Qty:1
  • List Price: $14.95
  • Save: $0.75 (5%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 8 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
The Lord of the Hallows: ... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Acceptable | Details
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: Some highlighiting/notes/underlining inside. Over 500,000 Amazon Sales - Buy with Confidence - Satisfaction Guaranteed! We Ship Daily!
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Lord of the Hallows: Christian Symbolism and Themes in J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter Paperback – July 15, 2009

ISBN-13: 978-1432741129 ISBN-10: 1432741128

Buy New
Price: $14.20
23 New from $11.98 12 Used from $8.70
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, July 15, 2009
"Please retry"
$14.20
$11.98 $8.70
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


Hero Quick Promo
Save up to 90% on Textbooks
Rent textbooks, buy textbooks, or get up to 80% back when you sell us your books. Shop Now
$14.20 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 8 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

The Lord of the Hallows: Christian Symbolism and Themes in J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter + The Ultimate Harry Potter and Philosophy: Hogwarts for Muggles + Harry Potter and Philosophy: If Aristotle Ran Hogwarts
Price for all three: $44.83

Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

From the Author

The Lord of the Hallows: Christian Symbolism and Themes in J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter is a published record of my lectures on the deeper meaning of the Harry Potter novels. These presentations were given at the Babel Con Science Fiction and Fantasy Convention in Baton Rouge, LA (2007 and 2008), the PORTUS 2008 Harry Potter Symposium in Dallas, TX, the Con du Lac Science Fiction Convention in Lake Charles, LA (2009), and the AZKATRAZ 2009 Harry Potter Symposium in San Francisco, CA. After numerous requests from Harry Potter fans and convention attendees to publish my work, I decided to write The Lord of the Hallows. I hope you will enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. It has certainly been a labor of love.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 118 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (July 15, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1432741128
  • ISBN-13: 978-1432741129
  • Product Dimensions: 6.1 x 0.2 x 9.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,235,464 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
83%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
17%
1 star
0%
See all 6 customer reviews
Fun, easy analysis for a variety of audiences.
Valerie Estelle Frankel
Anyone interested in literature and religion will find this volume to be a valuable addition to their library.
Logospilgrim
In short, readers who enjoy Tolkien's books and Rowlings will enjoy reading Roper's book as well.
Fricka

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Logospilgrim on November 19, 2009
Verified Purchase
This wonderful book will delight not only Christians, but all students of spirituality and mythology. It is filled with fascinating arcane information, yet the author's engaging and descriptive style results in a text that never feels weighed down by its rich content matter. I learned quite a few intriguing facts about a variety of Christian legends; Ms. Roper's knowledge of symbolic lore and Christian history is impressive (I was particularly enchanted by her chapter about the Deathly Hallows, or holy relics -I loved the parallel she drew between The Elder Wand and The Spear of Destiny, that is, the spear reputed to have been used to pierce Christ's side). Anyone interested in literature and religion will find this volume to be a valuable addition to their library.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Fricka on July 25, 2009
I've just bought and read The Lord of the Hallows by Denise Roper. I was fortunate enough to hear her presentation of the themes found in both Tolkien and Rowling, at the recent Azkatraz convention in San Francisco, and was very interested in the comparisons she made between certain elements between the two authors. For example,she illustrated that there are croppings of Hobbit names used throughout Rowling's books. Longbottom leaf is a type of tobacco(or stronger, wink wink) that is cultivated by the Hobbits, and then we find that name used by Harry's friend Neville, in the Harry Potter books. Puddifoot, as in Madam Puddifoot's shop in Hogsmeade, is also a name of a family of Hobbits. In short, readers who enjoy Tolkien's books and Rowlings will enjoy reading Roper's book as well.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Valerie Estelle Frankel on July 19, 2010
Denise Roper sure knows her stuff. This book analyzes Christian symbolism in Harry Potter, focusing on magical animals, names, hallows, horcruxes and more. There are many links to Lord of the Rings and Narnia that a casual reader might not notice, but Ms. Roper draws them all out for us. How is the weasel significant? WHat about Madame Pudifoot's? While many have observed Harry and Frodo make the ultimate, Christ-like sacrifice, Ms. Roper digs deep, linking their journeys with Bible passages and deliberate allusions from JK Rowling. She uses interviews, letters, and lesser-known works from Rowling and Tolkien to make her case, offering a deep, detailed analysis for fans of both series. This is also one of the few books to really take apart Deathly Hallows, the last of the series. Certainly, those afraid of Harry Potter's alleged witchcraft should read both this and John Granger's book on God in Harry Potter. Fun, easy analysis for a variety of audiences.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
The Lord of the Hallows: Christian Symbolism and Themes in J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter
This item: The Lord of the Hallows: Christian Symbolism and Themes in J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter
Price: $14.95 $14.20
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com