Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
36
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon March 21, 2010
This double-sized collection pulls together the first twelve issues of this over-the-top espionage yarn. The titular characters are a band of 'burned' Special Forces grunts - dropped by the CIA after a mission goes wrong. The Losers are out for revenge - tracking down particularly dodgy CIA operations and breaking them up. As their digging around starts to turn up answers, they start drawing even more unwanted attention from the Powers that Be.

It took me a while to get into The Losers, but once I got there, I didn't want to put this down. Diggle's writing is already patently cinematic - this is straight out of the hyperkinetic paranoid action movies of the early 2000's. Jock's art and (gutsy) layouts reinforces the pace. Something is always going on and the reader's eye zips from panel to panel. This is a great comic book, and done, right, should make for a good film.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2010
The Losers Vol. 1 & 2, written by Andy Diggle with art by Jock, is as close to an action movie as you can get in comic form.

Jock's art explodes off the page, giving the action sequences a sense of motion and vitality you don't often get in comics, while Diggle's script is tight and sharp, making each character distinct in the midst of chaos.

Originally published in 2003, the comic follows a group of disenfranchised covert ops as they try to get their lives back following a betrayal by the mysterious Max - unfortunately Max is a high level military/CIA asset and crossing him means putting themselves in the crosshairs. While the basic set-up may sound similar to the The A-Team that's as far as the similarity goes; this isn't played for laughs - it's serious business.

Of course, things don't go that easy as the team face mercenaries, the CIA, the fact that Max may not even exist, and a betrayal at the hands of one of their own - but then if things were easy, they wouldn't be Losers, would they?

The complete series of The Losers is being re-released in two volumes to capitalize on the forthcoming movie starring Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Zoe Saldana and Chris Evans - so this is a perfect opportunity to get a jump on it.

Highly recommended!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2005
The first thing I should tell you about Trifecta is that if you haven't already read the comics individually, only the last four issues of this compilation were drawn by Jock (16-19). 13 and 14 were drawn by Nick Dragotta, and 15 by Ale Garza. Just a word of warning. It's not like these two guest artists don't have skills, its just that Jock's artwork is what first attracted me to the series, and its why I keep coming back. But the issues he does draw are fantastic, Jock really seems to be getting a hang of this, delivering artwork thats even more stylized and cool than previous issues, while avoiding problems like the repeating of facial expressions (can you say eye squint) that distracted a little in the first compliation. Diggle's story in 16-19 (which concerns the last disasterous mission of the losers) also delivers, dialogue and character development are excellent, I especially liked seeing pre-betrayal Roque. So to sum up, a little dissapointed by guest artist issues, but overall the quality of 16-19 make it a good compilation.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2010
With the Hollywood movie looming on the horizon this trade paperback collecting the first two volumes of the Vertigo series The Losers by Andy Diggle and Jock is sure to garner more fans, something that this comic richly deserves. Excellent plotting and well-conceived characters have been hallmarks of Diggle's writing, especially on titles such as Hellblazer, and his talents are fully on display here. Artist Jock is as brilliant as ever with the art, and at 303 pages this collection is a steal for only 13 bucks. Buy this trade before the movie if you can, and proceed to lose yourself in a world of military intrigue, conspiracy and bloody action as Clay, Jensen, Cougar, Aisha and Pooch tear up the pages with trademark violence. The Losers is a title that will be in print for many years to come, and occupies a special place on my shelf. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2013
I bought the two part series as I enjoyed the movie very much. It generally follows a similar plot even though the movie was more "hollywood". The books develop the charaters and really drew me in. I enjoyed this. If you liked the movie, the books should be a nice read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2013
I bought the two part series as I enjoyed the movie very much. It generally follows a similar plot even though the movie was more "hollywood". The books develop the charaters and really drew me in. I enjoyed this. If you liked the movie, the books should be a nice read.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 13, 2010
At only 32 issues, this is practically a mini-series compared to most of the work going on in comics today, but Diggle and Jock have done the right thing by wrapping up the storyline at at a high note.

The lopsided battle between Clay and Max comes to a conclusion in this mammoth second volume. The good guys fight the bad guys all over the globe, culminating in a wacky, full-sized act of Bond-villainy in the Middle East. Skirting the edge between over-the-top and oh-so-serious, this is a well-written espionage action adventure that keeps everything bouncing along at a wild pace.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2010
Don't hesitate to buy the second (and final) volume. The ending is absolutely fabulous!

I wasn't a fan of the few chapters where guest artists replaced Jock's artwork, but the story never wavered on its way to a high-octane finale.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2014
As I stated in my review of the first book, the book is better than the movie.

The high level of action, well written characters, dialogue, and sheer shock value of the first book carries over to the second and final volume. Between the two books there are several characters and subplots that never appeared in the movie. When you see how they fit together with the main endgame of the series you realize just how good the movie could have been and how wonderful the books are in comparison.

Now, the ending is fantastic (NO SPOILERS), if just a tad cliched with a deus ex machina bit of exposition to explain it (hence the half star deduction). But not to the point where you feel cheated. Any fan of action and espionage films and stories will probably be able to guess the ending well in advance, but the execution of the events is still fulfilling and consistent with the characters.

If you bought Book One and liked it, get Book Two. The series ends with this volume and there are no loose ends, no little winks that they might go on. Everything is tied off and ends spectacularly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2014
If your only knowledge of The Losers is the movie, just let that go. Forget it as best you can. As with most adaptations, the book is far better than the movie.

The characters in this book are far more complex and wonderfully written. The pacing of the plot is slowed down for the sake of showing just how far reaching and audacious the endgame of the villain is, which is on par with most Bond villains. There are moments in this book that could never exist in a movie without being a hard R rating, maybe even NC17.

Should you buy this book? If you like your action gritty, your adventure global, and are a fan of underdogs wading through a world with no real good guys and some exceptional villains, then yes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.