Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 3, 2002
On this new installment Mr. Ford serves us more of his now well-honed recipe to describe his gay life trials, but with less pages than the previous opus. Some are quite amusing such as his self-tests on how to decide whether one should become a drag queen or a leatherman (in a way both are drag I suppose). It is perfect reading for a beach stay, or waiting at your dentist office and having people look weirdly at you while you hold the book in front. But it still feels the same as the previous ones: well written, slightly biting, but not that novel anymore. Though this time there is a slight change: Mr. Ford has moved to LA and he seems to comply more with your average gay-cliches: he works out now and wears sunglasses. Perhaps his early steps in his middle age crisis? In other words, under his cleansing tone we seem to detect a more personal, and perhaps insecure, persona. I hope that this bodes well for his next installment since I think that Mr. Ford is uniquely qualified to describe the aging process of gay men by lightening it up with his irony.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2003
This was one book I was unable to put down. Michael Thomas Ford's THE LITTLE BOOK OF NEUROSES: ONGOING TRIALS FROM MY QUEER LIFE was a good read overall. Although I didn't like the quizzes, even though they were meant to poke fun and not be taken seriously. I thought he hit the nail with the hammer on so many issues, so many things that are relevent to everyday life. I found his thoughts on queer life interesting, and the misconceptions that come with it. For the first few short stories he discusses his neurotic behavior and how he believes its the way to be, which was quite humorous. His humor is a bit off center which is a good thing. He is quite humorous, and the short stories were nice to read. An easy book to read, and well worth the effort.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2015
Two-time Lambda Literary Award winner Ford's fourth collection of essays offers the adorably cranky humorist the opportunity to rant on how Tiger Beat magazine made him gay, offer relationship tips for the neurotically inclined and muse on how eBay allows us to relive our childhood by buying back our past. He also offers amusing quizzes on becoming leathermen, porn stars, drag queens, sluts and gym rats. Whether he's bemoaning the lack of romance in gay cinema ("A stripper nicknamed 'Beer Can' [in Trick] is no match for Cary Grant"), spoofing interviews with straight celebrities in gay magazines ("Do you know anyone who knows Cher?"), presenting a pseudo paper on therapy that can cure heterosexuality, or proposing a new TV show called Who Wants to Be a Homosexual? (straight contestants get rewards for every step toward queer life), Ford is a delightfully inventive wit. The surprise of this collection is not his reliably funny ruminations but the periodic somber, thought-provoking pieces in which Ford forgoes his usual levity and speaks from the heart. These pieces—including one on the Church's shameful treatment of priests dying of AIDS and another that serves as an ode to the demise of two gay-lesbian bookstores—won't come as a surprise to those who have read Ford's recent Paths of Faith: Conversations About Religion and Spirituality. Their inclusion enhances the collection and deepens Ford's voice and broadens his appeal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2002
As other reviews have stated, this latest collection is well written but less funny than Mr. Ford's previous titles. Don't expect a duplicate of the earlier books.
I enjoyed the read very much (knocked it off in two sittings), and there was humor. But it was not the laugh out loud humor of his three earlier books. Where the first three were hilarious with a few more serious or touching essays thrown in, this fourth collection is the reverse - predominantly serious, thoughtful or sentimental with a few chucklers mixed in for good measure.
It's still head and shoulders above most so-called contemporary "gay" writing. Michael Thomas Ford exposes his thoughts, feelings and life. And when he's funny, he's a riot. At this point, after four books, I feel like I know him, and I like him, I really like him.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2001
With his fourth collection of essays, Michael Thomas Ford slips a little. I found his previous books to be more consistant with his typical wit, humor and insight. While the quality here is definately high and Mr. Ford certainly has his moments in this book, there are just too many essays that are serious. Some are to the point of being somber. "Dress Rehersal" is a prime example of this. While I am in favor of the examinations that make up our queer lives, the book is supposed to be mostly funny, isn't it?
I am not discouraging the purchase of this book, since the writing is top notch. Just don't expect the rollercoaster of laughs from the previous collections.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2006
I realized after reading Augusten Burrough's "Magical Thinking" and Ford's "The Little Book of Neuroses" and the like that I'm not really a fan of collections of witty/humorous essays and personal stories. I guess because I expect all the essays to crack me up. So far, I've yet to read a book that has made me laugh from front to back (...yet).

"Neuroses" was an entertaining read. Some were hilarious, some serious and some thought-provoking. I found myself laughing at some parts. I also found myself nodding in agreement as if Ford read my mind, such as gays in monogamous relationships.

It's worth a read and perhaps you'll laugh more than I did.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2001
Mr. Ford has given us another book in his excellent "My Queer Life" series. I especially liked the essays "Did Tiger Beat Make Me Gay" and "Thank You Note". "Thank You Note" is the last essay in the book; I read it first because I was wanted something short to read before I left for work one morning. I ended up reading it four times and I was late for work that day. Granted, there aren't as many laugh out loud moments in this collection as in the other three, but it is still worthwhile reading. The funny stuff will make you laugh; the serious stuff will make you think. That's what good writing does.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2002
Michael Thomas Ford's latest collection of quirky essays has a wide range of topics (my favorites are the ones on gay monogamy and queer bookstores and being neurotic). I was surprised by the more serious ones, but I do feel they are a great progression for his voice. What I didn't like were the plethora of cutesy quizzes. After the third one, I felt they lost the attraction Ford probably meant, and they became tedious. Overall though, the collection is still vivacious and brilliant, but it does seem to lack a bit of that spunky skewering that he's most known for.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2002
I have been a fan of Michael Thomas Ford's previous three Queer Life books, and was incredibly disappointed by this latest offering. Rarely have I read a book and felt that an author had nothing to say, but that an anxious agent was forcing him to write anyway. That's the exact feeling I got from this. In addition to a lot of amateurish fillers along the line of a Cosmo Quiz (Are you a Drama Queen? Are you a Leather Man?), Ford whines and drones with no significant insight into either his own life or the lives of gay men in general (I mean, really, does the fact that a lot of gay men diet really break new ground?). The book does offer a few solid stories, but readers looking forward to Ford's latest will be sorely disappointed. It lacks both the humor and wit of his earlier works, and really is one of the most strained and forced pieces of writing I've read in years. When funny ain't funny it's deadly, and most of this book is funny that ain't funny.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2006
I love all the books in this series. Much better than his current books. These books just hit right home! LOVE THEM!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.61
$15.20

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.