Customer Reviews


2,113 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,890)
4 star:
 (157)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


230 of 239 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect tome for Legend of Zelda fans
This book is almost too awesome for me to put into words. I've long been a fan of the Legend of Zelda. It is not only my personal favorite video game series, but arguably the greatest series in video gaming, period. When this book released in Japan for Zelda's 25 year anniversary, many hoped it would get translated and come to the States. Thankfully, our wish has been...
Published on January 29, 2013 by Relytia

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool... But underwhelming.
Bought the book as a birthday present for my sister, who is a die hard Zelda fan. The artwork is very nice and there are a few cool pieces of concept art but overall the book is underwhelming. A majority of the book (over half) is dedicated to Skyward Sword, with the other games getting pushed to the margins. The biggest disappointment being that Majora's Mask is...
Published 11 months ago by Zach Sobieszczyk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A legendary book worthy of a legendary franchise!, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia (Hardcover)
This book truly does justice to The Legend of Zelda franchise. Honestly it is much wider and thicker then I expect it to be. It is, a little wider than the Japanese version, so Dark Horse can translate the art footnotes in an easier to read format, but I'll touch on that later. Beginning the book is an introduction from famed creator of many Nintendo franchise, including The Legend of Zelda, Shigeru Miyamoto! From there, the book is separated into three sections, "The Legend Begins" which contains plenty of concept art and character designs from Skyward Sword, "The History of Hyrule" which includes the official series timeline, and an in depth and detailed of important plotlines and sections of each game and how they fit into the timeline, and finally, the "Creative Footprints" section, which includes concept art and character designs for the rest of the Zelda games, from the first Zelda to Spirit Tracks (Skyward Sword is already thoroughly covered in "The Legend Begins" section, there is no more artwork for the game in this section). There is some nice little extra sections, one titled "Changes in Character Design" and one tilted "Game Catalog". They are nice, short little sections that I won't spoil for you. Ending the book is a 32 page manga from Akira Himekawa, the creator of the other The Legend of Zelda mangas, along with a nice closing message from Eiji Aounuma, a very important director and producer of the Legend of Zelda series from Ocarina of Time and up. This book is certainly packed to the brim with concept art, storylines, and interesting tidbits of the series. For $20 on Amazon, or even for it's $34.99 MSRP, you are getting more then your moneys worth.

All of this plethora of content is wrapped in a very organized and pretty package. The presentation, especially for the money, is top notch. The cover itself is outstanding, with the gold foil lettering and Gate of Time symbol brillantly standing out on an equally brilliant green background. The pages are of a pretty good quality, making the art very clear and colorful, and are just an absolute pleasure to look at. Back onto the topic of the art footnotes, Dark Horse has done an excellent job translating them. Not only that, the fonts used are very crisp, clear and easy to read, making the bigger size of the book worth it. They may not be the unchanged handwritten footnotes of the Japanese version of the book, but it's a small sacrifice to actually be able to understand and read them easily. Also, there has been some concerns that increasing the size of the book would stretch some of the art. I, for one, haven't noticed any stretched images, although I don't have the Japanese book to accurately compare. Anyways, the background of each page looks browned, making it feel like you are reading through an ancient tome pulled right out of a Hylian library. It's little touches like these that makes the book such a special and pleasurable read. The quality of this book, once again, exceeds the price you pay for it.

Let's dig a little more into the sections, the meat of the book. The first and third section, "The Legend Begins" and "Creative Footprints" contain beautiful artwork from each main game in the series. There is plenty of sketches, colored drawings, and paintings of various concept art found in each game, as well as for character designs, including some different character designs that haven't even made it into the game! An example, Fi has some pretty cool designs, including, but not limited too, a purple ninja design, a more bell shaped design, and even a heavily armored "Iron Man" design! It's nice to see these early, discarded ideas for some of the characters in the series, as it shows you just what really went into making these characters, their personalities, and functions so unique. There is this same level of treatment given into the concept art for areas within each game. Early sketches and drawings and the designer notes show the progression of the development process, and what the developers wanted out of each game. It's truly great seeing how these games came to be, and makes you appreciate the games even more! Onto the Second Section of the book "The History of Hyrule". This section contains the official timeline of the series, with later pages elaborating on how each game fits into the timeline. They truly did a great job summarizing key plot points of each game. There is also some extra lore that is placed in between some games. It helps ties the games together in the timeline, without taking anything away from the lore already established. All of this contained into a neatly organized sections, with each page labeled with the "era" and game that pages lore falls into. It is an interesting read that I would recommend anyone to look through, no matter what timeline theory you adhere to.

Each section is brilliantly crafted, and filled with plenty of interesting art and information. The extras compliment what is an already excellent book. The presentation is wonderfully done. There aren't really any complaints I have with this book. It is an excellent tribute to The Legend of Zelda, and is worth a look from any ardent Zelda fan, and even worth a look from artists. Whether you are a Zelda fan, an artist, or someone looking for a great gift, you needn't look no futher then the Hyrule Historia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Legend Of Zelda Companion., February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia (Hardcover)
I have several publications related to the Legend of Zelda and let me tell you, this is the best so far. The quality of the pages, the hard cover and the contents are superb. I have to be honest though, the time line is more than a bit confusing. I guess I had made up my mind that each was some sort of a separate story that had the same themes (ala parallel universe sort of thing). Anyway, the art and inside information alone are reasons enough for any Legend of Zelda Fan to NOT miss this book! I wish I had the leather-bound edition...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Happy Zelda Fan, February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia (Hardcover)
This is basically a book of concept art. It focuses on skyward sword, but has at least a little from all the games. I was happy with the lore included, it even has some breakdowns of the in game languages. Nothing in this blew my mind but it was good buy and has inspired another round of playing through every game. It's definitely a good resource for any RPG planning or sketching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hyrilian Bible, February 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia (Hardcover)
This book is very cool.. It reveals a lot of previously unknown information and very extensive concept art.. There's even a Skyward Sword manga in the back! If your a fan oh LOZ you have to get this book.. It's worth a whole of a hell lot more than there selling it for..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, could've been better., February 28, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia (Hardcover)
I got this as a gift for a fellow nerd friend for his birthday. It wasn't bad, it's a huge book. I don't think I would get it for me. It says it's the Hyrule Historia, but it mostly covered Skyward Sword. It would've been nicer if it was more like an encylopedia, and if it showed more artwork from the earlier games. The artwork they put in there was basically just artwork from the old game manuals that came with the games, and some of them were in black and white to make it look like pencil, or it was pencil image, but never showed the color image e.g. from the first Legend of Zelda for N.E.S. with Link helping the old woman. So it would've been cooler to see concept/in development artwork, scenery art (not a lot of castle or dungeon art if at all), and more about the other games instead of just Skyward Sword. Even Ocarina of Time had a relatively small section, and Twilight Princess had the second largest bit of information (but it did show more concept art on Skyward Sword and Twilight Princess).
So easy go to list of what I wanted:
More concept art work
More information on other games (esp. the older ones since it'd be harder to find)
More in depth history for the characters
How all the games intertwine if they do at all
A map of the grand scheme of Hyrule that interlaced all the games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live Link!, January 29, 2013
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia (Hardcover)
Originally a tie-in with Skyward Sword, This 276 page book of extraordinary artwork covers the history of Hyrule. It's an absolute must-have for any fan, if for nothing else than the timeline. But the original sketches and illustrations that have never been shown before now and in-depth details and backstory of all the characters make the pricetag totally worth it. There's even 32 added pages of Skyward Sword manga by Akira Himekawa included. Absolutely gorgeous cover to cover. You will be pleased.

Happy 25th birthday to the Legend of Zelda! This book was worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for fans (and non-fans), May 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia (Hardcover)
This book is a love letter to those who love zelda, have zelda theories, and those who want to know more straight from the creators. It has detailed back-story on different characters, events, and locations in the game. It even puts a few fan theories to rest (unless you're determined to be right no matter what) The best part for me personally about this book has to be one thing: Concept art. You look at all the things that didn't make it into the games and makes you wonder what could of the experience been like if the designers got their way 100% of the time. Even if all the detail of the games, characters, and mythos isn't enough for you (man you're greedy) they included a full original manga attached at the end. So even if you have a causal interest in the Zelda series or you're a gamer that's never cracked open a book you may want to give this book a chance. It's big, has lots of pages, and has girth so you won't feel cheated that you're reading instead of playing. 5 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Zelda book ever!, February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia (Hardcover)
I bought the Japanese version last year cause I didnt know whether the English version will be coming out or not, I was happy with the the arts alone but I dont understand all the words. That said, I bought 2 copies of this book and I just received it today, to my surprise the size is bigger than the Japan version and the cover is better too! I'm aware people has already reviewed this book to the core so I would just write this review to say I'm very satisfied with this book!

If you're Zelda fans I dont see any reason not to get this. Perhaps the timeline is the only one that hardcore fans will argue and always will no matter what. Sadly, the fact is there's contradiction but at the same time every game often shows connection with other games which causing the confusion. However if you disagree with the game creator then I have nothing more to say :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for collection, but not the way it was advertised, March 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia (Hardcover)
The art collection in the book is definitely great, showing lots of design for characters and other objects in Zelda universe. One small problem is that the art focus too much on Skyward Sword instead of focus on all the titles in the series.

The "historia" part is also misleading. While the book does have the complete history of the Zelda series, however it doesn't go into detail on the story of each series and how they interact. The artworks does show progression of Link and Zelda over time, just doesn't focus on the history of Hyrule as the title suggests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!, February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia (Hardcover)
I am a huge Zelda fan and a veteran when it comes to the games. I was just browsing around amazon when this popped up. Didn't hesitate for a second and clicked the "buy" button. Actually didn't realize how twisted the history was for Hyrule but the book outlines it really well for you.

If you are a Zelda fanatic, you need to add this to your collection. The book itself is just pretty to look at.

Received it a week before expected, which is always nice.

Highly suggest buying this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia
The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia by Akira Himekawa (Hardcover - January 29, 2013)
$34.99 $19.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.