Kindle Price: $4.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Get the Free Kindle App

Enter email or phone number to get a link

Processing your request...

The Lizard King: The Shocking Inside Account of Obama's True Intergalactic Ambitions by an Anonymous White House Staffer Kindle Edition

71 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle, Kindle eBook, October 9, 2012
"Please retry"
$4.99
$4.99

Length: 74 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

The Gold Standard: Rules to Rule By
Ari Gold, after years of dominating the Hollywood agency scene, offers invaluable tips on how to be as successful as Gold himself. Learn more

Product Details

  • File Size: 874 KB
  • Print Length: 74 pages
  • Publisher: Broadside e-books (October 9, 2012)
  • Publication Date: October 9, 2012
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008TW3JQI
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #502,921 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful By Margot T. on October 9, 2012
"Lizard King" is allegedly a manuscript from an anonymous White House staffer, but it very well could be an undiscovered Vonnegut novella.

It will have you spitting out your coffee at points, and feeling really, really sorry for David Axlerod at others. Would highly recommend for a quick, hilariously weird read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful By Tucker Carlson on October 9, 2012
This is the wittiest political novel I've read in years. The depictions of Rahm Emanuel and David Alexrod alone are worth the price. The sections on Valerie Jarrett made my snarf my coffee. If this novel isn't strictly speaking true, it's got to be pretty close. This is dry comedy in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh and Christopher Buckley. Really outstanding.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful By Vinny C. on October 9, 2012
I hate how much I love this book.

It's all at once incredibly stimulating (I had to Google half the references to follow along) and ridiculously base (any passage with Rahm Emanuel is sure to offer the widest array of F-words you've ever consumed in one sitting.) The combination of both makes it very smart and very funny.

What I love about The Lizard King is that it flirts with some of the most believable tensions between White House staffers and absolutely blows them up into their most absurd caricatures.

Nowadays, just the name "Barack Obama" elicits hyperbolic responses. But try not to affix your politics to the book's meaning. Additionally, stop thinking everything has to have a meaning.

The authors (or editors??) have created something that will endear readers from both sides of the political aisle.

If you love politics and humor, you'll adore this book.

Buy it for a friend, too. If he comes running back to tell you he can't believe a former White House staffer would reveal all this, then you'll know your friend is a moron.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful By Nicole on October 9, 2012
Hilarious must-read. Makes you wonder what ELSE that they say about Barack Obama is true. Truly a wonderful satire of the current state of affairs in DC. Check it out before you cast your vote!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Paul Conner on October 9, 2012
Cleverly written and entertaining, "The Lizard King" turns a satirical eye toward both political persuasions in our time, while taking neither of them too seriously. The storytelling is engaging, and the book often had me laughing to myself. It's a genuinely funny book, and I can see people from both parties enjoying it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful By R. McCain on October 9, 2012
Verified Purchase
Do not start reading this ebook unless you can spare the time to finish it because once you start you cannot stop. I may never know if this is true or fantasy. Either way it is gripping and terrifying in a very unsettling way. I know we don't really know what goes on among the powerful. I do not want to be one of those crazy conspiracy theorists, but I don't want to be a fool either. What is true? What isn't? Warning: this book may keep you awake at nights and cause you to be suspicious of everything you think you believe. All satire? We can only hope.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By JH on October 9, 2012
Why is this book so fun? Because it comes up with preposterously funny and fantastic answers to real questions. Why did Rahm Emmanuel really quit the administration? Why is Valerie Jarett so cherished by the Obama family? The answers are all over-the-top conspiracy theories, but these are now written by the pens of comic writers rather than raving blog-happy lunatics. If you love asking serious questions and getting back silly responses, then you'll enjoy reading this book.

Oh, and it may also be considered a masterpiece by raving blog-happy lunatics.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful By charles a miller on October 9, 2012
For those not aware of who the Lizard King is...

A charicature of the "lizard king" concept can be seen in the movie Conan The Barbarian. Just think of the scene when the Lizard King (James Earl Jones) orders a young lady with a wave of a hand to kill herself. The construct of power, real power, takes into account a new dimension. The sword has been removed from the equation.

But of course as we all know, the king will soon have no subjects. Not everone is as brainwashed as the chick who offed her really cute ass. Remember, the last act of every great civilization is to be overrun by enemies. The road that led them to their fate was essentially self inflicted...

They allowed the Lizard King to become their leader.

But let me tell you, after 5 years of research on obama, please read this piece of satire as a tale of the lizard king of yore.

Because if you know what I know about the guy, there would neccessitate a civil war if that is what it took to put this traitor POS in front of a firing squad. Everything you "know" about obama is false.

They just made it up. Kind of like this book.

The reality of the man is much worse than the fiction.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?