Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enriching Exploration of the Discovery of Faith
"The Long Loneliness," is one of the most enriching testimonies of an individual's search and discovery of faith that I have ever read, although I found the first 60 pages a bit slow (about her background and coming of age). I am very happy I persevered, because it only got better and more inspirational, as she began to perceive glimpses of God and tried to learn how best...
Published on June 7, 2005 by Glutton for books

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It satisfied my curiosity regarding Dr. Day.
I really didn't know anything about Dorothy Day, so the book really helped me to know all about her life. It was for the most part very interesting, but there were parts of the book where I would skip because they no longer interested me. However, I am very grateful for the parts of the book that held my interest. By the way, I just requested to be put on the mailing...
Published on November 7, 2010 by Ann from The Bronx


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

94 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enriching Exploration of the Discovery of Faith, June 7, 2005
This review is from: The Long Loneliness: The Autobiography of the Legendary Catholic Social Activist (Paperback)
"The Long Loneliness," is one of the most enriching testimonies of an individual's search and discovery of faith that I have ever read, although I found the first 60 pages a bit slow (about her background and coming of age). I am very happy I persevered, because it only got better and more inspirational, as she began to perceive glimpses of God and tried to learn how best to follow Him.

Dorothy Day was a journalist who lived in the early 1900s and died in 1980. She was raised an agnostic. Her family did not practice a religion. Early in her life she attended churches with neighbors, and loved the feeling of communal worship, but felt discouraged by so many people who attended church only on Sunday and thought that was the end of their religious obligation to others.

An early memory that had a great impact on her was an earthquake during her childhood, in which the families who retained their houses opened their homes to those who had lost theirs, and the community banded together to help each other in brotherly love. She lived her life searching for this sense of community. During her college years she began an activist involved in political causes such as women's voting rights, and labor rights for women and children, and had sympathies with communist organizations, that, from her perspective, seemed to assist the needs of the poor more than any Christian church.

This is a conversion story, much similar to Thomas Merton's "Seven Story Mountain," but which inspired me much more than his good work. She felt an incredible need to worship God, so much that she believes that human beings have a deep psychological need to worship and when their devotion is misplaced on humans rather than the divine, it is a recipe for disaster. The First World War and the Great Depression was the background for her conversion. She worked as a nurse during the War and began attending church with a colleague, but latter returned to writing in an environment where there was less church, but she continued to pray.

She had a common law marriage with a man, whom she loved dearly, but when she became pregnant, she decided that she must have the child baptized so that her daughter would not experience the lack of spiritual support that caused her so much confusion and soul searching. She felt such great love durign her preganancy, that she believed she required a supernatural channel to channel the love. She had hoped to enter a church with her partner as a marriage before God, but he was adamantly opposed to religion and perceived it as a form of imperialism. She left him with her daughter, in order to follow a life that she believed would be pleasing to God. It was not an easy situation for her, as she had hoped for a traditional life, and being a single mother is never and easy vocation in any time period. The anguish she described when she reached the conclusion of what she must do was only a page but it moved me to tears. The situation that the decision evoked was not easy, but reaching the decision for her seemed to be a simple matter, because of her great faith. She wrote about it as occasionally God offers s the same proposition to us that he gave Abraham; to sacrifice something we love in pursuit of Him, whom we should love above all created things. She worte too, that staying with him felt natural, but that she was aspiring for a supernatural life, which requires different considerations when making decisions. I would like to hope that I would have the same faith and courage in a similar situation, but I don't know.

The time period following her separation was difficult for her, and she experienced loneliness, as she searched to discover what would be her niche in the world, according to God's plan. She believed that the antidote for loneliness is involvement in community life. She started the "Catholic Worker" with Peter Maurin (who she felt was sent to her by God as a response to her prayers for guidance in her vocational quest), a paper which reported about the injustices confronted by the poor and that presented articles of helpful advice for struggling families. The paper is still in existence.

She also started a hospitality house that offered food and shelter to those who need it, and a space where people can find a voice. Eventually a chain of such houses grew and now are operating not only across the US, but across the world. Some became retreat centers. Day's life is a perfect testimony of an individual discovering God's love and learning to return the love with faith, not only through worship to God, but also through offering love and help to others.

This is a great book for people seeking to understand what is faith and how does it move people, and a great book for people dealing with difficult situations in their lives when they are seeking to find what it is that they are meant to do with their lives. I recommend her story to every one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Conversion Story, November 1, 2003
By 
Timothy Kearney (Haverhill, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Long Loneliness: The Autobiography of the Legendary Catholic Social Activist (Paperback)
Catholic faith fascinates people. How did her spiritual life develop, and how did it influence the remainder of her life? Many wonderful authors, including but not limited to people such as William Miller, Robert Coles, and most recently Paul Elie, have written extensively about Dorothy Day and help us understand this amazing and complex woman, but nothing is more rewarding than reading the writings of Day herself.
THE LONG LONELINESS is a classic spiritual tome and is often referred to as Day's spiritual autobiography. In many ways it is similar to Thomas Merton's SEVEN STOREY MOUNTAIN, and it is easily a close second in popularity with many Catholics. Though Day's writing style is much drier than Merton's writing and her story is not quite as spellbinding as the artist and aspiring writer turned monk, the reader can sense God working powerfully in Day's life. If the book were published today, it would probably be categorized as a memoir, rather than an autobiography since day does not as much tell her story as reflect on how God called her to a life of faith.
The book is a "must read" for anyone who loves and admires Dorothy Day. It is also a book that will interest people interested in religious social activism. Yet the book may speak most powerfully to those who are on a spiritual quest themselves, either knowingly or unknowingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 108 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A model, May 31, 2002
By 
William Krischke (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Long Loneliness: The Autobiography of the Legendary Catholic Social Activist (Paperback)
Dorothy DayÉ≠s life story is one that I hope will inspire and motivate many Christians -- many more than it already has. A full-on Bohemian in her twenties, she wrote for Socialist papers, joined strikes and picket lines, and spent her share of time in jail for protests. She was an activistÉ≠s activist.
And then she met Jesus. Actually the Call of the Spirit had been upon her, or inside her, since early childhood, but it wasnÉ≠t until the birth of her child that she finally acknowledged fully and became a member of the Catholic church.
I can easily identify with her problems and issues with the church -- it always seems to be on the side of the Established, the Rich and Powerful, caring not and giving not to the poor and needy, the oppressed and voiceless. Dorothy found, as too few of us have, that God heart cries out for the poor, Jesus identified himself with the oppressed and voiceless, and, as James said, true religion that God honors is looking after the widowed and the orphans in their distress.
And so, with the help, mentorship and inspiration of her friend Peter Maurin, Dorothy continued her activist ways, in the name of Christ. She started the Catholic Worker newspaper, which championed the causes of the poor and working-class. She and her friends started hospitality houses, taking in and feeding any who needed it.
Like Mother TeresaÉ≠s, Dorothy DayÉ≠s story is really very simple -- she saw what there was to do, she took her MasterÉ≠s words to heart, and she started doing it. Without advanced programs, grants, visioning sessions, without much of a plan at all really, she just started doing it. And she has changed the world in important ways, giving glory to God all along the way. She is a hero of the faith to me, and I hope that God will use me as He chose to use her.
Dorothy Day trained herself as a journalist, a writer, and made her living as such all of her life. This training is evident in her writing -- the book is compact, imagistic, and quick to read. The first half is fairly chronological, as she relates her life up until the point of her conversion and move to New York. After that -- basically after she meets Peter -- it becomes more topical, and the timeline more of a blur. Which was probably true of her life, so much happening and unfolding that itÉ≠s hard to tell what started when and where the endings are, if there are any.
I enjoyed this book, and I learned from it -- most notably that the work of activism, of giving voice to the voiceless, is long and hard, with many defeats. But many defeats add up to slow victory, as we make progress over decades at a time. Things are better than they were in DorothyÉ≠s heyday, and we owe much of it to her and her contemporaries. We also owe a great debt to her for the life she has modeled for us -- a modern day picture of Christ among the poor, the hope of many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, February 6, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Long Loneliness: The Autobiography of the Legendary Catholic Social Activist (Paperback)
Between this book and loaves and fishes, I have never been so touched by a single person's writings. I have friends who are all over the spiritual/political spectrum, and I try to get them all to read this book. Day's humility and honesty make for a beautiful work that chronicles her life from childhood, to radicalism, and eventually to the Catholic Worker Community (which ends the long lonliness). Such a beautiful work from such a beautiful person. If you want to be challenged, please buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Only Solution is Love, December 10, 2000
This review is from: The Long Loneliness: The Autobiography of the Legendary Catholic Social Activist (Paperback)
Dorothy Day is an absolutely amazing woman, and should be a true inspiration for all Catholics concerned with social justice and care of the poor. The Long Loneliness is Day's autobiography. It details her life, from her childhood until her old age. The book describes how Day's growing concern for the poor leads to a growing inspiration in Catholicism, and how the mysteries of the church deepen her love for other people in her life. Her growing faith is, as to be expected, tinged with doubt, and through this doubt the reader can truly experience Day's humanity. Different experiences, such as her pregnancy, are developed so that readers can begin to see how different moments throughout her life make a profound impact on Day's life and work. In addition to the life of Day herself, this book provides an excellent reference in terms of the beginning points of the Catholic Worker movement. The Catholic Worker has developed houses of hospitality in various cities throughout the United States (135 today), which focus on works of mercy for anyone who needs assistance. The Long Loneliness provides an overview of the history of this movement, from its beginnings as a radical Catholic newspaper, to the founding of the early Houses of Hospitality, to attempts at farming which ultimately failed. Day's autobiography paints a life of Christian love, and is an outstanding work for anyone with a concern for developing a life filled with the richness of service to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living the oridinary extraordinarily: Reminiscences of a Catholic convert., November 5, 2005
By 
Christian Engler (Woburn, Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Long Loneliness: The Autobiography of the Legendary Catholic Social Activist (Paperback)
The Long Loneliness by Dorothy Day has long been held to be an important social document as well as a meaningful written Catholic memoir, because it delves deeply into the intimate conversion experience whereby there is a moving epiphany that changes that person so completely and totally. And The Long Loneliness illustrates that point quite clearly. Even before the Catholic Worker was ever founded by Dorothy Day and Peter Maurin, their approach to religious activism was almost on par with other lay Catholic social orgaizations, mirroring the motto of Catholic Action, founded in 1868, the best, whose battle cry is: Prayer. Action. Sacrifice. However, what makes this memoir so appealing is that it is outlined in a belief framework of pragmatic thought and a consistent work ethic, like Opus Dei. Dorothy Day, in the recounting of her conversion and the afteraffects of it, is not given to flights of supernatural fancy or prone to self-created mystical experiences or visions, which, when people do have them, are psychosomatic or psychotic, at best.

There are various reasons why people enter the Catholic Church, and for Day, she wanted her daughter-Tamar-to not flounder in a life of sexual radicalism and voracious wantonness, both of which wounded her quite grievously before she had her conversion experience. Before she became Catholic, Dorothy Day was a doer rather than a sayer; she put action behind her words, and she found comfort in the Gospel: feeding the hungry and clothing the poor. The latter was the very impetus for why The Catholic Worker was established, to make it real, living and vibrant for others. What is recounted in the Long Loneliness is not any caliber of theological scholarship or penetrating analysis of the Gospel. Rather, besides being lived, Catholicism in conjunction with pacificism, economics, helping the downtrodden and the labor movement is thoroughly explored. And yet, simplicity, simplicity, simplicity is exemplified throughout. Through her collected writings, especially her memoir, Dorothy Day illuminated that in accepting the Catholic ideal, everyone must carry their cross if they want the world to be even a slightly better place and that the Catholic faith is not one to take lightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Origin of American Catholic Radicalism, February 20, 2002
Dorothy takes us step by step through the encounter of Catholic Christianity with the conditions that created reform, radical and unionist movements in the United States in the first half of the 20th century. We see at first hand the tension between reality and the values of an articulate female activist brought up in the Catholic tradition. Once you pick the book up, you won't be able to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...and it is still going on., February 27, 2010
This review is from: The Long Loneliness: The Autobiography of the Legendary Catholic Social Activist (Paperback)
Of all the books ever given to me as a gift, this is still my favorite. Granted, the first third of the book, for me, was a bit slow...not boring, just slow. But I knew it would be worth it to trudge on, and I was right. By the end of the book I felt as if I had read one of the most important autobiographies I would ever read. Dorothy Day lived a life worth emulating. It was a life radically reconfigured by her ability to take Jesus simply at his word when he said to visit those in prison, feed the hungry, and clothe the naked. This is the kind of life you get when you follow, literally, those oh-so difficult words as found in the sermon on the mount. This is a book worthy of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perceptive introduction, April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Long Loneliness: The Autobiography of the Legendary Catholic Social Activist (Paperback)
In this book it seems that Day tried to explain why God interested her so much, and how she succeeded in integrating this strong interest with her anarchism. If you’d like to start getting to know Day, this book is for you. Though it can be a start, you’ll probably not find all the answers to questions you might have in relation to Day’s political positions. She certainly does not try to explain whether belief in God and anarchism can be compatible. On the other hand, she explains sufficiently well, I think, how and why her Catholic faith was not incompatible with her social outlooks.

The book is not a full exposition of Day’s philosophy. It provides a background to it, and also a narrative of how she came to develop it. If it’s Day’s full philosophy and thinking what you are in search of, you’ll have to supplement this book with others, particularly ones which present here writings, or the most important of them, fully.

Nevertheless, I liked this book because Day comes through as a perceptive human being struggling with complex realities around her, and seeking to provide some kind of response to them in harmony with her faith. One has to keep in mind that Day’s theology as presented in this insightful writing predates Vatican Council II, and hence does not take on board the gigantic theological and anthropological developments brought about in Catholic circles by that momentous event. The book thus makes you want more, especially with regard to how Day reacted to Vatican II, and how this helped her to advance her own thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real window into her heart, April 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Long Loneliness: The Autobiography of the Legendary Catholic Social Activist (Paperback)
This is her autobiography -- she is an amazing soul,
beautiful in outlook, couragous in deed -- always
pushing the "limits" to work for the betterment of the human
situation. What a neat lady!
The other amazing thing I found is that her life takes us
through a time in the history of the US when Worker movements were
just being started. We see some days of WWI, the Depression, WWII,
and beyond. She combined her passion to help the 99% and the
completely down & out, with compassion and lodging and food --
real works of mercy. The many different personalities she met during
her life come to life in only a few words -- she's a gifted writer, which
makes the book read quickly. This is her story, the beginnings of the
Catholic Worker movement, and a time in history that has a lot in common
with our own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Long Loneliness: The Autobiography of the Legendary Catholic Social Activist
$15.99 $12.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.