Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 91 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Love Boat Finally On DVD!
Following the format of Love American Style (1969-1974), ABC's "The Love Boat" (1977-1986) featured guest stars in comedy vignettes about love and romance. Unlike Love American Style, the stories were intertwined rather than telecast consecutively, featuring the guest stars along with a regular cast. Namely, the crew of the Pacific Princess. Starring as the ship's crew...
Published on January 7, 2008 by Servo

versus
146 of 157 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horrible decision to release only half a season (12 episodes).
When are the studios going to learn that NOBODY likes buying HALF A FREAKIN' SEASON! ?

Pay full price for half the episodes and then play the "waiting game" for the rest of the season? PATHETIC! We already wait too long as it is for most follow up seasons, now they have us waiting around for the other HALF of a season!

I predict that profits will be...
Published on December 30, 2007 by J. McDonald


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

146 of 157 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horrible decision to release only half a season (12 episodes)., December 30, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Love Boat: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
When are the studios going to learn that NOBODY likes buying HALF A FREAKIN' SEASON! ?

Pay full price for half the episodes and then play the "waiting game" for the rest of the season? PATHETIC! We already wait too long as it is for most follow up seasons, now they have us waiting around for the other HALF of a season!

I predict that profits will be FAR LESS for the studio because of the decision to split the season into two volumes. Most potential buyers will wait for a decent price drop, or the lower priced "used" sets that should quickly become available.

Here's a glimpse at SOME of the great guest stars in the first 12 epsiodes;

John Ritter, Suzanne Somers, Jaclyn Smith, Meredith Baxter Birney, Jimmie Walker, Sherman Hemsley, LaWanda Page, Kristy McNichol, Scott Baio, Richard Mulligan, Milton Berle, Charo, Bill Bixby, Jim Nabors, Patty Duke, Tab Hunter, Steve Allen, Sandy Duncan, Loni Anderson, Phil Silvers, Joanna Kerns, Jane Curtin, Leslie Nielsen, Robert Urich, Florence Henderson, Donna Mills, Dick Sargent, Pat Morita, and Anson Williams.

Not too shabby huh?

I know it's corny and goofy..... but it sure is FUN!

JM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 91 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Love Boat Finally On DVD!, January 7, 2008
By 
Servo (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Love Boat: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Following the format of Love American Style (1969-1974), ABC's "The Love Boat" (1977-1986) featured guest stars in comedy vignettes about love and romance. Unlike Love American Style, the stories were intertwined rather than telecast consecutively, featuring the guest stars along with a regular cast. Namely, the crew of the Pacific Princess. Starring as the ship's crew were Gavin MacLeod (The Mary Tyler Moore Show) as Captain Merrill Stubing; Bernie Kopell (Get Smart) as "Doc" Adam Bricker; Fred Grandy as yeoman-purser Burl "Gopher" Smith; Ted Lange (That's My Mama) as bartender Isaac Washington; and Lauren Tewes as cruise director Julie McCoy. One of the most popular new shows of the 1977-78 season, The Love Boat received an extra boost in ratings when it was paired with similar hit series Fantasy Island the following season. From the lyrics ("Come aboard, we're expecting you") in the theme song performed by Jack Jones to the personalized opening cast credits ("Starring your Love Boat crew"...), the show purposely gave the impression that you (the viewer) were taking the cruises. It's good to see the show finally come to DVD. The Love Boat - Season One, Volume One is a 3-disc (622 min.) set featuring the show's first 12 hour-long Season One episodes; Full Frame (1.33:1) video; English, Spanish mono audio; Closed Captions; English, Spanish subtitles.

Here are the episodes contained in this volume, plus original airdates:

1. The Captain and the Lady / One if by Land /Centerfold (9/24/1977)
2. Oh, Dale! / A Tasteful Affair / The Main Event (10/1/1977)
3. Ex Plus Y / Graham and Kelly / Goldenagers (10/8/1977)
4. Message for Maureen / The Acapulco Connection / Gotcha (10/15/1977)
5. Help, Murder / Isaac the Groupie / Mr. Popularity (10/22/1977)
6. The Joker is Mild / First Time Out / Take My Granddaughter, Please (10/29/1977)
7. Identical Problem / Julie's Old Flame / The Jinx ( 11/5/1977)
8. Lost and Found / The Understudy / Married Singles (11/19/1977)
9. The Captain's Captain /Hounded / Romance Roulette (11/26/1977)
10. Dear Beverly / The Strike / Special Delivery (12/3/1977)
11. Lonely at the Top / Divorce Me, Please / Silent Night (12/10/1977)
12. The Old Man and the Runaway / A Fine Romance / The Painters (12/24/1977)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Half a BOAT is better than none at all, March 15, 2008
This review is from: The Love Boat: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Love..exciting and new...

Wow, the Love Boat finally washed ashore onto DVD.

I am ticked like everyone else is that it is only 12 episode (half of the full 24 first season episodes) I am upset that NONE of the THREE Love Boat pre-series TV movies are included on this DVD. I am upset that there is no reunion special extra on DVD that most first season DVDs have(DVD like McHale's Navy, Growing Pains, Family Ties had them) . Also there is NO cast commentaries on any episodes. OKAY, that the bad news

Come Aboard, we're expecting you....

This Saturday evening stample of 1980's is a cute and corny show for family fun.The show was NEVER five star classical acting that would win any Emmys, just popcorn fun...that why its rated 4 stars, even now on DVD! The reason Love Boat was a staple for eight seasons was the simple storytelling with a family like crew. It had guess stars who you knew from other TV shows and were familar with. It was a formula for entertainment, but it works!

The Love Boat soon will be making another run....

One can hope the rest of season one will arrive soon. I still enjoyed the shows on this 12 episode DVD...I would have liked like everyone else had expressed and wanted a full season, but that is what the DVD makers are doing these days. Charging more money for less product, it is the nature of business

Welcome Aboard, It's LOVE, LOVE, LOVE

It is well worth to have a show where there is NO foul language...No car chases..No heavy duty issues..and a family can sit and enjoy this kind of television TOGETHER. There are not many things you can enjoy together these days. Love will never go out of style.

Paramount, Get the second volume out soon PLEASE!!!!!!!!

Bennet Pomerantz AUDIOWORLD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HATE Boat, February 5, 2008
This review is from: The Love Boat: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Lousy decision to release half of the season AND lousier to skip the 3 pilot films. 10 seasons each broken in 2 equals 20 sets at 39.95 each...that's only $800. And...if they do release the films...perhaps another $100? $900 for the complete Love Boat? Sorry...that ship can sail without me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where are the three prequel tv movies ?, November 26, 2007
By 
V. K. Manglaveras (thessaloniki, greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Love Boat: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
At last season 1 first 12 episodes are here on dvd and i would have rated this dvd 5 stars IF the three pre-tv movies were also included here but they are not and that SUCKS.
Anyways, it's great to have this show on dvd and hope all 10 seasons to be released soon PLUS THE REUNION 1990 TV MOVIE SPECIAL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars +1/2 -- First-class TV show given a steerage-class reissue, March 24, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Love Boat: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Despite the Love Boat's lightweight fun-and-romance plots, it was a heavyweight television series that ran 10 years and defined the blazing success of Aaron Spelling Productions. The Love Boat was one of the first 60-minute programs with a laugh track, and its weekly trio of intertwined storylines created a more compelling hour-long viewing experience than unconnected linear anthologies like "Love, American Style."

What really put the Love Boat into its own class, however, was its expansive list of guest stars. The weekly cavalcade mixed entertainment legends (Milton Berle, Ruth Gordon, Patty Duke, Ray Bolger, Harriet Nelson), with an oversized helping `70s TV stars (Jimmie Walker, Bonnie Franklin, Suzanne Somers, John Ritter, Jaclyn Smith, Sherman Helmsley, LaWanda Page, Kristy McNichol, Scott Baio), and everything in between. The guest lists always held surprises, and in retrospect now provide terrific nostalgia.

The program's regular cast, which took three pilots to coalesce, is the anchor upon which the program grew. Gavin McLeod brought the comedic edge of The Mary Tyler Moore's Murray Slaughter, but in a fatherly character (figuratively in the early seasons, literally once daughter Vicki was added) who heads the crew. Second in seniority, both as an actor and a character, was Bernie Kopell's Dr. Adam Bricker. Kopell was a character actor throughout the `60s, creating memorable characters on both "Get Smart" and "That Girl" at decade's end. As the ship's multiply-divorced lothario, Dr. Bricker bridged the maturity of McLeod's Captain Stubing to the crew's younger members.

Fred Grandy, Ted Lange and Lauren Tewes had shorter resumes than their senior officers, but quickly showed themselves to be loaded with comic talent. Grandy and Lange came on board for the film's second pilot (not included here), and proved essential elements in selling the show to ABC and sustaining the program season after season. By the show's third pilot, the crew was settled with the additions of McLeod, Kopell and Tewes, and though the characters weren't yet fully formed (particularly the tone of their interpersonal relationships), the chemistry between the actors was evident from the start.

With so much going for it, and a broad fan base waiting for the show to appear on DVD, it's surprising to find Paramount's first offering so lackluster. First, this three-disc set includes only half the first season - 12 of 25 episodes. Second, the only bonuses are the brief promo spots that ran the week preceding an episode. Third, and worst, is the absence of all three pilot movies. The first pilot, featuring an entirely different crew was previously issued on VHS, but is now out of print. Pilots #2 and #3, the latter being the lead-in to the series, are unavailable through commercial sources.

After such a long wait it's disappointing to get only half of the first season, to have it priced at $50+ per season, to get no extras (no making-of, no contemporary interviews, no photo gallery, no production ephemera), and to have the pilot movies omitted. It's great to have the first dozen episodes in hand, but Paramount's presentation isn't the first-class cruise it should be. 5-stars for the original episodes, 2-stars for the low-budget package. [©2008 hyperbolium dot com]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed in the half season release!, February 18, 2008
By 
B. J. Savage III (Valdese, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Love Boat: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
When I was much, much, younger this was one of my favorite shows on TV. Always sunny, friendly, cheerful, and funny. It always made me feel good.

I had been anticipating having those same, wonderful, feelings again. Anticipating it for many years waiting on the release on DVD since they rarely show the Love Boat on TV anymore.

I've had this on watch for over 2 years on Amazon, with a released promised years ago. I got excited when I saw this release. At least I was excited till I saw it was only half a season, with none of the pilots.

I would have ordered this instant, except for that. I can't afford to pay for this show half a season at a time. 9 years, times two, times whatever price they charge. Ouch.

I think I will wait till they either release whole seasons, or the entire series. If it never happens, it never happens. But as much as I want to see this, I am not going to pay a fortune for a 30 year old show.

Splitting the season was a very poor choice, I hope others will also refuse to fall for this ploy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the show... not the DVD release., March 16, 2008
By 
K. D. Taylor (Hamilton, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Love Boat: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
I have been a huge fan of The Love Boat ever since childhood and have been waiting for it to come to DVD forever. The episodes themselves didn't disapoint. I'm disappointed that only 12 episodes were released... no special features... no pilots/telemovies. The studio needs to get its act together and give it the release it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars only half a season - what a rip off, December 19, 2007
This review is from: The Love Boat: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
i guess they think the public are idiots. pay the price of a whole season and only get half
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars welcome back aboard the Pacific Princess!, April 18, 2008
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Love Boat: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
This DVD set brought back some very happy memories. I was too young to watch THE LOVE BOAT during it's original television schedule, but I caught up with the re-runs. The twelve episodes included in this set (the first half of Season One) reminded me why I fell in love with this cute series in the first place.

Come aboard the Pacific Princess, with Captain Stubing (Gavin MacLeod in his first TV starring role following the demise of "The Mary Tyler Moore Show"), Doc (Bernie Kopell), friendly barman Isaac (Ted Lange), Gopher (Fred Grandy), and adorable cruise director Julie (Lauren Tewes).

This was the epitome of "Glam TV", a few years before shows like "Dallas" and "Dynasty" took the genre to dizzying new heights. The guest stars literally queued up to be a part of this show, because as well as having a fun acting gig, they got a free cruise! The Pacific Princess ship was a fully-functional vessel, and the bulk of the series was shot in and around it. And didn't we all have a crush on Julie McCoy, the cruise director, played so perfectly by Ms Tewes?

The twelve episodes included in this set feature lots of familiar faces, with Michele Lee, Diahann Carroll, Bonnie Franklin, Suzanne Somers, Charo (the first of her MANY appearances during the show's run), and Patty Duke having some particularly appealing storylines. It's especially fun to see a young Kristy McNichol, sharing an episode with her future "Empty Nest" dad, Richard Mulligan!

The only extra features are original episode promos. Can't wait for the rest of Season One!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Love Boat: Season 1, Vol. 1
The Love Boat: Season 1, Vol. 1 by Buddy Tyne (DVD - 2008)
$22.99 $12.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.