Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars16
5 star
87%
4 star
13%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$13.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 24, 2006
John Adams was the first Vice-President and second chief

executive of the United States of America. He was also a brilliant lawyer, legislator, writer and diplomat for the fledging American nation in France and the Netherlands during

the Revolutionary War.

In this excellent collection of personal letters John and

Abigail share their thoughts on a wide variety of topics chiefly the struggle for our nation's independence. The letters in this

copious collection cover the years from 1774 to 1783 (the years

of the American Revolution).

These are two extremely intelligent persons! John's letters

let the reader look through the keyhole in Philadelphia as the

Declaration of Independence is approved; throughout the war

Adams was away from his Braintree farm for long stretches of

time. His life was in danger and he was worried about Abigail and

their young children. A few of the letters in this collection

were written by his parents to the young John Quincy Adams who

served as the sixth President of the United States.

Abigail lived long before the womens liberation movement but

she was the intellectual equal of her husband. Abigail kept the

farm going staying abreast of political affairs and raising a

great American family.

The patriotism and self-sacrifice of the Adams family is an

inspiration to all Americans. This is a wonderful collection

for anyone wishing to know these two American patriots on a more

intimate basis. Excellent resource for history classes and anyone wishing to know more about our history.
0Comment36 of 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2007
If you're at all interested in American history, I HIGHLY recommend this book. I though it was going to be dry and tough to read with a lot of thees and thous etc., but it's surprisingly warm, easy to follow and gripping story told in the very words of one of our greatest Americans and his wife.
0Comment25 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2014
I have fallen deep into admiration for Abigail Adams, and even her crusty husband John shines as an honest man and devoted Revolutionary when England started taxing and over-controlling the feisty American Colonies. So far as I can tell, the book was assembled from their letters by a grandson, so is well over 100 years old now. I have found other correspondence that makes a more comprehensive picture of these important people. I have never been a lover of or reader of history, but the biography I am now reading about Abigail has my full attention. And it started with reading these letters. It was a bit difficult to start, 12 letters from John to Abigail, but once her letters begin to John, it gets very intense and interesting. The Revolutionary War period is well known for having a large group of extraordinary men, but the women who stayed behind to care for the families were no less able and amazing people. Or at least with John & Abigail Adams it is true. She offered wise and sage advice, and their deep affection for each other shines through their letters. Just amazing Americans!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2011
This is the book that piqued my interest in America's beginning. There are so many fascinating ways to go from here. It's been 15 years since I read this,and have not stopped reading about the Revolutionary Era since. Many reads harken back to some detail portrayed in this fine book. I recommend it as a gift for anyone with even the slightest interest in history. Good for all ages.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2008
I really loved being able to see into the lives of these great founders. It's great to see even during those times, a man respect the woman he loves and her opinion. I highly recomend this especially for those just begining intrest in the founding of our nation.
22 comments8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2013
It is nice to have these letters. It is a little hard to follow where the breaks are, but this is a minor inconvenience, over all a wonderful collection.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2014
The one book my History professor in college (in 1977) recommended as a very clear, personal reccord of the Revolutionary War. Still an excellant record of the times, still an empressive reflection of the thoughts and lives of our founding fathers. Even more important afer all these years.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2014
These letters are a window into the beginnings of our country AND a wonderful love story. Great insight into the lives of two extraordinary people!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2015
Letters full of love, mutual respect, fascinating details about life before and during the Revolutionary War, patriotism, sacrifice, and honor.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2015
One of my favorite books. What a good marriage could be like. How profoundly people use to think and how eloquently they expressed it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.