Best Books of the Month Shop Costumes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Fire TV Stick with Voice Remote Grocery Introducing Handmade New Kitchen Scale from AmazonBasics Amazon Gift Card Offer redoaks redoaks redoaks  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage UnchartedBundle Shop Now STEM Toys & Games

The Loudest Sound Ever Heard

April 28, 2014 | Format: MP3

Also available in CD Format
Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: April 28, 2014
  • Release Date: April 28, 2014
  • Label: Galaxy21 Music
  • Copyright: 2014 Galaxy21 Music
  • Total Length: 44:32
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B0081X3XHU
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #101,942 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful By buckeyedan on May 14, 2012
Format: MP3 Music
It's been said that in the music business, indie is the new major. Artists are experimenting with new models of funding, recording, touring and sharing their music in ways that confound many large labels, and give artists the freedom to forge new paths to connect their music to fans. It's within this landscape that iconic alternative rock band The Choir, alums of the major label system, returns with their latest full-length album, The Loudest Sound Ever Heard, their 14th, on their own Galaxy 21 label.

Produced by The Choir, The Loudest Sound Ever Heard is classically "The Choir" in its sonic textures. Long time bass player Tim Chandler delivers his trademark melodic yet off-kilter playing, while Dan Michaels adds sax and Lyricon flourishes that are complemented by Marc Byrd's shimmering guitar counterpoint. The album's closing track, "After All", features a stunning duet between Daugherty and Sixpence None The Richer's Leigh Nash, in what will no doubt become a signature song for the band. The album also features some of Hindalong's most uplifting and direct lyrics in his nearly 30 years of writing with Daugherty.

Says Hindalong of this set of songs, "our time on this planet is very short, and that reminds us of the importance of life - to celebrate every breath we breathe. So there's a song called 'Learning To Fly' that makes a reference to the Krakatoa volcanic explosion - and in the context of that, we're here to learn to love, and we need to live everyday in the immediate. I really was trying to be more universal with the lyrics on this album - I wanted the songs to be such that everyone could own them. The last album, the songs were very specific - 'Old Man Byrd', 'Mr.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Joseph Richards on May 23, 2012
Format: MP3 Music
It's funny how differently people view something. I had read a review elswhere that found this album "redundant" and "boring". Admittedly, I have listened to The Choir since the Youth Choir days so perhaps I am not a good judge regarding this album. I find it very rich, deep, much more broadly accessible than some of the earlier albums. Both lyrically and musically I hear it as the strongest, most vulnerable and honest these guys have ever been.

I find that I actually have been listening to this album over and over and discovering songs that I hadn't really noticed initially like "Oh How" and "The Forest". There is a tenderness lying in these tracks that I don't often hear in music. An ability to relate to the listener that turns this recording into a personal, cautionary and caring letter. With this album The Choir freely admits they are one of us with struggles, hurts, joys, all of it. That has been relayed in previous albums but I would say never so openly and effectively as they somehow manage on "TLSEH". This is not just seasoned muscians going through the motions by any means. They share their weaknesses and shortcomings and express a record's worth of mercy, grace, and hope.

These songs almost require you to stop and listen. That doesn't happen often as we rush from place to place, listening to the same 20 three minute sprints on the radio. Songs like "Cross That River", "A World Away", and "After All" ask that you pay close attention and not just let the music flow past as simply background. This is not an album for a multi-tasking generation. You may find yourself in prayerful meditation shedding more than a few tears at times as healing is presented in such a masterful way.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By THowerton on November 4, 2012
Format: MP3 Music Verified Purchase
The last two Choir albums ("O, How the Mighty Have Fallen" and "Burning Like the Midnight Sun") haven't really dug into my psyche. They were fairly mellow outings to be sure (that's what these guys have done for a long time now; they've never been on the edge of heavy alternative rock--more like melodic, swirly, ethereal and atmospheric vibe rock with their album "Free Flying Soul" being the closest to a heavier rock album) and this one is perhaps even more so but it sure feels good to put it on and give it a spin. You're going to feel good, edified, uplifted, encouraged after listening to this. Mellow vibes, a slow pace, some scintillating guitar tones, and Derri Daugherty's ever sweet cooing voice. It's all here. [Note: you might be tempted to think, purely by way of the album's cover, that this is an apocalyptic ripper and rager of an album. Nope. Don't let that fool you in the least. Not even close there.]

1) Strange Girl ~ Steve Hindalong, the Choir's chief lyricist, has long written songs about family and friends and bandmates. I suspect that "Strange Girl" is one of the band member's daughters? And it is a perfectly pleasant song. "She's so such good ways" The mellow vibes coalesce tightly in this song and give you a good introduction for what is to come over the rest of the album.
2) I'm Learning To Fly ~ Derri Daugherty has such a sweet and pleasant voice, there is just no harshness to it. So when he sings a song that occupies its thoughts about reconciling pain and anguish with love and life it still sounds very sweet...and mellow. Quite a stark contrast to the vitriol and spit we here in likeminded songs within the alternative genre.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?