Customer Reviews


2,034 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,570)
4 star:
 (206)
3 star:
 (79)
2 star:
 (44)
1 star:
 (135)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


291 of 336 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney's beloved classic returns!!
One of the most beloved Disney films, "The Little Mermaid" returns on dvd, fully restored and remastered in an all new 2 disc set this October! Rather than talking about the film (c'mon we all know what it is all about and most of are quite familiar with its charm and beauty! Though the first "The Little mermaid" dvd released years ago was just a barebone disc with...
Published on July 6, 2006 by Mohd Jafar

versus
33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing DVD Transfer
save your $ on ebay auctions and wait for the platinum series release. this version's sound is excellent (dolby 5.1), but the bland/dull colors is a big disappointment. poor visibility, below average clarity and very dark throughout the entire movie. i've seen better second generation VHS recordings. this being a classic Disney release, it deserves a new high definition...
Published on July 19, 2004 by C. Fogus


‹ Previous | 1 2204 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

291 of 336 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney's beloved classic returns!!, July 6, 2006
By 
Mohd Jafar (Hyderabad, AP India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of the most beloved Disney films, "The Little Mermaid" returns on dvd, fully restored and remastered in an all new 2 disc set this October! Rather than talking about the film (c'mon we all know what it is all about and most of are quite familiar with its charm and beauty! Though the first "The Little mermaid" dvd released years ago was just a barebone disc with non-anamorphic transfer, this one will have everything to fulfill every mermaid fan's desire!

Here's what to look forward to in this special 2 disc set:

Fully restored with an all-new Disney Home Theatre 5.1 mix.

Backstage Disney, including an all new commentary.

Treasures Untold: The Making of The Little Mermaid.

The Story Behind The Story.

Deleted Scenes, including Backstage With Sebastian, Sebastian Lost In The Castle, Advice From Sebastian and Fight With Ursula.

Music Video "Kiss The Girl"

Games and Activities inclue The Little Mermaid Under The Sea Adventure: The Virtual Ride, Behind The Ride That Almost Was With Disney Imagineers and DisneyPedia: Life Under The Sea....

....And much more!!

"The Little Mermaid" is surely one of the finest films Disney ever produced and this long awaited platinum edition of this classic would surely be a welcome addition in any dvd collector's shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good if you don't mind minor edits, October 28, 2006
By 
Finally got around to watching this last night. In this review I'm not going to bother to review the movie itself. It's seventeen years old. I'm sure if you are interested in it you've seen it by now. Rather, I'm going to review the technical quality of the film and the extras provided on the DVD. One thing that feel I should point out up front is that the movie HAS been edited, but only in one scene. The infamous 'clergyman sporting an erection' that caused such a stupid flundie flap has been photoshopped. The theatrical poster artwork is not on the cover or anywhere on the disc for a similar reason. You can find out more by going to Snopes and looking in the Disney films section. I personally don't care, but some people do. Now, on to the review.

This version is widescreen, but it's 16:9 widescreen and not theatrical widescreen, but this has been the case in pretty much all the Disney movie DVDs so no surprises there. The Little Mermaid was the next to last movie Disney did using painted cels, and the film has gone through some kind of digital restoration process. There are comparison shots on the back of the DVD box that show the difference. The colors are very vibrant, and I didn't notice any problems with the encoding or animation. There is support for surround sound and audio tracks in English, French, and Spanish.

It's a two disk set. Disc one has the movie, the configuration options (subtitles, commentary, language ect), a music video of the song 'Kiss the Girl' by someone I've never heard of, a bunch of previews that will be outdated in a few months, and a preview of what's on disc 2. On the box it touts something called Fast Play, which basically means when you load it in, after the standard FBI warnings and all that, the disc gives you the option of immediately starting the movie or going to the menu with the stuff I just mentioned. If you choose to start the movie directly, it plays a bunch of previews that you can skip past using chapter forward on your remote, if you go to the menu and pick play movie, it starts right away. You're actually not forced to sit through ten minutes of BS previews with no way to skip them like on some of the previous Disney DVDs. I approve.

The majority of the extras are on disc 2. It's broken up into three major sections: Backstage Disney, Deleted Scenes, and Games. Backstage Disney is the largest section. It has scads of concept art (imagine Ursula as a lionfish or manta ray instead of an octopus), a videos on how the movie was made, and a new animated short, The Little Match Girl. A silent film with a musical background and is amazingly enough, actually true to the story. It's pretty well done, IMHO. Deleted scenes is just that, stuff that was cut. There really isn't much. Only three selections, and two of them are just pieces that were cut from scenes that did make it in. There's an expanded version of the opening song, a very short scene where Triton's daughters tell Sebastian that Ariel isn't at the recital before it starts, and an extra verse in Ursula's song. All of these were cut before the final animation was done, and so as you watch it switches back and forth between storyboard still shots and very rough sketchy animation. The games I didn't even bother with, because has there ever been a DVD player game that hasn't totally sucked? Didn't think so.

Overall, it's going to boil down to how much you like the movie, and how much you hate minor edits. If not seeing Jessica Rabbit with no underwear for three frames bothered you, then this DVD is not for you. Otherwise, it is a comprehensive look at the movie that marked the beginning of Disney's second golden age.

I give it 9 out of 10 voice containing seashells.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie - Be Careful what you buy from Amazon re-sellers, October 12, 2005
This movie is wonderful, but wait for Disney to release the Platinum version, and then purchase it directly from Amazon or another authorized seller. There are fake copies being sold through 3rd party sellers. They look new packaged and sealed. It is a violation of Amazon rules for a 3rd party seller to knowingly sell fake copies. If you have received a fake copy you must send it back to the seller. If they do not refund your money immediately you can use Amazon's a-z guarantee to get your money back. This is regardless whether you have opened the copy or used it. Do not let a seller force you to leave good feedback in order to receive a refund that is also a violation of Amazon's polices. BUYER BEWARE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars disney's rebirth, July 26, 2006
looking back, it's hard for me to think of a time when disney didn't rain supremem in the world of family oriented animated features. but most will generally agree that the sixties, seventies, and eighties proved to be a dark time for the company. after walt's death, the company slid and the animation that it had been built on slided into what can only be, at best, called medeocraty. by 1989, all hope for the animation department rested on one motion picture, the little mermaid.

the little mermaid would prove to be a phenominal movie that signified a rebirth in disney animation that would last well into the mid-to-late 1990's. but how did this one movie pull it all off? easy, mermaid features a brilliant blend of great animation, a great story, great performances, and oscar-winning music.

the animation itself is rich and alive. the characters are all given great details that make them feel much more alive. the colors are bold and rich, not bland or monochromatic like in other disney efforts. the backgrounds are all amazingly brilliant and provide a great look at life under the sea from their colors as well combined with their startling detail. the combination of these elements provide an experience that is, for the first time in many years, magical.

the use of another fairy tail seems to serve the company well yet again. many liberties are naturally taken to give the piece a happier ending than the original story. the additional characters and character development make for a great movie as well. from the zaniness of scuttle, to the delightful wickedness of ursula, these are some great characters that lead to a great picture.

a lot of the greatness of those characters is owed to the performances, and wow. jodi benson as ariel may only be heard for the first half of the movie, but her moving performance is a definitive leading lady. pat carroll as ursula is perfect. her voice is nothing short of perfect. and no one can forget samuel e wright as the great jamaican crab. these performers all bring life that the animated movie needs to work.

the music is absolutely stunning. i wont go into much detail, for that u can read my review of the soundtrack. but the great thing about all these songs is that they all progress the story brilliantly, just as a proper musical should. it was helpful to have a broadway team here to provide the six songs rather than a pop duo or performer provide one or two lifeless tracks.

everything about this movie is fun, fresh, and everyhting a great family movie should be. the characters, performers, and songs all bring a life and freedom that is really great to see. there's a reason why this signaled a return to form for the walt disney company. a true timeless classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wait for Platinum Edition this October 2006!, March 27, 2006
By 
Walt Disney Studio's 1989 animated adaptation of Hans Christian Anderson's classic tale "The Little Mermaid" is known for being the beginning of the Disney animation renaissance of the 1990s. While no movie collection is complete without this gem of a film, wait for the October 2006 2-Disc Platinum Edition DVD release. Judging from Disney's treatment of their other classic films' transfers to Platinum Editions, Disney will do this movie the justice it deserves AND it will most likely be less expensive buying this new edition with all its extras than it will be to buy the currently available 1-Disc product from a private seller. So, if you can wait a few months for the headstrong Ariel, the charming Sebastian, and the deliciously evil Ursula, it will be more than worth the wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful story with heartfelt memories., May 26, 1999
By A Customer
"The Little Mermaid" is quite simply the best movie ever made. Some people may rave about "Aladdin", "Beauty and the Beast", "Mulan", and the others, but this is the winner, no questions about it. It is THE best movie, cartoon, show, etc., ever. Ariel is charmingly sweet and innocent; she has a sense of humor, and is optimistic, intellegent, and stubborn. She believes that the world is basically a good place---which it is. Ursula is the most malovolent, frightening-ly funny Disney villian ever. The crab Sebastian is, well, crabby, but he's a "soft shell" underneath it all. Prince Eric is fairly one-dimensional, like all Disney princes, but he has something none of the others seemed to have had: a sense of humor. Flounder is afraid of his own shadow but will encounter anything for his best friend Ariel. The dog Max is goofy and lovable; the same can be said about the seagull Scuttle. And then there's King Triton. Stern and strict, he obviously loves his little girl Ariel and tries to be a good father to her. Even by helping her to reach her dream, as all good parents do. ----- Don't be mistaken into thinking this is a romance movie. Ariel doesn't want to be human just because she loves Eric; she is also fasinated by the human world and has always dreamed of being human. It's underlying message is: "Reach for your goals, and you CAN be a part of the world that you want to be a part of. Dreams can come true, through hard work." And Ariel DOES have to work for her dreams! ----- I have loved this movie since it first came out when I was seven. I saw it at the theater 6 times (and once more when it was re-released last year), and saw the video well over a hundred times. I just watched it again last night! I have many special memories from this film . . . including the night when my Dad came home from work, very late, because he had spent two or three hours coaming all of Philadelphia to find me a Little Mermaid doll. I was SO happy to see "Ariel" herself at home, with my father grinning all the while. I can still see the scene in my memory. My Dad passed away this year, and I miss him horribly. But I know that he'll always be with me, just like Triton will always be "with" Ariel. And I still have that Little Mermaid doll. ------ See this movie. You'll never forget the music, the humor, and the magic "Under the sea"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic movie, but you may want to wait...., April 27, 2005
By 
jag4723 (The Heart of it all) - See all my reviews
This is no doubt a beautiful and classic disney film.

My advice: Wait for the 2-disc "Platinum Edition" to be released. It will contain the extra bonus features that the "Limited Issue" lacks. Also, if you wait you can probably find it for about 20 dollars, which is much better than buying it second hand right now for a ridiculous price. You will get more for your money if you wait! Also, you should know that Disney has decided to speed up their releases with the Platinum series (from 1 every year to 2 each year). So, Little Mermaid will be out in October of 2006. So, if you can wait a year and a half to get the better version, I would recommend it! Especially if you're into extras and bonus features (because the limited issue has NONE!)

So, if anyone is interested, Cinderella is the next Platinum DVD to come out in October of 2005, followed by Lady and the Tramp in March of 2006, and then (finally!) The Little Mermaid in October of 2006

(For 2007, the March release will be The Jungle Book and then 101 Dalmations in October)

For more information... UltimateDisney.com is a great website!

I hope you found this advice helpful, as my wish is for everyone to be able to enjoy this gorgeous Disney film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are you sure you got an authentic disc?, September 11, 2005
People need to be VERY cautious when buying Little Mermaid. This DVD has been out of print so long that it is actually quite rare to find a truly new disc. I've actually had the misfortune of buying several Disney DVD's at auction only to find that they are counterfeit discs even though the box is shrinkwrapped. I e-mailed the seller of one of these DVD's and found out that apparently there are a lot of people who separately buy counterfeit DVD's in bulk (usually from Asia) along with packaging materials. They then assemble all the stuff together, shrinkwrap the whole thing (yes, people actually buy shrinkwrapping machines to do this!) and sell it as new on the web. This also explains all those electronic auctions where the seller makes the outrageous claim that their DVD's don't ship in a hard case but instead come in a more protective sleeve (which is BS) or they're trying to save you shipping (that's because they don't have the authentic cases to send you).

So how can you determine whether you disc is authentic or not? Well, from my experience, several things have clued me in to a particular disc being fake. First start with the packaging. Any authentic Disney (or any brand) DVD has tamper-proof stickers that must be torn or removed to get to the disc. There is always a sticker on top, but some titles also have them on the side and bottom too. Almost all (although I have seen some exceptions) Disney DVD's have shrinkwrap that are stamped with a Buena Vista logo so you can tell if the shrinkwrap was put on at the factory or done by someone else. Also, since counterfeiters frequently are putting everything together themselves look for abnormal signs of wear and tear. For example, if you see a scratch or dent on the paper cover artwork, but the case itself is physically fine, you should be suspicious as to how the artwork could have been damaged if it is supposed to be new and the case itself is undamaged. Another sign I've encountered (and rather obvious one) that a DVD is re-packaged is that the DVD itself will have scratches and/or fingerprints on it. When's the last time you picked up a brand new DVD from a store and found the disc to have scratches and/or fingerprints? That's right - never.

Now the most important way of determining whether a disc is authentic or not is to check the content on the DVD, specifically the size of all the data on the DVD. For this step you'll need to put the DVD into a computer to find out the size of the DVD. For example, the fake Little Mermaid DVD I got off eBay showed up as having 3.6 GB of data. This immediately raised a flag in my head because the back of the Little Mermaid DVD packaging claims that the disc is in dual-layer format. Dual-layer format DVD's are only used for movies that have more than ~4.5 GB of data. In fact a search on the internet revealed that the authentic Little Mermaid DVD was supposed to have 5 GB of data ([...] The fact the data of my DVD wasn't more than a single layer's worth meant that the content of my DVD had been compressed and was a counterfeit. Furthermore, it explained why the quality of the movie was so bad. So check if the packaging says that the disc is in dual-layer format, the data takes up more than ~4.5 GB of data, or even better see if you can find the exact size of the disc from an online review.

If Disney cared about the damage these low-quality discs have on their reputation, they should clamp down on the rampant sale of counterfeits of their movies online. BTW, after discovering this new world of Disney fakes, I finally was able to find an authentic, new Little Mermaid DVD. People who are selling authentic discs usually know they are rare & valuable and typically charge more (think ~upper $20's to $40's) than the bootleggers.

BTW, to explain my rating of the DVD - I would have given the movie 5 stars for the movie, but knocked off 1 star for the lack of extras. We all know Disney can put out some really high caliber releases which, unfortunately, this being one of the earlier DVD's is not one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable family film from the HOUSE of MOUSE, January 24, 2004
While "Beauty and the Beast" may have nominated for BEST Picture, "The Lion King" may have captured the world's attention, and "Aladdin" may have soared with a Robin Williams-voiced genie, "The Little Mermaid" still stands as the landmark film that brought Disney animation to the forefront.
The first of the studio's modern-day musicals, "The Little Mermaid" has it all: a feisty heroine, a faithful mentor/protector, a slightly off-center sidekick, a hunky leading man, a Godlike father, and a villain at the peak of wickedness.
The vocal performances by Jodi Benson ("Ariel"), Kenneth Mars ("King Triton"), Samuel E. Wright ("Sebastian"), Buddy Hackett ("Scuttle") and Pat Carroll ("Ursula") are, without a doubt, the best ever heard in a Disney film. Able-bodied vocal support is given by the always-dependable Rene Auberjoinois as a set-upon French chef.
The songs ("Under the Sea", "Part of Your World", "Poor Unfortunate Soul", "Kiss the Girl") are Broadway-worthy.
It's a shame that the film is not in circulation at the moment. It is truly one in need of remastering and "special edition" status with extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WAIT for the Platinum Version!!, November 12, 2005
You already know how wonderful this movie is, so I will not waste your time with that. I do not actually own this particular dvd set myself, but I was considering it. I just want to let those of you who don't already know and are considering buying this overpriced single disk dvd, DON'T. According to [...] in their upcoming dvd releases, The Little Mermaid will be released as a special PLATINUM VERSION in Oct. 2006 of next year. That is a fact. (Check the website yourself if you don't believe me.) I know it is awhile to wait, but it will be worth it. Besides, some were saying earlier on these reviews that we might not be getting the Little Mermaid Platinum til 2008! So this is much better! I like the rest of you, CAN'T WAIT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2204 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Little Mermaid
The Little Mermaid by Walt Disney Pictures
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.