Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, portable Louvre guide.
This is a nice little book, compact and well organized, with floor plans(some fold-out) of the major galleries and descriptions of major works as well as various articles and historical information. I carried this with me on a recent trip to the Louvre and found it very informative, though of course not comprehensive. Descriptions of major works are included and very...
Published on September 10, 2009 by lawbabie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS BOOK, I am an art student and I carry it with me class everyday.
LOVE THIS BOOK, I am an art student and I carry it with me class everyday.
Published 2 days ago by Welding girl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, portable Louvre guide., September 10, 2009
By 
lawbabie (Arlington VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Louvre: Art & Architecture (Hardcover)
This is a nice little book, compact and well organized, with floor plans(some fold-out) of the major galleries and descriptions of major works as well as various articles and historical information. I carried this with me on a recent trip to the Louvre and found it very informative, though of course not comprehensive. Descriptions of major works are included and very illuminating. The material on the history of the Louvre is also interesting. The layout can be a little busy to follow, though, since articles on side topics are interwoven with the descriptions of works.

I had to have Amazon send a replacement copy for the first, however, because it was defective (where there should have been a floor plan for French Sculpture (at pages 217 through 222), there was instead an insert of the Italian Paintings plan, which was numbered as pages 271 to 273 (which is duplicative of later pages in the book, because the same insert appears again). The replacement copy is fine, however, so it does not appear to be a problem that should affect other purchasers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS BOOK, I am an art student and I carry it with me class everyday., July 11, 2014
This review is from: The Louvre: Art & Architecture (Hardcover)
LOVE THIS BOOK, I am an art student and I carry it with me class everyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8, 2014
By 
Paula S. McClain (Santa Maria, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Lovely book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book!, January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a chunky little book, packed with beautiful photos - love it! Will come in handy to prepare for an upcoming trip.... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paris, March 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This comprehensive volume contains information about many aspects of the Louve and the art work therein. This book makes a great planning tool, but it is too large to carry on a trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO architecture, April 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
beware the title of this book: there is little evidence of the exterior and interior architecture of the louvre which is a shame. i was quite disappointed. the art is admirably covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, June 10, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Louvre: Art & Architecture (Hardcover)
It is a decorative hardcover book too beautiful to use in your home. I bought and use on my shelf along with other books of the same decoration. Particularly I love this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Louvre: Art & Architecture
The Louvre: Art & Architecture by Gabriele Bartz (Hardcover - February 1, 2008)
Used & New from: $33.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.