Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best GB game ever made.
I bought this game because I love the Zelda series and figured it would be a fun portable game but not as good as the other Zelda games for more advanced systems. Wow. I liked "Link's Awakening" for game boy but this absolutely blows it out of the water. It has a very interesting story line that Link's Awakening definitly lacked. Also, it is not just a huge...
Published on July 20, 2001 by Jonathan M. Hill

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but confusing.
This game plays well for those who have followed the Zelda Saga, however, for the few who purchased the game without having played the others, boss battles were extremely difficult because few hints are provided. It is suggested that this game is more puzzle based than the Seasons variant, and I agree. It was good enough that I played it all the way through, and the...
Published on December 13, 2001 by Namida


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best GB game ever made., July 20, 2001
By 
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages (Video Game)
I bought this game because I love the Zelda series and figured it would be a fun portable game but not as good as the other Zelda games for more advanced systems. Wow. I liked "Link's Awakening" for game boy but this absolutely blows it out of the water. It has a very interesting story line that Link's Awakening definitly lacked. Also, it is not just a huge series of "dungeon diving". It has tons of interesting sequences between dongeons and a much larger and better layed out world. Many people (including myself) consider "A link to the past" for snes the best Zelda game ever made even though it is not as well known as its n64 brothers. Well, for those of you who have played "A link to the past", oracle of ages has basically all those great aspects you loved and many new ones. For example, instead of warping inbetween the dark and light world, you warp inbetween the past and present, which is just as fun. (and yes, it has that great "magic mirror" aspect so you can warp back to the present any time and leave your own little warp hole where you came in) Also, symilar to the bird in A Link to the past, you can utilize "gail seeds" (and 4 other types for different effects)to intantly travel to differant points on the map. The 3 animals you will encounter to help you through your journey are another really fun and unexpected thing. Depending on how you choose to do a certain sequence, you will get a flute that you can use to instantly call one of them with. Although the flute will only call the animal that you chose by the way you did the sequence, you will get to use the other animals occasionaly. One more thing that i'll mention are the rings- over 60 of them and each with a different power. That's alot of fun. To conclude, even though this is a gameboy game, it is one of the best Zelda games ever made and THE ABSOLUTE BEST GAMEBOY GAME YOU CAN BUY. I can only wait and wonder what Zelda Advance will be like. O ya.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oracle of Ages...Ages of gamers, April 1, 2001
By 
Rory Griffin (Port Neches, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages (Video Game)
I've been a Zelda fan for the past 13 or 14 years. This game (along with it's counterpart Oracle of Seasons) makes for a very good old school feel of gameplay. I fell in love with it and I've yet to beat it (due to lack of knowledge of ...), but I have a very enjoyable time playing the game. Most of the dungons remind me of the good 'ole days where Keese flew around freely, Likelike's took your shield, Octorock's throwing rocks, Moblin's shooting you with arrows, dragons spiting fireballs, Dodongo's eating bombs, multiheaded drangons flying around trying to kill you. And the music grabs you once again. The land of Hyrule is under attack. Old school gameplay, incredible music, familiar characters and enemies...it dosn't get any better than this. Buy it, I know I will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a Zelda game+Shigeru Miyamoto was on the staff=Good Game, July 6, 2001
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages (Video Game)
Warning: This review may be a bit biased due to the fact it is being written buy someone who has played and beaten ALL the Zelda games. For the gameboy colour system, there are only 2 series of good, quality games. They would be The Legend of Zelda and PokÉMon. If you own a GBC, it would be foolish not to buy this game, unless you are young (5-8) or are very bad at solving puzzles of anykind. I would recommend buying both The Legend Of Zelda: Oracle Of Seasons and The Legend Of Zelda: Oracle of Ages because besides both the games being of excellent quality, there is an interesting feature: After beating one game, you can transfer your character to the other game using a special password. The play time of both the games should range (depending on the skill of the player and weather or not they do all the subquests and explore) from 8-16+ hours. The Zelda series has earned its reputation as a immersive and fun series of games. It can be played if you are a medium-skilled gamer or a hard core gamer. Buy it. A word of advice: Zelda games are no fun if you use a strategy guide or website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest 2D Zelda Yet, June 24, 2001
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages (Video Game)
The title of this is somewhat misleading, as I have never had a NES and haven't played the first two Zelda games. Past then, though, I own and have beat every single one. My first Zelda was Link's Awakening, a magical game that everyone should play. While that game is slightly more fufilling, in sheer gameplay you can't touch Oracle of Ages.
This time around, a Zelda game finally has a truly good plotline. The best script since Ocarina of Time, Oracle of Ages fools you, surprises you and offers more characters than ever before. There is also some great plot twists you won't be expecting.
But everyone knows a story does not make a great game, correct? Fear not. Instead of focusing on brainless swordplay like its companion, Ages' true challenge comes from its mind-bending puzzles. Believe me, I was ready to conquer this game by myself and even I came crying to an internet strategy guide a couple of times throughout. The emphasis on puzzles is especially apparent in the huge (and wonderfully thought-out) bosses. Beating them is more like a good jigsaw than a battle area, yet still offering a little bit of both.
The premise of the game is practically identical to A Link to the Past for the Super NES - You'll travel between two worlds, one bright and lovely, one dark and mysterious. The game makes use of this feature wonderfully, and your time-warping Harp of Ages gets upgraded along the way, soon adding an almost insane level of non-linear gameplay.
Comparing it to Seasons - the game is better in respect to satisfaction overall. The items, found in the complex, wonderful dungeons, are great, although not nearly as good as some of Season's showstoppers. Oracle of Ages is much more exciting if you've already beat Seasons and using the password found in that game - there's so much more to do. Aside from more cutscenes, bosses and one insanely hard dungeon, you'll get new items given to you through the form of passwords that must be told to certain figures in the pak you played first.
Overall, these games are tributes to the end of the Game Boy Color era. Yes, my Game Boy Advance is arriving in a few days - but don't dare let me catch you playing Tony Hawk 2 before experiencing these two epics. They may not have the best graphics, but they're legends no one can afford to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oracle of Ages, May 5, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages (Video Game)
Zelda: Oracle of Ages, along with Oracle of Seasons, can be a beggining or a sequel to each other. Once you beat one of the games you'll get a password that you could put into the other game to make it a sequel! You can share items or uncover secret places just by linking them! In this game you have to save Nayru from Veran, an evil sorceress. In order to do so, you have to travel through time with the Harp of Ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best series' best Game Boy game, May 18, 2001
By 
Randell (Land of Lincoln) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages (Video Game)
I pity anyone who owns a game boy and never experiences this: the mind racking, rewarding world of Hyrule, i weep for those who never taste the joy of stabbing various enemies with their level 2 swords, i can not endorse those who miss the sheer.....ecstasy of finding your way through the dungeons, worlds, and puzzles: It all adds up to a wonderful Zelda experience. Perhaps your life would be more complete if you bought and mastered this. Also, STAY AWAY FROM STRATEGY GUIDES! These games are better if you do them on your own. All in all, the best way to kill time til the GB Advance comes to save us all. (Although, i do have one qualm with the game, i'm getting sick of Zelda's absence in these-i mean, the series is named after her)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The legend continues..., May 1, 2001
By 
Rob C (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages (Video Game)
Hey folks, if you've played Zelda: Link's Awakening, you'll love this game along with Oracle of Seasons. I had the fortune of have my friend mail the Japanese version to me from HK. Fantastic puzzles, graphics, and weaponary. This game is way longer than Link's Awakening, which is just fine with me, as I find Awakening short lasting. Anyway, get your copy if you have the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money to buy it, June 6, 2001
By 
"badbender" (Maxwell AFB, AL. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages (Video Game)
If you ever played Legend of Zelda: Links Awakening, you'll remember alot of the items in this game. Pleanty of puzzle solving, problem solving and fun make this game worth getting. It stands on it's own a great game BUT if you get the Orical of Seasons it becomes better because with both games you can have a wider variety of weapons, items and characters. When you beat this game you'll get a code that you enter into the "Seasons" game and you can pick up where you left off and try to complete that game as well. You can play Seasons or Ages first, the order doesn't matter. One thing to keep in mind, because the game depends on colors (red,blue money and ore) you can only play it on the Gameboy Color system. Graphics and sound are good and effort put into the game is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best GB game ever made., July 20, 2001
By 
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages (Video Game)
This is without a doubt the best gameboy game ever made. It absolutely blows "Link's Awakening" out of the water. It has a great storyline that "Link's Awakening" lacked and all the great aspects we know and love from "A Link to the past" such as the warping back and fourth inbetween deminsions (time in this case). This game actually comes dangerously close to being better than "A Link to the past". One of the neato-puzzles that suprized and delighted me was when I was in the past on an island and couldn't figure out what I was supposed to do. I accidently pushed a vine seedling up a little. Suddenly having an idea, I pushed it under a ridge that I couldn't climb and warped back to the present. It had grown into a huge vine plant and I merely cimbed it out. It is filled with tons of other fun things not seen in any other Zelda game that I cant go into, but be assured, this is by far the best gameboy game ever made and if you loved "A Link to the past" (or any Zelda games) you will love this. It is a must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Around Great Game, June 18, 2001
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages (Video Game)
The Legend of Zelda Oracle of Ages is a great game. I've had this game for a while now and I continue to play it after I beat it. I also own oracle of seasons, but I find this game more difficult and challenging than the other one. Well anyway Link is transported to Labrynna by the triforce. Once there he meets Impa. Link saves her from a few beasts. She tells him that she is searching for a singer named Nayru. She asks him to help her look for Nayru. Not long after you meet Nayru. The meeting doesn't last for long because Veran leaves Impa's body and takes over Nayru. Then she goes into the past. It is up to Link to save Nayru and stop Veran. Once you beat the game you earn a password for oracle of seasons. If your playing this game as a linked one using a password from oracle of seasons, then there are a few new things. After you beat Veran you gain access to the room of rites where you must stop Twinrova's plan to resserect Ganon. After you beat Twinrova and Ganon you save princess zelda. Overall this is a great game. I would suggest getting it especially if your a zelda fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages
The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages by SPIG (Game Boy Color)
$195.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.