Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Men's Hightops Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon David Ramirez $5 Off Fire TV Stick Grocery Shop Popular Services hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Now Deal of the Day

The Lord of the Hallows: Christian Symbolism and Themes in J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter

6 customer reviews
ISBN-13: 978-1432741129
ISBN-10: 1432741128
Why is ISBN important?
ISBN
This bar-code number lets you verify that you're getting exactly the right version or edition of a book. The 13-digit and 10-digit formats both work.
Scan an ISBN with your phone
Use the Amazon App to scan ISBNs and compare prices.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Buy used
$7.39
Buy new
$14.95
More Buying Choices
20 New from $11.66 13 Used from $7.39
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


InterDesign Brand Store Awareness Rent Textbooks
$14.95 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

The Lord of the Hallows: Christian Symbolism and Themes in J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter + The Ultimate Harry Potter and Philosophy: Hogwarts for Muggles + Harry Potter and Philosophy: If Aristotle Ran Hogwarts
Price for all three: $42.80

Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

From the Author

The Lord of the Hallows: Christian Symbolism and Themes in J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter is a published record of my lectures on the deeper meaning of the Harry Potter novels. These presentations were given at the Babel Con Science Fiction and Fantasy Convention in Baton Rouge, LA (2007 and 2008), the PORTUS 2008 Harry Potter Symposium in Dallas, TX, the Con du Lac Science Fiction Convention in Lake Charles, LA (2009), and the AZKATRAZ 2009 Harry Potter Symposium in San Francisco, CA. After numerous requests from Harry Potter fans and convention attendees to publish my work, I decided to write The Lord of the Hallows. I hope you will enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. It has certainly been a labor of love.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 118 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (July 15, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1432741128
  • ISBN-13: 978-1432741129
  • Product Dimensions: 6.1 x 0.2 x 9.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #916,831 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

5 star
83%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
17%
1 star
0%
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Logospilgrim on November 19, 2009
Verified Purchase
This wonderful book will delight not only Christians, but all students of spirituality and mythology. It is filled with fascinating arcane information, yet the author's engaging and descriptive style results in a text that never feels weighed down by its rich content matter. I learned quite a few intriguing facts about a variety of Christian legends; Ms. Roper's knowledge of symbolic lore and Christian history is impressive (I was particularly enchanted by her chapter about the Deathly Hallows, or holy relics -I loved the parallel she drew between The Elder Wand and The Spear of Destiny, that is, the spear reputed to have been used to pierce Christ's side). Anyone interested in literature and religion will find this volume to be a valuable addition to their library.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Fricka on July 25, 2009
I've just bought and read The Lord of the Hallows by Denise Roper. I was fortunate enough to hear her presentation of the themes found in both Tolkien and Rowling, at the recent Azkatraz convention in San Francisco, and was very interested in the comparisons she made between certain elements between the two authors. For example,she illustrated that there are croppings of Hobbit names used throughout Rowling's books. Longbottom leaf is a type of tobacco(or stronger, wink wink) that is cultivated by the Hobbits, and then we find that name used by Harry's friend Neville, in the Harry Potter books. Puddifoot, as in Madam Puddifoot's shop in Hogsmeade, is also a name of a family of Hobbits. In short, readers who enjoy Tolkien's books and Rowlings will enjoy reading Roper's book as well.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Valerie Estelle Frankel on July 19, 2010
Denise Roper sure knows her stuff. This book analyzes Christian symbolism in Harry Potter, focusing on magical animals, names, hallows, horcruxes and more. There are many links to Lord of the Rings and Narnia that a casual reader might not notice, but Ms. Roper draws them all out for us. How is the weasel significant? WHat about Madame Pudifoot's? While many have observed Harry and Frodo make the ultimate, Christ-like sacrifice, Ms. Roper digs deep, linking their journeys with Bible passages and deliberate allusions from JK Rowling. She uses interviews, letters, and lesser-known works from Rowling and Tolkien to make her case, offering a deep, detailed analysis for fans of both series. This is also one of the few books to really take apart Deathly Hallows, the last of the series. Certainly, those afraid of Harry Potter's alleged witchcraft should read both this and John Granger's book on God in Harry Potter. Fun, easy analysis for a variety of audiences.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
The Lord of the Hallows: Christian Symbolism and Themes in J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter
This item: The Lord of the Hallows: Christian Symbolism and Themes in J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter
Price: $14.95
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: j rowling