Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ip Man: The Legend is Born
This film although lacking Donnie Yen, still far exceeds almost every other martial arts film prior. When someone knowledgeable about martial arts can watch a film and see a skilled martial artist, director and very well thought out choreography it's beyond pleasing.
Published on November 29, 2011 by Will Chezem

versus
39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray (3.5 stars): "The Legend is Born: Ip Man" may not be historically accurate but its a decent popcorn action film
There is no denying that the legend of martial arts teacher Yip Man (also known as the man who taught Wing Chun to Bruce Lee) have been a financial success in Asia.

With the popularity of the first two "Ip Man" films starring Donnie Yen, there have been big questions on how to continue the Ip Man stories, especially with Donnie Yen not wanting to do anymore Ip...
Published on December 16, 2011 by Dennis A. Amith (kndy)


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray (3.5 stars): "The Legend is Born: Ip Man" may not be historically accurate but its a decent popcorn action film, December 16, 2011
This review is from: The Legend Is Born: Ip Man (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
There is no denying that the legend of martial arts teacher Yip Man (also known as the man who taught Wing Chun to Bruce Lee) have been a financial success in Asia.

With the popularity of the first two "Ip Man" films starring Donnie Yen, there have been big questions on how to continue the Ip Man stories, especially with Donnie Yen not wanting to do anymore Ip Man films. The solution, focus on a prequel while Ip Man was young or focus in the future when he is much older.

And in 2010, Director Herman Yau ("All's Well Ends Well 2010', "The Eight Immortals Restaurant: The Untold Story") and screenwriter Erica Lee ("King of Comedy", "Only Fools Fall in Love") decided to do the former with their film "The Legend is Born: Ip Man".

While not an officially related to the first two films, Yau did cast Dennis To who looks like a younger Donnie Yen, while also casting Sammo Hung and Fan Siu-wong who both appeared in the previous Donnie Yen "Ip Man" films. But perhaps the biggest draw was the casting of Ip Chun, the actual son of Ip Man, who plays the role as Leung Bik (the man who would teach Ip Man a new style of Wing Chun).

While the film does take liberties by creating fictional stories around the true story of Ip Man's actual martial arts training when he was younger, the addition of half-brother and also Japanese antagonists continues the trend of foreign invaders vs. Ip Man.

VIDEO:

"The Legend is Born: Ip Man" is presented in 1080p High Definition (2:35:1) and the film is intentionally saturated and warm in the beginning but later becomes fully detailed and colors are vibrant. There is very good clarity and detail on clothing and wooden objects, doors and fences. You can see the detail on the album that Wing-shing is carrying as each line around the album is visible. While closeups do not show skin pores or that much detail, primarily detail is scene on clothing and objects. I didn't notice any banding issues or artifacts. Overall, skintones are natural, black levels are very good and picture quality is great!

AUDIO & SUBTITLES:

"The Legend is Born: Ip Man" is presented in Cantonese and English Dolby TrueHD 5.1 and is presented with English subtitles. As all Asian films that I watch, I prefer not to watch the English dub track but for those who prefer it, there is an English dub track included and the fact that FUNimation is well-known for their voice actors that they hire, I would think that fans of these English voice actors should have no problem with them.

I will say that the lossless audio track was not as immersive as I would have liked. But while there are plenty of action sequences in this film, it's not like the previous "Ip Man" films which tend to sound more immersive. The action sequences do sound good and are effective during the action sequences but these moments are not as long as I would have hoped.

But overall, the the lossless audio track features crystal clear dialogue, music and action sequences when it is featured onscreen.

SPECIAL FEATURES

"The Legend is Born: Ip Many" comes with the following special features:

Making of - (13:21) Behind the scenes footage and interviews with the cast.
Theatrical Trailer - (1:58) The original theatrical trailers for "The Legend is Born: Ip Man".

EXTRAS:
"The Legend is Born: Ip Man" comes with a DVD version of the film.

JUDGMENT CALL:

I loved Donnie Yen's first "Ip Man" film, the second was OK and despite this film not being related to the other two and is more about Ip Man's earlier life, I would have to say that this film is primarily a popcorn action film.

There are lot of liberties taken with Ip Man's life and unless you do the research, some people may think he actually had a half-brother and that what they are seeing onscreen is biographical. But the truth is that there are fictional moments that are presented around Ip Man's non-fictional life as a young man learning Wing Chun, that I often wonder how he would feel if he was alive today and see how writers really distorted his life for the sake of entertainment.

Granted, the film does feature Ip Man's son, Ip Chun which was great! And I can only hope that the estate of Ip Man are getting paid well with all these "Ip Man" related stories and I don't think that there will be an end to these stories anytime soon. They make money and people all over the world love the martial arts action that comes along with these films.

But while I did enjoy "The Legend is Born: Ip Man", as a guy who loves to research the lives of these individuals that these movies are based on. I now wonder how much of what is featured in this film is actually truth. We know that Ip Man studied under Chan Wah-shun and when he died, Ng. Chung-sok took over. It is documented that he studied in Hong Kong and learned alternate forms of Wing Chun from Leung Bik.

But other than that, we know that he had a brother but not this half-brother that was featured in the film. Was there a real Mei Wai? Did Ip Man meet his wife at a market? To tell you the truth, I'm not sure what is fiction and what is non-fiction in this film aside from the training from his two masters.

And personally, I just hope there is not a constant number of films that are released and continue to distort the true story of his life. If anything, I hope that people are smart enough to know that "The Legend is Born: Ip Man" is completely accurate.

Outside of that, I will say that the casting of Dennis To is fantastic. I know the director has made it clear that this film is not a prequel to the previous two films but I have to admit, Dennis To looks like a younger version of Donnie Yen. And for anyone watching this film, they will think that this film is an actual prequel to the other two films because of that. Also, casting Sammo Hung and Fan Siu-wong who starred in the Donnie Yen "Ip Man" films also makes things a bit interesting.

As for the Blu-ray release, you get the making of and trailers. Picture quality is very good and the lossless soundtrack is also very good but not too immersive.

Overall, "The Legend is Born: Ip Man" is an entertaining popcorn action, martial arts film but it's also another film that distorts the life of the actual man. Throwing in a fight against Japanese dressed as ninjas is becoming a bit too farfetched and more Shaw Brothers-like than any other "Ip Man" film before it. But I do understand that as long as these "Ip Man" films continue to be made, it does well in the box office.

"The Legend is Born: Ip Man" continues the action but showcases Ip Man during the time of his earlier teenage years. If you are looking for a martial arts film to sit back and enjoy without wanting to learn about the actual history of the man who taught Bruce Lee, then definitely give this film a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


105 of 124 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you are a kung fu nut, go ahead. Otherwise, skp this junk, October 27, 2010
By 
J. Chou (Pasadena, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Riding on the coat tail of the successful Ip Man series, Ip Man 3 is your typical " Slap-Ip-Man-on-the-title-and-we-can-all-make-buckets-of-money" sort of film.

I won't be surprised if the overall plot was hashed together over a nice lunch by some studio heads, script written in 2 days and the whole movie shot in less than 20 days. The movie has no resemblance to its predecessors. You want cliche? This movie got them all.

I love Ip Man 1. I like Ip Man 2. I almost tossed Ip Man 3 into the trash after the first 10 minutes.

If you are a completest or a kung fun nut, go ahead and spend the money. If you actually want something concrete for your hard earned money and precious time, watch Ip Man 1 or 2 again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TOTAL JUNK!, November 17, 2010
There's 2 IP Man 3 listings, so I bought both not knowing what to expect. This one is complete JUNK, like they made it in a basement. The menu is screwed up, couldn't even find the english subtitles. The thing stopped and started several times, once it went back to the main menu to start over?? WTF?? Can't believe this crap is even listed on Amazon, save your money and buy the other IP Man 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 67 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good Wing Chun movie, January 21, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I order this DVD from ying138, and the quality is good, there are Chinese audio and English subtitle.

However, from the martial arts point of view, I am very disappointed with the martial arts choreographer/director, the actors' performances and the filming techniques. The Wing Chun performance in this movie is very ineffective, weak, there is no energy, and unrealistic. There is no real body structure, power and spirit in the performance. It is terrible, comparing to some other older movies such as "The Prodigal Son" or "The Victim". The film techniques made the fights looked like a soap opera performance.

The story also contained a lot of completely bad historical tales. For instance, during his time, sifu Ip Man had never wanted to teach Wing Chun to foreigners. And it was one of the reasons why he disliked Bruce Lee. But in the movie, it showed that sifu Ip Man wanted to sell Wing Chun around the world.

And the things about authentic Wing Chun, the conflict between Ng' Chung So, Chen Wa Shun and Leung Bik were completely bogus. Besides, according to sifu Ip Ching and Ip Chun (two sons of sifu Ip Man), the very existence of the Leung Bik character was very questionable, as well as the time sifu Ip Man supposed to study Wing Chun in Hong Kong.

In the real life, father of sifu Ip Man was very wealthy, and sifu Ip Man never lived in the Wing Chun school.
The name of the Wing Chun school was not Jing Wu (as in the movie). In the real life, Jing Wu was the name of Huo Yuanjia's school in Shang Hai, as featured in some other movies such as "Jet Li's Fearless", "Fist of Legend", "Fist Of Fury"

For people who know Wing Chun only through Ip Man's system (which seem to be the whole western world), sifu Ip Man was only one of millions Wing Chun practitioners. He happened to have a student which was the loud-mouth Bruce Lee, therefore he became famous. Although sifu Ip Man had great skills in Wing Chun, there were (and there are) many many others much better than him in Asia. And what the western world sees about Wing Chun is just a weak commercialized version of the true combat art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ip Man: The Legend is Born, November 29, 2011
This review is from: The Legend Is Born: Ip Man (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
This film although lacking Donnie Yen, still far exceeds almost every other martial arts film prior. When someone knowledgeable about martial arts can watch a film and see a skilled martial artist, director and very well thought out choreography it's beyond pleasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something Wicked This Way Came, April 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
IP MAN 'ZERO' (Dir. Herman Yau, 2010, original title "Yip Man chinchyun", hope that helps) is a/k/a THE LEGEND IS BORN: IP MAN, a/k/a IP MAN: THE LEGEND IS BORN, IP MAN 3 and really any darned variation on those you can imagine.

It is very good. Not being able to find one single fault with it - I never expected it to be a realistic Wing Chun tutorial, it's a drama, people - it does a truly adequate job of taking us back to Ip Man's youth and early adulthood. In the way Donnie Yen's portrayals in Ip Man took us through his wealthy years/downfall, and IP Man 2: Legend of the Grandmaster (English Subtitled) took us with him to Hong Kong for a whole new struggle, this film takes us through his early years. Very effective, and I don't care what the whiny babies say about the fight scenes.

This is of course never on the grand scale of the 1st or 2nd films, but how can anyone really criticize it? It is good! I LOVED the appearance of Ip Man's real-life son Master Ip Chun as Master Leung Bik - so charming, innocent and effective. The man is a born actor as long as he isn't forced to read from cue cards! And his fighting was awesome. "Whatever comes from my hands is Wing Chun!" he growls at young Ip Man.

I agree, and that fight sequence is one of the best I've ever enjoyed. Though this is also skinny on the facts, well, so were the other films. This is drama Chinese-style. God, even history Chinese style is mostly drama and little fact! Truth is, the acting is good, the settings are great, Yu Hang To plays a wonderful Ip Man without impersonating Donnie Yen, and they capture the atmosphere of the era. I loved seeing Ip Man at that Catholic school he attended.

If there are two major complaints I have about the film, it is the very short cameo of Sammo Hung as Master Chan Wah-shun, Ip Man's 1st and oft-mentioned teacher. He drops dead of a heart attack near the beginning, and, well, what can I say .... The other thing: why so many familiar faces from the first two films here? It is bad enough that Sammo looks and dresses exactly like he did when he played Master Hung from IP MAN 2!

DVD WARNING!! -- This thing did not function properly about halfway through the film, and I suspect, based on past experience, that 'the whole batch' is probably this bad. Therefore no matter which DVD edition you buy, you are really in a lottery as to whether it will play properly or not. I had to send mine back, and sadly didn't get an exchange but a refund.

A friendly colleague posted here that a Blu-Ray will likely play this well. I know little about Blu-Ray, but I am closer and closer to buying a player. Too many DVDs are kind of 'crashing' in the cheap RCA 22" I have now, and it does not support Blu-Ray. It does make sense that a Blu-Ray player will handle just about anything.

Do not think the film or transfer itself is bad in any way. It's the execrable DVD voodoo that causes the disc to freeze up the entire player. I couldn't get my tv/dvd player to do a thing except let itself shut off when the dvd froze in there. That is BAD business! May I suggest something: from now on, could reviewers who have good DVD players make recommendations for us?--like my friendly colleague did. It would help enormously!

Caveat emptor with this film's DVD editions. I have a feeling it is never going to be fixed, and I do not like crapshoots even with great films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not A Good DVD, November 17, 2010
By 
I don't know if it was defective or what, but the DVD I got just
doesn't work. It arrived loose, but the scratches don't seem too bad,
so it should play. I've contacted the seller and haven't heard back.
The quality of the case is poor and the disc hub itself was broken.
Hopefully I will get a working copy. I really want to see this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ip Man 3, December 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ip Man 3, a prequel to the Ip Man, is more of a historical dramatisation, with less martial arts scenes than the other Ip Man movies. If you are interested in the story of Ip Man, it is great, but if you after the quality fight scenes, like that of Donnie Yen, then this is not what you are looking for.

Don't get me wrong, there are a a few worthwhile fight scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IP MAN 3 OR ZERO, THE LEGEND OF THE POSSIBLY GRAND MASTER WHO MAY OR MAY NOT HAVE BEEN BORN (OR WHATEV, MAN) ...., March 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legend Is Born: Ip Man (DVD)
THE LEGEND IS BORN: IP MAN, a/k/a IP MAN 'ZERO' (2010, original title "Yip Man chinchyun", hope that helps) a/k/a IP MAN: THE LEGEND IS BORN, IP MAN 3 and really any darned variation on those you can imagine. And wouldn't you know it, here I've found yet ANOTHER titled edition of this same film, though the box just shows one of the other titles. Yet it is a grand film and I loved it.

It really is very good. Not being able to find one single fault with it - I never expected it to be a realistic Wing Chun tutorial, it's a drama, people - it does a truly adequate job of taking us back to Ip Man's youth and early adulthood. In the way Ip Man took us through his wealthy years/downfall, and IP Man 2: Legend of the Grandmaster (English Subtitled) took us with him to Hong Kong for a whole new struggle, this film takes us through his early years. Very effective, and I don't care what the whiny babies say about the fight scenes.

Don't expect a history of Wing Chun or accurate biographical data on Master Ip. For a good biography you need to read the awesome but slender Ip Man - Portrait of a Kung Fu Master (see my review).

This is of course never on the grand scale of the 1st or 2nd films, but how can anyone really criticize it? It is good! I LOVED the appearance of Ip Man's real-life son Master Ip Chun as Master Leung Bik - so charming, innocent and effective. The man is a born actor as long as he isn't forced to read from cue cards! And his fighting was awesome. "Whatever comes from my hands is Wing Chun!" he growls at young Ip Man.

Amen, Sifu. Though this is also skinny on the facts, well, so were the other films. This is drama Chinese-style. God, even history Chinese style is mostly drama and little fact! Truth is, the acting is good, the settings are great, Yu Hang To ("Dennis" To) plays a wonderful Ip Man without impersonating Donnie Yen, and they capture the atmosphere of the era. I loved seeing Ip Man at that Catholic school he attended.

If there are two major complaints I have about the film, it is the very short cameo of Sammo Hung as Master Chan Wah Shun, Ip Man's 1st and oft-mentioned teacher. He drops dead of a heart attack near the beginning, and, well, what can I say .... The other thing: why so many familiar faces from the first two films here? It is bad enough that Sammo looks and dresses exactly like when he played Master Hung in IP MAN 2!

There are many treats here in any case. They filmed at the actual Association in Hong Kong, and the director had a nice cameo role as the original "chairman" of the Wing Chun "Association" - in other words, as he says in an interview, he plays the man who once 80 years earlier held his job.

DVD WARNING!! - My original copy, admittedly different-looking from this edition, did not function properly about halfway through the film. I suspect, based on past experience, that 'the whole batch' is probably this bad. This new copy plays fine ... for now. But it is as like to self-destruct as my copy of the original Ip Man.

Therefore no matter which DVD edition you buy, you are really in a lottery as to whether it will play properly or not. I had to send mine back, and sadly didn't get an exchange but a refund. My wife and I both suspect this is being done deliberately, the manufacturing of "time-bomb" DVDs. After 6 months or even as late as three years later, they begin stalling, freezing, tiling and one day finally die.

Do not think the film or transfer itself is bad in any way. It's the execrable DVD voodoo that causes the disc to freeze up the entire player. I couldn't get my tv/dvd player to do a thing except let itself shut off when the dvd froze in there. That is BAD business!

The really bad vibe with this is the plethora of different titles, which I suspect are coming from someplace dark. "False economy" comes to mind when I experience this type of thing. Several reviewers have said this looks like a rotten VHS tape bootleg. Neither of my copies looked that way at all, yet the 1st copy I had jammed my DVD players just the same. Caveat emptor with ALL the IP MAN series. I have a feeling it is never going to be fixed, and I do not like crapshoots even with great films.

... and I will warn the viewer about the rotten thing that just happened to me: my copy of the original Ip Man which always played perfectly well, just went on the fritz. It began freezing in the player and refused to play right.

I've seen this only one other time in my life, getting a perfectly good DVD copy then having it fail like that years later. It is NOT the DVD player because we have more than one, so we can test DVDs. However, what is happening here is, as I said, the DVDs are failing a long time after you've enjoyed them several times with no problems.

The buyer must be REALLY wary when getting any of the IP MAN series.

One other thing: we need to start mentioning the Amazon seller when we buy a copy and review. For example, if anything goes wrong at least I can say in this review that I bought this DVD directly from Amazon.

Whether bought from Amazon or some other seller here, it might help pin down the sellers who don't seem to have problems with their copies. That may sound like a bit of a magic trick but it is known as "statistics". And if there are bootlegs, which is not unusual on Amazon, let us put an end to those right now by reporting them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Ip Man #1 but not bad either, January 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I see that a lot of people here got bad DVD's. I know how that feels and I guess for once I am lucky in this case. I bought it several months ago from Amazon and it's a fine movie as far as quality goes. It's in 2.35 format which my personal preference is 1:33 or at least 1:85, I hate letterbox and wish there was an option on all movies for sale to get it in full screen. Other than that, the movie was fine but a bit disappointed that Donnie Yen was not in the title roll again. When you purchase these types of movies that are usually imported, the writing is all in Chianese and you just can't tell who's in it or what the plot is. I just bought Ip Man 2, which will be released here in April 2011, so I hope this one is a bit better than 3, since Donnie Yen is back in the title role again. Nick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Legend Is Born: Ip Man (Blu-ray/DVD Combo)
The Legend Is Born: Ip Man (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) by Tony Leung Siu Hung (Blu-ray - 2011)
$19.98 $9.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.