Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very insightful
Though the new photos aren't phenomenal (though some really are) I find that the back stories behind them is all the more interesting. We learn about the photographer and his relations to The Beatles and even how his son felt growing up with select photos as big a part of their collection as family portraits. Included are scans of not only various tickets, but also...
Published on March 22, 2011 by RollyRollyJeff

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay - just okay.
This book was kind of redundant - nothing that I hadn't seen before in other books. I ended up giving it to a thrift shop.
Published 16 months ago by Marsha Wade


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very insightful, March 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Beatles Photographs: The Bob Bonis Archive, 1964-1966 (Hardcover)
Though the new photos aren't phenomenal (though some really are) I find that the back stories behind them is all the more interesting. We learn about the photographer and his relations to The Beatles and even how his son felt growing up with select photos as big a part of their collection as family portraits. Included are scans of not only various tickets, but also staff badges and all other things the guys behind the band were issued. It's neat to see all this as it really does help to ground this man in his little bit of Beatle history.

There is a good mix of everything: photo, scan and story, that lend a very balanced feel to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up for The Lost Beatles Photographs, March 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Beatles Photographs: The Bob Bonis Archive, 1964-1966 (Hardcover)
I received The Lost Beatles Photographs, last week (pre-ordered from Amazon) and it really takes me back to their touring 'hay days'. I remember seeing a few of the pictures, in the teen magazines ('64' '65 '66) but this book is chock full of unseen photographs and wonderful memories of The Fab Four. I highly recommend this beautiful, hard cover, collector's delight.
Larry Marion did a fine job putting this book together, a real tribute to the talented photographer, Bob Bonis, and to The Beatles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get casual with the Fab Four, March 30, 2011
This review is from: The Lost Beatles Photographs: The Bob Bonis Archive, 1964-1966 (Hardcover)
Not just a book of candid pix taken by a beloved employee...also a chance to see a youthful innocence that the group still had in the early years. Enjoy the intimacy and camaraderie, along with the incredible memorabilia that enhance the text. Bob took the pictures and Larry Marion does the research to write the back story. Incredible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Backstage Beatles, June 1, 2011
This review is from: The Lost Beatles Photographs: The Bob Bonis Archive, 1964-1966 (Hardcover)
This book is ideal for Beatle fans and is a wonderful collection to your Beatles' library.

The photographs are excellent and I loved the stories behind the scenes. Readers learn about the man who took the pictures and his connection with the Beatles. In addition to the pictures of the Beatles themselves, readers get to see photographs of ticket stubs and concert venues. It's like taking a Magical Mystery Tour (oops, that's a 1967 song that postdates concerts) backstage with the Fab Four. I just love this book and the way it gives you a bird's eye view of what took place in concert venues.

I give this book a hearty YEAH, YEAH, YEAH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat!, March 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Beatles Photographs: The Bob Bonis Archive, 1964-1966 (Hardcover)
Larry Marion's new book of Bob Bonis' photographs is a treasure-trove of intimate and funny photos, ticket stubs and other interesting memorabilia, and insightful and well-written commentary. Larry Marion's tight prose gives the moments captured a vivid immediacy that is entirely appropriate for its subject matter: a band that has been part of our lives for almost 50 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Before Seen Fab Four Photos, June 27, 2011
By 
Roger Yee (Tucson, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Beatles Photographs: The Bob Bonis Archive, 1964-1966 (Hardcover)
If you are fan of The Beatles, then this book is a must have for you. What makes this book a must have is that these photos have never been seen or published before. Most Beatles books that have been published in the last 20 years contain the same photos we have been seeing over and over for the last 20 years. What also makes this book interesting is that the photographer Bob Bonis was a nonprofessional photographer, he was just their American tour manager, but I would say his photos are as good as Robert Freeman's or Robert Whitaker's who were professional photographers and both published their own Beatles Photo Books.I am very thankful to Bob Bonis' family for sharing these pictures with the world as Bob passed away in 1992 and never released them himself. This book is well worth a Beatles Fan's time, attention and money. A Splendid Time is Guaranteed when you look through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They look just like themselves, don't they!?, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Beatles Photographs: The Bob Bonis Archive, 1964-1966 (Hardcover)
Excellent!

Not only are the photographs terrific -- for one who was there at the time, it's just like having been there at the time -- but the text is also: provides not only dates, locations, and venues of concerts (an "Appendix" gives a full list of concert dates and locations, a most successful operation), but also names and photos of the acts that were on the bill with them (i.e., on the bill with The Beatles; "Them" was an Irish band lead by Van Morrison that wasn't on the bill with them), details of tour arrangements, and, in many instances, set-lists.

I remember the contemporaneous news reports of the details (because I was there at the time); as example, Kansas City, MO was not originally on the list of cities they would play; but, as result of an amazing offer that even I couldn't have refused (had I been offered it, which I wasn't), Kansas City was added. And, in response to the request of the person paying for the appearance (the Kansas City Athletics sports team owner) that they (The Beatles; "They" weren't on the bill either) play a longer set, which request they refused, they did add an additional song for that concert: "Kansas City-Hey Hey Hey Hey".

You'll have to read it for yourselves and yourselves (because there's more than one of yourselves) for all the details; but I will give one that brings back the memory (as a memory) of it: the Kansas City concert earned them (i.e., The Beatles) $4,838 per minute. That was a lot of money even then!

You won't know what you missed if you miss this (except that you missed it); and will be nagged by the memory that you missed it, and that you don't know what you missed. So don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beatles Scrapbook Without the Work, June 1, 2012
By 
G. Kirby (Montgomery,Alabama) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Beatles Photographs: The Bob Bonis Archive, 1964-1966 (Hardcover)
Although I have not read the entire book yet, it is a joy just to look at the fabulous and fun photographs that were taken of the Beatles while they were in America in the early 1960's. I was only 12 when they burst on the music scene. My friends and I loved them, picked our favorites,listened to their records constantly, screamed while watching their movies, etc. but I was not old enough to follow where their tours were (except to know it was not any place near enough to actually go to a concert). This book has not only pictures of the Beatles themselves at play and in concert but pictures of ticket stubs and other memoralbilia of different concert dates...like a collector got together all of this neat Beatle collectables and put them in an album for you. There is very good informative writing to go along with the pictures. It is a book that you can just pick up, look at some photos, read a page or two, be entertained and enlightened and then put it down till next time if you would like. Of course, you could start on page 1 and read it all the way through, but you don't have to read it like a traditional book to be able to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Serious Beatlephiles, September 4, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Beatles Photographs: The Bob Bonis Archive, 1964-1966 (Hardcover)
Bob Bonis's excellent photographs take you behind the scenes at the three U.S. tours The Beatles undertook in '64, '65, & '66. How often I have wished I could have been a fly on the wall during those remarkable times! Now, it's as though a dream has come true. The images are fresh, crisp, and bursting with the energy & cheekiness for which the Fab Four were famous. If you still get goosebumps when you hear "I Saw Her Standing There," this book is a must for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEATLES FOREVER!, May 8, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Beatles Photographs: The Bob Bonis Archive, 1964-1966 (Hardcover)
Actually Fun Fotos that I have never seen
As advertised
For a 61 year old Fan you cant get enuff of the Fun!
Charlie Huntley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Lost Beatles Photographs: The Bob Bonis Archive, 1964-1966
The Lost Beatles Photographs: The Bob Bonis Archive, 1964-1966 by Bob Bonis (Hardcover - March 22, 2011)
$29.99 $20.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.