Customer Reviews


558 Reviews
5 star:
 (212)
4 star:
 (104)
3 star:
 (85)
2 star:
 (65)
1 star:
 (92)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound vs Extras
Just when you'd think that scientists had realized dinosaurs and humans don't mix, along comes The Lost World: Jurassic Park to prove you wrong. In this sequel, John Hammond (Richard Attenborough) summons chaos theorist and onetime colleague Ian Malcolm (Jeff Goldblum) to his home with some startling information - while nearly everything at his Jurassic Park had been...
Published on June 21, 2000 by philibs

versus
19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but........
I see reviews here that give this film one star, and in a way, it does deserve just that. However, there are certain parts that must make you think this movie is better than most people say it is. For one, the special effects are better than the original, and the way the film is shot makes them seem much more realistic. However, great special effects are no match for...
Published on September 7, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound vs Extras, June 21, 2000
By 
Just when you'd think that scientists had realized dinosaurs and humans don't mix, along comes The Lost World: Jurassic Park to prove you wrong. In this sequel, John Hammond (Richard Attenborough) summons chaos theorist and onetime colleague Ian Malcolm (Jeff Goldblum) to his home with some startling information - while nearly everything at his Jurassic Park had been destroyed, his engineers happened to have a second site, where other dinosaurs, resurrected through DNA cloning technology, were kept in hiding. It seems the dinosaurs on the second island are alive and well and even breeding; and Hammond wants Malcolm to observe and document the reptiles before Hammond's financiers can get to them. Malcolm had enough of the dinosaurs the first time out, but he decides to make the trip when he finds out that his girlfriend, paleontologist Sarah Harding (Julianne Moore), is already there. However, Ian and Sarah aren't the only visitors arriving on the island; a camera crew led by ecological activist Nick Van Owen (Vince Vaughn) is on the way, as is Roland Tembo (Pete Postlethwaite), a world-class wild game hunter who is supposed to round up the dinosaurs and who hopes to bag a prehistoric trophy for himself in the process. This sequel to Jurassic Park boasted even more impressive special effects than the first film, though the acting and screenplay aren't always at the same level.
This DTS version has less extras (Deleted Scenes, Illustrations and Conceptual drawings, Storyboards, Models, The World of Jurassic Park, Industrial Light and Magic), but the sound is sure going to compensate that. The French Surround is not available too. Thats why it is on you to decide whats more valuable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first, but still a lot of fun. . ., December 9, 1999
The Lost World - Jurassic Park has gotten a lot of criticism since its release. Much of it is justified, but equally as much is based on a very unfair comparison to the blockbuster original. Only a handful of movies can justifiably claim the title of "classic", and none that I know of are sequels.
The biggest problem for The Lost World is that it is impossible to recreate the sense of awe and wonder that was inspired by Jurassic Park's groundbreaking effects work. Instead, too much emphasis was placed on the savagery of the carnivorous dinosaurs and the incredible stupidity of the humans invading their territory.
However, it must be pointed out that the T-Rex's, raptors and other sauripods in this film are equally as impressive as they were in Jurassic Park. There are some very good, shuddery action sequences. When the location shifts to San Diego, there is a good deal of very legitimate comedy. The total absurdity of an Animal Control truck's headlong response to a rampaging Tyrannosaur could only be countered by its equally headlong departure from the area.
No, The Lost World is not as good as Jurassic Park. Yes, it's a little too violent and yes, Jeff Goldblum's moralizing gets to be just about sickening. But for all of these minor distractions, this is a very entertaining movie that is well worth your investment of viewing time and maybe a few dollars. And after all, this time the critters win!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less impressive than the first yet still very enjoyable..., November 28, 2007
By 
Andrew Ellington (I'm kind of everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
So as far as sequels go, this is far from the train-wreck many reviewers make it out to be. Is it as amazing as the original `Jurassic Park'? No, but that doesn't make this a failure of a film. In fact, I happen to much enjoy `The Lost World' and feel that, while it could have been better I can't really find much I dislike about it. There is lots of intense sequences, some stylized deaths and there's that whole `T-Rex gone mad' scene at the end that makes this whole rendezvous worth it. Sure, the plot is a little tired and it's a little ridiculous when you think about it (albeit `Jurassic Park III' is even more ridiculous) but if you just want a good action flick with realistic special effects then `The Lost World: Jurassic Park' will not disappoint.

So we meet up with Ian Malcolm again this time played less annoyingly by Jeff Goldblum (I was not a fan of his character in the first film but here he seems to have gotten a hold of his performance and ironed it out). Ian is still shaken by his encounter with the cold-blooded beasts in the first film, and rightfully so. When he finds out that there is a second island hosting the dinosaurs he is far from interested until he hears that his girlfriend Sarah Harding is already on the island studying the dinosaurs (it's ridiculous to me that she would go there alone...that would NOT happen) and so he immediately gets together a rescue team to travel to the island. Little does he know that he has a stowaway aboard, his daughter Kelly.

The rescue team is thwarted by the efforts of another team sent for an entirely different purpose. This makes big trouble for the group, especially when they take matters into their own hands.

Remember that this is an action film. The story is assumed less important than the graphics and so it does take a backseat unfortunately. The acting is descent for a film of this nature. Like I said, Goldblum ups his game in that he is far less annoying this go around (which is a good thing since he has a much larger role). Julianne Moore can add another film to her résumé she can be ashamed of, but at least her performance isn't horrid. Vince Vaughn to me was a standout, but again, he's been much better in many other films. Vanessa Lee Chester is a descent young actress.

The real actors though are the people in charge of creating the dinosaurs and they do a dynamic job once again. There are a slew of creative action scenes that make up for the lack of depth in the plot. The raptor attack through the field is great, as is their ambush at the communications tower (although the whole acrobatics scene is horrifically stupid). The T-Rex though is champ here for his two main scenes are the best in the film. The whole `trailer over the cliff' scene (which was the best part of the novel by the way) is brilliantly constructed, and the whole `T-Rex loose through the city' scene at the end (which is so `King Kong') is just amazing. They also introduce a new dinosaur this go around, these little devils that hunt in packs.

So, while `The Lost World' is not as well crafted as the original `Jurassic Park' it is still very enjoyable and worth our attention. I'm sure most everyone has seen this movie so I don't think it's a movie you `recommend' as much as discuss. So, for all of you who have your own opinions of this movie, what do you think? Am I right, wrong or somewhere in between?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but........, September 7, 2000
By A Customer
I see reviews here that give this film one star, and in a way, it does deserve just that. However, there are certain parts that must make you think this movie is better than most people say it is. For one, the special effects are better than the original, and the way the film is shot makes them seem much more realistic. However, great special effects are no match for a good story.
Jurassic Park, the original, had a wonderful plot. Two dinosaur experts visit a park, not knowing what to expect. And the scary part is this....something like that could actually happen. Now, tell me this....why would Dr. Malcolm, Jeff Goldblum, go back to an island just to save his girlfriend? Yeah, he loves her and all, but I'm pretty sure that Mr. Hammond could get her back safely without making him go all the way there.
Also, there are several inconsistantcies in the film. Look at the original: There's a raptor expert with a gun hunting down what he knows best. What happens? He gets killed. Now look at JP2: A young girl that knows nothing about the animals, and might I add that she doesn't have a gun, takes out three of them using gymnastics. Maybe is she was Jackie Chan......I'm not gonna even get into that.
Jurassic Park 2 needed to have a plot that would make you think, "Oh yeah, that could happen." Not, "They must want pictures of those cute, innocent dinosaurs!" And they all know that they're dangerous, but yet, they want the pictures. I'd be like, "Forget that! I can live without 'em!" Spielberg, in my opinion, is the greatest director of all time. He scored big with the original, Saving Private Ryan, Jaws, and several others...but when it comes to JP2, it just didn't work out.
I prey that Jurassic Park 3 will be something worth the money I'm paying, not a plot where the film doesn't develope right, so they go back to get more pictures! (I only hope they don't read that and go, "Great idea.")
If you liked Jurassic Park, you'll be disappointed with its sequel. But if you really loved Godzilla, and you thought that was the best movie ever, you might like this one. But go ahead and see it anyway.....some of the action scenes may be funnier than a comedy.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Nothing" has survived from the novel by Michael Crichton., November 29, 1999
I don't know why The Lost World producers insist in telling that this motion picture is based on the novel by Michael Crichton if almost nothing has survived from his remarkable story in this motion picture. "If I hadn't found a story I was interested in, Jurassic Park would have remained just a nice memory for me," says Steven Spielberg. However, the bestseller novel The Lost World, by Michael Crichton, which is really a great story and the perfect sequel to Jurassic Park, seems to be "ignored" by this motion picture producers and the cinematographic adaptation of the original story became a running and screaming breathtaking adventure with amazing visual and sound effects, and an spectacular soundtrack, but with a little convincing story, completely different from the proposal of Michael Crichton for The Lost World, disappointing everybody who had read his novel. A lost story concerning a Lost World!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely my favorite and the only Jurassic Park film I personally like., April 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just got back into the JP films pretty recently and came to the conclusion that this is the only one I'll own because it's by far my number 1 favorite out of the three. So to sum it up, my reasons for liking this film a lot is because I feel that it has a great story, special effects of course, and the cast members are great for this film. I really have no complaints about this movie compared to the other two (JP 1 and 3). I felt that this film has more thrills, action scenes, and good dialogue. I can go on and on about why I feel that this film is great, but I have to keep these reviews short. In short, the story is about a research team sent to the JP Site B island while another team approaches with another agenda, which is to capture live dinosaurs and build a zoo for them in San Diego. Jeff Goldblum, (who is the main star of this film which I'm glad about) and his team stop them basically wanting to keep the dinosaurs on their island. That's basically the main point of the film with a ton of action happening in the meantime. That's the best summery I can give. Most of the surviving characters from the first film return except, Dr. Alan Grant, and Dr. Ellie Sattler. There's of course some new good characters. Now the main parts I like about the film is that the T-Rex has more screen time, (even though there's two of them), still I like that, and at the climax of the film, a male T-Rex who is captured and brought to San Diego escapes and rampages through the city causing a great amount of destruction and killing. It's a lot like what you would see in a Godzilla film. In fact, there are Japanese tourists running from the T-Rex in the San Diego scene saying in Japanese, "I left Japan to get away from this?!" I love it considering I'm a huge Japanese Godzilla fan. Also since I brought up Godzilla, this movie and that scene by far is WAY better than the American New York "Godzilla" film, (since they both came out in the late 90's). I've always got my American giant monster/dinosaur movie fix with JP 2. However, the Japanese Godzilla beats all in my opinion. Also there's good special features, trailers, deleted scenes, and etc. In my opinion, the first JP movie was alright, but nothing I would buy. Too much talking and minimal action. Even though it had great effects and the story had meaning, it just wasn't my cup of tea. JP 3 was pointless and I felt it was just made for marquee value. This tops all in my opinion. This is what makes me like Jurassic Park and glad I got this film. It's pure goodness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Mommy's very angry", January 19, 2008
And so is daddy, in this Jurassic Park sequal that includes not one, but two T-Rexes. For a sequal, I thought this held up well, though it still can't come close to the sharpness of the first Jurassic Park. Though it comes down to mostly the story that never flows with the ease of the first film, and a group of characters that don't seem to click as well either, this is very enjoyable and thrilling at times, and deserves more credit than it receives.

I was actually a bit surprised when I found out that Spielberg worked on this sequal. The overall quality didn't feel like his work, and in addition, the music by John Williams was good, but less than what I would expect from him. The action was definelty more abundant in this sequal, and still contained several scary moments involving the ever famous carnivores - TRex and Raptors, and both we see alot more of this time around. Although there were more action scenes, those of the first film felt like they were put together very well, while these had your every-day slap-on approach without as much thought behind them. The action in the first film felt like it progressed the plot along, while here, its more for just action purposes. The TRex in San Diego scene is interesting. Its fun in one sense, cause its almost a guilty pleasure of the "just what if?" scenario, but when you look back unfortunately it feels so unnecessary for the story.

Ian Malcom (Jeff Goldblum) returns from the first film in the lead role this time around, which is one of my favorite things about the film because I actualy enjoyed his character so much from the first film. Things have changed since last time we saw him, and his character has changed too, but still enjoyable. The remaining cast of stars was nice to see in a film like this, but just because you are a good actor doesn't mean this is a film that flows naturally for you. In other words, they were all good, but felt bit more out of place than the naturality of those in the first film. Other characters who make a return from the original Jurassic Park include John Hammond and his grandkids, but for nothing more than some cameos.

All in all this is a good film, for a sequal. There is plenty to be criticized, but these are all deatails and overall the movie is still filled with dinosaur fun, action and scares. Not as good as the original, but better than the third.

Acting - 4
Action - 4.5
Characters - 4
Story - 3.5
Overall - 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It could have been a lot worse, August 23, 2003
By 
Charles J. Dickens (Gulfport, Fl United States) - See all my reviews
For everything Jurassic Park did for combining the computer and motion picture industries in 1993, The Lost World does seem like a big let down four years later. Lost is the wonder and amazement of seeing humans and dinosaurs co-exist in the same film. Gone is the feeling of newness, only to be replaced with wanting more-ness (sorry, making words up here). Jurassic Park was a brand new puppy - energetic and fun, leaving you wanting more. The Lost World is that puppy that you have to train and house-break. That sense of wonder has all but disappeared.
With that said, The Lost World is not a bad movie. In fact, it's above average compared to movies made today. A general rule of thumb with sequels is that a "good" sequel is something that adds to the story, that actually does pick up where it's previous installment left off. Many sequels are just the original all over ago, but bigger and louder. The Lost World is a combination of both. Our hero, Ian Malcom (Jeff Goldblum), has to go on another island with more dinosaurs and less safety to stop greedy animal trappers from getting to the dinos first. There is a lot of "been there, done that" with The Lost World - the T-Rex poking its head inside a tent felt an awful lot like another movie and a T-Rex poking its head inside a jeep, and the running away from the raptors was nearly identical to the first visit to the Park. But there is good stuff here. A scene in which a trailer our heros are in gets knocked off the side of the cliff and Julianne Moore is left on the windshield of the vehicle is able to one-up Jurassic Park's most tense scene. And the ending makes you sit up and go ah-ha. Although if you put a lot of thought into this movie, you will find it incrediably unbelievable. But this is a movie that is just a popcorn flick and, if it were not a follow up to the first JP, could have, and probably would have, been better recieved.
However, one thing I do want to point out is that I think was a terrible mistake by the filmmakers was the inclusion of Malcom's daughter. She is played by an African-American, and although the subject of an inter-racial relationship between father and daughter, and ultimately father and mother, isn't played out, her inclusion leaves you with a two-part "So What?" question. It seems as if Speilberg was thinking about making a social statement on the subject of inter-racial relationships, but because he doesn't, you say "So what - why is his daughter African American in the first place?" and "So what - why is she even there?" The character really serves no purpose, except to be another excuse to get off the island. Hopefully I've worded this right so I don't offend anyone, that's not my intentions. But I feel that this is a major flaw in the already flawed movie. However, that being said, because this is a flawed movie doesn't make it any less fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Give 'em lots of dinos. That's what they want, ain't it?, October 3, 1999
By A Customer
Is any further proof needed that Hollywood today is populated by people with no imagination whatsoever. Nobody can even think up original names for films, it seems.
This has nothing to do with Conan Doyle's timelessly wonderful epic. Neither has it very much to do with Michael Crichton's highly readable follow-up to his excellent book 'Jurassic Park'.
Things start well, with some gritty direction, and strong characters are played by Jeff Goldblum and Pete Postlethwaite. There is also a mildly interesting plot about a ruthless organization attempting to abduct the dinosaurs and a few humorous scenes involving a send-up of Robert Bakker. But they're soon lost in the avalanche of special effects and one chase scene after another.
Admittedly the special effects are as good as before and there are a few genuinely suspenceful scenes, but most of it seems to be played for laughs. There's no sense of awe and wonder, the dinosaurs just being taken for granted. Halfway through the film I had completely lost interest.
And as for the final T-Rex scene - it's just a joke. A 50-foot long, 18 foot tall dinosaur stomping through the middle of a densely-populated city and hardly being noticed?
Worth going to see for the special effects, but this is one of those all-too-common sequels which is about money rather than quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A sick, sadistic film, July 18, 2000
By 
Matt M. (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Having loved the first Jurassic Park film, I came to this one expecting more of the same kind of thrills. Unfortunately, what I got was an extremely mean-spirited and poorly-written excuse for a film. It felt as though Spileberg had directed the film from home via satellite communication (save the one day he made a cameo appearance in the TV reflection at the end).
My biggest complaint with the film is, as I've stated above, the large amount of sadistic, mean-spirited violence throughout the film. The first Jurassic Park was fairly light on dinosaur-involved fatalities, and each time one occurred, it was treated horrifically, intending the audience to be shocked at the grisly deaths. In The Lost World, the deaths are treated as eye candy, at which the viewers are meant to be in awe of. Sometimes, deaths are protracted to uncomfortable length (such as the man who is attacked again and again by the tiny scavenger dinosaurs). I decided that I didn't like the movie, however, after my favorite character was killed by the two T-Rexes in a particularly graphic manner. (They make a wishbone of his body.)
What burns me even more are the actions of the Vince Vaughn character. The animal rights wacko he plays is responsible for the deaths of many humans, however the audience is supposed to feel that he is justified, because after all, only the "nasty corporate guys" get killed (with the exception of the death of the aforementioned favorite character, also a result of the eco-terrorist). Apparently, we are suppposed to believe that the dinosaurs should be preserved at all costs (including human lives), despite the fact that they had been selected by nature to become extinct.
And then, of course, there is the horrible T-Rex-on-the-loose-ending sequence, in which more people are killed unnecessarily. (Fortunately, the screenwriter, David Koepp, who also made the abysmal adaptation of the wonderful novel A Stir of Echoes, plays one of the victims.) I keep wondering, though, how a T-Rex could kill everyone on the boat without causing any damage to the cabin or the rest of the ship, for that matter. Yet another protracted and sadistic death takes place (once again, it's okay, because he's a corporate jerk) before the film is over.
Spielberg should be ashamed of this film. I rather hope he one day issues a written apology for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Lost World: Jurassic Park
The Lost World: Jurassic Park by Steven Spielberg (DVD - 2012)
$14.98 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.