Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Cal Ripken book, May 12, 2007
By 
Eddie Murray (Birmingham, AL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Longest Season (Hardcover)
If you're an Orioles fan, the 1988 season was a horrible time. The O's lost 21 in a row to start the year. Cal Ripken retells this season in a children's book that teaches perseverance.

I bought this book for my 6-month-old son, knowing he won't be able to understand it for several years. The pictures are outstanding. (If you're an O's fan like myself, you'll get a kick out of seeing familiar names drawn as art.) And the message is a positive one.

I highly recommend the book. One question, Cal: When's the book on the 1989 "Why Not?" Orioles?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Illustrations are excellent in this book., July 13, 2008
This review is from: The Longest Season (Hardcover)
Ripken tells his story of a frustating beginning to a season. The story is interesting to young ball players who often do not find instant success when they begin their own careers.

The beautiful illustrations in this book would make it worth the cost of the purchase at twice the price.

Should be in the library of every elementarty school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cal Ripken, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Longest Season (Hardcover)
The great baseball player tells the story of a season of loss and disapointment. There is not a winning ending either. It introduces children to life's trials and the need to persevere through very difficult times. The illustrations are worth the price of the book. Mazellan's bright work bring light into the story and an appreciation of the game of baseball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent choice for a child who plays sports, October 4, 2013
This review is from: The Longest Season (Hardcover)
This large format picture book is authored by Cal Ripken, Jr., baseball's Iron Man. Sort of a Ball Four for kids, it retells the horrible and historic start to the Orioles' 1988 season: 0-21. The Orioles boasted two first-ballot Hall of Famers but precious little pitching in those days. By the end of the year, the team was more than thirty-four games out of first place.

Stellar mixed media art by Ron Mazellan (The Harmonica) leads the way. Most of the illustrations are two-page spreads measuring almost 20" x 12". If this book fails to foster a love of baseball for your child, it may inspire them toward the world of art.

Ripken is honest and shares life lessons. Some are boilerplate for his young audience: "Winning is easy on a person, but you learn more from losing." Others seem to come from the heart. After half a dozen losses to start the season, Ripken's father was fired as manager. Junior recalls it as "the only time in my career when I consider not being an Oriole."

Since this is a children's book, it would have been nice to learn more about Ripken's early years in school, Little League, and so on. Less forgivable is the lone passing reference to baseball's Iron Horse, Lou Gehrig. Baseball is a sport steeped in history. Today's stars stand on the shoulders of yesterday's heroes. Cal Ripken, Jr. is remembered more than anything else for the consecutive games played streak. Without the Iron Horse, there would have been no Iron Man, and playing in 2,131 consecutive games would not have been voted the "Most Memorable Moment" in Major League Baseball history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gift, August 20, 2013
By 
Mona B. Leleux (NEW IBERIA, LOUISIANA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Longest Season (Hardcover)
It was a gift for a godchild. This is a great book for anyone who
loves baseball. This makes a nice gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for anyone with athletes facing adversity, August 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Longest Season (Hardcover)
We bought this book for my oldest son when he was 8. At the time he was playing on a baseball team with a losing record and he was getting really down on himself. This book has a great message about working hard through hard times. My son as well as our family enjoyed reading this book. Cal Ripken is such an admirable role model and he's known as one of the hardest working athletes to play the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Hit, November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Longest Season (Hardcover)
My grandson sure has enjoyed this story so much that I've read the story over and over. My grandso is asking me to look for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Longest Season
The Longest Season by Cal Ripken (Hardcover - April 5, 2007)
Used & New from: $1.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.