Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feel-good classic!
This is the fourth in a series written by a Scottish veterinarian who takes a job in Yorkshire, England, working under Siegfried Farnon. James Herriot, Farnon and his brother Tristan work on all sorts of animals from parakeets to draft horses.

James Herriot has a wonderful ability to poke fun at himself, as is illustrated in one of his earliest essays from the...
Published on August 19, 2004 by Dave Schwinghammer

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Conclusion
My wife and I just finished reading the whole series of four Herriot books. I think that the first one (_All Creatures Great and Small_) is probably the best one overall. The author probably put the best stories he knew into his first book. But there are several delightful stories spread through the later books, and all four make for enjoyable reading.
This book has...
Published on September 17, 2003 by David C. Hoffner


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feel-good classic!, August 19, 2004
This is the fourth in a series written by a Scottish veterinarian who takes a job in Yorkshire, England, working under Siegfried Farnon. James Herriot, Farnon and his brother Tristan work on all sorts of animals from parakeets to draft horses.

James Herriot has a wonderful ability to poke fun at himself, as is illustrated in one of his earliest essays from the first work, All Things Bright and Beautiful, where he clips the beak of a budgie, inadvertently suffocating the poor creature. We then see him struggle to find a replacement for the little bird, its owner's best friend. Later, we watch Herriot's bumbling attempt to court his future wife Helen.

In The Lord God Made Them All, Herriot is returning from World War II where he served as an RAF officer; he's married with two children but he still works for Siegfried Farnon. Siegfried will remind you of a character from Dickens. He's an excellent veterinary but his many quirks and foibles make him a trying boss at times. Then there's his ne'er-do-well brother, Tristan. They're constantly fighting and Herriot usually winds up in the middle. The Yorkshire farmers are also fascinating. Herriot has a wonderful facility with dialect and some of the dialogue is hilarious.

In the first story Herriot sets out to "nip" (castrate) a calf. "There's nobbut one, Mr. Herriot," the farmer says. "An enormous black animal galloped out . . . I stared at the spreading horns, the great hump of muscle on the shoulder and the coldly glittering eyes. It only needed a blast on a trumpet and sand instead of cobbles and I was in the Plaza de Toros in Madrid."

Quite often Herriot serves as a psychologist, to his human clients. In one story, Herriot is awakened at one in the morning to treat Myrtle the beagle, whose drunken owner has a guilt complex about leaving his dog alone to attend the races. There's nothing wrong with the dog, but to assuage the owner's fears, Herriot gives Myrtle a vitamin tablet. This happens again and again, and when Herriot finally confronts the owner about the imaginary illnesses, the dog is really sick.

Yes, the joke is usually on Herriot, but if your animal is sick, you call James Herriot and sometimes you call him just to talk.

These are wonderful, nostalgic stories that take the reader back to a simpler time. It's so good you'll find yourself reading it as a pick-me-up when you feel blue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I adored these charming stories..., November 8, 2005
LOVED it. I've seen his books all over- bookstores, libraries, friends' houses, and yet I always resisted reading him. Why? I'm not sure. I didn't care for the cover (), and I usually REALLY hate stories about animals. A few years back, I read of a homeschooling family reading his work out loud, and when I came upon this book at a yard sale, I stuffed it in my sack to buy- I had an idea of my son and me reading it outloud in the distant future. I picked it up the other night because I was bored, needed something to read, and felt that I 'should' read this. After about two or three chapters, I was hooked. His stories are simple but charming, detailing the daily life of a country veterinarian. He was able to make me visualize riding along as his passenger as he drove from farm to farm, treating cows, pigs, sheep and domesticated pets. So many of his stories have funny endings. I really truly enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the first one, "All Things Bright And Beautiful."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Conclusion, September 17, 2003
By 
David C. Hoffner (Hebron, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My wife and I just finished reading the whole series of four Herriot books. I think that the first one (_All Creatures Great and Small_) is probably the best one overall. The author probably put the best stories he knew into his first book. But there are several delightful stories spread through the later books, and all four make for enjoyable reading.
This book has a couple unique features. One is that the author goes on a couple international adventures traveling as caretaker of some overseas animal shipments. These are interesting travel stories on their own. Also in this book we meet James' children and see them grow up to some degree.
_The Lord God Made Them All_ is a fittingly warm and pleasant conclusion to a really enjoyable series of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars should i laugh or should i cry?, December 5, 1999
the whole james harriot series: the best use of paper besides the bible! everytime i read these moving books i don't know if i should cry or laugh. a great balance of funny and tear-jerking chapters. buy all three, read them. re-read them. you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heck of a Book, November 17, 2000
James Herriot is a remarkable author. He proves this once again in the last of his set of novels, The Lord God Made Them All. In it Herriot tells us maore heartwarming tales of his life as a Yorkshire veterinarian. He writes very down to earth, which allows readers to relate to his stories very well. Especially in this book. Herriot not only writes about his experiences as a vet , but about becoming a father, and experiences he has while his children are young. An old client of Herriot once tells him, "Aye, there's no doubt about it, when your children are young and growin' up around ye- that's when it's best. It's the same for everybody, only a lot o'folk don't know it and a lot find out when it's too late."(369) James also writes about his voyage to Russia on a freighter with a bunch of pedigree sheep. And his journey to Istanbul which was supposed to be luxurous and relaxing. Needless to say, it was far from that. Nevertheless, as in all his stories, Herriot is able to turn them around to make us laugh and fill us with wisdom. After reading the book, I have aquired a better apprecition of life, and high hopes for the future. You can't help but think that way when he ends the book with the words, "....there are great days ahead!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Animal Magic Lives., August 10, 2006
In this fourth edition you will have everything you are use to in a James Herriot book. Eccentric pet owners, nutty business partners, fun loving animals, and the author who reveals his heartfelt love and admiration for the animals he cares so deeply for. Only the souless few won't be touched by these humorous stories of animal and human interactions. Mr. Herriot shows just how much better the world is because of the animals who inhabit our daily lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a beloved memoir, January 26, 2003
By 
Crystal C. Loh (London, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
James Herriot once again takes you on a magical journey through his whimsical hamlet of Yorkshire Dales, stealing your heart at every stop along the way. Anyone who picks up this book will be immediately captivated by the depth of love and respect for animals that embodies all of Herriot's books. Every character you meet, be it human or animal, will tug your heartstrings in a manner that you never expected from such a humble book whose clear honesty parallels that of the other books in an unforgettable series. You don't have to be an animal crazed lover like me to enjoy the simple joys of this book- it is definitely a cherished read, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, July 20, 2000
Well, what can i say? This is one of the books that made me think about changing my job to become a vet! The stories are great, the caracthers are full of life. James Herriot writes beatiful stories. In one storie you laugh, in the next you cry. This whole series is a must for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Herriot will win the Heart of any animal lover..., February 14, 1999
By A Customer
This book is wonderful for any person who is interested in vet medicine or just someone who loves animals. His books will take you through all the procedures and expose you to wonderful stories of dogs, cats, and his clients. I really hope you enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darn, That's the End, November 9, 1998
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Herriot brings his series to a close with more of the same (wonderful) stuff. Included in this volume are accounts of not one but two trips abroad with cargoes of pedigreed livestock. The volume ends with Siegfried's pronouncement, "James, there are great days ahead!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Lord God Made Them All
$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.