Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 26, 2006
15 TOWEL ANIMALS OR OTHER.
Wonderful.
Alison Jenkins begins with basics folds and techniques.
And the towel sculptures.

First the easy models, only three.
Happy Birthday is a birthday cake, 6 towels, 1 face cloth and ribbon
Fancy fan, 2 towels, 2 elastic bands and 2 safety pins.
Love heart, 1 towel

Next the moderate models, seven
Gift basket, 1 towel, 1 face cloth and safety pins
Skyscraper, 2 towels and 1 bath sheet
Tropical palm, 1 towel, 5 face cloths and safety pins
Kiss me lips, 1 towel
Ladybug, 1 towel, 3 face cloths, felt and pipe cleaners
Angel fish, 1 towel, 2 face cloths, felt or chocolate
Cute pooch, 1 towel, 1 bath sheet, felt and safety pin.

Then, the difficult models, five
Spinning windmill, 1 towel
Lotus flower, 3 towels, 1 face cloths, safety pin
Swimming swan, 1 bath sheet, sunglasses, 2 face cloths and safety pins
Monkey business, 1 bath sheet, 1 towel, felt or chocolate and
safety pins
Elephant, 2 towels, safety pin and felt or chocolate

You have also templates for the eyes, nose, tongue, eyepatch,
spots and the shapes for the skyscraper

You will need
5 face cloths 33 X 33,
1 guest towel 40 X 40 or 40 X 76
2 hand towels 50 X 100
3 bath towels 63/68 X 130 or 75 X 137
2 bath sheets 90 X 165
0Comment| 104 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2006
Fun to read, fun to do! We first saw it done on a cruise. (Never realized that this art had ever been lost.)

This is an activity that will engage youngsters without making a terrific mess. No paint or glue to smear on freshly painted or wallpapered walls. No sharp scissors to jab into the upholstery or hack at the curtains. If the technique is properly modeled for the children, every child will be able to be successful. And everybody has some sort of towel already, so there is no expense for this pleasure.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2007
My daughter loves this kind of thing so I was excited to purchase this book for her. Almost all of the designs require a considerable number of towels along with other items like safety pins, felt, paper, etc. The few designs that can be created with only one or two towels look lame or don't work at all (at least without starch or something else to hold them in place) and I haven't bothered with the rest. Origami isn't the right description when so much else is required.
22 comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2007
There were not very many different things to fold, all were simple - that is, they don't look that great when done. I've seen folded towels in a couple of hotels and they were stunning. The choices in this book just don't measure up. I wish I'd gotten a different towel origami book.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2007
I was very interested in learning Towel Origami. The size of the pieces and the number of towels needed to create them made the task almost impossible.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2007
I bought this book after getting into towel origami on a Carnival Cruise. This was disappointing. There were some okay ideas but all in all I would spend the $$ buying the Carnival Cruise towel origami book instead of this one. I bought this thinking that there would be ideas for a towel wedding cake. Thier version isn't near as pretty as the ones that I found searching online. Skip this one and buy the cruise one on EBAY.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2007
This book was exactly what I was looking for. It will make anyone a pro at towel animals. The pictures are clear as are the directions. I liked that their were actual pictures of every step throughout the process. The directions were easy to follow.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2007
There are a few books out on towel origami but this is by far one of the best. Alison's book is a lot easier to follow than other books out there. This being said, I still found it much easier to learn towel origami by watching DVDs available on the subject. I'm someone that needs to see it done rather than reading about it. The quality of the book is very nice and you can tell she put a lot of work into it. If you like to learn by reading instructions and seeing still pictures then get this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2007
I only took a quick peak at the contents of this book. It was a secret Santa gift for a grab bag game my family plays on Christmas. When I went on the Disney Cruise a couple years ago, I would return to my room to find a different towel animal on my bed every night. I thought it was the most welcoming thing on the whole cruise, except for the cast members of course. The book gives detailed instructions on all the origami related terms it uses so it should be really easy to follow. Just make sure you have the estimated sizes of the towels needed for which ever subject you want to create and you will have a blast. A tip for couples: it is a great suprise to come home to an elephant or a monkey on your bed after a hard day at work.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2014
One of the first towel origami books out. Has darling ideas...mostly for the hospitality set. Good for guests. Easy to follow directions but needs a hands on approach as some directions are only followable by doing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse