Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 2, 2005
Ignore the haters, Season Five is one of the series' best. While nothing will touch the freshman year of Seasons One and Two, Season Five benefits from a welcome change of scenery. Capeside was getting tired by the end of Season Three, and Four seemed like the same old conflicts reiterated again. The series needed to breathe, and it found new wind in sending Dawson off to California and the rest of the clan off to Boston.

Throwing the characters into the new realm of post-secondary adds freshness to the series, as the gang is able to experience new and more age-oriented conflicts, like fraternity angst, career-path uncertainty and the perils of being away from home. The series would even stretch itself creatively with the new location change, with an interesting two-parter with Joey and a life-changing situation.

Not only is the change of scenery rife with interesting new experiences, but the actual subject matter of Season Five has much more dramatic weight than the comparatively lackluster Season Four. Dawson does some real soul searching, Pacey copes with the hardships of being a failure, and there is a death with an emotional impact that makes Abby Morgan's farewell in Season Two seems like small stuff.

We also get a new regular, Audrey, "Freaks and Geeks" breakout Busy Phillips, and she adds a feistiness to the series that had been lost after Abby's departure in Season Two. While Audrey's character would become a writing snafu in Season Six (constantly reiterating the same old tired drug/alcohol abuse story), her, Joey and Pacey have some really strong moments in this season. Jack's homosexuality is treated much more comfortably here than it was in any other season, and Jen is surprisingly loveable in Season Five, which is nice considering how grating she was becoming with all her angst throughout Seasons Two to Four.

All the characters really do grow in this season, and some of the entire series' best moments can be found within. Joey's sing-song at the bar is a celebration of her newfound individuality apart from Dawson or Pacey, the funeral service for the death victim and a tender moment between Dawson and Jen after nearly breaking up all rank up there in emotional impact with the Season One finale.

Those who badmouth Season Five are mostly, from what I can gather, Joshua Jackson lovers who just can't get past the fact that the series is called "Dawson's Creek" and not "Pacey and Joey's Creek". Pacey and Joey share some wonderful moments in Seasons Three, Four and Six, but it is nice that they get a breather in Five. Those looking for the Pacey-Joey drama of previous seasons will be stubbornly disappointed, but those looking for a fresh return to the essence of the show will no doubt appreciate Season Five. It is easily the most underappreciated season in the series, and hopefully this DVD release will allow fans to revisit and reappraise this great season. Enjoy it while you can, because Season Six is a rough ride...

Fans should know a couple things about this 5th Season DVD release. Firstly, the music is again changed, including the Paula Cole theme song. While this has been common practice for the last couple seasons, this one takes it a step further. In the funeral episode, which in the series' original run was the only episode to have entirely different music and credits, has instead been replaced with the Jann Arden opening. The original opening for this episode had a beautifully somber instrumental version of Paula Cole's theme song (performed by Adam Fields) that was set to images of a cloudy Capeside. It was beautiful, but on this release it is no longer. A real shame.

Secondly, the other big change on this release compared to the previous ones is the total lack of extras. The Paul Stupin commentaries that we have all anticipated and loved each year have now been discontinued. No trivia games, Capeside map, behind-the-scenes interviews, nothing. Considering Season 5 was such a big change for the series, you'd think they would have had Paul come in and dish out on his creation. He even spoke of his excitement to do so on the commentary for Season 4. Alas, we get a couple previews for other shows on disc one, and the rest of the three discs are completely empty. Season 5 is a great enough season to warrent purchase on its own, but the lack of extras is a real slap in the face to fans who have stuck by this series so long on both TV and now DVD. Given that it is Sony I can't say that I am all that surprised, but I hope they rectify their mistakes for the final season. Please, Sony, bring the commentaries back!
0Comment| 91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2005
One of the biggest reasons I enjoy television so much is because it allows me to escape the incredible boredom that passes for my life, and for a little while anyway, take in somebody else's problems and live in their lives.

This is certainly the case with Dawson's Creek. I never watched the show when it was on the air until the last few episodes, but I have enjoyed the first four DVD sets and was interested to see how the show changed once the kids left Capeside for college.

As season five begins, we find Dawson at film school in California, Joey at Worthington College in Boston and Jack and Jen close by at Boston Bay College. Pacey, fresh off his summer working on a yacht, is living in a boat in Boston Harbor and as the season begins, only Jen knows he is there.

Things change quickly for everyone as the season gets under way. Dawson realizes that he misses being with Joey and decides he wants to move to Boston to be near her. But the sudden death of his father changes everything, pushing him away from Joey and eventually into a relationship with Jen. Jack quickly joins a fraternity and his brothers soon begin to take priority over school and his high school friends. Pacey realizes that he has a talent for cooking when he gets a job in a restaurant and Joey finds herself attracted to her professor.

James Van Der Beek is again solid as Dawson, though you have a hard time, as in years past, believing that he is the age that he is. The dialogue throughout the series has always been over the top, which is really what makes the show what it is. His emotion at the death of his father, and his need to be there for his mother is heart wrenching at times. He finally confronts his feelings by going to a therapist to sort out his feelings. It is these emotions that lead him to his relationship with Jen, one that ends before the season concludes, but brings back memories for viewers from the original season of the show.

Michelle Williams as Jen really sees a variety of different roles throughout the season. You see her as the girlfriend to Dawson, but as the relationship slowly begins to fade, you see her trying not to hurt his feelings, yet still keep herself somewhat sane. Her friendship with Jack goes from hot to cold to back to hot again and at the end of the season, she is off to spend the summer with her parents.

As Jack, Kerr Smith is again a strong member of the cast. He confronts a lot of emotions when he joins a fraternity and finds out that he is simply being used to fill a quota. Eventually the fact that he is gay leads him to leave the fraternity. While he is there however, he takes to drinking way too much, and falls behind in his schoolwork and also becomes estranged from Jen for a period of time, a relationship that heals by the season's end.

Joshua Jackson's Pacey is the one character of the group that is not in college, but he is living nearby in a friend's boat as the season begins. Eventually he takes a job at a restaurant and finds out that he has a real talent for it and is put in charge of the kitchen when his boss leaves. He also begins a relationship with Audrey (Busy Phillips), Joey's college roomate, a relationship that reminds one of the relationship he had with Joey, something that really makes him happy.

Of course Katie Holmes as Joey Potter was one of the most beautiful women on television at the time and in this season, you get to see her as a college freshman. Her almost affair with a professor and her attraction to a guy who cheated on Jen show a different side to Joey Potter than most people are used to after four years of getting to know her. Perhaps her best episode of the series was the one where she was mugged and helped the mugger after he was hit by a car. This episode featured just this story line and was very powerful.

Busy Phillips, as Audrey, guest starred in almost every episode and was added as a series regular in t he final season. Mary Beth Piel's Grams is still a cast regular, as she moves to Boston and houses Jen, Jack and eventually Dawson. She really is a fantastic character, one that provides that motherly advice that young people always need. Mary Margaret Humes, a cast regular for the first four years, appears sporadically as Dawson's mom Gail. John Wesley Shipp also appears in a few episodes as Mitch Leery, before he dies in a car crash. The third former cast regular Nina Repeta, appears in a few episodes as Joey's sister Bessie.

Of course there is the guest star appearances of a couple of people from other shows. Chad Michael Murray is now the star of One Tree Hill. Sherrilyn Fenn was on a number of shows, including Twin Peaks. Phillips was on Freaks and Geeks.

This set could have easily been rated five stars from this reviewer, but there were no extras at all. Each of the other four sets has at least a commentary track or two for the fans, but this set featured nothing, which was disappointing. Also, the theme song is again replaced, which is what viewers have come to expect over the last few seasons. It would be nice if they brought back Paula Cole for season six, but I kind of doubt it will happen.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2005
I know there are many disappointed fans out there when it comes to the decline of momentum in the fifth season, but I really loved this season. We have already seen all of Capeside and its inhabitants at this point. We already know the in depth history of each and every one of the main characters. We have already seen the same people thrown into the same situations again and again (Not saying that I didn't love every minute of it). It is just nice to see how they react to a new environment and new people. Also, the fifth season has some of the most heartbreaking storylines of the entire series, including the episode where Mitch dies and the one where Joey gets mugged. For anyone questioning whether or not to buy the disc set, let me just tell you that the previous four were well worth it for me. I do have to say that I was a bit disappointed by the change in music. I understand why certain songs had to be changed, but it just isn't quite the same when you see the opening credits come on and you don't hear "I don't want to wait" by Paula Cole along with it. I would certainly pay a little more for the set if it had at least that one song included.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2005
I've heard it all before. It costs a lot of money to get credits for songs. But when I think I'm buying Season 5 of "Dawson's Creek" and what I really get is some whacked-out EDITED version of the show, I'm gonna be unhappy! This is the situation. I dealt with the theme song change. I dealt with some horrendous replacement songs. But I shouldn't have to deal with the decision to edit out some scenes for licensing issues. I hope I speak for many when I say that I am willing to pay top dollar for the unedited, as they aired versions of each and every episode of "Dawson's Creek". The DVDs as they are do not do the show justice. Only Season 1 is in its original state. It's the only set I suggest buying.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2005
~* Ok Fans Listen Up ~*

I did some researching on the music manipulation in Season Five. My findings might be really interesting for the True Fans :)

Personally, I don't like change ~ i would have preferred all the original songs intact ... alas ... due to Liscensing $$$ issues this is not possible and i suspect Season Six will fall victim to the same Musical Problems.

The list is actually quite long .. i didn't even realize how much was really altered!

(...)

"Dawson's Creek: The Complete Fifth Season

As has been the case with releases of earlier seasons, the Season 5 DVD set contains replacement songs from what was heard during the actual broadcast airings.

Two of the scenes with Katie Holmes singing with the band in episode #517 ("Jessie's Girl" and "I Ran") have been deleted from the episode. This was due to licensing issues.

In episode #511, Busy Phillips' rendition of "Son Of A Preacher Man" is replaced with an audio track of her song "Bad Times" which was seen/heard in the Season 6 episode #612.

The original theme song "I Don't Want To Wait" (Paula Cole) will be replaced with "Run Like Mad" by Jann Arden. "Run Like Mad" was the song heard during the opening credits of the original Season 1 international airings.

The special opening credits music created by DC composer Adam Fields heard in episode #504 (Mitch's death) was replaced with the DVD release theme song.

The special theme song created by DC music composer Adam Fields for episode #515 will remain as originally aired.

Dawson's Creek executive producer Paul Stupin, with collaboration from co-producer Drew Matich, and music supervisor John McCullough, selected the replacement songs"

This is an exact list of all the musical changes that you will find on this DVD set !!! So you can decide for yourself if it's a big deal or not !! I will try to review all the other seasons if you are interested in other set changes !
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2005
I know some people may disagree, but this show was so beautifully written! Granted, the vocab was a bit much for their age but so what! This series dealt with so much that I can relate to, even as a guy (who gets made fun of constantly for liking this show) I can still say that this was the best show on TV!

My biggest disappointment was the Theme music. Not having Paula Cole's song in the beginning is like not having the "I'll be there for you" song on when the Friends credits is rolling!

All in all, season 5 is just as good as the rest, its a must!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2015
I am going to copy and paste this in every season of Dawson's Creek. Understand I am a fan of 90210 the originals series, Vampire Diaries, The Originals, NCIS, The 100, Utopia, Bones, Continuum just to name a few. I ordered all 6 seasons of Dawson's Creek and began watching them. I understand this is an old T.V. series and I am playing catch up, but there is a reason I have never heard of this show. Pros I enjoy watching shows with the ins and outs of growing up and all the pain it brings, this show does that to a certain extent. The show also brings into light some of the pains homosexual kids face when growing up. Now for the Cons. At best this show was nothing more than a copy cat of 90210 as a matter of fact 90210 was actually mentioned in the show. You will also notice that you can skip a season or two and never truly miss anything. You know when you sit down and start watching a bad movie but you force yourself through it hoping that it gets good soon "I found myself in this very situation on more then one occasion". The love triangle between the three main characters killed the series for me, much like the first couple of seasons of the Vampire Diaries. However, the Vampire Diaries had a story behind each show outside of the love triangle that somewhat held it together. The story line always came second to the love triangle in Dawson's Creek and for the most part the story lines were garbage. Some more bad news for the show; you would be hard pressed to find one 15 year old in high school with a vocabulary of a 30 year old English professor, but not in this show they all do. If it weren't for the last season 2 stars at best. I recommend this series only if you have time to waste.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 2, 2006
The characters were all seperated and it kept the drama and the interesting interaction and dramatic life moments spread out and minimum.

The season was less interesting than the previous, with the exception of some very major moments in Dawson's family. The relationships were less interesting. I mean, Charlie & Joey??? Give me a break.

But the main thing that bugged me was the grasping for straws storytelling and the technical disasters. The writing? First of all. Charlie asks Joey to front his band. Huh? She jumped up on stage one time in a fit of wild inhibition, and in the following episodes, she doesn't sing once. Then she's asked to front his band... she doesn't practice... she just hops up there and knows the songs and has never once worked with the band who's performing before a packed bar. Ridiculous.

Jen (Michelle Williams) bounced around like a jack rabbit for a lot of the season. She is forced to act so corny about Dawson and their relationship it was at times, horribly annoying. This girl must have an identity crisis because she's played so many different personalities in this series, it isn't even funny.

Then there's the writing. So, why is it that all of the people that Dawson, Joey, Pacey & Jen meet... talk the same way they do? With the same sarcasm and pop culture humor. These people are completely random encounters who've never talked to them before... but yet, they talk the same way??

Like, the drug dealing mugger from episode "Downtown Crossing". Joey is being held at gunpoint, but she talks to him like he's Pacey annoying her. Meanwhile, the mugger/gunmen is slinging the same, pop culture reference dialogue at her that has been such a fixture with the show. Could the writers not give him another voice? A unique voice? I thought maybe the mugger grew up with them, or was hiding in Dawson's Capeside closet when they were talking.

The same goes for Professor David Wilder. Apparently Pop culture conversation and dialogue is a class that everyone can take.

I guess the show only had one writer.

The ratings plummeted during this season, causing the following season to be the last. I didn't watch the show when it aired, I purchased the DVDs and watched them. There were many times when I felt bad for the actors in the show. Many times they were put in really silly situations and you can obviously see that they had to grin and bare it.

All in a days work. Live to act another day.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2005
I know alot of people look back at the fifth and sixth season of Dawson's Creek and frown. But I am not one of them.

To me everything needs to evolve. In season five, Joey is at Worthington with Jen and Jack who are at Boston Bay. All three of them are in Boston along with Gram's and unknowingly Pacey.

Dawson is in California where he is interning as on the set of a movie called Damage INC. directed by a real jerk, Todd. Who fires Dawson on the first day. This sets Season 5 into motion.

With his movie making dreams suffering a severe blow, Dawson goes back to the east coast to find Joey. What he doesn't know is that Joey has come to the conclusion that it was baest for them to move on, and she tells Dawson this on his answering machine. When Joey sees Dawson she thinks that he has come from LA after hearing the message, when in fact he did not.

This creates a huge problem for Joey as she wants Dawson to stay, and in the end he does. But when he tells his parents that he is not going back to USC tragedy strickes. One of the most beloved characters on the show dies in a car crash, Dawson's father Mitch. The entire gangcomes to console Dawson, but have little impact.

Deep down Dawson blames Joey for the Death of his father, and this comes to a boil in further episodes.

Other quirks of the fifth season are Jen and Charlie(Chad Micheal Murray from Gilmore Girls, and One Tree Hill). Jack and the Sigma Eps. Pacey finding his true calling in the culinary arts. And Joey's near death experience that makes her want to mend up the damaed fence between her and her father.

All in all one of the better seasons of Dawson's Creek. IIn my Opinion.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2016
No commentary and bad writing are all I can say about season 5. Paul stupid in past commentaries keeps saying how much he cares about the show yet does not include original music original scenes and there are no extras at all.
The film transfer is horrible and the writing should win a award for the worst ever on a tv series. Blame executive producer Paul stupin writer Tom Latinos and kevin Williamson for hiring these people because now we are stuck with this forever!! 2 more things is jen and Dawson get back together and then break up for the dumbest reasons I ever herd!! I was so hoping they would continue.
Then in past commentaries Paul stupid would speak bad about a written episode and i am thinking to myself you thought a episode was horrible and you still allowed it to be out on air? Well then that's your fault cause the buck stops with you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.