Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living the Bhagavad Gita.
Sri Swami Satchidananda has brought to life the teachings of the Bhagavad Gita for the modern seeker. The Bhagavad Gita is the beautiful and famous lessons on life that Krishna gave Arjuna on the battle field. The Gita starts with the great war on the battle field Kurukshetra between two families, the Pandavas and the Kauravas. Arjuna belonging to the Pandavas must fight...
Published on July 4, 2002 by Tongan Tatatau

versus
8 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Any reviewers here not connected to the Hare Krishna movement?
Just curious: are all these reviews an answer to a call put out by the International Society for Krishna Consciousness in order to get this book selling better than others would?

Nice alternative to this book: The Bhagavad Gita as translated by Gandhi.
Published on August 20, 2011 by M. Carmody


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living the Bhagavad Gita., July 4, 2002
This review is from: The Living Gita: The Complete Bhagavad Gita - A Commentary for Modern Readers (Paperback)
Sri Swami Satchidananda has brought to life the teachings of the Bhagavad Gita for the modern seeker. The Bhagavad Gita is the beautiful and famous lessons on life that Krishna gave Arjuna on the battle field. The Gita starts with the great war on the battle field Kurukshetra between two families, the Pandavas and the Kauravas. Arjuna belonging to the Pandavas must fight to up hold righteousness against the evil Kauravas. But on seeing the Kauravas on the battlefield and realizing that he knows many of them as teacher, friend and kin, Arjuna finds that he cannot go in to battle. Krishna observing Arjunas inner conflict gives Arjuna lessons on the reality of life. Reading the story we see that the battlefield is not the Kurukshetra but our own body. The evil Kauravas our learned habits formed by ego and its manifestations. The Pandavas our pure qualities of love, non-violence, peace and truth. Arjuna is our inner being having conflict with our actions and expressions and Krishna the Lord every loving in his guidance.
The Bhagavad Gita is truely a great scripture with much truth contained with in its lessons. However as a modern society we often struggle to assimilate spiritual teachings in to our present expression of life. Some find it hard to relate to our present life and a lesson that happened thousands of years ago. Here is where Sri Swami Satchidananda has gifted us with a modern commentary on the Bhagavad Gita that relates to our modern mind and environment. To capture the beauty of this book is to express the teachings through action in our every day. life. I brought this book for my brother who showed an interest in my love of Vedic teachings. I brought him this commentary and read some of it before I sent it to him. I liked Sri Swami Satchidananda's commentary so much that I went and brought another copy for myself. Full of truth and so easy to relate too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Living Gita for Living People, May 28, 2000
By 
This review is from: The Living Gita: The Complete Bhagavad Gita - A Commentary for Modern Readers (Paperback)
I have explored several versions of the Bhagavad Gita with commentaries, among them, that by William Q. Judge and the one provided by Paramahansa Yogananda. Previous to reading The Living Gita, I have been confused and haven't understood the ideas expressed. Sri Swami Satchidananda presents the text in easy-to-understand English, and offers concrete examples drawn from our everyday life to support his version and the commentaries he makes. The superficial story is of opposing armies on the battlefield, but the underlying meaning relates more to our everyday fight with our more selfish instincts, and how we can rise above our natural self-centered inclinations. I appreciate the insights that Swami Satchidananda gives us in our daily struggle to be better human beings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and easily understood translation of the Gita, August 22, 2006
This review is from: The Living Gita: The Complete Bhagavad Gita - A Commentary for Modern Readers (Paperback)
The Gita can be read very easily without much understanding. This translation and commentary is relatively easy to understand. Its lessons can be incorporated into daily life. It is also reassuring that the interpretation is coming from a swami. Swami Satchidananda uses simple examples from life to clarify even the most obscure sentences in this text. BUY THIS BOOK IF YOU ARE A SEEKER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent translation, March 3, 2009
This review is from: The Living Gita: The Complete Bhagavad Gita - A Commentary for Modern Readers (Paperback)
There have been many translations of the Bhagavad Gita, but Sri Swami Satchidananda's is one of the best. He breaks down the slokas with frequent explainations built into each chapter, which makes the translation even easier for the reader. I use this translation in my yoga teacher training programs and have had many thought-provoking discussions with my training groups. I recommend this translation highly.
Tracey L. Ulshafer, author "Butterfly"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Living Gita, August 31, 2011
By 
Rob (Lapeer, MI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Living Gita: The Complete Bhagavad Gita - A Commentary for Modern Readers (Paperback)
The first version of the Gita I read was the translated by E. Easwaran. It was an excellent introduction to this Vedic classic and Easwaran's commentary (though relatively limited) served as good basis for understanding the Gita beyond its prose. Wanting to both read a different translation and to delve deeper into this spiritual cornerstone I chose "The Living Gita". This book delivers precisely what it claims- a commentary for modern readers. Even if you are unfamiliar with Hinduism/Vedic scripture or their spiritual practices this Gita commentary offers a bridge between the modern reader and the ancient context. Swami Satchidananda explains the meaning and implications of Krishna's teachings in a way that is simple though not insulting. His devotion and wisdom are tangible as he brings to life material that continues to influence religious and spiritually minded people. With this commentary it is easy to see why men like Gandhi chose this book for daily reading. The text is rich as is; but for those of us in the West who may not have the time or resources to seek out a Guru this commentary may be the next best thing. Satchidananda's voice is familiar and void of pretense. It is clear that his efforts to bring the beauty and richness of this Eastern staple to the Western reader originated from a heart that is familiar with its content, yet continues to be awed by it. If you wish to understand the Gita more, or the roots of Hinduism/Vedic religion, this book is an excellent start. Like all scriptures it can (and should) be read and re-read. It is accessible and practical and can be turned to for any situation that life may bring. I highly recommend this commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will nourish your soul :-)), January 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Living Gita: The Complete Bhagavad Gita - A Commentary for Modern Readers (Paperback)
After carefully sifting through the many translations available in English of the Srimad Bhagavad Gita, I finally chose to study the "The Living Gita..". I have read other works by the author, Swami Satchidananda, however this would have to be his best! Each verse is translated clearly and his commentaries which follow are explained in plain easy to understand English - amazingly easy to digest and once you pick up this priceless gem its near impossible to put it back down given its rich, inspiring, insightful, relieving, healing, encouraging, nourishing, nurturing content.. simply heart melting and at times way ecstatic you wouldn't know what to do with yourself :-)) Swami Satchidananda's commentaries go a long way in helping to practice/live the Srimad Bhagavad Gita!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly expressed wisdom, April 10, 2008
This review is from: The Living Gita: The Complete Bhagavad Gita - A Commentary for Modern Readers (Paperback)
A supremely readable commentary for the modern reader. Strictly speaking, this is Yoga rather than Advaita but that really does not matter - it is full of clearly expressed wisdom. If you want to discover the essential message of the Gita and its relevance to modern life (and enjoy the reading experience too) this is definitely the book you should get.

Dennis Waite, author of Back to the Truth: 5000 years of Advaita
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!! So Much Better for Understanding, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Living Gita: The Complete Bhagavad Gita - A Commentary for Modern Readers (Paperback)
I am not a member of the Hare Krishna movement, whatever that is, but I LOVE this translation and commentary. I have a different translation which was nice but I am a westerner from the US and the Indian Culture is a little difficult for me to understand, even when translated, however, Sri Swami Satchidananda's commentary makes this book of wisdom SO much more accessible and simple to understand without taking away any of the baffling mystery or spirituality from it. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morpheus, August 5, 2014
This review is from: The Living Gita: The Complete Bhagavad Gita - A Commentary for Modern Readers (Paperback)
These days, we are far too busy with financial worries to think about the dreadful riddle of life. The big riddle isn't real because we are all dazzled by progress and so we believe that our situation will last forever. Indeed, we've convinced ourselves that we are not a hurtable carcass that eats burgers and stenchfully excretes it out of the other end. The years won't wrinkle this fine face, we tell ourselves, and disease won't cruelly hound these tasty organs, we believe! This unbleeding beauty will never age, crumble and die.

Today we've swept death under the carpet, but this is a biological lie because of the reality of the afterlife, a reality that's been forgotten by our high definition world. Because of the absence of an afterlife in our civilisation, with neither a heaven above nor a hell below, when we die, nothing remains, we are devoured by the Lord of Darkness!

In Goethe's Faust, the Lord of Darkness says, "I see the learning in what you say.
What you don't touch, for you lies miles away
What you don't grasp, is wholly lost to you
What you don't reckon, you believe not true
What you don't weigh, this has for you no weight
What you don't count, you're sure is counterfeit".

Most people are happy with football, financial slavery, and voting in the X Factor; and anyway, we deserved to be imprisoned, damned, and whipped by the scientist. Unless, that is, we are characters are in a game show; then we can vote ourselves off!

Anyway, the Bhagavad Gita answers all the above conundrums. The hurtable carcass is mere meat, the Gita sings, I am Brahman, not meat! The yogas Krshna speaks of are escape shoots from the wheel of meat sh''it we call life. Goethe was wrong because he looked outside for liberation and he found the Devil. The Gita teaches the inner truth. Its astounding that the Bhagavad Gita is the same age as the Old Testament!

In the Matrix, Morpheus says that those who recoil at the idea of being entangled are the most glued to the illusion. In the Matrix, we can't break out of your ego-bubble on our own and because it hurts the ego to admit to being tricked, we prefer the trickery, or dreams. Morpheus is there to awaken you.

Therefore, a good commentary is like morpheus. Some will need a really great commentary for their guide to liberation because only the adepts can peel away the cobwebs of our material world to grasp what is meant by the Celestial Song. The philosophical lightness of the Bhagavad Gita won't easily float to the surface with the majority of our friends. The communication of ideas requires a similitude of thought and language: the lightness of the Song of Divinity can only be held in a Sanskrit chant, as the discourse of a language that is musical would vibrate without effect on the ear of the English speaker. How minuscule is the English tongue when it is compared with a higher language? This is why the commentary is essential.

This commentary is probably as good as we deserve in our soiled tongue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent explanations by Swami Satchidananda, March 19, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Gita is a very difficult book to comprehend.
Although it describes the advice given by Lord Krishna to Arjun on battlefiled, it is not a battle between good and bad guys. The battle is really within the mind of every human being, between our good thoughts and bad (negative) thoughts.
This book is not for anyone looking for quick reading. The book is invalualble for those trying to live virtous life. No one should buy this book for light reading. Take the time to read.
The book has to be read slowly absorbing spirituality.
Swami Satchidanda's explanations are extremely helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Living Gita: The Complete Bhagavad Gita - A Commentary for Modern Readers
The Living Gita: The Complete Bhagavad Gita - A Commentary for Modern Readers by Sri S. Satchidananda (Paperback - January 15, 1988)
$17.95 $14.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.