Customer Reviews


3,694 Reviews
5 star:
 (3,016)
4 star:
 (273)
3 star:
 (114)
2 star:
 (72)
1 star:
 (219)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2,087 of 2,116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extended Blu ray: Do you need if you already own extended DVD editions? Review for both beginners and Die Hard LOTR fans
This is NOT the review of the movies. I am solely reviewing the facts that what EXTRA you get in this set than the previous editions. I will start with very basic facts for those who are baffled by so many editions being out there.
The basic facts-
LOTR series has basically two types of movies- a) Theatrical and b) Extended, each edition are available in...
Published on November 24, 2011 by Amit

versus
1,276 of 1,400 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wait for the extended versions instead!
These are the theatrical release films, not the superior extended versions which are preferrable due to their better coverage of the books and better overall flow.
Hopefully the extended version of the third will also be a big improvement, much needed as important parts of the story are absent in the theatrical relase of Return of the King. Unfortunately Peter...
Published on March 19, 2004 by TOPJOB7


‹ Previous | 1 2370 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2,087 of 2,116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extended Blu ray: Do you need if you already own extended DVD editions? Review for both beginners and Die Hard LOTR fans, November 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is NOT the review of the movies. I am solely reviewing the facts that what EXTRA you get in this set than the previous editions. I will start with very basic facts for those who are baffled by so many editions being out there.
The basic facts-
LOTR series has basically two types of movies- a) Theatrical and b) Extended, each edition are available in both-DVD and Blu ray format.
Extended versions of the movies have humongous amount of extra film footage added to the theatrical editions (approx. 30, 40 and 50 additional minutes for movie 1, 2 and 3 respectively). So, go for the extended editions only if you are a die hard fan of the movies. If you are not, the review ends here. Buy whichever movie you like in your preferred format and enjoy. Thanks.

FOR LOTR FANS-
Let's get straight to-the-point. Now, many of you may as well own the DVD versions of LOTR (Either Theatrical or Extended ot both), and if you are trying to make a decision whether to spend more money on this blu ray extended, here is the comparison-

Extended DVD set-
For each movie they have 4 discs (2 movie discs and 2 extra features); So total 12 discs. Sound is DTS ES 6.1, which is significantly better than regular dolby digital. This set is probably the most gorgeous I have ever seen for any DVD. Colorful and feature packed, it stands out in your entire collection.

Extended Blu ray set-
For each movie they have 5 discs (2 movie blu ray discs, 2 extra feature DVDs and 1 behind the scene DVD). So, total 15 discs. Audio is spine chilling DTS HD 6.1 and it has the all the betterments of blu ray (HD pic, HD sound, BD live). Also, blu ray set includes the Digital copy of the Extended Versions of all three movies (Standard definition, not HD). The set itself is a delight, with a sturdy golden cardboard package that is durable and beautiful. The remastering of these movies have been handled excellently and with respect to both picture and sound, this one is SIGNIFICANTLY BETTER THAN THE DVD.

The GOOD (Blu ray set over DVD set):
1. Video and Audio significantly improved. Excellent blu ray transfer. I have not noticed any 'darker' colors as mentioned by some other viewers.
2. Blu ray set has THREE EXTRA DVDs (Behind the Scene for each movie) apart from the 2 extra feature DVDs.
3. Blu ray set has Digital copies of Extended versions of all three movies.
4. They did not waste a DVD for digital copy. You download them straight from the server.
5. Digital copies are great downloads and super easy. Together, it's almost 10 GB download, which was overwhelming for me.

The NOT-SO-GOOD:
1. Extra feature DVDs (2 for each movie) are the SAME as those of DVD editions. In fact, the DVDs are identical when I do head-to-head comparison. These DVDs are pulled straight from the older DVD editions, nothing new added there.
2. The overall appearence of the set is not as beautiful as the DVD sets. This one is excellently packed though, lacks the colours of the DVD set.
3. Extra feature discs are DVDs and not Blu rays.

FINAL VERDICT-
If you own the extended DVD set, then buy this only if you want to have a great improvement in pictutre and sound quality. The only extra features you get is 'behind the scenes' DVDs. All other extra feature DVDs (total 6 of them) will be a duplication of what you already own in Extended DVD set. Actually, I noticed that all the extra feature DVDs here are from the various older DVD editions. The two DVDs are from the Extended DVD set, and the one 'behind the scene' is probably pulled from the limited editions of LOTR (the double sided DVDs that New Line Cinema released sometimes back).
However, if you do not own the DVD versions, then this is a must buy as this includes almost everything that you can think of (HD movies, extra features, behind the scenes, plus digital copies).

UPDATE: Also check the images I uploaded which may help make the comparison.
UPDATE 2: Thanks for all those who marked this review as helpful. As you are interested in LOTR, I guess at some point you'll consider purchasing "Hobbit" as well. I have recently written reviews for those, hope you find them useful too. Comments are welcome!
Thanks again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3,682 of 3,801 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOTR - FAQ for the Blu-ray Extended Edition, April 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Q - Is it worth it, especially if I already have the DVD edition?
A - To me it is because I like to watch movies at home on the biggest possible screen at the highest possible resolution. I still have the DVD editions - which I'm keeping because I like the artwork - and the quality gain on the Blu is significant.

Q - Could this edition be viewed as 'the gold standard'?
A - Yes. It has the extended cuts at the highest resolution with the best sound and the most extensive collection of special features.

Q - How many Blu-ray discs are in the box?
A - There are SIX Blu-ray discs. The additional 9 'extras' or 'bonus' discs are DVDs.

Q - Are the movies delivered on one disc each?
A - No. See above. Like the DVD extended edition, the movies are delivered on 2 discs each.

Q - Why aren't the movies delivered on one Blu-ray disc each?
A - Most Blu-ray players can only read single layer (25GB) and dual layer discs (50GB). Each of the Extended Edition movies require more than 50GB. Compressing them to 'under 50GB' would have degraded the quality of the picture and sound track.

Q - Is the audio superior to the DVD editions?
A - Yes, the movies sound track is DTS-HD 6.1 MA.

Q - Are there alternate soundtracks?
A - Yes. Each movie disc includes 4 additional commentary sound tracks: Director & Writers, the Design Team, the Production and Post Production Teams and Cast commentaries.

Q - Is BD-Live supported?
A - Yes, on the movie discs.

Q - Is the BD-Live content specific to LOTR?
A - No. It contains WB promotional material.

Q - Will the Extended Blu-ray edition allow us to play the Theatrical cut?
A - No.

Q - Is the Extended Blu-ray cut be in any way different from the Extended DVD cut?
A - No.

Q - Are the bonus discs in the Extended Blu-ray edition in any way different from the bonus discs found in the Extended DVD edition?
A - Yes. There is an additional 'Special Features' disc for each movie holding the Costa Botes documentaries from the Original Theatrical & Extended Limited Editions.

Q - Are the commentaries different from the Extended DVD Edition?
A - No.

Q - Are there subtitles?
A - Yes, subtitles are available in: English (for the hearing impaired), Spanish and Portuguese.

Q - What spoken languages are available?
A - English and Portuguese.

Q - Are the Digital Copies on disc?
A - No. The Extended Blu-ray Edition has access codes for downloadable Digital Copies.

Q - What are the Digital Copies for?
A - iTunes or Windows Media.

Q - Will the Digital Copies be available to download forever?
A - No. The Digital Copy offers expire on June 26, 2012.

Q - What is the resolution of the Digital Copy?
A - For iTunes, it's 853x352 (less than DVD).

Q - Will there be separate Extended Blu-ray editions for each of the three movies?
A - Yes.

Q - Why get the Extended Edition instead of the Theatrical Edition?
A - The Extended Edition adds about 2 hours to the Theatrical cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2,097 of 2,200 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate DVD set for all time!, October 26, 2004
I already reviewed the regular "Motion Picture Trilogy" containing the non-extended editions of the legendary Lord of The Rings masterpieces on one set. However, this newest edition is a grand improvement on the previous edition. This item is a much, MUCH better investment than the old theatrical counterparts and is perhaps the greatest DVD purchase one will likely ever make.

A lot "Director's Cut" scenes are usually just added footage that doesn't do a whole lot to add onto the theatrical edition of movies with examples like Star Wars, Manhunter, or even most of the "Aliens" movies as well. The extra material is just that, extras, that wouldn't kill me to never see again.

It's a totally different story altogether with the "Lord Of The Rings" movies altogether. While the regular theatrical editions were mind-blowing, the extended cuts of the same films do wonders in fleshing out the story and expanding the characters a lot more. Several characters that were not much more than background people are shown much more screen time, stories are greatly expanded, other scenes are much more meaningful, and the movies overall have a totally different feel altogether thanks to all of the extra footage that was not included on the theatrical editions. Now as I watch them, the old editions of them are rendered almost completely obsolete due to the chopped up nature of them. I sometimes wonder if Peter Jackson grimaced when he had to leave a lot of extra shots out of the movies to fit them onto the theatres when they were released.

"Fellowship" has 30 minutes of extra footage included to a length of 3 and a half hours. "The Two Towers" was extended 43 minutes to a total of 3 hours and 42 minutes and finally "The Return of The King" is extended by a grand 50 minutes and the ultimate result is a whopping 4 hours and 11 minutes long! I don't know about you but I don't know how one can make a longer movie like this but Jackson did it! The grand total of all three extended editions is at least an astronomical 11 hours long! This is just the movies themselves.

As for all of the extras on the "Extended Editions", there are over a days worth of extras for surf through on the latter two discs of each film set. The things on them are too great to explain in detail with this review.

Whether you buy them individually or all at once on this massive gift set, "The Lord of The Rings" trilogy goes down as the greatest trilogy of all time. You could not make a better purchase. I swear it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


644 of 696 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves more than 5 stars, October 27, 2004
By 
Classis Genre Film Fanatic (Howell, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
For all of you who think owning the theatrical editions of The Lord of the Rings trilogy is good enough, think again. These editions are not like any other director's cuts or special editions of films that we've seen in the past. Usually, when a film has a special edition, we don't get a whole lot more added in, and it's stuff that doesn't really add anything significant to the story.

But with these editions, just the opposite is true. The extended editions of the first two Lord of the Rings films proved to enhance the plot and characters so much more than anyone ever anticipated. Characters and their journeys become so much clearer and more interesting. The story makes so much more sense. And the whole thing has been re-edited with new music for new scenes and extended musical scores for extended scenes! It's absolutely seamless! Everything that's added in really makes me wonder how I could've enjoyed the films in their original theatrical release. These extended editions make THAT MUCH of a difference. And I have no doubt that The Return of the King extended edition will prove just the same, based on previews I've seen and what's been proven with the extended editions of the first two films.

The Fellowship of the Ring has 30 minutes added in. The Two Towers has 42 minutes added in. The Return of the King has 50 minues added in. Can it get any better? Well, of course! With each movie, you get two discs of bonus features! And these are not features that are boring to watch. You really get a first hand look at the journey that many, many talented people took when making this trilogy. Everything from adaption of the books, to special effects, to the music, to the editing process, to stories that happened on set, etc. The bonus features make a whole story in and of themselves!

For some of you, you may be thinking that 3 hours was long enough for these films. I guarantee you that it was not. When you watch these extended editions, you'll seriously re-evaluate your standards for how long these films should be. And besides, it's not like your sitting for 3 1/2 to 4 hours on your butt in the theater with no break. This is DVD. It's a different medium that allows you to pause it, take a break, cook dinner, or do whatever else you want to do and then come back later to finish it. They won't seem as long, especially when you actually see how great the footage is that they added back in. Simply breath taking.

Of course I didn't wait for this box set to come out to own "The Fellowship of the Ring" and "The Two Towers" extended editions. The theatrical versions of those two films alone WERE plenty good to motivate me to buy their corresponding extended edition DVD sets. But I'll probably buy this set anyway and sell the extended editions of the first two that I bought, just so that I can have the trilogy in this nice collectors box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


146 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addressing the color correction in Fellowship, July 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are other reviews, official and user, that scream about the amazing video and audio, special features, and how basically, you can get rid of your extended dvd copies of the films (and theatrical releases, if you have those, I guess. Why would you even have those?). I'm just here to address the concerns over the supposed flawed color correction in Fellowship.

First of all, I viewed the the films (DVD and Blu-Ray) on an LCD television, calibrated a few years ago using what is considered its ideal settings, taken from AVSForums. Nothing special beyond that, and those settings haven't changed since I first bought the television. I viewed Fellowship in its entirety on Blu-Ray, and then specific scenes that were known to be altered, between the DVD and Blu-Ray.

When watching Fellowship as a whole picture, and looking for anything odd in the picture, I must admit I noticed nothing. During the initial Hobbiton scenes, I noticed no green sky, no cyan grass, nothing like what was shown in the side-by-side comparison video that popped up not too long ago. Any changes that were made to the picture worked well enough that when viewed in context with the scenes before and after, worked perfectly. Even when trying to find anything that looked out of place, I was unable to do so (and keep in mind that having viewed the DVD of Fellowship many times, I had an idea in my head of how the film should have looked).

By the time I got to the infamous shot of the ring in the snow, and that entire scene, I had completely forgotten that I was supposed to be looking for color correction, and everything looked fine; nothing stood out to me. When I finally remembered that I was looking for color correction, I rewound to the beginning of that scene (The Ring goes south), and again watched for the color change. At this point, I did notice a difference, but there was no green sky, no green snow. If anything, there was a slight bluish sheen to the shot, but the snow was still white, and as with the Hobbiton scenes, the color grading fit so well in context to the shots before and after, that it fit perfectly in the scene, especially considering the emotional impact the scene was supposed to convey.

When comparing those specific scenes (and a few others) to the DVD version, there is a noticeable difference in the color. However, this is not a bad thing. As I understand it, Jackson and Lesnie changed the color grading in those scenes to make them fit better into the film as a whole, and this is accomplished. In fact, when watching The Ring goes south scene on the DVD after watching the Blu-Ray, the old color scheme created such a tonal shift for me that it made me squirm. The realism of the snow shots took me out of the fantastic world they were trying to create.

So, are the changes made noticeable? Only if you're doing a straight comparison of different versions of the film, which is pointless. Watching the scenes in context, not only are the color changes not really noticeable, they actually fit better than the original versions, just as Jackson and Lesnie intended. Those people who are complaining and saying that the color changes are horrible, or stick out like a sore thumb, are either EXTREMELY nitpicky, sore at having to buy another version of the films and complaining about anything except complete unaltered perfection (which come on, why would you have ever bought anything beyond the extended DVD's almost a decade ago?), or, having heard about the color changes, are looking for something that's not really there.

This version of the films are the definitive, comprehensive version, and can't get any better in terms of video, audio, or special features. Get rid of your previous versions, and enjoy. What we've been waiting for has finally arrived, and is as good as we've hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,276 of 1,400 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wait for the extended versions instead!, March 19, 2004
These are the theatrical release films, not the superior extended versions which are preferrable due to their better coverage of the books and better overall flow.
Hopefully the extended version of the third will also be a big improvement, much needed as important parts of the story are absent in the theatrical relase of Return of the King. Unfortunately Peter Jackson added a Hollywood passionate love story to the film that was contrary to the more virtuous actions of the characters in the book. By twisting the story around, the film substituted feelings and passion for Tolkien's characters' charity, honor, and duty.
The extended "Fellowship of the Ring" is one of the best movies ever made. Hopefully the extended "Return of the King" will live up to that standard by flowing more smoothly and reflecting Tolkien a little better.
In short, save your money and time for the better trilogy, or if you haven't seen the first 2, buy the separate extended versions and wait for the third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "One ring to rule them all.", November 9, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Beginning in 2001 and the two subsequent years that followed, a trilogy of amazing films were presented to audiences based upon J.R.R. Tolkien's (1892-1973) literary masterpiece, "The Lord of the Rings". When the first film, "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring", was released in theaters, it was 178 minutes long (just under 3 hours). Then, in the fall of 2002, a special extended version of the film was released on DVD that included an additional 30 minutes. This extra 30 minutes of scenes was not simply tacked onto the DVD to be viewed in a separate "deleted scenes" menu. Instead, director Peter Jackson reincorporated all 30 minutes of various scenes back into the original film with additional music composed and recorded specifically to make their reintegration seamless. The result was an even more impressive 208-minute film that increased the depth of the story, primarily with the elves.

Similarly, when the second film, "The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers", was released in theaters in late 2002, it was 179 minutes long. As with the first film, Peter Jackson reintegrated 44 minutes of scenes for the second film that were not part of the original theatrical release for the special extended version that was released on DVD in the fall of 2003. The result was a far more interconnected and detailed film that included scenes with the father of Boromir (Sean Bean) and Faramir (David Wenham), Denethor (John Noble). Those who did not watch the special extended version of "The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers" did not see Denethor until the third film was released in theaters in late 2003, "The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King", which was 201 minutes long. (This was nearly as long as the special extended version of the first film.) Finally, after months of anticipation, the special extended version of the third film that has an additional 50 minutes of footage will be released next month. Though I cannot yet comment on the additional footage that I haven't yet seen, I fully expect it to be an even more exciting experience than watching the theatrical release.

Between the three theatrically released films, which total 558 minutes (9 hours & 18 minutes), the total amount of additional film for all three special extended versions comes to 124 minutes (2 hours & 4 minutes). This means that all three special extended versions total 682 minutes, or 11 hours & 22 minutes. Between the theatrical & special extended versions, my preference is for the special extended versions. Overall, my rating for all three special extended films is a resounding 5 out of 5 stars. For people who have already purchased one or both of the previously released individual special extended versions, purchase of "The Lord of the Rings - The Motion Picture Trilogy (Special Extended DVD Edition)" probably won't be worth the expense. However, if you haven't previously purchased either of the previously released individual special extended versions, then this combined special extended version DVD collection is well worth the price. It would also make a fantastic gift for anyone that wants to watch all three special extended versions and doesn't yet have any of them on DVD. I extend my personal thanks to Peter Jackson, the fine actors and film crew who brought J.R.R. Tolkien's "Lord of the Rings" trilogy to life. These three films will no doubt entertain audiences for many decades to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to the haters - This is the release you've been waiting for!, June 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Quick thoughts on popular complaints:

Re: double dipping/money-grubbing.... To anyone who bought the Theatrical Edition Blu-Ray set... my sympathies. But then, why in the heck did you spend the money in the first place? It was obvious to any rational person that the EE would eventually see the light of day. It happened with the DVD release, and it was confirmed for the BD release mere weeks after the theatrical set was announced. How impatient does a person have to be to buy an inferior release and then complain about a superior one down the road?

Re: Seamless branching .... I just don't think there was a way to put both theatrical and EE movies, with all commentaries, on one disc and then seamlessly branch them, a la "Close Encounters." The movies are too long, for one thing, and the EE flicks were completely re-edited, with new music, extended scenes, and so on. If you really want a seamlessly-branched set, get the "limited edition" DVD. Frankly, the EE is superior in every way, and I do not feel the need to watch the inferior, truncated versions.

Re: being split over 2 discs - the films have been encoded as files roughly 60-70gb in size. Each movie pushes FOUR HOURS and has a DTS-HD soundtrack. To leave room for the movies, as well as the 4 audio commentaries apiece, they were split onto to two 50gb BDs. And YES, they are 50gb DUAL LAYER discs. Actually LOOK at the center of the discs before you write yet another stupid review claiming that they're on single layer 25gb discs. Anyway, LIVE WITH IT. It has resulted in wonderful video quality. Cramming them films onto one disc would have resulted in a substandard A/V presentation. If you don't care about video quality, buy either a cruddy bootleg or the Theatrical Edition. Complaining about this is like complaining that vinyl LP's have 2 sides.

Re: the "color timing issue" .... Wow. If ever there was a mountain made out of a molehill, it is this. FOTR is NOT "green." It does not have an undue green tint. The snow is not green. The faces are not green. The sky is not green. I've watched the whole thing through very carefully, and there is no point at which I felt the color balancing was off. Flesh tones are realistic. Whites are white. The color looks very similar to the EE DVD set - better, if you ask me, because that release ran a little hot in the reds. I kind of wonder if the people who are complaining have poorly calibrated equipment, or bad eyesight. If your display is calibrated anywhere close to a 6500k color temperature (usually the "warmest" color setting in your user menu), and your gamma is set well, you will find nothing to complain about here. Folks, I am a PICKY viewer. I have 20/20 vision. I calibrate my displays with discs like DVE and Avia, to get them as close as possible to "accurate" color. I CARE about these sorts of issues. And I can say, unequivocally, that the color on these discs, including FOTR, is absolutely fine. It looks perfectly natural and pleasing.

On all of these issues, you should *decide for yourself!* Don't be swayed by serial complainers and people with bad televisions. At least rent the discs before you decide to boycott them for life!

OK, with that all out of the way, here goes the real review.

The movies, of course, are one of the finest achievements in fantasy storytelling, well, basically ever. The writing is true to the books (with a few exceptions made for brevity), if a little self-important and overly portentous. The acting is uniformly excellent, with all players taking the material seriously. The production values still haven't been topped - the locations are spectacular, and the CGI hasn't been beaten as far as integrating it with real live action shots. The music is great, too.

This Blu-Ray set presents the three Extended Edition movies on two discs apiece. All of the extras from the DVD sets are reprised here, including the "Costa Botes" documentaries from the later "limited edition" release. It is a disappointment that the extras, none of which are in HD, were not simply dropped onto one 50gb Blu-Ray disc per movie. No sacrifice in quality would have been made, and convenience would be increased significantly. But it's a minor quibble - at least New Line and WHV didn't also include a disc (or two!) for the "Digital Editions" of the movies.

The video presentations on these Blu-Rays are reference quality. Pure and simple. Detail is extremely strong throughout all three films. Hair, facial wrinkles and pores, cloth textures, and foliage all pop off the screen with true "high definition" detail. These releases are WAY better than the Theatrical Blu-Rays in this respect (especially FOTR). Comparing screen shots from one to the other is almost like comparing DVD to BD. It's really night and day. Also particularly impressive are the depth of black and shadow detail. These are dark movies, folks - and if you have your display's brightness and gamma set well, you will be rewarded with an absolute ton of detail near black.

Audio is presented in DTS-HD 6.1 "master audio" tracks. Dialogue is crisp and clear, positional audio is strong, the low channels get an aggressive workout pretty much non stop.

The packaging is nice, too. A sturdy gold-colored slipcase with a magnetic door-flap holds the BD cases, each of which is a 5-disc plastic leaf case similar to the Blade Runner "Ultimate Edition."

In conclusion:

If you've been waiting to buy these on Blu-Ray, wait no longer. I don't see how the video or the audio could be improved. The griping on internet forums about color timing is fictitious drivel. You will sacrifice no extra features in swapping these in for your EE DVDs. The movies themselves are of course timeless classics.

For this price, it is simply a must-buy for any fan of the films, and any fan of high quality HD movies for their home theater setup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most moving film in my generation, December 14, 2004
My generation (the under 30 group) has been needing a trilogy that could hold its own among names such as Star Wars and The Godfather. This trilogy is it. I have never been so moved by shows of friendship, hope, and faith as I have been by this film. The action is fabulous, the plot and characters so true to the story, and the humor so funny that I can think of no other film I would watch for 12 hours straight. The extended versions are wonderful and include the changing height of Merry and Pippin thanks to Treebeard, more competition between Legolas and Gimli, and more moments to remember.

I can watch the whole trilogy, wipe the tears from my eyes, and be proud of this great film of my time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Movie Marathon (slip cover news too), December 14, 2004
I've been a long time Tolkien fan and was one of many somewhat disappointed by the theatrical release of ROTK. I thought the entire first 85% of the movie was fantastic, but I just wish that PJ had used some of the time he allotted to the too-long ending to what we now know are some great cut scenes. But now all is well as the scenes are added back into this EE, which is the only version I'll probably ever watch again.

For those of you who were complaining that you bought the first two EE versions and now you can't get the slip cover that holds all 3 EE boxes, New Line must have heard the complaints and has stepped up (kudos to New Line). They have a direct offer on their web site ([...]) to get the slip cover for $3 TOTAL (that includes S&H). Maybe Amazon will step up and offer this also (and I hope they don't delete this post as it's a service to their customers like me who've bought the previous two EEs). It says allow 8-10 weeks but I think it's a nice gesture to offer the slip cover for what must be close to cost (when you consider S&H is included). I think it's legit, but I'm not sure since it's not on the main New Line site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2370 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.