Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good
15 TOWEL ANIMALS OR OTHER.
Wonderful.
Alison Jenkins begins with basics folds and techniques.
And the towel sculptures.

First the easy models, only three.
Happy Birthday is a birthday cake, 6 towels, 1 face cloth and ribbon
Fancy fan, 2 towels, 2 elastic bands and 2 safety pins.
Love heart, 1 towel

Next the moderate...
Published on April 26, 2006 by Myriam Namolaru

versus
40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
My daughter loves this kind of thing so I was excited to purchase this book for her. Almost all of the designs require a considerable number of towels along with other items like safety pins, felt, paper, etc. The few designs that can be created with only one or two towels look lame or don't work at all (at least without starch or something else to hold them in place)...
Published on January 22, 2007 by R. Sutter


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, April 26, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Art of Towel Origami (Paperback)
15 TOWEL ANIMALS OR OTHER.
Wonderful.
Alison Jenkins begins with basics folds and techniques.
And the towel sculptures.

First the easy models, only three.
Happy Birthday is a birthday cake, 6 towels, 1 face cloth and ribbon
Fancy fan, 2 towels, 2 elastic bands and 2 safety pins.
Love heart, 1 towel

Next the moderate models, seven
Gift basket, 1 towel, 1 face cloth and safety pins
Skyscraper, 2 towels and 1 bath sheet
Tropical palm, 1 towel, 5 face cloths and safety pins
Kiss me lips, 1 towel
Ladybug, 1 towel, 3 face cloths, felt and pipe cleaners
Angel fish, 1 towel, 2 face cloths, felt or chocolate
Cute pooch, 1 towel, 1 bath sheet, felt and safety pin.

Then, the difficult models, five
Spinning windmill, 1 towel
Lotus flower, 3 towels, 1 face cloths, safety pin
Swimming swan, 1 bath sheet, sunglasses, 2 face cloths and safety pins
Monkey business, 1 bath sheet, 1 towel, felt or chocolate and
safety pins
Elephant, 2 towels, safety pin and felt or chocolate

You have also templates for the eyes, nose, tongue, eyepatch,
spots and the shapes for the skyscraper

You will need
5 face cloths 33 X 33,
1 guest towel 40 X 40 or 40 X 76
2 hand towels 50 X 100
3 bath towels 63/68 X 130 or 75 X 137
2 bath sheets 90 X 165
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great project for cub scouts and brownies, March 16, 2006
This review is from: The Lost Art of Towel Origami (Paperback)
Fun to read, fun to do! We first saw it done on a cruise. (Never realized that this art had ever been lost.)

This is an activity that will engage youngsters without making a terrific mess. No paint or glue to smear on freshly painted or wallpapered walls. No sharp scissors to jab into the upholstery or hack at the curtains. If the technique is properly modeled for the children, every child will be able to be successful. And everybody has some sort of towel already, so there is no expense for this pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, January 22, 2007
This review is from: The Lost Art of Towel Origami (Paperback)
My daughter loves this kind of thing so I was excited to purchase this book for her. Almost all of the designs require a considerable number of towels along with other items like safety pins, felt, paper, etc. The few designs that can be created with only one or two towels look lame or don't work at all (at least without starch or something else to hold them in place) and I haven't bothered with the rest. Origami isn't the right description when so much else is required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars too simple; too few, January 15, 2007
By 
Martha Ann Messer (Corpus Christi, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Art of Towel Origami (Paperback)
There were not very many different things to fold, all were simple - that is, they don't look that great when done. I've seen folded towels in a couple of hotels and they were stunning. The choices in this book just don't measure up. I wish I'd gotten a different towel origami book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Art of Towel Origami, July 6, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Art of Towel Origami (Paperback)
I was very interested in learning Towel Origami. The size of the pieces and the number of towels needed to create them made the task almost impossible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There are better towel origami books out there, May 17, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Art of Towel Origami (Paperback)
I bought this book after getting into towel origami on a Carnival Cruise. This was disappointing. There were some okay ideas but all in all I would spend the $$ buying the Carnival Cruise towel origami book instead of this one. I bought this thinking that there would be ideas for a towel wedding cake. Thier version isn't near as pretty as the ones that I found searching online. Skip this one and buy the cruise one on EBAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, March 21, 2007
This review is from: The Lost Art of Towel Origami (Paperback)
This book was exactly what I was looking for. It will make anyone a pro at towel animals. The pictures are clear as are the directions. I liked that their were actual pictures of every step throughout the process. The directions were easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Throwing in the towel, April 29, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Art of Towel Origami (Paperback)
There are a few books out on towel origami but this is by far one of the best. Alison's book is a lot easier to follow than other books out there. This being said, I still found it much easier to learn towel origami by watching DVDs available on the subject. I'm someone that needs to see it done rather than reading about it. The quality of the book is very nice and you can tell she put a lot of work into it. If you like to learn by reading instructions and seeing still pictures then get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How can you resist?, January 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Art of Towel Origami (Paperback)
I only took a quick peak at the contents of this book. It was a secret Santa gift for a grab bag game my family plays on Christmas. When I went on the Disney Cruise a couple years ago, I would return to my room to find a different towel animal on my bed every night. I thought it was the most welcoming thing on the whole cruise, except for the cast members of course. The book gives detailed instructions on all the origami related terms it uses so it should be really easy to follow. Just make sure you have the estimated sizes of the towels needed for which ever subject you want to create and you will have a blast. A tip for couples: it is a great suprise to come home to an elephant or a monkey on your bed after a hard day at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a great book unless you have lots of different types and sizes of towels, February 27, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Art of Towel Origami (Paperback)
I was pretty disappointed with this book and cannot really recommend it. First, over half of the designs are pretty boring and not really worth doing (Lips? A plain heart? Boring.) The rest of them seem to all use different sizes and number of towels. To do the palm tree you need FIVE hand towels. I for one don't generally keep *that* many towels of the same color lying around. The other main problem is the directions are not terribly clear. For instance, the instructions for the dog tell me to roll up the long ends into the middle, and after trying this a couple times, and wondering why it wasn't working, I realized it really wanted you to roll the *short* ends into the middle. Clear errors like this make it annoying to use and just not worth paying for when there are other cheap and even free sources out there for this material (try a google search for "towel folding" or "towel origami".)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Lost Art of Towel Origami
The Lost Art of Towel Origami by Alison Jenkins (Paperback - October 1, 2005)
$14.99 $13.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.