ACDelco Radiators & Heating Components Shop Men's Watches Cloud Drive Photos nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Janet Jackson belkin All-New Fire TV Stick with Voice Remote Grocery Introducing Handmade Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer wdftv wdftv wdftv  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Now STEM Toys & Games

Format: Amazon Instant VideoChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

155 of 159 people found the following review helpful
on June 4, 2013
My Collectors' Edition set arrived a bit ago from Amazon. I've had a chance to look at some of the discs, their running times, and the other contents of the set, and here's how it breaks down:

At first glance, the book is indeed the size of a coffee table book and won't fit on a bookshelf/media shelf. It has a nice slipcase with a glue-tabbed label on one side advertising all of the contents (it also mentions "Over 92 hours of Original Lone Ranger" and 221 episodes/30 DVDs including the 2 movies). The thing is quite heavy to boot.

The Discs Themselves: Each season's discs are color-coded with new disc artwork, and these have new menus compared to the 75th anniversary set. With that set, you had to wait for a portion of the intro to play before getting to the menu, and you couldn't skip it to go straight to the menu. Here, the menu loads immediately as the intro plays in a portion of the screen. I consider this to be a small, but pleasant, improvement.

Seasons 1 & 2: These have the same episode counts on each disc and same run times on each discs as the 75th anniversary set (varying from 24 minutes and change up to 25 minutes and change). Prints look the same. Aside from the menu change, these discs seem identical to the earlier set.

Season 3: I can't recall from syndication if these episodes still featured the Clayton Moore intro, or if they had a new intro with John Hart, but here on these discs, it's the same Clayton Moore intro as Seasons 1 and 2. Run times vary from 22:40 to 23 minutes and change, with a stray episode here and there running around 24 minutes it seems. These appear to be of similar video and audio quality to the Season 1 & 2 shows, but obviously shorter syndicated prints than on those seasons. The shorter run times allow them to fit more shows on each disc compared to Seasons 1 & 2. These were also clearly authored from videotape transfers. 9 episodes to a disc this time, 6 discs for the season (7 episodes on the last disc).

Season 4: Same as season 3--we get episodes ranging from 22:40 to over 23 minutes and almost 24 in a few instances. Same audio/video quality, videotape transfers. 9 episodes to a disc once again, 6 discs for the season (7 episodes on the last disc).

Season 5: 4 discs, with 10 episodes on the first 3 and 9 on the last disc. Same audio/video quality as the other seasons (except of course they are now in color, and appear to be videotape transfers). Run times are around 22:30 each and a few run close to 23 minutes. I compared these prints to Rhino's Season 5 set, and while those also had the same run times as these (~22:30-23:00), the Rhino episodes look better simply due to much less compression (that set had about 5 episodes to a disc, compared to the 10 on these). The Rhino episodes also had several chapter breaks in each episode, whereas this set has no chapter breaks on any episodes.

With regards to the season 3-5 episodes, I did not detect any time compression or speed-up in the audio or the video, same as with the earlier seasons.

Bonus Disc 1: This appears to be the same bunch of extras as the 75th anniversary set (same Lassie episode-"Peace Patrol", same Lone Ranger animated episodes from 1966, and the same radio broadcast). I believe the menu is even the same, so I think this is the exact same disc with new disc art.

Bonus Disc 2: Features the 2 movies, "The Lone Ranger" (1956, color) and "The Lone Ranger and the Lost City of Gold" (1958, color). Run time on the first movie is 1:26 and the second movie is 1:21. Prints are not remastered in any way, but generally good quality, same as the episodes themselves, perhaps slightly better due to less compression. These also seem to be from videotape transfers.

The Collectibles: The same contents in the sleeve pouch as the 75th anniversary set, EXCEPT no trading cards (at least not in mine). The pages of the coffee table book hold 2 discs to a page (top and bottom right side), and the discs are easy to remove without having to pinch the edge of the page (by comparison, the James Bond 50 set discs were much harder to get out of those sleeves which were also contained in the pages of a book). The artwork on the pages is similar to the artwork on the pages of the 75th set's collectible booklet. HOWEVER, the 75 set's booklet had a TON of text material, which I found very informative, and this set has NONE of that text material contained in the pages of this book. Both feature the same timeline (with the new set having an updated timeline for 2007 and 2013). The lack of all that wonderfully written historical information giving detailed background on the history of the character and the series is SORELY MISSED in this book--I don't understand why it wasn't included here. You do get a Life Magazine-sized episode guide to each season's shows by disc, but no other written content.

Interestingly, my 75th set had a certificate for "Weber's Lone Ranger Safety Club" and a number, 90240. The same certificate and number is included in the pages of this set as well.

Overall, if you already own the 75th anniversary set and the Rhino set, you do not need to purchase this set unless you simply want the missing episodes (I'm sure some enterprising individual will probably be selling the Season 3-5 discs on ebay before too long). The Season 3-5 shows are also heavily edited down, unlike the earlier episodes. Additionally, the wonderfully detailed text from the book is not included, nor are the trading cards, and the prints on the Rhino set are a little nicer looking with chapter breaks, unlike these. HOWEVER--you do get the 2 theatrical features, and I'm not sure if these are/were sold separately on DVD at some point.

I'm a huge Lone Ranger fan who never missed an episode an syndication as a kid, week after week, year after year, so having a complete run of the shows was worth the double-dip for me ($150 on Amazon currently), even though the size of this set is cumbersome. I am disappointed that not as much TLC went into this set as went into the 75th anniversary set, but ultimately, I'm happy to have them and share them with my young 'uns!

Hopefully this info helps some of you make an informed decision on whether or not to purchase. Hi-Yo Silver, awaaay!
1010 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
150 of 157 people found the following review helpful
on May 19, 2001
Without any knowledge of what this DVD 2 pack contained, I bought it based on my love of Clayton Moore and the Lone Ranger! I was completely surprised by the quality of the film print! This film looks better than many of the feature films today. It is prestine. The trailers, interviews with Dawn Moore and Michael Ansara and photo gallery were the iceing on the cake. This was Clayton Moore's favorite LONE RANGER feature film and rightfully so. This film should have been re-released to the theaters instead of making the forgetable film of the late 1970's and Moore never should have been in a legal battle over the mask he, and only he, deserved to wear. Rick Goldschmidt (Author of THE MAKING OF A RANKIN/BASS HOLIDAY CLASSIC: RUDOLPH THE RED-NOSED REINDEER)
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon September 26, 2005
VCI Entertainment and Warner Bros. present the first big screen full length in color "The Lone Ranger" (1956)(Special Edition) (digitally remastered in Dolby), long running Lone Ranger series on radio and then turned out in the early '40s in the's all new and in Warnercolor the west's greatest hero...the story line is excellent with outstanding action scenes and production with over hours worth of entertainment.... the Ranger and Tonto must overt an all out Indian War and stop the rancher Reece Kilgore from taking over Indian Lands...will the Lone Ranger come up with disguises to get in with the gang of local villians...can we count on the Masked Rider and his faithful Indian Companion to right all the wrongs across the plains...respect for the Native American and the diginity they have earned is displayed throughtout the story and the scene in which the Ranger bestows upon Red Hawk the Indian Chief, is very touching...we all know very well that Tonto and the Ranger are very good friends and saddle partners...Clayton Moore once stated he loved Jay Silverheels like a Brother...and that my friends is a real hero!

Under director Stuart Hiesler, producers Jack Wrather and Willis Goldbeck, screenplay by Herb Meadow and George W. Trendle...the cast include Clayton Moore (Lone Ranger), Jay Silverheels (Tonto), Silver (Lone Ranger's horse), Scout (Tonto's horse, Lyle Bettger (Reece Kilgore), Bonita Granville (Welcome Kilgore), Perry Lopez (Pete Ramirez), Michael Ansara (Angry Horse), Robert J. Wilke (Cassidy (Kilgore's foreman), Frank DeKova (Chief Red Hawk), John Pickard (Sheriff Sam Kimberley), Beverly Washburn (Lila Kilgore), Lane Chandler (Chip Walker), Kermit Maynard (Rev. Purdy )...the Masked Man rides to new heights of excitement...entertainment for every man, woman and child who ever dreamed of adventure...another thrilling days of yesteryear western with a "Hi-Yo Silver" the Lone Ranger rides again with this big screen technicolor release from Warner Brothers Pictures.


(The Lone Ranger - Special Edition -Wide Screen & Full Screen)

1. Opening

2. The Governor

3. Old Prospector

4. Two Sides

5. Ridin' n' Ropin'

6. Abilene

7. Just in Time

8. Finding Clues

9. Preparations


11.The Scarf

12.Held Captive

13.The Rescue

14.Spirit Mountain



17.The Chase

18.Rest Easy


1. Interview with Michael Ansara by Michael Druxman

2. Interview with Dawn Moore by Leonard Maltin

BIOS:(Disc Two)


Birth Name: Jack Carlton Moore

Birth Date: 9/14/1914 - Chicago, Illinois

Death Date: 12/28/1999) - Los Angeles, CA


Birth Name: Harold J. Smith

Birth Date: 5/26/1918 - Ontario, Canada

Death Date: 3/05/1980 - Woodland Hills, CA

3. Lyle Bettger

4. Bonita Granville

5. Michael Ansara

6. Stuart Heisler (Director)


1. "The Lone Ranger" the films stills in color & black and white - Lobby Cards


1. "Ride in the Whirlwind" (Jack Nicholson, Mille Perkins, Cameron Mitchell and Harry Dean Stanton)

2. "The Shooting" (Jack Nicholson, Millie Perkins, Will Hutchins and Warren Oates)

3. "The Lone Ranger" (thunders to the motion picture screen) (restored trailer)

4. "The Lone Ranger and the Lost City of Gold" (restored trailer) (Golden Book Entertaiment)


Written by Fran Striker.

Clayton Moore was a circus acrobat at the age of eight and grew up in the Midwest (Illinois)...worked in the circus and traveled to New York and then Hollywood where he became a stuntman and bit player...inducted into the "Stuntman's Hall of Fame" in 1982...also received the "Western Heritage Award from the National Cowboy Hall of Fame'" also the "Hall of Great Western Performers of the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum" both in 1990...Clayton was once quoted "Playing him [the Lone Ranger] made me a better person.", "Once I got the Lone Ranger role, I didn't want any other. I was playing the good guy."..."I will continue wearing the white hat and black mask until I ride up into the big ranch in the sky." (On his costume as the Lone Ranger, February 4, 1985)...Clayton very much enjoyed quoting and lived by "A Ranger's Creed" which included this moral lesson "That God put the firewood there, but every man must gather and light it himself."

Great job by VCI Entertainment for releasing the digital transfere with a clean, clear and crisp print...looking forward to more of the same from The Lone Ranger vintage era...order your copy now from Amazon or VCI Entertainment, stay tuned once again with a top notch B-Western from VCI...just the way we like 'em!

Total Time: 87 mins on 2 DVD's ~ VCI Entertainment 8252 ~ (5/01/2001)
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
on June 8, 2013
Let me start by saying that I'm glad Classic Media decided to release the entire Lone Ranger series. It's great to see many episodes I've never seen before - particularly season three (with John Hart in the Lone Ranger role) and season five (in colour). However, I think there is a real problem with this set and that's the timing.

Classic Media is releasing this set to tie in with the new Lone Ranger movie. As a result, it's pretty clear they've rushed this set out to meet that deadline without giving it the careful thought they gave their earlier 75th Anniversary Lone Ranger set.

One of the giveaways is Classic Media has used the same artwork and designs from the 75th set. They've also reprinted the same memorabilia items and bonus materials disc and added the Lone Ranger features disc they had released recently. That would allow them to speed up the set's production rather than coming up with new material.

That "need for speed" has hurt the set in certain ways. There's little or no info on the show and characters themselves as there was in the early set. Yes, they do include a guide to the episodes. However, this is a separate booklet. The slipcase itself is full of random Lone Ranger art without any listings or markings to indicate which discs are in which sleeves. That makes it a little problematic trying to find the episode you want. The new DVD menus also don't match the disc colours (i.e. blue discs have the red DVD menu, the black discs have the yellow menu, etc.)

The prints are in very good shape (generally B+) but they haven't gone back to the masters here. Classic Media has stuck with the syndicated edits which are truncated slightly as they were in the 75th set (one of that set's only real drawbacks). Instead of the original openings here, the first four seasons use a decolorized opening taken from the final colour season. (You can tell because they have the same print damage as the fifth season colour opening.) The colour episodes themselves are quite good given their age with the exception of the odd minor print dirt or scuffing.

In Classic Media's defense, it's possible the original prints needed a lot of restoration work to re-instate all the full intros and outros - and they didn't have the time or budget for the set to do so. In order to incorporate the complete prints, the set would've definitely needed to be larger in size to incorporate additional discs. Classic Media also went through an ownership change recently - and is now under the DreamWorks umbrella. Perhaps that move had an affect on the product here.

Actually, it's too bad they didn't continue to release the remaining three seasons years ago after they'd released seasons one and two with the 75th Anniversary set. (Again, they were likely waiting on the prospect of a new Lone Ranger movie in order to boost sales.) The more I look at the first 75th set, it was incredibly compact and overflowed with nice Lone Ranger touches. With John Hart taking over the Lone Ranger role in the third season, it's possible Classic Media were worried sales would drop off substantially with a John Hart Lone Ranger set. (To be honest, John Hart doesn't do a bad job here. He just seems to lack some of the intensity Clayton Moore brought to the role.)

In terms of the set's construction, I was initially concerned about the DVD cardboard sleeve idea but had nothing to worry about. This oversized limited edition slipcase set is very hefty - it's a beast! - making it very well-protected. The actual DVDs are in huge pages with large smooth sleeves that protect the DVDs and make them easy to retrieve.

All in all, I'm glad I bought the set and finally have all the episodes - particularly the colour ones - after years of waiting. When it comes right down to it, the only real unfortunate drawbacks are the lack of full prints and some improved info and DVD identification that would've make this set a real winner.

Classic Media hasn't put out a definitive set here. But they have done a decent job given the project's apparent limitations and the fact that a collection like this has never been attempted before. I would've liked to see some finer details like I did with the handy and ultimately more thoughtful 75th set. But this one still gets the job done. And it might be the only complete set we have to look forward to regardless.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
on April 30, 2001
This DVD gives you the best of both viewing worlds!! View it in widescreen or standard pan and scan. The Lone Ranger and his faithful companion, Tonto, never looked better. The movie opens in an action packed sequence and continues through confrontations and gunfights without the all the graphic dismemberments. This film will take you back to the times when the whole family sat together and enjoyed true entertainment with a great message. The double dvd set includes a seperate dvd with bonus materials including an interview with Clayton Moore's daughter, Dawn as interviewed by Leonard Maltin. It also contains a recently produced interview with actor Michael Ansara. This DVD is one for the whole family.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on February 29, 2000
This video features the first three episodes of the classic TV series with Clayton Moore and Jay Silverheels. It chronicles the origin of the Lone Ranger, how he met Tonto and became the Lone Ranger, where his silver bullets come from, and his quest to bring the Cavendish Gang (who murdered his brother, and several other Texas Rangers) to justice.
This is definitely *THE* Lone Ranger video to have. It features:
"Enter the Lone Ranger" - The Texas Rangers were the only law and order in the Old West until they were double-crossed, ambushed and slaughtered by the notorious Cavendish Gang. Now, only one ranger survives and he dedicates his life to their memory. With the help of his long lost friend Tonto, the Lone Ranger vows to bring back law and order to the frontier.
"The Ranger Fights On" - After burying his true identity by the graves of his brother and other Texas Ranger companions, the Lone Ranger disguises himself with a black mask and goes after the Cavendish Gang on the back of a wild silver stallion.
"The Cavendish Gang" - Butch Cavendish and his band of outlaws escape again and it is up to the Lone Ranger and Tonto to put and end to The Cavendish Gang.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
63 of 74 people found the following review helpful
on May 11, 2013
As a Lone Ranger fan from the very first showing in 1949, I remember The Lone Ranger very well. Anyone who has "Enter the Lone Ranger" on a VHS tape by Goodtimes will probably have the only version as originally shown on television. It consisted of 3 episodes, 25+ minutes in length, for a total length of 76 minutes. A couple other Goodtimes tapes have FULL length tv episodes, and I don't think, since Golden Books and Classic Media took over the rights has The Lone Ranger ever been the same. The beginnings and ends have all been altered and/or removed, and time compressed to fit the new 22 minute tv slots. Even the Western Channel episodes a few years ago were butcher shop remnants as well as the 75th Aniversary edition. As someone who loved and grew up with The Lone Ranger, (and actually met with Clayton a few times) I would prefer the original versions as many fans would like. The complete intros, and endings as they were originally filmed and at the real time of 25+ minutes. Unfortunately, I believe Classic Media or previous owners have destroyed the edited out film and we as fans, will never see it again, unless someone outside the US still has the unedited films, and good luck getting it past Classic Media.
They have totally destroyed the American Icon originals as we know, and loved them.
So sad they were allowed to do this. That's what happens when you get a younger generation who have no idea what The Lone Ranger meant to millions, and are only interested in making it fit 22 minutes and scrap the removed footage. They ruined a potential goldmine. I give it a three for the edited versions, but a 5 for the roll model The Lone Ranger passed on to my generation. This world might be a better place, had more kids had the time to watch The Lone Ranger reruns, rather than wear out their thumbs on computer games that teach how to kill.
2525 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on March 15, 2000
A great movie about how the Lone Ranger became the Lone Ranger.. I have purchased Legend of the Lone Ranger, Enter the Lone Ranger and The Lone ranger Triumph. These three videos are one and the same just in diffenent format. By purchasing the Legend of the Lone Ranger you will have all three of these videos.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on July 1, 2003
VCi's offering of the 1956 Lone Ranger feature film is outsatnding. Prior to this, I had to watch my old VHS EP Mode version and it was not pleasant. It never is with EP mode products. The VCi copy is clear and crisp with brilliant and vibrant colors, the way a DVD rendition of classic film should be. Despite the Region 1 tag, it is an all regions DVD and all Lone Rnager fans around the world will have the chance to enjoy this one. This is the best Lone Ranger film of all times as the production values are top notch. The sequel - The Lost City of Gold pales in comparison as somewhat akin to a made for TV movie. That must also be had to complete the cinema presenations of the Lone Ranger. The 1980's feature "Legend of the Lone Ranger" is an aberration, nice to see but not to collect. Congratulations to VCi.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon December 3, 2003
This 2 disc (4 side) compilation features the very first 16 episodes broadcast in 1949 (out of some 187 episodes total, 1949-57), plus "Message to Abe," a 1957 episode. This fact is not noted on the packaging. The episodes are presented in sequence. Though video quality varies from episode to episode, overall it
is quite good, certainly comparable to one's 1950-vintage TV set. The sound, "digitally remastered in virtual 5.1," is quite OK. This is in black-and-white, not color. There are no extra features. Oh, The Lone Ranger gallops around landscape that is Californian, southern California or the Sierran foothills. At 7 hours, 34 minutes for the 17 shows, this is good value for the money. Happy memories, and "Hi-yo Silver!"
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.