Customer Reviews


514 Reviews
5 star:
 (240)
4 star:
 (138)
3 star:
 (65)
2 star:
 (43)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


280 of 297 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hawthorn as extended metaphor
There will be no spoilers in this review.

As in her first novel, In the Woods, Tana French has created another sensuous, lyrical, haunting, suspenseful story. Although it is considered a mystery, it is much much more than that. It is a story of identity in all its literal and metaphorical forms. It is a social commentary (but never sententious) and it is...
Published on July 22, 2008 by "switterbug" Betsey Va...

versus
155 of 174 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous writing, flimsy plot
Likeness is one of those off-kilter books that you love to read because the prose is stunning, but which fails completely as a novel. In order for French's plot to work you have to believe: 1)that an undercover cop could pass herself off as another person to a group of people who knew her "double" intimately, 2)that a person can go from being a hat designer to a PhD...
Published on December 2, 2008 by e. verrillo


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

280 of 297 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hawthorn as extended metaphor, July 22, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Likeness: A Novel (Hardcover)
There will be no spoilers in this review.

As in her first novel, In the Woods, Tana French has created another sensuous, lyrical, haunting, suspenseful story. Although it is considered a mystery, it is much much more than that. It is a story of identity in all its literal and metaphorical forms. It is a social commentary (but never sententious) and it is also about fear and flight and love.

Cassie Maddox and Sam O'Neill are detectives from In the Woods. Although Operation Vestal (from In the Woods) is mentioned several times, these books can be read in any sequence without ruining it for the reader. The setting is again Dublin, Ireland.

Cassie is the star attraction of this story as she goes undercover to live with four liberal arts doctoral candidates whose housemate, Lexie Madison, is found dead from a stabbing in an abandoned cottage. Lexie Madison looks exactly like Cassie, and the name is her last undercover alias, which adds to the mystery. The housemates will be told that she survived the stabbing.

It isn't necessary to give too many plot details. What is more important is the response from reading. This is a generous, gorgeous, thoughtful, poetic story. The tone is almost elegiac at times, especially during her descriptive paragraphs, and the author's use of the extended metaphor is prolific and often profound. At the end of the novel, I looked up hawthorn (the tree, flower, bush) on Wikipedia and had a chill run up and down my spine. Her descriptions, turns of phrase, elegant passages and graceful unfolding keep me fastened and fascinated. What I love about Tana French is that her novels are both character-driven AND plot-driven. She does not sacrifice one for the other. With most mysteries, I only read them once. But The Likeness can be read again just for the aesthetics. Also, there is no deus ex machina here. The story is excellently paced with a well-timed delivery of its climax.

Tana French is no lightweight, but she makes the story accessible to anyone who enjoys reading. She has that gift to appeal to a variety of readers-- even readers who look for largely escape mysteries. But this is not escape reading; it is the kind of reading that makes you ponder. It is philosophical and it echoes. It has shadows, swirls, hollows, heart,humanity, tension, suspense, whispers, hawthorn, hawthorn, hawthorn...

I look forward to the third book that Tana French is working on, with Frank Mackey (from The Likeness) as the main protagonist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


155 of 174 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous writing, flimsy plot, December 2, 2008
By 
e. verrillo (williamsburg, ma) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Likeness: A Novel (Hardcover)
Likeness is one of those off-kilter books that you love to read because the prose is stunning, but which fails completely as a novel. In order for French's plot to work you have to believe: 1)that an undercover cop could pass herself off as another person to a group of people who knew her "double" intimately, 2)that a person can go from being a hat designer to a PhD student in one year (transcripts? application process? recommendations?),3) that grad school students act like 15-year-olds (well, OK maybe that's not so far off the mark),4) that a trained undercover cop would keep important evidence (the diary) from her superiors, etc. etc. etc. I simply did not buy any of it. There were problems with the writing as well. I found the trendy post-modern "quotes" (Star Trek, Alice's Restaurant) disruptive. And those endless ambiguous, interrupted conversations hinting at dark secrets got old after a while. I wanted some resolution. Even the relationships between the characters were unconvincing. Was Cassie actually supposed to be in love with Sam? Why did Cassie want to be Lexi? Why did the villagers care so deeply about a woman who had died almost a hundred years earlier? In short, the premise was implausible, the book was over-written, and the psychology shaky.
French is a fabulous writer. I'm hoping that her third novel will be a charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


123 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feckin' genius, August 19, 2008
By 
Adam Shinbrot (St. Louis Park, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Likeness: A Novel (Hardcover)
It's feckin' genius, that's what it is. I couldn't write a single sentence as well as Tana French if I started now and lived to be a thousand. And she wrote a whole book, two books, of them. Flawlessly. Word after word, sentence after sentence, paragraph after paragraph, until the book is as perfect as it could be. It boggles the mind, it really does.

The first time I picked up Raymond Chandler, I knew I was in the hands of something profound and mysterious. I haven't had that feeling again for many years, till In The Woods, and even more powerfully, The Likeness.

Here's an Australian sheep rancher, talking about his daughter:

"But when she was nine, her mother had hemmorhaged, ...and bled out before a doctor could get there. 'Gracie was too young to hear that,' he said. '...I knew as soon as I told her. The look in her eyes: she was too young to hear it. It cracked her straight across.'"

"It cracked her straight across". That's the power of metaphor in the hands of a master. It conveys in a way that touches the heart what exactly happened, in the same way that Shakespeare would use metaphor and words.

It's a privilege to read Tana French, it really is. I feel only pity for the person who wrote of the unbelievable plot, I do. This book isn't about a plot, just as Chandler wasn't about plot, just as we don't read Shakespeare for the plot. Anyone can do plot; but to give feeling and life, undoubted life, to characters on paper, that is to marvel at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cassie Maddox meets her doppleganger, July 17, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Likeness: A Novel (Hardcover)
The premise of The Likeness--Detective Cassie Maddox (heroine of French's memorable debut novel, the Edgar-winning In the Woods) assumes the identity of a lookalike murder victim who herself assumed an undercover identity Maddox abandoned years before--certainly sounds absurd on the surface, but the author makes it work, and makes it work well. Once Cassie's (and through her, the reader's) logical objections to the scheme are overcome, French proceeds to deliver a masterwork of suspense, dropping her heroine into a dangerous, emotionally charged situation, where she is constantly aware that any or all of the people she's trying to deceive may wish her dead. The fact that the novel is written in the first person makes it all the more intense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another Edgar to come for Tana French?, July 18, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Likeness: A Novel (Hardcover)
The extraordinary follow-up to Tana French's Edgar-winning "In the Woods," "The Likeness" beautifully combines the narrative and the lyrical, interspersing moments of transcendent illumination with leisurely confident story-telling that doesn't let you go for a moment. The language is wonderful, the characterizations are complex and believable, and the suspense builds to a climax that surely will soon be incorporated into "a major motion picture." French credits her readers with intelligence and taste, letting this book be read on many levels, from dramatic mystery to speculation on subjects like the guts and work that being loved take; the thought that in life you take what you want and then pay for it (though you don't know in advance what the price will be); the changing nature of social subversion (which used to be expressed through discontent and now takes the form of contentment); what happens to people and societies when group memory is lost. A wonderful mystery, but not just a mystery. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seductively safe atmosphere and delicately suspenseful plot. This is an intelligent, enjoyable mystery. Highly recommended, September 11, 2008
By 
Juushika (Oregon, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Likeness: A Novel (Hardcover)
A year after the events in In The Woods, Cassie Maddox has an unheard of opportunity: A recent murder victim is her exact double, and even used an undercover alias that Cassie created years ago. Now, she can become the victim, stepping into her life and her friendship with a close-knit group of four students, to try and crack the case from within. The Likeness is strongly atmospheric, with an almost magical setting, a closely interwoven cast of characters, and slow, delicate suspense. It isn't an attention-grabbing book, but it is an intriguing, strongly constructed mystery, and I loved it. Enthusiastically recommended.

I picked up The Likeness because I read In The Woods and loved it--it was a dark and visceral book which captured me and simply would not let go. The Likeness is a different style of book. It still has a strong atmosphere, but that atmosphere is quiet, romantic, and almost magical (even though there's no magic in the book), building into slow suspense. Cassie enters an extraordinary life: a close-knit friendship whose apparent safety and strength seduces both Cassie and the reader; an old refurbished home which cocoons the occupants in a small, private world. Yet Cassie is in the middle of a murder investigation, and she is always in danger of being discovered or attacked; despite the utopian setting, the suspense builds: slow, delicate, insidious. It's a careful balance and, though it isn't as attention-grabbing as In The Woods, it makes The Likeness an intriguing and compelling read.

Meanwhile, French spins an intelligent mystery. There are some unbelievable moments (not just the coincidence of the shared appearance and alias, but that an undercover investigation like this would ever occur), but the twist and turns are realistic while still surprising and the final reveal is entirely logical--but also tense and frightening. French's writing style is strong: Cassie has a unique narrative voice, the story is well-paced, and the setting and characters come to life (although some characters have unrealistically strong and simplified traits). I loved In The Woods so much that I was almost hesitant to read The Likeness, afraid that it wouldn't live up to my expectations. While I still prefer In The Woods, my fears were for naught. The Likeness is intelligent and subtly nuanced, seductive and suspenseful, and a pleasure to read. I highly recommend it--and, despite being an indirect sequel, The Likeness stands alone and interested readers not need read In The Woods first unless they want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars forget the plot, love the characters, January 6, 2010
By 
covergirl14 (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Likeness: A Novel (Hardcover)
I read the book, then I read all the reviews... and I started to doubt myself. I loved this book - it was pacy, unusual, I loved the characters and the feeling of warmth and 'home' Cassie feels. I didn't want it to end. However, having read the reviews, I have to ask myself whether the book really was ridiculous or not.
Yes, I suppose it was. I did think it was highly improbable that a group of close friends would not recognise another friend. In this sense, it was asking a lot of the reader.
But so many readers, like myself, gave this novel four or five stars, so something must have worked - and I suspect that they, like myself, loved the representation of the students. It was a warm, escapist atmosphere, reminiscent of Maeve Binchy perhaps. Wonderful for a rainy afternoon.
Incidentally, I took note of the reviewers who urged people to read The Secret History instead, and I could not have been more disappointed. High-brow and pretentious, I liked none of the characters and it had none of the warmth and spirit of this book, nor a likeable central character. I wanted to murder all of them.
Just one criticism - I am a bit sick of authors (male and female alike) who portray their female police officers as delicate, beautiful, enigmatic, yet still intelligent and feisty, with degrees and firearm prowess, never over the age of about 30 and never have children or are single parents. This sort of stereotypical description of your heroine is OK if you're Jackie Collins, but a UK crime writer? Can't the heroine be a normal woman?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written psycho babble, October 9, 2008
This review is from: The Likeness: A Novel (Hardcover)
First, I have to say I love Tana French's prose style. The words come rushing at you headlong until you're completely entwined in the textures and colors and lights of the world she's spinning. This book is no exception.

I'll also point out that I didn't even care that we don't know what happened to Rob in the woods in the last book. I see that confusion as intrinsic to Rob's character, and I was happy to let her leave it that way. An author who writes as fluidly as French gets lots of leeway from me. But even her lovely language couldn't hide the fact that this plot made no sense.

I was willing to believe that Cassie had a double. I'd even believe that the police force was willing to put weeks and weeks of dedicated resources and personnel into finding the murder of one lone girl without any pressure from the victim's family or political factions. (It'd be nice if it worked that way, after all.) And I was prepared to overlook all the ways a defense lawyer could take apart a case built with the assistance of someone pretending to be the deceased. (Maybe Irish courts don't have a problem with entrapment.)

But once Cassie was settled in the house, the plot went too far off the rails even for me. Once again, French embroiled Cassie in relationships based in arrested adolescence. Rob had an excuse, his emotional development was arrested by his childhood trauma, but these people *chose* to remain as pre-adolescents. I was more interested in why French likes this motif so much than the posturing of the four friends. Sure, the philosophizing about the nature of identity was fun, but couldn't redeem the jaw-dropping attitudes of everyone involved about the murder and the victim by the end of the book. Sam's the only person who came out of the whole thing with a shred of integrity.

Heather O'Neil does do a fabulous job narrating the audio.

I'll pick up the next one (surely Frank's a grown up and will be allowed to interact with other adults, right?) but this was a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Must-Have Read for Summer, July 24, 2008
This review is from: The Likeness: A Novel (Hardcover)
It is safe to say that is the best book that I have read since completing French's "In the Woods" last summer.

A thriller that picks up some time after where "In the Woods" left off, the story follows the mysterious murder of Detective Cassie Maddox's doppleganger.

While the plot is sometimes totally incredulous, the quality of French's writing ropes the reader back in everytime reality threatens to destroy enjoyment of the novel. French strikes a tone that is intellectual (there are several long-winded monologues made by one of the characters Maddox encounters)- yet is at the same time accessible and easy to read. Something of a "The Secret History" style characters meets the cultural/class/society undertones of "Brideshead Revisited" makes this a totally engrossing read. Though the book reaches a much more concrete conclusion than that offered in French's previous offering, the novel still carries with it an air of mystery and unrest that is fascinating.

While I have seen several reviews that have said the book is a tad bit long-winded, I was not bothered by the length- to the contrary, I actually very much enjoyed spending all the time possible with French's clever characters (particularly the group of students that Maddox finds herself embedded among).

Am very much looking forward to Ms. French's next novel...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Split decision, December 13, 2009
By 
Tallulah L. (Jersey City, NJ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Likeness (Paperback)
I wish it were possible to give two ratings for this book - one for the writing itself, and one for the storyline and characters. As in her debut, In the Woods, Tana French proves herself to be a beautiful writer: lyrical, descriptive, often funny, and able to sweep you up in her characters' rhythms and speech patterns. The Likeness is perhaps overwritten compared to In the Woods and some episodes and conversations are needlessly long or repetitive, but the writing sucks you in effortlessly. Which is just as well, because the story itself is completely implausible. To enjoy this book you need to be able to suspend disbelief in all kinds of ways, and accept the pretty ludicrous premise: that Detective Cassie Maddox turns out to look enough like murder victim Lexie Madison to be able to infiltrate the house where she lived, and fool her best friends for an extended time into thinking the dead girl is still alive. Really? If she'd been trying to fool people who knew Lexie only slightly - fellow students, professors, neighbors - then it might be believable, but her housemates and best friends? One of whom she'd slept with? And the entire Lexie Madison character is similarly preposterous - she's basically a human chameleon who travels from country to country, assuming one identity after another. We never really get a sense of why Lexie felt so compelled to run - the explanation given is melodramatic and trite.

If you can swallow all that and plenty more - such as the idea that the Irish police force would be willing to fund a massively expensive, dangerous, and complicated undercover operation like this in order to catch one killer (even more unbelievable if you've grown up in Ireland and know how inept and poorly funded the cops there can be) - then The Likeness is a very enjoyable, suspenseful, and memorable book. I read it avidly, even while shaking my head at how crazy it all was. On some level, Tana French makes it work, and it's a testament to her wonderful writing. But I truly hope though that her next novel has a tighter and more convincing plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Likeness
The Likeness by Tana French (Paperback - May 26, 2009)
$15.00 $10.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.