Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book
There aren't many books out there that feature quality photographs identifying butterflies and caterpillars by species. This book does that and more. Although it only features those species that occur in the region in which the authors live (Kentucky is their home state,) the book shows clear pictures of each life stage: egg, caterpillar in both early and late stages,...
Published on January 13, 2011 by Li Roth

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased
I am very pleased with my book. This is the second one I have bought. I gave it as a gift to a good friend who loves butterflies.
Published on May 12, 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, January 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life Cycles of Butterflies: From Egg to Maturity, a Visual Guide to 23 Common Garden Butterflies (Paperback)
There aren't many books out there that feature quality photographs identifying butterflies and caterpillars by species. This book does that and more. Although it only features those species that occur in the region in which the authors live (Kentucky is their home state,) the book shows clear pictures of each life stage: egg, caterpillar in both early and late stages, chrysallis, and adult butterfly.

Each species also has useful information listed in the text, such as known host plant(s) and favored nectar plants. There are also some additional species shown as adults in the back of the book for which the authors have yet to photo-document an entire life cycle.

I have seen this listed as a children's book, and it would be appropriate for many children, but I find it quite beautiful and informative enough to be suitable for adults as well.

I've been gardening for birds, butterflies and bees for years now. One of my successes was having Black Swallowtail caterpillars the very first year I grew dill for them. But when I bought this book I was able to locate and identify the tiny eggs, and observe the entire life cycle of this species.

I live in the Mid-Atlantic region, and most of the butterflies profiled in the book also occur in my area. Some species profiled occur over most of the U.S.--like the Monarch and Painted Lady-- but some are more limited in range. If you live on the Pacific coast, for instance, you might not see many of these butterflies. The photos are still beautiful. The insects featured are still fascinating. And the format of the book is user-friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, July 30, 2006
By 
E. Landis (Cincinnati, OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is the result of research by experts that are able to teach others in most practical ways. Along with that, the photos are beautiful and give a glimpse into the intermost workings of nature that a reader has never seen or imagined. Practical guides for planting your own butterfly garden will give you a taste of paradise in your own back yard. A "must have" for anyone intereted in butterflies, from the seasoned to the novice seeking to know more about the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Resource, January 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life Cycles of Butterflies: From Egg to Maturity, a Visual Guide to 23 Common Garden Butterflies (Paperback)
For anyone interested in butterflies this is a must for your library. Simple enough for a four-year-old to enjoy it will also appeal to the serious butterfly gardener who wishes to establish a habitat for these lovely creatures. I will enjoy it over and over. It also will make a great gift to your school library or just to a friend. This Master Gardener gives it an A+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent pictoral and info resource, August 18, 2006
A most excellent book both photographic and informational. The authors are very interested in this subject and are happy to answer questions from readers. No other book has this type of photographic reference for eggs, caterpillars and host plants. Can't say enough positive things about this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Life Cycles of Butterflies, April 5, 2007
This review is from: The Life Cycles of Butterflies: From Egg to Maturity, a Visual Guide to 23 Common Garden Butterflies (Paperback)
The best book I've read on butterflies. Excellent pictures to identify

each butterfly as well as the egg and caterpillar. Also extremely

helpful is the listing and photo of host and nectar plants for each

butterfly. I purchased another one to give my grandson for his birthday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful picture book for butterflies, July 26, 2006
By 
bookloverFLA (south of Sarasota FL) - See all my reviews
Great photography with the text laid out in a friendly format to let the viewer see things about butterflies they wouldn't normally see.

This is not the be-all end-all butterfly book but it certainly one of the prettiest. Great for kids and adults.

I'm adding it to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written book!, September 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life Cycles of Butterflies: From Egg to Maturity, a Visual Guide to 23 Common Garden Butterflies (Paperback)
I bought this for my five-year-old for her birthday to accompany the butterfly kit. Some info is a little advanced, but most of it, she understands and is fascinated by it. The photographs are great, and the layout is spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Butterflies who doesn't love them?, May 17, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life Cycles of Butterflies: From Egg to Maturity, a Visual Guide to 23 Common Garden Butterflies (Paperback)
I love having the pictures of all stages of the butterflies life span to identify with in my own gardens. This book is for every age and everyone who is interested in butterflies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, October 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life Cycles of Butterflies: From Egg to Maturity, a Visual Guide to 23 Common Garden Butterflies (Paperback)
The wonderful book is well-organized, with lots of great information for the casual and serious observer of nature. Great series of photos 23 butterflies' life-cycles. There are maps of the breeding-range, graphs of the life-cycle season, and a size of wingspan drawing, which are all very helpful. Best of all, for those wanting to attract specific butterflies, there are lists, photos and detailed information about the plants that "host" the caterpillars, and then the plants that are the preferred nectar sources for the adult. The list and detailed descriptions of top nectar flowers is too wonderful: Verbena bonariensis, Coneflowers, Lantana, Butterfly bush, Milkweeds, Mexican sunflower, Tall garden phlox, sunflowers, Zinnia, Cosmos, Sweet William, Pentas lanceolata, and Petunia. There are many photos of butterflies other than the 23 covered in detail, a great glossary, 24 side-by-side photos to compare butterfly eggs, caterpillars, and chrysalises! All in all, this is a book anyone interested in knowing more about butterflies will cherish, and pull out to show children. A fabulous gift for a serious gardener, or a curious child, aged 5 to 12 especially!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the pocket size Audubon, October 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life Cycles of Butterflies: From Egg to Maturity, a Visual Guide to 23 Common Garden Butterflies (Paperback)
I bought this book at the same time that I bought the Audubon book on butterflies. This one is so much better because it gives useful details and pictures about the entire life cycle, which part of the US it's found in, host plants,etc. The Audubon book has just one picture of each butterfly whereas this book has dozens of pictures from egg to caterpillar to emerging butterfly not to mention host plants and where to plant them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Life Cycles of Butterflies: From Egg to Maturity, a Visual Guide to 23 Common Garden Butterflies
$16.95 $11.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.