Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Cyber Monday Sweepstakes in Prime Music Shop Now HTL

Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$45.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

335 of 347 people found the following review helpful
on October 20, 2011
I bought the book and DVD because my husband and I hadn't been able to visit the Louvre in our recent short trip to Paris. Even though I already had two large art books on the Louvre, I thought that this would be a great way to see the paintings that I had missed. The book itself is excellent; it is the DVD that I have major problems with. The disk claims to be a DVD which means that it should hold a little over 4 GB of data. This theoretical DVD only holds 228 MB of data including the software program which doesn't work very well for viewing the images; a CD holds almost 700 MB of data. The images on the DVD total 194 MB, and half of those 6,753 items are extremely small thumbnails. The largest image is 2,194 KB. I expected to get a DVD with relatively high quality images of the paintings and was extremely disappointed with what I received. Whoever put this DVD and software program together should be ashamed of themselves.
2525 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
87 of 95 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 22, 2011
Book review:

This is a somewhat odd book attempting to catch every painting in the Louvre's permanent collection. I can picture it for folks who missed paintings on their last visit, or as a completist's book. On the other hand the collection is, by definition, uneven and many of the works are frankly uninteresting to many or most readers. Still, the image quality on the paper is quite good, many of the images are small (divide the 3000+ paintings out over 780ish pages), but I think you get a good experience for the money. At the discounted price on amazon, this is a beautiful coffee table book. Not quite as elegant as Taschen volumes, but reasonably substantial. 4 stars

DVD review:

Just ridiculous! This is something you could imagine being foisted on people who had a CD-ROM drive back in 1996. Custom software, tiny images, and just a 1/20th of the disk used. Although this could have been a great item, high quality digital images of all of the paintings seems like a 2011 natural, that isn't what's here. I'd just ignore the disk, or try it to laugh at the stupidity of it. 0 stars

If you buy for the paper book, you'll be happy. The DVD is completely worthless except perhaps as an example of how poorly new media can be employed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
135 of 151 people found the following review helpful
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book depicting all of the Louvre's paintings was highly anticipated. Here in one imposing volume are some of the most glorious works of art ever created. But my enthusiasm is tempered by several unfortunate failures of execution. The book is sturdy and solid and it comes with a very attractive slipcase. It is, however, quite heavy (15-18 pounds) and slightly unwieldy so that manipulating it can be difficult. The majority of the book's photos are fairly small making details hard to see without using a loup or magnifying glass. One gets the impression that a project of this magnitude requires multiple volumes that are both manageable and contain larger visualizations for easier study.

Because of the relatively diminutive nature of the bulk of the book's illustrations, a DVD with larger pictures would at least offer some compensation. Unfortunately the DVD contains mostly tiny thumbnail-sized photos, many of which failed to open on my Vista laptop. The DVD does not appear to be completely functional (XML code instead of English in a central panel that appears on every page, a red X through thumbnails when attempting to access additional information). Also, the browser-based program will not work with Google's Chrome browser. I had to devise a work around to get the DVD to open properly when I switched to Internet Explorer because the balky program insisted on continuing to open in Chrome. All in all I found this extremely worthy project somewhat compromised by these shortcomings. The book's several hundred featured illustrations (which are larger) offer a tantalizing glimpse of how it might have been improved. They, at least, provide the Louvre's brilliant works of art with the impact they deserve. I wish there had been more of them.
3535 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on April 14, 2012
If you want to look at the paintings, you're going to be very disappointed by this book. Despite its many pages, it contains relatively few full page pictures and the digital images on the DVD are all quite small -- hardly any large enough to fill a typical computer's screen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
on December 23, 2011
All the pictures in the Louvre!! Wow! What a great idea for a book!! A picture of every painting in that famous museum all in one book!!
Somewhat disappointing. To get all of them in one book, most of them had to be very small, too small to see detail without a magnifying glass.
The price was right and I should know by now you get what you pay for. Bummer!!

If I could have seen it hands on, I would not have bought it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 27, 2011
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This exquisite book is worthy of repeated study and examination. It is arranged by geographical schools; Italian (Greek and Russian Icons), Northern (Dutch, Flemish, British and German), French and Spanish; then chronologically by artist within each school, each painting conveniently identified by room location and number in the Louvre. Each school is introduced by a scholarly essay and the artists are the subject of short informed essays in addition to their prominent paintings being essayed. Sharp vivid photographic reproductions, as true to real as possible, are in various sizes, the largest size reserved for the artist's more prominent paintings with smaller shots for less prominent paintings. Take the eight pages devoted to Chardin which starts with a chronological grouping of four early paintings spread over two pages, followed by a page spread of his famous 1737 "Child With Spinning Top" with a descriptive essay, followed by two individual pages devoted to single still lifes ("The Attributes of Military Music" and "The Attributes of Civilian Music"), followed by two pages containing twenty five smaller paintings of still lifes and portraits. Fragonard is given six pages, Jacques Louis David and Poussin are given seven pages. Titian is given nine pages. Editorial discretion to which artist is given more space and the sizing of the reproduction is aptly done by the publisher.

Just as the Louvre can not be a museum fully appreciated in one visit, this book can not be consumed in one setting; it requires time, patience and endless study but the book's beauty and fullness can not be debated. The Louvre sells itself. No reviewer's praise is needed for it as a cultural destination or for this book. Either you love it or you don't. Either entering the Louvre's Grand Format rooms to stare at Delacroix, Gericault or Jacques Louis David gives you a frisson up your spine or a weakness in the knees, or, it doesn't. If the Louvre, at the heart of Paris, is your high altar of artistic culture and beauty, then "The Louvre: All the Paintings" is as close to "being there" in lieu of time travel.

The DVD would not run on a Macbook, a Mac Air or on Windows PC machine, it would not run on Safari, Firefox or Internet Explorer; it is essentially useless and seems to be an unnecessary concession to the demands of the modern reader when in truth the book should be the attraction. I note - to the extent that the DVD loaded up - that the Louvre website in English is featured which is an easy access point in the cloud for as much of the Louvre as can be accessed.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on August 13, 2012
I was so dissapointed at the size of the pictures. Some of them are impossible to make out in any detail. The disk was impossible to use. I thought maybe I would be able to view the pictures in a larger format on the computer, but that was not the case and the disk was buggy (there is an error in the html so the coding shows). Big dissapointment
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 25, 2011
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is advertised as containing all of the paintings of the Louvre, which it does, but it is much more. It is a great art history and art appreciation course. The text is excellent - interesting and informative. This is a great gift book for anyone interested in art.

This is a great book, but a perspective buyer should be aware that while this book contains all of the painting of the Louvre only about 400 of them are displayed full page or almost full page, with text on the facing page or around the painting. This text discuses the artist and the painting and is then followed by numerous other examples of the artists work, but they are displayed in a much smaller format, often with as many as 8-12 paintings per page. In addition, there are sections that discuss larger topics, such as "The French School". This particular section covers hundreds of years of French painting and what it means to be a "French Painting". The book also contains a map of the painting galleries of the Louvre, an index containing the paintings listed by artist and an index listing the painting according to their title.

The book also comes with a DVD that some reviewers have had trouble with. I had some problems with my computer running Windows XP. Sometimes upon loading the disk it takes me directly to the "StartPage" which is run on Foxfire, my default browser, but sometimes it does not and it never does when I click on the drive icon (which displays the Mona Lisa when the disk is in the drive). In this case, I then left click on the icon and hit the explore button. This brings me to a listing of what is on the disk. One of the choices is StartPage (in my case a Foxfire document). Left click on it and it takes me to Firefox and the Startup page of the DVD. You then have the ability to search the Lourve by Artist, Collection, room in the museum or to search according to a specific title and artist. There is also a button that gives you further DVD instructions.

Unfortunately, the data on the disk only occupies 219 MB, whereas a standard DVD holds 4,700 MB, so high resolution images could have been used for all of the paintings instead of just some of them. Nonetheless, the DVD is quite useful and I recommend working to get it running. One problem to look out for is that associated with disabled scripts and running the browser at too high a security setting.

You can copy the photographs from the DVD and paste them into a document, but most are provided only as low resolution thumbnail copies. There is also a zoom feature that is available with some, but not all images. This feature lets you look at portions of the picture in greater detail and the copied image is also shown at a much higher resolution.

I also have a computer running Windows 7 and I did not have any loading problems with this computer, but I still had to be careful regarding the security setting that I was using.

As stated at the beginning of this review, the book is much, much, more than a picture book. You get a great art appreciation and art history course, as well as a book that should give hours of enjoyment just savoring the pictures.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 7, 2012
I echo the previous comments about disappointment with the DVD. It would not open with the Windows (Vista) media player, but did open with the Windows media center, at least partially. I have been able to view content using the "artists" and "collections" tabs, but whatever the "rooms" section is supposed to do, it won't do it. The software is very slow, and as several others have noted, the pictures are very small, too small to be informative or of much use. I hope I am able to get the "browse" function working, because I have been to the Louvre a number of times, and was looking forward to recapping the experience.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon March 3, 2012
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is a great companion to (or even replacement for) a trip to Paris to see the Louvre. Well, maybe not really a replacement. With so many paintings, 3022, it would be an enormous book if they were all a full page. The most important paintings (about 400) are reproduced on a full page with a description about the importance of the painting and the painter. The rest are thumbnail sketch size (about 1 by 2 inches). Although this is a convenient format to survey western painting, it is not a great format for appreciating many of these artworks. You would expect the DVD then to include many high resolution images to be able to enjoy and inspect especially those images in the book that are only thumbnail. Alas, the authors decided to keep the thumbnails as thumbnails. A huge opportunity was not only lost, you have to wonder about the thought process in the first place into this scheme. Who could possibly have seen this as a good idea. Notwithstanding the crappy DVD, for less than $50, it is hard to imagine buying this much art history.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Paintings in the Louvre
Paintings in the Louvre by Lawrence Gowing (Hardcover - 1987)

The Louvre
The Louvre by Alexandra Bonfante-Warren (Hardcover - 2003)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.