Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 11, 2004
The Lost Art Of Pie Making Made Easy is a slender (72-page) gem of a specialty cookbook dedicated to passing along the pie-making wisdom of an American yesteryear to a new generation of kitchen cooks with an appreciation for old-fashion recipes that range from Double Sour Cherry Amaretto; Aunt Martha's Coconut Cream; Bourbon Pecan; and Mom's Lemon Meringue; to Honey Apple Dumplings, Louisiana Peanut; Hot Fudge Funny Cake, and Vanilla Crumb. The Lost Art Of Pie Making Made Easy is more than just another recipe collection, it is nicely enhanced throughout with such tidbits of advice as how to overcoming pie crust fear and how to host your own pie contest, to insights into just why men love pie and a pie calorie work-off system. Illustrated with vintage photos and laced with advice from 1930's era "Pie Aunts", The Lost Art Of Pie Making Made Easy will prove to be an immediately popular addition to any kitchen cookbook collection -- not to mention family dinner menu planning!
0Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2010
I purchased this book several years ago. Being a pie-phobe, I figured I might have a chance with this title. I have made MANY pies from this and they have all turned out GREAT! Try the Lemon Sponge pie.... outrageous. Another fun one is mock pecan. Watch people's faces when you serve it. I like that it gives some good basic recipes and sugar ranges, in case you don't like your pie as sweet. I'm still in search of the perfect pie crust technique (the problem is mine), but the crusts here are a great place to start! Terrific book.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2011
This book has at least five or more different ways to make Pie Crust. And making a pie filling that has a nice fresh fruit taste is a must. In the old days women used Lard with butter and flour. It tells you how to use nothing but butter for your crust or even a good combination of butter with Crisco. The best raspberry pie I ever made came from this book. The same thing with blackberry pie. The end of those hard pie crusts that no one wants to eat. And no more buying pie fillings that come in cans. The best pie fillings come from this book and are real easy to make and the clean up is easy. I hate making pie crust but not anymore. All the tricks are in this book. Have fun.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon March 10, 2013
What a delightful little book! THE LOST ART OF PIE MAKING MADE EASY is a collection of traditional pie recipes gathered from "primary historical sources". The "historical sources" seem to be "public domain sources", but that doesn't make the recipes any less good! They come from old cookbooks (e.g., Galax, Larkin Housewives, Gold Medal Flour), magazines (e.g., Ladies' Home Journal, Farm Life), cookbooklets published by Aunt Jenny and Aunt Chick in the 1930's and 40's, and handwritten family recipes.

A few of the included traditional pie recipes are: Fresh Strawberry, Double Sour Cherry Amaretto, Nellie's Concord Grape, Lemon Sponge, Banana Cream, Slipped Custard, Sweet Potato, Pinto Bean, Classic Pecan, Shoofly, Pumpkin, Chicken, and Mince. There are also some recipes for cobblers (e.g., Funny Cake, Cranberry Surprise).

The recipes are accompanied by vintage advertisements, line drawings, how-to photographs, and photographs of cooks (professional and amateur) showing off their pies. Many bits of "pie folklore" and "pie wisdom" are added, in boxed introductions and text. For example, Kentucky superstitions hold that "If a piece of pie points half-way around, you may expect a letter the next day." And it is a well known fact, as stated in 12 PIES HUSBANDS LIKE BEST (1952): "Nearly every man loves pie!"

The illustrations and folklore make for enjoyable light reading and serendipitous discoveries. Because the recipes are presented as originally written, you will sometimes have to look up ingredients on the Internet. For example, I thought that "Transparent Pudding" sounded interesting, but had to Google "loaf-sugar", which--not surprisingly--turns out to be sugar that is sold in solid-block form. However, most of the recipes don't require any extra interpretation.

If you're looking for a comprehensive cookbook on pie-making, two very good ones are Ken Haedrich's Pie: 300 Tried-and-True Recipes for Delicious Homemade Pie, and Rose Levy Beranbaum's The Pie and Pastry Bible.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2009
This book is wonderful! The recipes are great and it really does help with making pie crusts, which can be difficult. I do ALOT of baking. I have a side business of baked goods and pie crusts were my toughest challenge. With the help of this book I have almost perfected it. The recipes that are in the book are a great bonus. Thanks and Happy New Year!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2010
I love this little recipe book! Everything I've made out of here so far has been nothing short of tasty. Almost all of the recipes contained within are from old cookbooks (some well over 150 years old!) and the author has revised them to translate to today's baking standards. Also there are fun tidbits of information and folklore sprinkled between recipes. If you love pie and can get your hands on a copy you won't be dissapointed.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2010
This little book is wonderful. How I wish I would have paid better attention when Grandma was making her wonderful home-made pies. As a small girl spending the night at the farm with grandma and grandpa, you automatically knew that come morning, you would have fresh pie. What a great day to start your day! The Lost Art of Pie Making brings it all back. One of the best investments pie makers of any age will make.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2005
The Lost of Pie Making Made Easy is another gem with more historic black and white photos, old-time advertisements, tips from pie makers and of course, recipes, Swell shows us another winner!

With Swell's passion and knowledge of the simpler times, or so we believe, she has created this book filled with wonderful recipes, such as: Shoofly, Louisiana Peanut and Concord Grape pie.

For all pie lovers and historic cooking lovers, pick up this book too. Swell's pie book is sure to please!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2008
I bought this as a gift, but of course I reviewed it before gifting. It was really basic and great for really teaching you the how to's of pie making (something that is truly a lost art)
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2016
This book has all you need to get started making pie (well, aside from the ingredients and a pie tin...but there are tips for those, too).

Barbara's got a good variety of recipes, tips for crusts (and multiple variations on crust), plus lots of fun pie-related anecdotes. For $6 it's hard to beat! Check out her site for more pie tips too--I've gotten some good recipes off there as well. [...]

Attached are just a few of the pies I've made since I got this book. My technique has improved quite a bit thanks to Barbara's tips...and practice. Lots of delicious practice.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse