Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$14.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 6, 2006
One of the most beloved Disney films, "The Little Mermaid" returns on dvd, fully restored and remastered in an all new 2 disc set this October! Rather than talking about the film (c'mon we all know what it is all about and most of are quite familiar with its charm and beauty! Though the first "The Little mermaid" dvd released years ago was just a barebone disc with non-anamorphic transfer, this one will have everything to fulfill every mermaid fan's desire!

Here's what to look forward to in this special 2 disc set:

Fully restored with an all-new Disney Home Theatre 5.1 mix.

Backstage Disney, including an all new commentary.

Treasures Untold: The Making of The Little Mermaid.

The Story Behind The Story.

Deleted Scenes, including Backstage With Sebastian, Sebastian Lost In The Castle, Advice From Sebastian and Fight With Ursula.

Music Video "Kiss The Girl"

Games and Activities inclue The Little Mermaid Under The Sea Adventure: The Virtual Ride, Behind The Ride That Almost Was With Disney Imagineers and DisneyPedia: Life Under The Sea....

....And much more!!

"The Little Mermaid" is surely one of the finest films Disney ever produced and this long awaited platinum edition of this classic would surely be a welcome addition in any dvd collector's shelf!
1010 comments|321 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2006
Finally got around to watching this last night. In this review I'm not going to bother to review the movie itself. It's seventeen years old. I'm sure if you are interested in it you've seen it by now. Rather, I'm going to review the technical quality of the film and the extras provided on the DVD. One thing that feel I should point out up front is that the movie HAS been edited, but only in one scene. The infamous 'clergyman sporting an erection' that caused such a stupid flundie flap has been photoshopped. The theatrical poster artwork is not on the cover or anywhere on the disc for a similar reason. You can find out more by going to Snopes and looking in the Disney films section. I personally don't care, but some people do. Now, on to the review.

This version is widescreen, but it's 16:9 widescreen and not theatrical widescreen, but this has been the case in pretty much all the Disney movie DVDs so no surprises there. The Little Mermaid was the next to last movie Disney did using painted cels, and the film has gone through some kind of digital restoration process. There are comparison shots on the back of the DVD box that show the difference. The colors are very vibrant, and I didn't notice any problems with the encoding or animation. There is support for surround sound and audio tracks in English, French, and Spanish.

It's a two disk set. Disc one has the movie, the configuration options (subtitles, commentary, language ect), a music video of the song 'Kiss the Girl' by someone I've never heard of, a bunch of previews that will be outdated in a few months, and a preview of what's on disc 2. On the box it touts something called Fast Play, which basically means when you load it in, after the standard FBI warnings and all that, the disc gives you the option of immediately starting the movie or going to the menu with the stuff I just mentioned. If you choose to start the movie directly, it plays a bunch of previews that you can skip past using chapter forward on your remote, if you go to the menu and pick play movie, it starts right away. You're actually not forced to sit through ten minutes of BS previews with no way to skip them like on some of the previous Disney DVDs. I approve.

The majority of the extras are on disc 2. It's broken up into three major sections: Backstage Disney, Deleted Scenes, and Games. Backstage Disney is the largest section. It has scads of concept art (imagine Ursula as a lionfish or manta ray instead of an octopus), a videos on how the movie was made, and a new animated short, The Little Match Girl. A silent film with a musical background and is amazingly enough, actually true to the story. It's pretty well done, IMHO. Deleted scenes is just that, stuff that was cut. There really isn't much. Only three selections, and two of them are just pieces that were cut from scenes that did make it in. There's an expanded version of the opening song, a very short scene where Triton's daughters tell Sebastian that Ariel isn't at the recital before it starts, and an extra verse in Ursula's song. All of these were cut before the final animation was done, and so as you watch it switches back and forth between storyboard still shots and very rough sketchy animation. The games I didn't even bother with, because has there ever been a DVD player game that hasn't totally sucked? Didn't think so.

Overall, it's going to boil down to how much you like the movie, and how much you hate minor edits. If not seeing Jessica Rabbit with no underwear for three frames bothered you, then this DVD is not for you. Otherwise, it is a comprehensive look at the movie that marked the beginning of Disney's second golden age.

I give it 9 out of 10 voice containing seashells.
44 comments|156 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2005
This movie is wonderful, but wait for Disney to release the Platinum version, and then purchase it directly from Amazon or another authorized seller. There are fake copies being sold through 3rd party sellers. They look new packaged and sealed. It is a violation of Amazon rules for a 3rd party seller to knowingly sell fake copies. If you have received a fake copy you must send it back to the seller. If they do not refund your money immediately you can use Amazon's a-z guarantee to get your money back. This is regardless whether you have opened the copy or used it. Do not let a seller force you to leave good feedback in order to receive a refund that is also a violation of Amazon's polices. BUYER BEWARE.
0Comment|85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2014
One star rating because this product did not have the blu-ray version of this movie. It had the DVD version as well as four random discs... This is disappointing because of the shipping time and the fact that my daughter opened it up and did not find what she wanted.
review image
33 comments|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2006
This movie will be released on Platinum Edition October 3, 2006(date subject to change). This movie will be given the same treatment as all of the previous Platinum Editions (Snow White, Beauty and the Beast, Lion King, Aladdin, Bambi, Cinderella). This 2-disc set will include brand new bonus features and a fully restored version of the film. The Limited Issue release includes absolutely no extra features, and sometimes grainy picture quality.

This movie is without a doubt, Disney at it's best. For more information on the Platinum release, visit [...] for information that is to be announced. You can also try the official website, [...] However, this website is not yet up but should be within a few months.

I highly recommend waiting for the Platinum release.

P.S.- Lady and the Tramp: Platinum Edition will be released on February 28. 2006
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2013
Everyone knows the story and I am sure most people who are purchasing this have already seen the movie so I won't be discussing the movie. What I will be discussing is the 3D conversion.

First of all, the 3D version is kid approved. My little ones both enjoyed the 3D experience. As far as the picture quality goes, I was very impressed. I would give the picture quality a B+ to A-. The 3D was very nice and dimensional and in my opinion added to the movie. There were a few instances where, there was lots of motion on the screen and in those couple of instances, the 3D was distracting. The colors were vibrant and and the picture was very clean.

I already own the Little Mermaid on DVD so the 3D version was the enticement I needed to buy it on blue ray.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 11, 2013
Princesses have come to Disney's rescue more than once. Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs took Walt Disney and his studio from short subjects into the much more prestigious world of feature films. Cinderella brought the studio back from the WWII setbacks. And The Little Mermaid re-ignited Disney animation, officially launching a second golden age.

It also redefined the musical form of animated features for the first time since Snow White. That is due largely to the vision of lyricist Howard Ashman, who can be seen on the bonus features conducting one of his insightful lectures. With the spectacular music of composer Alan Menken (who made his debut as an underscore composer with this film), the results reverberated throughout the entertainment industry.

Those of us who still pine for cel animation (or 2-D, which seems dismissive) have so much to savor in this film, in particular Glen Keane's animation of Ariel herself. Even though elements of earlier Disney heroines were referenced (including Alice), no previous Disney animated lady ever had the range of expression as Ariel, thanks in no small part to the live modeling done by Sherri Stoner, who you can see in the best of the numerous bonus features, "Under the Scene: The Art of Live Action Reference." (Fans of Animaniacs also know her writing and acting in that great show.)

As to acting in The Little Mermaid, the cast is superb, from the leads like Pat Carroll as Ursula to little gems like the seahorse voiced by Will Ryan. What might be overlooked is the fact that Jodi Benson plays two roles: Ariel and her "evil twin," Vanessa), both so distinctly that it's easy to think of them as two different voice actors). A little bit of trivia, too, about Sam Wright, who voices Sebastian: he was one of the featured players in the 1974 Broadway show, Over Here!, the first such show with music and lyrics by Richard and Robert Sherman (check out the cast CD, it's great).

One quirky note: Is it just me, or does Prince Eric look a lot like David Seville from the '80s Saturday morning cartoon version of Alvin and the Chipmunks?

If you want to have the lion's share of bonus features on DVD, keep your Platinum Edition or find a used copy. Almost everything is only on the Blu-ray, as listed below:
2013 DIAMOND EDITION (2013)

Blu-ray Bonus Features
* "Part of your World" Music Video - Carly Rae Jepsen
* @DisneyAnimation: Go behind the Scenes with Today's Top Disney Animators
(with Ron Clements, John Musker, Mark Henn, Ruben Aquino, Brittney Lee,
Hyun-Min Lee, Kira Lehtomaki, Chad Sellers and John Kahrs)
* Deleted Character - Harold the Merman
* Under the Scene: The Art of Live Action Reference (Ron Clements, John Musker,
Kathryn Beaumont, Sherri Stoner, Joshua Finkel)
* Part of Her World - Jodi Benson's Voyage to New Fantasyland (includes
Seven Dwarfs Mine Train and Disney's Art of Animation Resort )
* Howard's Lecture
* Crab-E-Oke Sing Along
* John & Ron Make Caricatures of Each Other
* Animators Comment on Their Characters
* Clements and Musker Demonstrating "The Little Mermaid Handshake"
* Treasures Untold - The Making of The Little Mermaid
* Storm Warning: The Little Mermaid Special Effects Unit
* Audio Commentary
* Kiss the Girl - Ashley Tisdale Music Video
* Disney Song Selection
* The Little Match Girl (2006 Short)
* Deleted Scene: "Fathoms Below" Alternate Version
* Deleted Scene: Backstage with Sebastian
* Deleted Scene: "Poor Unfortunate Souls" Alternate Version
* Deleted Scene: Sebastian Lost in the Castle
* Deleted Scene: Advice from Sebastian
* Deleted Scene: Fight With Ursula (Alternate Ending)
* Deleted Song: "Silence is Golden" (Song Demo)
* Under the Sea Adventure: A Virtual Ride inspired by Disney Imagineers
(Ride the Attraction / Ride with Disney Imagineers / Behind the Ride that Never Was)
* Disneypedia: Life Under the Sea
* The Story Behind the Story
* Under the Sea Early Presentation Reel
* Original Theatrical Trailer

DVD Bonus Features
* Part of Her World - Jodi Benson's Voyage to New Fantasyland (includes
Seven Dwarfs Mine Train and Disney's Art of Animation Resort )
* Deleted Scene: "Fathoms Below" Alternate Version
* Deleted Scene: Fight With Ursula (Alternate Ending)

2006 PLATINUM EDITION
* Treasures Untold: The Making of The Little Mermaid
* Storm Warning: The Little Mermaid Special Effects Unit
* Audio Commentary
* Kiss the Girl - Ashley Tisdale Music Video
* Disney Song Selection
* The Little Match Girl (2006 Short)
* Original Theatrical Trailer
* Deleted Scene: "Fathoms Below" Alternate Version
* Deleted Scene: Backstage with Sebastian
* Deleted Scene: "Poor Unfortunate Souls" Alternate Version
* Deleted Scene: Sebastian Lost in the Castle
* Deleted Scene: Advice from Sebastian
* Deleted Scene: Fight With Ursula (Alternate Ending)
* Deleted Song: "Silence is Golden" (Song Demo)
* Under the Sea Adventure: A Virtual Ride inspired by Disney Imagineers
(Ride the Attraction / Ride with Disney Imagineers / Behind the Ride that Never Was)
* Disneypedia: Life Under the Sea
* The Story Behind the Story
* Original Theatrical Trailer
* Under the Sea Early Presentation Reel
* The Little Mermaid III Musical Sneak Peek (Direct-to-DVD promo)
* Art Galleries
33 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 16, 2006
In a wonderful kingdom under the sea lives the beautiful mermaid princess, Ariel, seventh and youngest daughter of King Triton, ruler of Atlantica. Ariel's feisty spirit and gorgeous red hair make her a bit of a favorite among Triton's daughters, and her passion for learning human ways and collecting of their artifacts causes much stress to her family and friends. After spying a handsome, young, human prince aboard a ship one evening and saving his life, Ariel is instantly love-struck, and this is completely unacceptable to her overbearing, human-hating father. In a desperate and rebellious action, Ariel turns to a seductive sea witch for help, who takes possession of Ariel's beautiful voice in exchange for a magical spell. The spell changes Ariel's fish-like tail into a lovely pair of human legs, but there is a condition attached. If Ariel can't get the young prince to fall in love with her in three days and seal it with a kiss, the spell will be broken and Ariel will join the witch Ursula's collection of hideously transformed victims. Luckily, the prince is in love with her already, though he doesn't know it. Prince Eric is obsessed with finding the young lady who saved him from drowning that night and whom he caught a glimpse of as she sang to him just before disappearing. When he takes in the now human Ariel after she appears seemingly washed up from a shipwreck, her inability to speak makes him sure she is not the one. Voiceless and only left with her beauty and exuberant charm, Ariel and her animal friends must try their best to make the prince see that she is the lost love he has been searching for, but the Sea Witch will do all she can to stop them before time runs out! If Ursula holds power over Princess Ariel, the king himself will have to bow down before her!

Like "Cinderella" and "Snow White" before it, "The Little Mermaid," released in 1989, single-handedly saved Walt Disney Animation from total vaporization. Following a bit too modestly performing releases and the underrated but still not up to par flop, "The Black Cauldron," this was a last chance for Disney animators to prove animation could still draw and please the film going public; and, boy, did they ever prove it! With just the right combination of story, music, voice talent, and visuals, "The Little Mermaid" turned out to be one of the Disney Studios' most perfect achievements! The Oscar winning music is particularly noteworthy, as one of the film's most groundbreaking moves was bringing a Broadway style to its musical storytelling. This was thanks to the amazing team of Howard Ashman and Alan Menken, who would return to do more brilliant Disney music during the so-called "Renaissance" kicked-off by "The Little Mermaid." Voice talents that must be mentioned are Disney legend Buddy Hackett as the voice of Scuttle, Ariel's dizzy Seagull friend, Samuel E. Wright as Sebastian, the little Caribbean crab that often steals the show, and, of course, Ariel the little mermaid herself, graced with the heavenly voice of Broadway actress Jodi Benson. Pat Carroll does a phenomenal job as the loathsome Ursula, and Christopher Daniel Barnes manages to be a vast improvement on past, rather bland Disney princes. The film, of course, is based on the famous fairytale by Hans Christian Anderson. The original story is actually a bit of a downer, something Anderson had a flair for, and the one, rare complaint that viewers sometimes make about the movie is how much it strays for its Disneyfied rewrite of the story, particularly with its happy ending. But, this complaint doesn't come up that often, and Disney's take successfully carries on the original theme of a mermaid wanting more than her under-sea life will allow. It also beautifully and convincingly handles the father/daughter relationship and the difficult issue of letting go when the time is right. "The Little Mermaid" continues to be one of Disney's most beloved animated classics, and with good reason. It is no less than a masterpiece.

Now, this is easily one of my favorite Disney animated features. I suppose it is for most Disney fans, but with me there's an added incentive: I am absolutely in love with Ariel! Have been since she first splashed onto the big screen! I mean, she's pretty much perfection, with that voice, that bubbly personality, that hair, those eyes, that nose, those lips (notice, I'm not commenting on those seashells, because I'm not a pig, but they're great too), ... and when she gets legs, whoa! I'm so in love with her that I bought one of those overpriced, framed Jodi Benson autographs at Disney World once, along with one of the collectible reproduction animation cels. And this was when I was a student! I mean, I really had to save up for stuff like that! Anyways, point is, I was naturally very psyched about this new, 2-disc, Platinum Edition release of the film. And, in general, I'm very happy with it. There are a few items I don't know why were left out. However, I thankfully found one of them later as one of the two Easter Eggs on disc Two. But, without further ado, here are some details on the DVDs:

Disc One contains the flick itself (in anamorphic widescreen), beautifully restored (though some have complained that it has been overly restored and isn't EXACTLY how the film was meant to look, but it still looks great) but with some slight editing. Yes, editing. It appears that the old Urban Legend about the minister in the wedding scene being aroused has been addressed, and that knee of his that some people imagined to be a different body part has been redrawn. Moving on, Disc One also has a wonderfully informative and at times touching commentary with writer/directors Ron Clements and John Musker, and composer Alan Menken. The late Howard Ashman, lyricist, is included too at times via audio recordings. One music video is included, and this is where I voice one of my complaints of something else that should have been included too. The last VHS release of "The Little Mermaid" included a Jodi Benson video where she sings "Part of Your World" on a beach. This video is NOT the one included. What we get is a cute, Disney Channel star promoting video of Ashley Tisdale singing "Kiss the Girl," and it's fine. I like it. I just think it's pretty bad that the Jodi Benson video wasn't included as well! Another Disc One extra is the Sing Along option for key musical moments in the film, though not all are included. We also are given a sneak peek of the extras on Disc Two, and the more interesting sneak peek at the upcoming sequel, "The Little Mermaid 3." It's a clip of a scene that seems to vaguely remind me of an episode of the animated series where Ariel discovers Sebastian moonlighting as a performer at an undersea nightclub. Speaking of, let's hope the success of this Platinum DVD inspires the DVD release of the wonderful animated series as well.

Disc Two is where the majority of extra features can be found, and while I'm not blown away by the sheer amount of stuff (as I have been in some past Platinum releases), there's still lots of really neat stuff here. The main attraction here should be "Treasures Untold: The Making of the Little Mermaid," which can be found in the Backstage Disney section, and it's certainly a great behind the scenes featurette on the making off the film, full of great interviews and insight into those difficult days at Disney Animation. However, one also wishes the old Disney Channel "Making Of" program was included too, hosted by Alyssa Milano (one of several supposed inspirations for Ariel), which would have had that wonderful "real-time" feeling that you don't get from "after-the-fact" interviews. Yes, that definitely should have been included in the "Platinum Edition." Anyway, as I said, the main attraction here SHOULD be the behind the scenes featurette, but there's something else very special on Disc Two of "The Little Mermaid." Two somethings, in fact. One is an unrelated Disney animated short film, "The Little Match Girl." It's a beautifully done piece with a true to the story ending (believe it or not) that was originally intended for the canceled "Fantasia 2006." No Disney fan should miss owning this amazing piece of Disney filmmaking! The other fantastically special something on Disc Two is filed under, believe it or not, Games and Activities. Yes, something GOOD under Games and Activities! It's an actual virtual ride on a Disney theme park attraction that was never created: an actual Little Mermaid ride! You can "ride" the ride by yourself, or with audio commentary, and there is even a featurette about the ride that "Never Was." Disc Two also features some great deleted scenes selections, an improved DisneyPedia that plays all in one chunk, the original theatrical trailer, the very cool early presentation reel, a retrospective featurette on the effects unit, a charming featurette that looks at Hans Christian Anderson's Little Mermaid in comparison with Disney's take, and, of course, the art galleries. I always enjoy seeing the character development galleries, particularly of Disney's loveliest females. These galleries could be more thorough though, as I love to see promotional/advertising art and merchandising images too. Speaking of, there are two Easter Eggs on the Treasures Untold Menu, as I think I mentioned earlier. Why the McDonald's ornament commercial was not included as a third, I have no idea. I mean, they got permission to show it and yet only showed a couple of seconds of it during the making of featurette. This commercial, with it's wonderful, exclusive animation of Ariel and her fish friend, Flounder, would have been a perfect Easter Egg. Anyway, what we do get is one Easter Egg of the writer/directors drawing caricatures of each other, which is cute, but I'd rather have the commercial, and another Easter Egg about the live-action referencing. Now, this second one is the Easter Egg I was so happy to find! As I mentioned, I was soooo in love with Ariel from the moment the film came out, and this extended to a love for her voice (Jodi Benson) and her live action reference model, Sherri Stoner, who was basically a brunette Ariel. I adored Sherri in that behind the scenes special from when the film first came out and was so disappointed that footage of her performing as Ariel for the animators was not included in "Treasures Untold." It wasn't even mentioned. She wasn't even mentioned! Well, while I do not feel it should have been relegated to an Easter Egg, I was so happy to find it after thinking none of it was included. It's not enough footage, we should have been given more, but it was still nice to see again along with the brief, recent interview moments with Sherri! And while I'm still sad that Jodi's video wasn't included as a Bonus Feature, that particular Easter Egg, plus "The Little Matchgirl," plus the virtual theme park ride, and most importantly, the film itself, one of the best things ever to come from the Disney Studios, make this Platinum Edition DVD a MUST OWN!
1010 comments|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2006
Walt Disney Studio's 1989 animated adaptation of Hans Christian Anderson's classic tale "The Little Mermaid" is known for being the beginning of the Disney animation renaissance of the 1990s. While no movie collection is complete without this gem of a film, wait for the October 2006 2-Disc Platinum Edition DVD release. Judging from Disney's treatment of their other classic films' transfers to Platinum Editions, Disney will do this movie the justice it deserves AND it will most likely be less expensive buying this new edition with all its extras than it will be to buy the currently available 1-Disc product from a private seller. So, if you can wait a few months for the headstrong Ariel, the charming Sebastian, and the deliciously evil Ursula, it will be more than worth the wait!
0Comment|63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Everybody knows that The Little Mermaid is classic Disney, so I'll skip the movie review for now. I just want to say that the BLU RAY transfer is really gorgeous and comparable to some of the best Disney BDs I own, such as Beauty and the Beast and Alice in Wonderland (1951).

The whole color palette is signature Disney and really pops in 1080p. It doesn't look too digitized though, as Disney will sometimes do. It looks classic. Soft where it should be and very sharp when it should be too. I've seen this movie probably 100 times, but I can honestly say that watching it in full HD was like seeing it again for the first time. Without HD, you don't really how much ART was put into the movie. Some of the backdrops literally took my breath away.

As for Audio, it is flawless as well. Delicious surround-sound water noises, fabulous orchestral musical numbers, deep thunderous booms for Ursula. It probably won't show off your system like a super hero movie, but it does sound really, really, really good.

I don't have a 3D TV yet, so I can't comment on that yet, although my friend does have one and he said that the 3D transfer was a little lame. Mostly depth and atmospheric effects, not a lot of pop. I'm okay with that, not really a big 3D guy anyway.

OVERALL: Disney lovers, HD fanatics and anybody else - this is a must-have for the collection. HIGHLY recommended!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.