Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Excellent Biographical Documentary.
For those who want to learn more about the man behind the words, this is one of the two best CS Lewis biographical documentaries I've seen, and is the one easier to purchase (the other being the documentary they attached to the Extended Edition of the Disney film version of The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe). It is also the less emotional in approach, which makes it...
Published on November 27, 2009 by R. E. de Leon

versus
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Generally good biography of CS Lewis
This is a generally good biography of C.S. Lewis, probably the greatest Christian writer and apologist of the 20th century.

The DVD is very well made with excellent cinematography, enlightening interviews with family members and others, good musical scores and excellent narration by Ben Kingsley.

The DVD does a good job of tracing Lewis's life from...
Published on October 8, 2010 by JAG 2.0


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Excellent Biographical Documentary., November 27, 2009
By 
R. E. de Leon (University of the Philippines Los Baños) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life and Faith of C.S. Lewis: The Magic Never Ends (DVD)
For those who want to learn more about the man behind the words, this is one of the two best CS Lewis biographical documentaries I've seen, and is the one easier to purchase (the other being the documentary they attached to the Extended Edition of the Disney film version of The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe). It is also the less emotional in approach, which makes it better suited to someone who wants the basic facts about Lewis' life and wants to see a documentary that doesn't take an emotionally loaded approach. If you already have that documentary, don't hesitate to purchase this one, as it provides a different type of enjoyment. I feel entirely comfortable watching one after the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Generally good biography of CS Lewis, October 8, 2010
By 
JAG 2.0 (IN United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life and Faith of C.S. Lewis: The Magic Never Ends (DVD)
This is a generally good biography of C.S. Lewis, probably the greatest Christian writer and apologist of the 20th century.

The DVD is very well made with excellent cinematography, enlightening interviews with family members and others, good musical scores and excellent narration by Ben Kingsley.

The DVD does a good job of tracing Lewis's life from the childhood loss of his mother and subsequent life in cruel boarding schools, his early academic achievements, his service in WWI, his conversion to Christianity with the assistance of fellow Oxford dons including JRR Tolkein as well as his relationship and marriage to Joy Davidman. The DVD shows Lewis as a brilliant writer and thinker who was always frank and honest about his early atheism, his conversion and subsequent faith in Christ.

Although the DVD is very well made and approaches the life of CS Lewis as a whole in a methodical fashion, I only gave this DVD 3 stars. The video, at one point, makes the spurrious suggestion that Lewis may have had an affair with Mrs. Moore, the mother of a fallen comrade who died in the trenches of WWI. Lewis had made a pact with "Paddy" Moore that if one did not survive combat, the other would take care of the family of the one who died. I felt it unseemly to make this suggestion for which there was absolutely no evidence whatsoever.

Although well made, I give it only three stars and would, instead, recommend "C.S. Lewis: Beyond Narnia" available here on Amazon in preference. It is a far superior video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This true story is amazing., May 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life and Faith of C.S. Lewis: The Magic Never Ends (DVD)
My children have watched the stories of this man for years and my grandchildren love the stories too. This video captures his legacy well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The magic never ends., February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life and Faith of C.S. Lewis: The Magic Never Ends (DVD)
Correct named. I enjoyed every minute of this DVD. So much so that I am having some Ladies over for a wine and cheese party to watch it. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good CS Lewis Overview, July 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life and Faith of C.S. Lewis: The Magic Never Ends (DVD)
This is nicely done and gives a good summary of CS Lewis personal development. I liked it and will re-visit it often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Life and Faith of C.S. Lewis, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life and Faith of C.S. Lewis: The Magic Never Ends (DVD)
Interesting, but not exactly the quality of documentary that I would have supposed. All the persons interviewed were not identified nor their relationships to Lewis. I did appreciate the director's explanation of why there is so little visual documentation/photographs of Lewis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Overview, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life and Faith of C.S. Lewis: The Magic Never Ends (DVD)
This documentary is a good overview of C. S. Lewis's life. Most of the information is general and can be found in other sources, but there were some new bits. The look at Lewis's home was very interesting, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thanks, December 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life and Faith of C.S. Lewis: The Magic Never Ends (DVD)
I recommend this to everyone :)I recommend this to everyone :) Blessed Christmas and graceful New Year to all of you :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, November 18, 2014
By 
James L. Powell (Grand Junction,Colorado) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life and Faith of C.S. Lewis: The Magic Never Ends (DVD)
This a good video to find out about C.S. Lewis .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, December 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Life and Faith of C.S. Lewis: The Magic Never Ends (DVD)
finally got it december 11. very good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Life and Faith of C.S. Lewis: The Magic Never Ends
$24.99 $17.34
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.