Not for those easily offended by profanity or sexual innuendo, The League is the most entertaining, refreshingly witty show I've enjoyed since Arrested Development. The humor is simultaneously blatant and subtle, which may be due to the show's semi-scripted nature and the timing and the delivery of the actors, which are very well cast.

You don't need to...
Published on September 16, 2010 by Donna S. King

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
The writing is clever but it is a little slow sometimes.
Published 27 days ago by Miss Missy


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Hilarious whether or not you're an NFL fan...", September 16, 2010
This review is from: The League: Season 1 (DVD)
Not for those easily offended by profanity or sexual innuendo, The League is the most entertaining, refreshingly witty show I've enjoyed since Arrested Development. The humor is simultaneously blatant and subtle, which may be due to the show's semi-scripted nature and the timing and the delivery of the actors, which are very well cast.

You don't need to understand football, or be a fan of the NFL to enjoy The League, although it helps if you are familiar with the teams and the names of the players, if for nothing else to understand why the characters get so excited about the draft order and picks. If you have ever worked in, gone to school with, or been in a situation with a group of friends involved in any ongoing competitive event like a Fantasy Football League you will understand and enjoy this show, provided you have a broad sense of humor.

Tonight was the second season series premiere, and in true FX style it's aired practically every hour. I've watched it twice and my abdominal muscles are sore from laughing. Watch the first season "marathon" style before viewing the new episodes if you have the opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fans of fantasy football and crude humor, this is for you!, March 16, 2010
When I first saw the commercials for this show on FX I thought it could be funny. From the first scene I was hooked, this show has to be one of the funniest shows I have seen on television. Bravo to FX for releasing shows like this. If you like Its Always Sunny you may not find it funny after watching the league. The humor is straight in the gutter and although this is an FX show it still has a fair amount of language. Its mostly guy humor, tons of sex jokes, songs about genitalia, drug references, and a deal one couple makes so porn can be watched in the house.

With that in mind, and if you are still reading then you must be into some rotten humor like I am. If so, give this series a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Hate Fantasy Football, I Love The League, February 20, 2012
By 
KitKate (Charlottesville, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The League: Season 1 (DVD)
Stumbled across the League on Netflix and became hooked. Whether you love fantasy football, or can't stand it, this show will have you cracking up constantly. Extremely original content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extended Versions are An Absolute Gem, April 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The League: Season 1 (DVD)
My favorite NEW show..

Recently I've tried a few new comedy shows to get into. (Party Down, Parks & Recreation, Louie and The League of Shiva) Yeah, all of them were funny, but its The League that has truly won my heart though. I gotta say when this show first was released on FX I was in no way trying to get into it or even give it the time of day. The sixth season of Sunny was going on at the time and this show came on afterwards. Never watched longer than 5 minutes. Boy, do I not sure feel like I've missed something. This show is on point with it's humor. I laugh out loud each and every episode; can watch the same episode multiple times and it does not get old also. Each and every character offers something different to the show making each one of them a riot!
My personal favorite character is Kevin's wife. She is just perfect as the woman who is into the fantasy league just as much as her husband, if not more (picks his players, tells him who to use) yet plays it off like she isn't, it's great. The other characters include:
Taco, the over-sexed stoner who makes his own deodorant to save 4 dollars and knows hot girls drive Jettas.
Pete, the 3 time Shiva-bowl champ who is going through a divorce and who doesn't like surprise reach-arounds =)
Ruxin, or Rodney haha who is my second favorite and who is just such a douche I laugh at everything he says espeically the bounce test.
Kevin, whose fixated on winning, lets his wife choose his team and perform the usual bet.
and last but not least Andre, who is not the favorite by the league yet they all tolerate him to make fun of him. He is the typical goof-ball thats is easily influenced by his "friends". He loves him some Shiva =)

All these characters bring somehting different to the table and I promise you'll fall in love with all of em as I have...

This short season sadly only has six episodes in it. The episodes average around 21 to 22 minutes other than the pilot episode which is more like a half hour. The thing i found nice was that when you don't choose play all and select an episode you can select the extended version of the episodes. This was were a few "f" bombs were dropped, some very funny stories a lil too vulgar on tv were added in and some very dirty "quick on your feet" responses were given. The longer versions of the episodes do not seem drawn out or forced either. There is only an extra 2 minutes or so in each episode but the extended versions are a must see still. I am yet to look at all the special features yet but will get to it soon. I highly suggest this show...it's new, funny, vulgar, and it gets funnier as the season goes on and after the first initial viewing of the season. I purchased it a couple days back and it was like 10 bucks. Great deal, as I do this review now the price is 8.99. IT is honestly a steal. Check it out, catch up on both this season and season 2 which has already finished airing and should be coming on dvd soon enough here. I hope I've been helpful...Go watch THE LEAGUE
-Cam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classier Than A Russian House DJ, October 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The League: Season 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The League is one of my favorite shows currently on Television, making my Thursday evenings one of the most anticipated non-sports viewing times during the Fall. Season One was great and is even better on Blu-Ray. There are extended versions of each episode which don't add a lot of content but do remove any bleeping (for better or worse). There are not as many extra features as I would have liked (the only reason this is 4 stars and not 5) but they do have the full length music videos for Taco's songs as well as a few other solid items.

All-in-all, if you like the league this is probably worth purchasing for lifelong enjoyment and satisfaction. You'll be glad you pulled the trigger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Started watching this because of my boyfriend..., September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well the football season just started and with my boyfriend in current action with his fantasy football team, I thought this would be the perfect show. We both watch it and we love it. Its sexually humorous and great comedy. Worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, October 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The League: Season 1 (DVD)
Not a bad DVD, but you can find most if not all of it online. The show itself however. It's a great show. It's like Football, meets a comedy central roast, meets south park.

It's a group of friends that love football, their lives are all about fantasy football and their biggest goal outside of winning their league is insulting each other. It's one of the funniest shows you will watch and if you're not too familiar with FX tv shows, you might be surprised by what they can get away with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shiva!!, July 25, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The League: Season 1 (DVD)
Great TV show! It starts off as a show about Fantasy Football but as the series goes on, the FF is in the background! So many great characters on this show. Watch it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny!, November 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The League: Season 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This show is so funny! I have to admit, I had no interest in seeing this show, as I really had no idea what it was. My husband had begged me one night to watch it with him, and after that I was hooked. I like the writing, the characters, how they tie in real events, and also feature players in the show from time to time. I look forward to thursday nights with the hubby and the League! It truely is a hilarious show! Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The League Season One, November 1, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The League: Season 1 (DVD)
Fantastic! Funny and well done. Extras are OK, not great. But this series of shows is
just brilliant. I only wish it had more than six episodes. The bonus Archer video is a plus as well.
Except I have it on ASIP Season Five already. I highly recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The League: Season 1 [Blu-ray]
The League: Season 1 [Blu-ray] by League (Blu-ray - 2010)
$29.99 $13.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.