Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$80.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 25, 2013
I have read the first two of the trilogy; they made me want to own the entire set, hard cover.
Great author, great research. He understands war at the foxhole level, not just the generals.
His earlier The Long Grey Line is a landmark work on West Point.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
Superb writing, well researched, fascinating stories. This is for anyone who enjoys well written non-fiction, and many, many stories that you didn't know about WWII.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2014
This set is wonderful. Worth your time and worth the money. I have read the first two twice and will read the last one again. I really knew very little about how the war was fought by the allies and really nothing about the generals that directed the fighting. Their lack of knowledge coupled with a very low level of training cost us a lot of lives. Many lessons to learned here.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2014
Thoroughly enjoy this Trilogy. Unlike other books covering the same subject, Atkinson is not afraid to offer judgements about the actions or inactions taken during these campaigns. He is often critical of the politics that seemed to cause senseless deaths. With the benefit of hindsight, he is able to paint a picture of both the positive and negative impacts of the myriad decisions made. His observations seem fair, and he also points out the strong leadership characteristics displayed by these very complex individuals - both politicians, but more frequently, the generals involved. I enjoy the subjective observations that he makes, which distinguishes his Trilogy from the storytellers like Ambrose, Bevors, and Hastings. This is not necessarily a better version, it is just a different way to tell the story, with much more of the author's judgments than I recall from the other authors mentioned. Highly recommended for folks who enjoy reading WWII history.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2014
Brilliant, thorough research, bringing rich detail to his story and excellent writing and story-telling skills make Rick Atkinson's trilogy a must-read for anyone interested in World War 2, in the successes and failures of leadership, in the heights of human bravery and the depths of human inhumanity, and in seeing just how utterly hideous war must be on every level. I thought I knew a good deal about World War 2. I was wrong. A brilliant read. Rick Atkinson richly deserves the accolades this effort has accrued.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2014
This was a great Trilogy. I learned so very much and history is very important to me. Mr. Atkinson gave insight as to the roles of our leaders. How we ever won the war was pure numbers and production of materials. The bravery of men not in command was truly outstanding.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An absolute five star. The most thorough, well-written history of WWII I've ever read. It fills all the gaps and outs the propaganda from both sides. As an elementary schoolboy during the war, it answers long-lasting questions about the serious and dour nature of my
childhood. It's forthright approach trumpets the honesty of its content. It should be required reading for every politician in Washington, every Officer in every army everywhere, and cornerstone the teaching of WWII history in every school. Thank you ,Mr. ATKINSON , for the
read.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2015
This is a terrific book about the African, Italian and European war theaters. It is full of detail on troop movements and the senior personalities. In fact, if you are not into this or a student of war it can become too much. The best feature of the book are the individual stories that have been scooped out of diaries, etc. I loved this feature. The underlying causes of various events and the direction of the war were discussed and highlighted were very insightful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2014
Excellent - most enjoyable - can't put it down! Well worth reading ! So much excellent research was done by Atkinson.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2015
I have all three in hardback, autographed by the author, and love being able to carry the set around in my Kindle. In a reading in Seattle years ago, Rick Atkinson said that he considered his work to be anti-war. He does it by simply telling the story: no heroes; no hagiography; accounts of the human cost of leaders' egos. Also respect for those who fought the best they could.

If you want something to make you feel patriotic, this is not it. If you want honest-to-god history, this is it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse