Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars give this to your teenager!, March 8, 2007
By 
WDH (Bakersfield) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Little Red Hen (Hardcover)
Everyone said this is a childs book. I believe its a teenager book. Teenagers think they should get everything and do nothing. After an incident with one of my teenagers I got this book and the understanding of how life works in the book made sense to my teenager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Cheerful Moral Lesson About Work and Laziness, September 22, 2010
This review is from: The Little Red Hen (Hardcover)
The Little Red Hen is a tale beloved by generations of children for its pleasing repetition, its humor, and its unsubtle moral at the end. A red hen finds some wheat kernels and, in the face of her friends' refusal to assist, successfully plants it, harvests its crop, takes the wheat to the miller to be ground, and bakes it into bread. Then, when all her lazy friends invite themselves to partake, she eats it herself, thus illustrating (perhaps not very graciously) the lesson of 2 Thessalonians 3:10 that those who do not work should not partake of the benefits of others' work.

Jerry Pinkney has interpreted this old story with extravagant watercolors, fully of careful detail and narrated with cheerful and humorous text. There is even a delightful self-portrait of the artist as the miller, with his paints and sketches tucked away in the corner as he turns from the mill to hand the little red hen her flour. This story is sure to be enjoyed by a preschool and elementary school audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Little Red Hen, July 10, 2006
This review is from: The Little Red Hen (Hardcover)
Wonderful illustrations to an old story with a new twist ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pinkney's Little Red Hen is the best!, September 29, 2007
This review is from: The Little Red Hen (Hardcover)
The illustrations in this version of the classic children's story are fabulous! The story takes on even more dimensions without losing it's fun and sometimes predictable text that makes it fun for all teachers and parents to share with children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Little Red Hen, October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Little Red Hen (Hardcover)
I love the illustrations by Jerry Pickney!! I will use the book in my primary music classes when teaching the song "Who Will Plant the Wheat?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars With a cameo appearance from the author himself!, September 7, 2013
This review is from: The Little Red Hen (Hardcover)
Jerry Pinkney is the master of illustrations. He could illustrate my grocery list and win a Caldecott Honor.

This is a wonderful version of the Little Red Hen, with fun farmyard friends and accoutrements (goat cart, rat-tail sickle, a little hen-kerchief.) All the original tale, fabulous illustrations. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, high quality book, April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Little Red Hen (Hardcover)
I love this story and this book is a keeper. Lots of details to watch for at in the illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PUT YOU ZIPPERS ON !!!!!!!!!, January 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Little Red Hen (Hardcover)
WHICH IS WHAT I TELL MY PRE SCHOOLERS AT STORY TIME ......THEY ARE ALWAYS FASCINATED WHEN I PULL OUT " A VISITOR " !!! THEY LOVED THE BOOK AND PUPPET ..........SB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Little Red Hen, February 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Little Red Hen (Hardcover)
I have always loved reading various versions of The Little Red Hen to students. When you add Jerry Pinkney's wonderful drawings it just enhances the story. My students loved it and could compare it to other versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful illustrations, August 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Little Red Hen (Hardcover)
I have purchased several versions of Little red Riding Hood, both for my children as well as for my own collection. The layout and wonderful illustrations in this version rank among the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa22c89f0)

This product

The Little Red Hen
The Little Red Hen by Jerry Pinkney (Hardcover - May 18, 2006)
$17.99 $13.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.