The Light In High Places and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.48
+ $3.99 shipping
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: NAME INSIDE FRONT COVER ON FIRST PAGE
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Light In High Places: A Naturalist Looks at Wyoming Wilderness--Rocky Mountain Bighorn Sheep, Cowboys, and Other Rare Species Hardcover – November 15, 2009


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$6.93 $3.49
Take%20an%20Extra%2030%25%20Off%20Any%20Book

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing; 18 edition (November 15, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1602397031
  • ISBN-13: 978-1602397033
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 6.4 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.3 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (27 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #386,924 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A fine fresh gust of mountain air from the Wind Rivers and a wonderful book of elegies and celebrations of the beauty and resilience of wild nature, together with sketches of the dedicated few still fighting to offset the poor stewardship and folly of our greedy species. A clear-eyed, insightful, stimulating, and lyrical book, very well-written throughout.” (Peter Matthiessen, author of Shadow Country and The Snow Leopard)

The Light in High Places is full of intelligence and passion, first-rate storytelling, and, ultimately, transcendence. It is an instant classic—a beautiful profile of a unique place on earth in an alarming and yet exhilarating moment in time.” (Rick Bass, author of The Wild Marsh: Four Seasons at Home in Montana)

The Light in High Places is an exquisite adventure in the alpine territory of Wyoming that few of us will ever get to see, and it is a powerful call to arms for all of us to gear up and treat our planet with compassion. Hutto writes in the tradition of Thoreau, Aldo Leopold, Rachel Carson, Barry Lopez, and Joseph Wood Krutch. Quite simply, this book is wonderful.” (John Nichols, author of The Milagro Beanfield War)

“Joe Hutto takes the art of being alone in the wild to new heights in the magnificently written The Light in High Places, a story of personal and ecological discovery in one of North America’s last great places.” (M. Sanjayan, Lead Scientist, The Nature Conservancy)

The Light in High Places extols the quiet pleasures of living simply and close to nature in Wyoming’s wilderness while the author observes bighorn sheep or herds cows. In lucid and lyrical sentences, it chronicles the ecological and cultural changes that affect this land—and all our future.” (George Schaller, leading field biologist, mammalogist, naturalist, conservationist and author)

“A highly readable account of important research on bighorn sheep in Wyoming, solving a longstanding puzzle about the decline of a once large sheep population. It is, however, more than that, as the author recounts vividly the difficulties of such field work as well as his emotional trials and tribulations being involved in work with painful ramifications. It is that which makes it superior to good science well told. Highly recommended!” (Valerius Geist, Professor Emeritus of Environmental Science, The University of Calgary)

“Impossible to put down—an intensely lived and well-researched potpourri of ecology, ethology, geology, anthropology. Joe Hutto’s life intersects with the decline of high Rocky Mountain ecosystems and of the cowboy culture that occupied them—a struggle for personal fulfillment documenting a tragic transformation.” (Daniel Simberloff, Nancy Gore Hunger Professor of Environmental Studies, University of Tennessee; past president, American Society of Naturalists)

About the Author

Joe Hutto is a biologist and keen observer of animal behavior. His first book Illumination in the Flatwoods was a critically acclaimed story of him raising a brood of wild turkeys. He lives Lander, Wyoming.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
7
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 27 customer reviews
Very well written!
Ossie Weinert
I hope I can find another book this good for my next read...I'm very picky.
Jennifer Town
Joe Hutto is a very wise and talented man.
Elizabeth Melton

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful By Evelyn Johnson on November 11, 2009
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
First I have to grouse about the cover on the book I received: the photo has been changed and it's not nearly as good as the one with the sheep and the mountains in the background. Why someone decided to do this I have no idea but I bet it will affect sales.
Joe Hutto is a pretty unique individual and he can take you places and introduce you to people and critters you'd never ever meet any other way. From close encounters of the grizzly kind to the real nitty gritty cowboy life, you might be wistful but at the same time relieved it's all happening to Joe and not you.
I skimmed thru the cowboy chapters; having lived many years on a New Mexico ranch there's little allure there for me but most folks will probably enjoy this segment of the book. The parts I lingered over concern the mountains and the sheep.
After going into his life in pretty raw detail, we are left hanging at the end with a mention of a new wife and no mention at all of the new ranch. It's mentioned in the author bio but nowhere in the book; perhaps being saved for the next book? Hope so...
Was saddened but not terribly surprised to hear that something as massive and remote as the northern Rockies is being throughly trashed by mankind. Very impressed by the people working hard and doing it all with very little to document the damage and perhaps find some answers for reversing the trends.
A humble but very intelligent and accomplished man, Joe Hutto is a breath of fresh air.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Thomas Warner on January 15, 2010
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I was completely entranced years ago by Hutto's first book, Illumination in the Flatwoods, one of my favorite nature writings of all time. His newest effort is on a par with the first, and I cannot heap enough praise upon it. "Illumination" has become a classic and I have little that this one will also. Wonderful!! Tom Warner
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Jennifer Town on February 6, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is the best book I've ever read. It is beautifully written. I felt like I was right there with the author on his wilderness adventures. I'm inspired to put myself in the wild this year alone for sometime to observe, reflect, write, and hunt. I hope I can find another book this good for my next read...I'm very picky. Write another book Joe Hutto. I see you only have two and I read them both. Thanks for your inspiration.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Elizabeth Melton on June 4, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
My passion and quest for the last three years has been an endeavor to re-connect with nature through experiences in natural places, reading related books/articles, and study. Joe Hutto's writings are by far the best of this genre. "The Light In High Places" outshines all with a delicious blend of science, philosophy, and a captivatingly beautiful writing style that keeps you coming back for more and never wanting it to end.
As a youth in my twenties during the late 1970's, I experienced the Wind River Range and Lander, Wyoming as a participant in a month long trek with the National Outdoor Leadership School (NOLS). I've always known it as a special experience in my life, but until I read Hutto's book, I did not understand what a rare place and special time had been imprinted on me.
I read a lot and am particular about my selection of books. This is the first book I've felt compelled to write a review for. Joe Hutto is a very wise and talented man. I am learning that such wisdom is spawned by spending time immersed in natural environments and listening/receiving vs taking. We need to listen to what he has to say. I eagerly await more.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Meg on September 21, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Joe Hutto is a master with words. He incorporates statistics, philosophy, nature, and study in a beautiful description of Wyoming and its wildlife.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Penny Cox on January 12, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Bought this as a gift for my husband. Always a bit of a guess when you give books. Luckily he loves it. So much he keeps reading me passages, "You have to listen to this!" LOL. Anyways he says this is one of the best books he ever read and he's an avid reader so that's a high compliment.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Yours Truly on December 29, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Gave me an idea of the day to day life on the Wyoming ranches and of the author's time on the Middle mountain and its vicinity. Very comprehensive narration of scenes and events. Pleasure to read..
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By DMR on December 19, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This book is very interesting reflecting the interesting life lead by the author, who looks at animals with an appreciation for the overlooked feelings and sense of community animals have in common with their human counterparts.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?