Customer Reviews


377 Reviews
5 star:
 (264)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The strongest TSO album thus far!
TSO finally completes their third album to the Christmas Trilogy they have been planning to complete, and they finish it with a bang! Here is the whole overview of the album...

1. First Noel (Instrumental) - Starts out with nice catchy piano, and into the main melody, and then around 2 minutes into an added part by TSO. Similar to the bridge in "Boughs Of...
Published on November 27, 2004 by Mike Coleman

versus
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Christmas Eve
Before listening:

Not saying that I know everything about everything and this whole thing is just my opinion. Last July I met with TSO and auditioned for them. I am on a call back list and will hopefully be going again to play for them in Jan. For the past 2 years I have directed live performances of Xmas Eve and Other Stories and Beethoven's Last night at the...
Published on October 12, 2004 by B. E Nickerson


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

105 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The strongest TSO album thus far!, November 27, 2004
By 
Mike Coleman (New Jersey, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lost Christmas Eve (Audio CD)
TSO finally completes their third album to the Christmas Trilogy they have been planning to complete, and they finish it with a bang! Here is the whole overview of the album...

1. First Noel (Instrumental) - Starts out with nice catchy piano, and into the main melody, and then around 2 minutes into an added part by TSO. Similar to the bridge in "Boughs Of Holly" back on "The Christmas Attic". Then back into the main melody Great guitar work, lots of fast paced soloing with a hard rock touch (like most of the songs on this album are). Great instrumental.

2. The Lost Christmas Eve - Starts with a haunting guitar melody. Then the vocals kick in, and then distortion later on. Great lyrics as well. Then around the 4 minute mark, Bam! The guitar comes back for another round of shredding.

3. Christmas Dreams - A catchy song. Catchy vocals and piano part. Even though there are awesome guitar harmonies in this song the vocals are also great as well, to make this TSO original one of the catchiest yet...

4. Wizards Of Winter (Instrumental) - Right at the beginning, you know this is going to blow up to something big. This song is a battle field for orchestra instruments vs. the electric guitar vs. Piano all competing to gain there own spot of superiority in this song, while the drums and bass act as a peacemaker to even the score. The doubling of violins and guitars later on in the song is fantastic. Absolute Perfection. Amazing song. A real rocker with ALL the instruments rocking out.

5. Remember - Starts out soft, we need something soft after "Wizards Of Winter". Starts with piano and church bells, and then the choir kicks in. A nice choir arrangement which is very soothing to listen to. There just isn't too much to say about this except that it is nice and relaxing to listen to

6. Anno Domine - An other choir piece (highlighting the men), although you do hear women parts kick in very soon. Awesome 4 part harmonies if you like choir pieces, here is another one, with a piano part which will make you smile.

7. Christmas Concerto (Instrumental) - 42 seconds of Brass instruments playing a Christmas Concerto, nothing more... nice little addition to the album

8. Queen Of The Winter Night (Instrumental for the most part) - The rock couldn't be gone for long! Because here it comes again. A very upbeat christmas song especially when it kicks in around 1:10, with the violin and piano playing a melody and the guitar keeping the rhythm. Then a vocal humming notes as the piano repeats the notes that the vocal casts out, more battling, haha. Then back into the upbeatness, almost like a "Boughs Of Holly" or "First Snow" type feel again, (which I love), with more guitar playing that will blow you away!

9. Christmas Nights In Blue - A song about a Christmas night in NYC. A man singing the blues, with a VERY hard rock touch for the blues. I must say, very awesome, piano part in the beginning, VERY bluesy.

10. Christmas Jazz (Instrumental) - An acoustic piece. A Jazz piece with a Christmas type feel. An acoustic guitar with also a bass guitar as well which you can here. Very nice piece. Great work on the guitar

11. Christmas Jam (Instrumental) - WOW! TSO just exploded into Savatage again with this one. Nothing but a hard rock edge to this instrumental. Awesome guitar riff and soloing. Almost doesn't sound like a Christmas song, but this just shows how Hard Rock TSO can be with still being able to tell it's them playing the song! Guitar players, enjoy.

12. Siberian Sleigh Ride (Instrumental) - Don't be fooled by the soft little acoustic intro. guitar players, don't sit down yet. You have another shredder right here!!! SICK guitar work! Almost a Joe Satriani influenced instrumental. It does indeed feel like you are on a sleigh ride riding down a hill to the sweet sounds of that electric guitar screeching out those notes, in a wonderful major key. Nice drum work as well. In fact all of the instruments do an extreme job in this one. Another rocker right here! Absolutely awesome!

13. What Is Christmas? - Back to the vocals, but we are still very upbeat right at the beginning of this song! A great upbeat song with all the instruments included. Starting out with Piano and a Synth, blasting in with violins, bells, guitar, bass, and drums. Then the song takes you from there, with those vocals that double the notes the bells/synth are doing.

14. For The Sake Of Our Brother - A soft one, but you need one after all of that! Wow! A beautiful piano and vocal piece. Also in the middle of the song going into O Come All Ye Faithful. Beautiful vocals. I usually don't say that about TSO vocals. But wow this guy has a beautiful voice, especially when he goes into "O Come All Ye Faithful", just beautiful...

15. Wisdom Of Snow - A piano instrumental. I enjoy listening to this. Not complicated piano work for an experienced player, but the melody, and chords he plays put you in the mood of Christmas like you wouldn't believe. That's what TSO does, all the time, with every album. You can just picture the snow falling while listening to this perfectly.

16. Wish Liszt (Toy Shop Madness) - Starts out with Piano (you can tell trouble is ahead). And you are correct, because here comes a SCREECHING guitar, and a nicely organized piano part, with guitar to pack it up. The guitar gets a little more complicated throughout the song and the song gets a little darker/heavier with guitar as it goes by. Then BOOM! Back into "Christmas Jam" we go!!! Then the GUITAR SHREDS like you wouldn't believe, ALL over again! Just like in Christmas Jam! It's awesome, and unexpected! It then goes back into Wish Liszt and ends with piano and guitar doing part of the original melody. (Instrumental)

17. Back to A Reason (Part II) Yet another nice vocal piece. Sounds like a single almost. Something that would be worthy of being on the radio. I mean to me everything on this album (expecially the crazy instrumentals) should be on the radio. But this one may be one that would be expected by the pop crowd.

Includes Guitar, drums, bass, piano. Mostly piano.

18. Christmas Bells, Carousels and Time (Instrumental) - Church Bells, Synths, and Strings create an intro for the next song. Sounds dark, and very nice...

19. What Child Is This? - Starts out dark from the last track. Vocals kick in. Around a minute or so, the distortion kicks in and things pick up. Much later a choir kicks in and joins in with the upbeat and distorted guitar with piano. Everything together sounds just excellent.

20. O Come All Ye Faithful - Acoustic piece. Just acoustic guitar. Sounds very nice, very well organized.

21. Christmas Canon Rock - starts out with a nice piano and keyboard arrangement. Guitars kick in. Then guitar harmonies kick in. Very nice. Female vocals kick in, very nice too. Choir in the back is very nice. Then the guitar and vocals duel later on, and its absolutely amazing. Awesome Guitar solo yoo.

22. Different Wings - Just acoustic with female vocals. Not much to say except that it sounds very nice and relaxing to listen to, and the acoustic part is awesome, something I would never think of coming up with...let's just leave it at that.

23. Midnight Clear (Acoustic) - an added track. Another acoustic track. Playing the original melody of the song, with a few added licks in there, as TSO always does. Great outro to the album.

And there it is...I love this album, hope I helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 92 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TSO Makes Christmas Rock!, December 29, 2004
This review is from: The Lost Christmas Eve (Audio CD)
Humbug. Even before Halloween treats can be digested the endless Christmas tunes come calling. Thanksgiving feasts give way to carols and jingles and sing-a-longs that saturate the airwaves and muzak systems from sea to shining sea. Each Holiday Season becomes so musically maniacal that I tell myself if I hear one more rendition of "I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus" I am absolutely going to go Scroogal.

Thankfully, I learned about the Trans-Siberian Orchestra. The brainchild of gifted musicians/composers Paul O'Neill and Robert Kinkel, TSO takes traditional Christmas music and transforms it into clean, enthusiastic, hard-driving rock 'n roll guaranteed to make the listener strum his or her air guitar. TSO's latest installment, THE LOST CHRISTMAS EVE, contains some first-class tracks that make Alvin & The Chipmunks a delightful distant memory.

Granted, some of the 23 tracks on this CD fall short of the mark: either the singing is lacking or the lyrics too sappy--or both. But the brilliant stuff overshadows the shallow cuts--hard-driving tracks like "Faith Noel" and "Christmas Jam" are worth this CD's purchase price alone. The best cut, by far: "Christmas Canon Rock," a haunting, stunning, incredibly impressive menagerie of beautiful harmony and lead guitar wizardry. In fact, lead guitarist Al Pitrelli can come jam at my house anytime.

THE LOST CHRISTMAS EVE is must-listen music for those tired of the typical Holiday grind. Even Santa himself would enjoy this band--and he's got the long hair and beard to fit right in.

--D. Mikels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Heart TSO (And hope I can get an A off of them...), October 20, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Christmas Eve (Audio CD)
I am taking a music business course in college. We were given the task to choose an artist that is releasing an album in time for Christmas and track the progress of the band and album while doing research about such things as distribution, royalties, and all the work that goes into cutting an album. When I got this album, I was pretty pissed off at TSO because I was writing a paper on them at the time. But as soon as I put it in my Discman, all the anger melted away. Faith Noel, the first track, is much like Christmas Eve Sarajevo from "Christmas Eve and Other Stories": a totally rocking instrumental of a classic hymn. As I am also a guitar student, the use of electric guitars is amazing to my ears. It put me in the mood for Christmas, even though it was the middle of October. Other great instrumentals: Wizards in Winter, Wisdom of Snow, Wish Liszt, O Come All Ye Faithful.

As a theatre student, the songs with singing seem very Broadway-esque, as some of the male singers remind me vocally of Michael Crawford, the Phantom of the Opera. Such intensity, such force, such emotion. Great tracks with lyrics: The Lost Christmas Eve, Christmas Dreams, Anno Domine, Christmas Nights in Blue, What Is Christmas?(They all are awesome, those are just my favorites!)

If you love TSO, dramatic music, or classical music with a rocking twist, get this album...give me something to write about! Happy Halloween!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Christmas Eve, October 12, 2004
This review is from: The Lost Christmas Eve (Audio CD)
Before listening:

Not saying that I know everything about everything and this whole thing is just my opinion. Last July I met with TSO and auditioned for them. I am on a call back list and will hopefully be going again to play for them in Jan. For the past 2 years I have directed live performances of Xmas Eve and Other Stories and Beethoven's Last night at the University of MA in Lowell. Since first hearing them and then seeing them every year since they began touring, I have been absolutely amazed with everything they do. They have never ceased to amaze me.

Comes in expanded size CD pack with booklet separate from Jewel case. No wonder...it's a really long and well developed story. This album features just about ever member of TSO both from the studio and the road including David Z, Tristan Akavian, Angus Clark, and Jeff Allegue. Also 3 different drummers, 3 keyboardists and 3 different choirs. This incredible vocal and instrumental cast shows how huge and successful TSO has become. The artwork is simply beautiful and layout is identical to previous TSO albums.

Faith Noel

Awesome kickin' opener, not as melodious and singable as Boughs of Holly but feature awesome guitar work and great arrangement. Simple yet complex enough to be enjoyed

Lost Christmas Eve

Eerie, ominous yet ho0liday-esuqe somehow. No strings, which would've made it even better. Incredible lyrics and a great opening narrative song. Has an eerie section of a child singing which ads to the wandering ambience that the song creates. I personally would have loved to have hear Jody Ashworth (Beethoven) but J. Mark McVey holds his own very well and delivers this song with power and passion.

Christmas Dreams

A much softer and warmer feeling. This song really feels like the opening to a Broadway show. Michael Lanning reminds me of a Guy Lemmonier. He does very well. This song is not as strong or grabbing as previous TSO vocal songs. Music is so-so, lyrics are very good. This guy is definitely straight from Broadway and it shows in his execution of the vocals. Song stars slower and picks up to a driving "Vienna-esque " feel. Still no strings...L

It is clear thus far that the songs were written solely centered on the lyrics. It sounds at times like the lyrics are too complex and too arduous for the music. Not as verse-chorus-verse based as previous songs

Wizards In Winter

Full instrumental. The song from the opening of the new TSO site. Awesome song with a great heavy feel much more string based. Has a truly Russian-driving feel feels based off of a lost section of the Nutcracker. A bit repetitive but it doesn't matter because it's just that little bit different each time. The music feels more movie-score based than a traditional song that one would sing along with (even though it's an instrumental). Awesome piano lines I must learn at once. Great flying string and guitar work with choirs in background.

Remember

Opens with a March feel like Prince of Peace but a bit more energetic. Calmer piece and first children's choir song since Xmas Attic. Vocals are similar to A Star to Follow but with children. O'Neill will never loose his remarkable ability to write rounds especially those centered around children's choir. Great melodic lines with repeating music in background. This prevents the music from distracting the listener from the strong lyrics and vocal performance.

Anno Domine

Sounds like an old-style Carol sing-along. A child/male choir mix with light instrumentation. Again, very vocal based. At this point, it has set a completely different feel than the opening album. As enjoyable as these songs are, they're much more background Xmas party music than the opening of the album. At this point, it better get much heavier from here. I appreciate choirs and round and nearly a cappella stuff but TSO is about the rocking Xmas

Christmas Concerto

Ok,. now I'm scared. I'm waiting for Gene Autry to come in singing some old-style Xmas song. This horn quartet sounding piece is a little sequence into the next song. It's very short and rather pointless.

Queen of the Winter Night

Back to the flying piano fingers and heavy guitars and band. It's like a warm bath of TSO. Another instrumental featuring the opening line from Mozart's Don Giovanni. Very cool mix of operatic vocals and pinched-guitars. With lighter but still revved section interspersed within. Definitely imagine "Figaro" going Xmas. And it works more or less. These songs aren't as easy to sing along to or as catchy because they are much more musically involved. There is much more true musical composition so far rather than just chugging the typical I-IV-V with rhyming lyrics above it. After Beethoven, it feels like TSO has taken a much more serious and mature approach to their pieces.

Christmas Nights in Blue

Here we go, the Jazz hits. Sounding like a mean street song lost from Oliver or Annie. Nice gritty vocals provided by James Robert Lewis. Again, great and very involved lyrics and at times the music the music barely holds on. In the style of "The 3 Kings and I" but nowhere near as driving or heavy.

Christmas Jazz

Acoustic guitar and Bass reprise of the main melody heard in the before. Here, the melody is varied and developed. Great acoustic work and performance. I still feel like I'm waiting for the heavy TSO to take the stager. Thus far, the album feels like a warm-up or opening act for TSO. Thus far, it just doesn't have the TSO flare and feel that I've come to love...L

Christmas Jam

Opens with a cheesy useless poetic line. Then the band comes in full throttle. Same rhythmic line for the first minute or so then the piano and tubular bells take the helm for the melodic line. Definitely could imagine the group just going with a singular rhythmic line (like in the instrumental section of "The Grinch") and letting Al and Bob or Jon take turns going back and forth with improve. From that standpoint, it's a very cool song. Just expect something you can just listen to and enjoy and again, not really hum along to. After a few minutes, it gets much more intense and concentrated and really opens up. Still with the same chordal lines going on underneath, the guitars really show off to the end.

Siberian Sleigh Ride

Starts with a clean guitar line of Jingle Bells. The band comes in with an offbeat feel between the rhythmic guitars and drums. It feels like they are really flying over the top with the fluttering guitar/piano/string fingers to make up for the previous soft and often times dull songs. Again, nothing very recognizable or sing-able. When I listen to instrumentals (especially previous TSO works, Appalachian Snowfall, First Snow, Beethoven etc.) I like to be able to sing along or at least be able to tell which part is coming because of the flow of the song). These songs are preformed extremely well and as I said, the composition is terrific, they just have a much different and unpredictable feel than previous TSO pieces.

What is Christmas

Hmm....was Vangelis visiting the studios this day? Robert Evan (featured on many TSO tours) comes in strong and sure. He has such as great voice and this song does him perfect justice. Again, similar melody repeated under great lyrics. Section B of the song is such pounded chords under a narrative feel. Is he the Grinch? Scrooge? It definitely works, this song is very enjoyable and entertaining. Still very Broadway feeling and I can only imagine what TSO will do with these song when performing them live.

For the Sake of Our Brother

Finally, after no show L on the BLN album, Diamond Daryl Pediford makes a glorious and delicate return to the TSO scene. More like Prince of the Peace but different in enough ways that this song can stand along. The immortal passion and divine dedication to his singing shows more than ever in this piece. I remember seeing this God live, he is probably one of the best live vocalists I have ever seen or heard. He makes it seem so natural and easy, I can only imagine the work he must put into everything that he does. God bless you Daryl!

The Wisdom of Snow

Warming piano opening to another instrumental. Feels much more like the interlude music than Bob provides during TSO shows. Then goes into a piano performance of the opening to the Savatage song "Back to a Reason" no doubt foreshadowing the TSO-treatment that the song will receive later on the album. A complete piano solo and very well performed and quite enjoyable. I can never tell Jon's playing from Bob's and it really doesn't matter cause they're both awesome.

Wish Liszt

This must have a quite a piece to put together. Piano virtuoso Franz Liszt was known for extremely difficult and heavily demanding passages and composition. So before even listening to it, kudos to TSO for taking it on. When band comes in it beings to take shape and sounds like it could be competent to stand up to the rendition of Tchaikovsky's "Mad Russian's Xmas". The piano is obviously very featured in this and definitely shows upfront the fine musicianship that this band possess. Again, just a listenable track showing how classical music can (with the right arranging mind) be interspersed with rock band lines. It's sound a bit forced at times but then again, I could never do any better and as I said Liszt is quite difficult to work with so I definitely do not hold it against them. Unfortunately, I am not as familiar with Liszt's repertoire as I am with others so I did not recognize much within the song, but it was definitely a great track.

Back to A Reason

Taken from the Savatage (the band that later became TSO) album "Poet's and Madmen". It's such a great song and this vocal treatment certainly does the song justice and I hope Jon oversaw the complete creation and recording of this song. This version is much heavier but not as metal in the Savatage. It's definitely TSO doing a cover of a Savatage song (as odd as that sounds as they are essentially the band. The change in the bridge is perfectly fitting for TSO and probably provides the best vocal/instrumental lines thus far on this album. The song is originally about the cruelty of the world and how a lonely and lost soul put all of its confidence and trust in a single love. This version provides a completely different view and yet retains the power and emotion that the song originally created.

Christmas Bells, Carousels and Time

Darker and almost video game esque orchestra opens this track. All I have to say is...that's it? It's about a minute long and really goes nowhere. Again, they feel they needed a mild transition to the next song. As much as I love the little ditties that TSO puts on their album, often times I expect them (such as this one) to blast into something huge and exciting and they just end...very disappointing.

What Child is This?

Another dark and somber opening with light drums and piano. Opens with the line from the famous carols but them goes into original composition. Gets heavy and again Robert Evan's magnificent vocals are showcased. Once again, repeated chordal and rhythmic pattern under great lyrics. Sensing a pattern on this album? Thus far, this album's lyrics are much better and not as forced to rhyme as the other albums have seemed and not as cheesy as Beethoven's Last Night.

Great bridge section where the music and lyrics truly meet on a level of greatness. It seems finally like the music is supporting the lyrics and vocals rather than barely holding on. When the choir comes in behind the lead vocals it provides a similar feel as to when This Christmas pounds into the heavy and quick section. Probably, the best vocal song on the album. The vocals overall are much more powerful and in-your-face (but not too much) and it feel more like a live show than listening to an album.

O Come All Ye Faithful

Quite brief acoustic instrumental similar to the post scripts on Xmas Eve & Other Stories.

Christmas Cannon Rock

Taken from The Christmas Attic. They first did this version of this song at their show last year. It was definitely an awesome performance. The song is similar enough so that anyone who liked the original will not be disappointed but it is also different enough that anyone who didn't should enjoy this version. I wasn't expecting this be on the album but when I read the track list, I was definitely quite pleased. Great strong vocals provided by Jennifer Calla and again I can close my eyes and feel just like I'm seeing TSO live. This is a truly magical and warming song that stands as one of the strongest vocal/instrumental tracks on the album.

Different Wings

For the closing song, Jennifer Calla takes the duties and this song is a light "Old City Bar" meets "A Final Dream"-esque tune that brings the album to a soothing and dreaming close. I kind of wanted something heavy to end the album like Xmas Eve or Xmas Attic but this a good song in it's vocal lines and light acoustic guitar accompaniment.

Midnight Clear

The final post script and ultimate ending to the Christmas Trilogy. Another acoustic tribute to one of the greater Christmas Carols that we have all come to love.

Overall:

Upon finishing the album, I am not as touched and speechless as I was when I first heard the Beethoven or Xmas Attic albums. The Lost Christmas Eve is definitely a very strong album with many great moments. It is just not as concentrated in being something that you can sing along with after a few listens. The instrumentals are not as recognizable as previous ones have been thus I don't feel so "holy crap, I know this song and that' incredible what they did with it". Also, keep in mind, they are only so many traditional Christmas songs out there, and TSO used many if not all of the most recognizable ones on their previous 2 albums so they only had so much left to work with. Not that that's a bad thing, but take it as you will. After waiting 5 years for a new TSO album, I must say I'm a bit disappointed but I certainly love and respect the band and their heaven-sent abilities to capture Christmas and it's truest and often most buried meaning. I am certain that when these songs are performed live, they will be given the energy and show-stopping performances that will truly bring them to live and then maybe I'll completely understand where the band is coming from. . You really have to read the story to understand the songs. Unlike Xmas Eve and Xmas Attic the songs will not stand alone as well if one does not first read the story. The story is absolutely amazing, the lyrics and very strong and powerful, the music gets a bit too Broadway for me at times and the songs (even the instrumental) just don't move me the way previous TSO efforts have. Overall 6 stars out of 10. Or in this case 3 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Symphonic Christmas music, December 6, 2004
This review is from: The Lost Christmas Eve (Audio CD)
Trans-Siberian Orchestra is not Christmas music for mall-shoppers -- it's richly symphonic Christmas music. And "The Lost Christmas Eve" is a rock opera of epic proportions, giving a new edge to Christmas music while telling a story about love, magic and beauty. It's Christmas music for classical fans, rock fans... or anyone who appreciates a new spin on the old.

It opens with a bang in the guitar-driven fervor of "Faith Noel," a sweeping rock reinterpretation of "O Come All Ye Faithful" and "The First Noel." Following it up is the eerie title track, and the bouncy bells of "Wizards in Winter." Some songs are driven by rich choirs, like "Remember" and the upbeat, soaring "Anno Domine."

But the rock edge is kept all throughout the album, such as the piano-driven "Christmas Dreams" and "Queen of the Winter Night," that blossom into bass-driven rockers. Not to mention the cascading hard rock of "Christmas Jam," or the rollicking "Christmas Sleigh Ride." But it ends on a quiet note, with the acoustic instrumental "Midnight Clear."

While Mannheim Steamroller tends towards Christmas music with a medieval edge, the sound of Trans-Siberian Orchestra is pretty modern. It blends classical, rock, jazz, choral numbers, and even a bit of metal. What's especially good is that it's enchanting without the story, though the story enhances the music further.

The story that "The Lost Christmas Eve" frames is, let's face it, a little sappy -- but it's a pretty, sweet one anyway. It's the tale of a little angel ("the youngest angel") sent to Earth for one night. He has only that long to find the person who best continued Christ's work on Earth; when he arrives, he finds many people from many walks of life, any of whom could be the one he seeks. The potential sappiness is tempered with references to crack babies, the mentally challenged, lost spouses, and much more. The entire story is included in an accompanying booklet.

The vocals are pretty solid, although J. Mark McVey sounds rather melodramatic in the title song. Michael Lanning gives some strong, restrained singing before letting rip, and Jennifer Cella's vocals are quiet and gentle. And that's only a few of the singers. There are also four choirs, including the strong Rock Choir, and the sweet-voiced Christmas Canon choir.

Bass and guitar aren't usually thought of as being "Christmas" instruments, but the typical rock blasts are tempered into symphonic grandeur, assisted by quiet piano and strings. The keyboards are especially important; they take the melodies just over the top to make them sound epic and sweeping. In a nutshell, the instrumentation is a perfect blend of typical Christmas music, and solid rock'n'roll.

Trans-Siberian Orchestra's "The Lost Christmas Eve" is a win-win scenario -- sentimentalists will love the story of loss, love and Christmas, while the more prosaic will love the sweeping rock orchestrals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chrismas Music for people that don't like Christmas Music, December 19, 2004
By 
Mr D. "Artist/Designer/Kibitzer" (Scottsdale, Az United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lost Christmas Eve (Audio CD)
When you get a little older and you've seen your share of Christmas's, Christmas music gets a little....you know.......redundant? That's why I haven't bought any new Christmas music in years until I bought The Lost Christmas Eve.

The Lost Christmas Eve is the third alleged Christmas album that TSO has released. I say alleged because any similarity to conventional Christmas music is strictly accidental and that's fine with me. I guess you could say it's Christmas music for people that can't stand Christmas music anymore.

True, we have a couple requisite Christmas standards like "What Child is This" performed in TSO's inimitable Classical Orchestral Heavy Metal style but for the preponderance of the twenty-three tracks the only connection to Xmas is the word Christmas Eve.

The Lost Christmas Eve is (surprise) a concept album not unlike TSO's masterpiece Beethoven's Last Night or for that matter Savatage's Dead Winter Dead or any of their other seven rock opera style concept albums

For those not familiar with the Savatage connection let my edify you. No less than three members and former members of that tradition rich band (Jon Olivos, Al Petrelli and Johnny Lee Middleton) performed on this album with Olivos, in conjunction with Savatage producer extraordinaire Paul O'neil and Robert Kinkel, being a member of the creative triumvirate as well. Yes, TSO is an extension of Savatage, sort of an outlet for their softer more formal side.

The Story line

Briefly The Lost Chistmas Eve revolves around an angel being sent to Earth by the Lord, "to bring Him the name of the person that best continued the work of his Son on Earth".

Favorite songs

The rocking song "Faith Noel" with not one but two old time Christmas carols, starts with a brief intro of "The First Noel" goes through a guitar driven symph rock bridge then diverges back into "God Rest ye Merry Gentlmen".

The slow building, power ballad "The Lost Christmas Eve" with heavy bass and acoustic guitar.

"Christmas Dreams" is a great up tempo ballad sung by my favorite singer from the concert, a fabulous singer named Michael Lanning. This guy is great!!!! Better in person than on the album.

"Winter in Wizards" A trickey, clever number featuring great piano playing with the band and violins joining at length.

Want a little Blues with you Christmas music? "Christmas Nights in Blue" is your song, Excellent!!

The well titled "Christmas Jam" is a hard rock/heavy metal jam that will knock your socks off. (especially in person)It has just enough bells and sundries to sound a little Christmasy. (made up a new word)

"What is Christmas?" A nice medium paced song with a big sound.

"Wish Liszt" From a Franz Liszt number

"What Child is This", A better version of the song you know and love. Powerful!!

"Christmas Canon Rock" A takeoff of Pacabel's Canon, wonderful!!!

Conclusion

The strength of The Lost Christmas Eve is, it can be all things to all people. To non Christians (there are a few billion) and those just sick of Xmas music, it is ear candy, a serious composition of beautiful melodies played in an imaginative enthralling style, by musicians of unquestioned ability.

Then for the the Xmas aficionados there are enough familiar Xmas melodies to satisfy them that this is indeed a new style of Christmas music - though many of the familiar melodies are instrumentals and classical classics, such as Mozart's -"Queen of the Winter Night" and Pacabel's "Canon" are indeed classics but not in the Christmas sense.

Now for the former group here is the good news, The Lost Christmas Eve so little resembles sappy mainstream Christmas music and is overall so inspiring that, you may want to play this music all year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Found, December 5, 2004
By 
T. P. Jackson (Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Christmas Eve (Audio CD)
It is not unusual for a musical group that has had two or three successful releases, to become complacent by their fourth release. The band can get mired in its own hype or simply run out of creative ideas.

With that in mind, I did not have high expectations for The Lost Christmas Eve, the fourth offering from The Trans-Siberian Orchestra. As it turns out, my low expectations were completely misplaced, considering that this release may be the group’s finest effort to date.

In The Lost Christmas Eve, the angel from Christmas Eve and Other Things ,the band’s first release, returns to earth on another mission from his Creator.

I will not retell the story, but I will say this – it is a modern classic Christmas story that ranks right up there with a Charles Dickens tale. As a matter of fact, I challenge anyone to read the entire story of The Lost Christmas Eve that is enclosed with the CD, without shedding tears. The song lyrics do a good job of telling the story, but it is pretty hard to grab hold of the story’s true meaning without reading the enclosed booklet and lyrics.

Once the listener fully understands what the storyteller is trying to convey, The Lost Christmas Eve begins to come alive. The arrangements are a near perfect blend of traditional Christmas carols, classical infusions, and the 70’s-style guitar laden rock sound that is The Trans-Siberian Orchestra.

You can tell that Paul O’Neill and the band are having a good time on The Lost Christmas Eve and nowhere is it more evident than in Christmas Jam, an all out rockin’ piece of guitar screaming thunder. The earth shaking continues with the following track, Siberian Sleigh Ride.

On the traditional Christmas standard, O Come All Ye faithful, we hear the familiar raspy rhythm and blues voice of Daryl Pediford, who is best known for the standout number, Music Box Blues, which closes out The Christmas Attic, the second release in The Trans-Siberian Orchestra Christmas trilogy.

Unfortunately, this turned out to be Daryl’s last contribution to the orchestra. Daryl died on October 30th, 2004, just as the bands (there are two touring orchestras) were hitting the road for the Christmas 2004 tour. This is a tremendous loss. Daryl was a great singer and performer and will be greatly missed.

The Trans-Siberian Orchestra’s remake of Christmas Canon, from The Christmas Attic, now titled Christmas Canon Rock, is a fiery reworking of this gentle song, which was originally paced perfectly by a children’s choir. A powerful single female vocalist surrounded by soaring guitars has replaced the choir and classical strings.

The Lost Christmas Eve closes with what will likely become a modern classic, Different Wings:

And so it’s here our story ends

Exactly where it did start

In that labyrinth of mystery

We call the human heart

For they say that without it

No one can truly live

And it also has been rumored

That without it, we cannot forgive.

If you don’t mind your traditional holiday music sprinkled with a great deal of passion and a lot of fire, then this CD is for you. As a matter of fact, if you have not experienced The Trans-Siberian Orchestra, then you are missing out on some of the best Christmas music currently available. The Trans-Siberian Orchestra does not reproduce carbon copies of traditional Christmas fare, like so many of today’s popular performers, but instead infuses our old favorites with a healthy and welcome dose of meaning and creativity. The music is an eclectic mix of styles that blend together very, very well.

If you are one of those unfortunate souls that has completely given up on Christmas, altogether, due to the commercialism and the hectic non-stop buying frenzy and if the following verses, from What Is Christmas? describes who you have come to be:

Every year it returns here

And every year it’s waiting for me

Why can’t Christmas disappear?

And just pretend it never saw me

then The Lost Christmas Eve, The Christmas Attic, and Christmas Eve and Other Things are all must-haves for you. Through these modern glimpses of musical hope in the human spirit, you will once again, come to believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Done, January 25, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Lost Christmas Eve (Audio CD)
Paul O'neal has done a great job of compasition of this music. Simply taking a classical music song that everybody has heard an enjoyed in some part of their life, then turning it artisticly into a well written rock n' roll orchestrated piece is a great accomplishment. You don't have to like rock n' roll to enjoy this music that is written. Trans-Siberian Orchestra has done it again with the different styles of rock, jazz, and classical. Even though sometimes they do take exerpts from certain songs, when they write their own music around those exerpts, they always tend to do a good job. Now this album was a great album, yet there were just some things that were pretty repeitive, but is made up for their great musisionship and artistic talent.

The song that REALLY sticks out in this album is Wizard in Winter. That song, written by Trans-Siberian Orchestra, with a hint of the Nutcracker is SUPURB in this album in my opinion than any other song that they have written. With the soft melody and the hard guitars put together in a song, it just makes the great listening experiance more pleasurable.

TSO has purley created another great album yet again. I recommend those who enjoy Rock with some classical music and jazz, should definatly get this album. You don't have to like any of that to enjoy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Rock and Roll Style..., November 16, 2004
By 
Sean Parauka (Orange, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Christmas Eve (Audio CD)
For the Trans-Siberian Orhcestra I have this Christmas CD and "Christmas Eve and Other Stories." Out of the two, I do have to say that "Christmas Eve" is the better choice. This CD is a pretty good CD to have but lacks the power that the first CD had. Overall, the album has great guitar riffs, drum beats and the power of the music is unbeatable. This album does have a lot of spirit to it and is full of holiday cheer.

The opening intrumental of "Faith Noel" is outstanding. It does sound similar to Jimmy Hendrix's guitar version of the "Star Spangled Banner." The guitar riffs are extremely full blown over the top and out of this world. The next intrumental is "Wizards In Winter." This is a great instrumental. It is a high point to the album. The riffs are real heavy and gothic. Another great instrumental is "Christmas Jam." This is the Orchestra just jamming away showing off their Christmas spirit. Great guitar solos and drum beats on this one. My personal favorite instrumental is "Siberian Sleigh Ride." My favorite part about this tune is the guitar riffs. The solo is really on the classic lose style and sounds like something that Ace Frehley of KISS of Mick Mars of Motley Crue would play. The last intrumental of the album, "Wish Liszt (Toy Shop Madness)" is fairly decent. Not a bad instrumental but it is at the bottom of the album's instrumentals.

The only good song with lyrics and singing is "Christmas Canon Rock." A very talented woman sings this tune and it is a great closer to the albums. Her voice is very emotional and the guitar solos throughout the song are phenomenal. This is another personal favorite of mine. The reason why I did not review any other of the songs with singing and lyrics is because to me they all fall under par. I think basically only the instrumentals and "Christmas Canon Rock" keep the album alive. It does fall under par with its predecessor.

For those looking to buy this CD, I do recommend listening the clips of all the songs before purchase. Merry Christmas! Ho, Ho, Ho!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great concept album about a lost soul., October 12, 2004
This review is from: The Lost Christmas Eve (Audio CD)
This album is wonderfully done. It's a concept album about an angel looking to spread Christmas cheer. The songs follow his quest, and that of a business man who finds Christmas in his long lost son. The full synopsis of the album can be found in the jacket.

The songs are very moving, thought provoking, and all blend very well together. There's barely a pause between songs. The whole story is well presented, and easy to follow.

This album is very haunting, and rather dark. My favorite songs are Wizards In Winter, Wish Liszt(Hungarian Rhapsody, some might recognize this from the famous Bugs Bunny cartoon with the mouse on a piano in a concert hall),Back To Reason(a follow up to a song on Poets & Madmen by Savatage), and What Child Is This(A rewrite on what has happened in life).

In Wish Liszt I find it stupendous that they could take a classical piece for a solo piano and turn it into such a resounding smash hit with drums, guitars, strings, and of course keyboards.

The members of Savatage, Jon Oliva, Al Pitrelli, Chris Caffery, Johnny Lee Middleton, and Jeff Plate jam on Christmas Canon Rock. They, and song writer Paul O'Neil, get together with 15 other members to create the band. Also included are three choirs, violins, violas, cellos, and 10 soloists, including two children.

It's the ultimate creshendo to the Christmas trilogy. This album combines Christmas carols, classical music by Mozart, Liszt, Pachabel, blues, jazz, and of course a great measure of metal.

This, like so much else by T.S.O, is a great way for people who may not be big fans of classical, metal, jazz, or blues to get into other styles of music.

This is a must buy for anyone who loves passionate, heartfelt music.

Also recommended for those who like this are: Wake Of Magellan, Poets & Madmen, Hall Of The Mountian King, Gutter Ballet, and Dead Winter Dead, all by Savatage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Lost Christmas Eve
The Lost Christmas Eve by Trans-Siberian Orchestra (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.