Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation SnS

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars86
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon May 9, 2008
Following the format of Love American Style (1969), ABC's "The Love Boat" (1977-1986) featured guest stars in comedy vignettes about love and romance. Unlike Love American Style, the stories were intertwined rather than telecast consecutively, featuring the guest stars along with a regular cast. Namely, the crew of the Pacific Princess. Starring as the ship's crew were Gavin MacLeod (The Mary Tyler Moore Show) as Captain Merrill Stubing; Bernie Kopell (Get Smart) as "Doc" Adam Bricker, Fred Grandy as Yeoman Purser Burl "Gopher" Smith; Ted Lange (That's My Mama) as bartender Isaac Washington; and Lauren Tewes as cruise director Julie McCoy. One of the most popular new shows of the 1977-78 season, The Love Boat received an extra boost in ratings when it was paired with similar hit series Fantasy Island the following season. From the lyrics ("Come aboard, we're expecting you") in the theme song performed by Jack Jones to the personalized opening cast credits ("Starring your Love Boat crew..."), the show purposely gave the impression that you (the viewer) were taking the cruises.

It was good to see the show finally come to DVD with The Love Boat - Season One, Volume One which featured decent video and audio. Complete the first season with The Love Boat - Season One, Volume Two. This 4-disc set features the show's remaining 12 hour-long Season One episodes; Full Frame (1.33:1) video; English, Spanish mono audio; Closed Captioning; English, Spanish subtitles; plus the following guest stars: Bob Crane, Kathy Bates, Robert Hays, Pearl Bailey, Don Adams, Adrienne Barbeau, Desi Arnaz Jr., Stephanie Zimbalist, Scatman Crothers, Vicki Lawrence, Jim Backus, Barbi Benton, Monty Hall, real-life sisters Audrey Meadows and Jayne Meadows, Leslie Nielson, TV's "Brady Bunch" sisters Maureen McCormick and Eve Plumb, Morey Amsterdam, Annette Funicello, Antonio Fargas, Georgia Engel, Robert Mandan, Shelley Long and many more!

Also included in this set as an EXTRA is the following Special Feature: "The New Love Boat" (1977). Following several casting missteps in two earlier films (The Love Boat and "The Love Boat II"), this third pilot film (originally telecast May 5, 1977) finally got it right with the TV series' regular characters Gavin McLeod, Bernie Kopell, Fred Grandy, Ted Lange and Lauren Tewes as the Love Boat crew. Guest stars for this made-for-TV movie include Georgia Engel as a stowaway, Gary Frank and Melanie Mayron as a pair of tremulous honeymooners, Stella Stevens and Pat Harrington as an eternally bickering married couple, and Audra Lindley and Phil Silvers as, respectively, an outspoken middle-aged lady and a woebegone widower. Running time is 74 minutes. Here are the episodes contained in this volume, plus original airdates:

13. Family Reunion / Too Hot to Handle / Cinderella Story (1/7/1978)
14. Isaac's Double Standard / One More Time / Chimpanzeeshines (1/14/1978)
15. Hollywood Royalty / The Caper / The Eyes of Love / Masquerade (1/21/1978)*
16. The Congressman Was Indiscreet / Isaac's History Lesson / Winner Take Love (1/28/1978)
17. Last of the Stubings / Million Dollar Man / The Sisters (2/4/1978)
18. The Inspector / A Very Special Girl / Until the Last Goodbye (2/11/1978)
19. Computerman / Parlez-Vous? / Memories of You (2/13/1978)
20. Taking Sides / A Friendly Little Game / Going by the Book (2/18/1978)
21. Parents Know Best / A Selfless Love / The Nubile Nurse (2/25/1978)
22. Musical Cabins (5/5/1978)
23. The Business of Love / Crash Diet Crush / I'll Never Fall in Love Again (5/13/1978)
24. Gopher, The Rebel / Cabin Fever / Pacific Princess Overtures (5/20/1978)

*Episode 15 is presented in its original double-length format, before it was split in two for syndication.
0Comment|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon October 24, 2010
The last 12 episodes from THE LOVE BOAT's first season, including the "Movie of the Week" special which launched the official series. Join the crew of the Pacific Princess, including cruise director Julie McCoy (Lauren Tewes), Captain Merrill Stubing (Gavin MacLeod), Dr. Adam Bricker (Bernie Kopell), Purser "Gopher" Smith (Fred Grandy) and bartender Isaac Washington (Ted Lange) for comedy, drama, and yes, romance on the high seas.

Co-producers Aaron Spelling and Douglas Cramer were instrumental in setting the bar for this kind of "glamour television", helped by fashion designer Nolan Miller, who swathes the parade of guest stars in glittery sea attire. What often jars however (especially this early in the game) was the recycling of guest stars, sometimes only weeks apart--for example, Michele Lee returns in TWO stories in this volume (including a lavish two-parter), but she'd already appeared in another episode earlier in the season! Four episodes in the first season alone (and three separate characters)! Isn't that some sort of record? Patty Duke, Diana Canova and Robert Urich are three more frequent passengers with "multiple character disorder". No matter. Whatever floats the boat, I suppose.

Episodes:

* "Family Reunion / Too Hot to Handle / Cinderella Story"
guest stars Kathy Bates, Bob Crane, Rosemary De Camp, Don DeFore, Bruce Solomon and David White.

* "Isaac's Double Standard / One More Time / Chimpanzeeshines"
guest stars Don Adams, Pearl Bailey, Nanette Fabray, Allyn Ann McLerie and Tracy Reed.

* "The Eyes of Love / Masquerade / Hollywood Royalty / The Caper" (two parts)
guest stars Desi Arnaz Jr., Adrienne Barbeau, Harold Gould, Fernando Lamas, Michele Lee, Juliet Mills, Dan Rowan, Conrad John Schuck, Larry Storch and Karen Valentine.

* "Winner Takes Love / The Congressman Was Indiscreet / Isaac's History Lesson"
guest stars Scatman Crothers, Vicki Lawrence, Maureen McCormick, Bobby Sherman and Dick Van Patten.

* "Last of the Stubings / Million Dollar Man / The Sisters"
guest stars Pat Crowley, Brett Halsey, Marion Ross and Marcia Strassman.

* "A Very Special Girl / Until the Last Goodbye / The Inspector"
guest stars Jim Backus, Paul Burke, Debralee Scott and Laurette Spang.

* "Memories of You / Computerman / Parlez Vous?"
guest stars Frankie Avalon, Barbi Benton, Patty Duke, Jamie Farr, Shelley Long, Ricky Nelson and Carole Ita White.

* "Taking Sides / Going By the Book / A Friendly Little Game"
guest stars Diana Canova, Georgia Engel, Robert Mandan, Audrey Meadows, Harry Morgan and Robert Urich.

* "A Selfless Love / The Nubile Nurse / Parents Know Best"
guest stars Lynda Day George, Elaine Joyce, Monty Hall, Leslie Nielsen, Janis Paige and Mark Shera.

* "Musical Cabins"
guest stars Dick Gautier, Michele Lee, Barbara Rhoades, Marcia Wallace and Paul Williams.

* "The Business of Love / Crash Diet Crush / I'll Never Fall in Love Again"
guest stars Jayne Meadows, Morey Amsterdam, Michael Callan, Annette Funicello, Rose Marie and Jessica Walter.

* "Pacific Princess Overtures / Gopher, the Rebel / Cabin Fever"
guest stars Diane Baker, Kaye Ballard, Gary Collins, Pat Morita, Eve Plumb and Don Porter.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2008
I enjoyed season 1 volume 1 and I enjoyed volume 2 as well. I agree with some of the other reviewers that are disappointed that the complete season was not offered, however, I have been waiting for too long for this series to be released on dvd to protest buying it. The show is just as I remembered, cute, a little corny, and a lot of fun to watch. I can't wait until more seasons are released.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2008
At last vol II is announced and the 13 remaining episodes of season 1 will be included here together with the third love boat tv movie which aired in may 1977 but actually is the pilot tv movie for it was the first love boat movie which all the original cast were present.
According to [...] this movie will be included as a bonus in this dvd set so if this is true that's great news and we may get also the other movies in future love boat dvd releases as bonus
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2013
These movies take me back to a simpler time. The days when sitcoms and family programs were shown on the plain old tv set. These are silly happy go lucky episodes that just make me feel good. Today's television is full of so much nastiness that it is fun to watch the older episodes.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2015
My public library had the other three volumes from the first two seasons, but this one was lost, so I bought it, watched it, and now will donate it so that 19 counties of people in SC can enjoy it, too.

This particular volume contains the PILOT and the second half of season one, so we get to see how the captain happened to become the captain of the Pacific Princess, hear him tell the crew to never allow him to hear them call the ship "The Love Boat", then in the next episode, hear him call it that himself.

Each weekly episode usually contains three story lines, one more romantic, one more comedic, and one focused on a particular member of the crew. The stories are delightful, and fun to hear, watch and enjoy.

I look forward to when we can get more seasons of The Love Boat.

I highly recommend this TV series.

John
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2015
The first disc stars a young Kathy Bates as a newlywed wife in a pickle. GREAT series and fabulous episodes on this one.. Desi Arnaz Jr., Stephanie Zimbalist and Karen Valentine to list a very few of the guest stars. The pilot film is also included on the first disc of this one. Relive your youth buy ordering it. They are subtitled in English for the deaf and CC'd as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2013
For the better part of a decade, the whole world got a weekly dose of Americas version of 'free love' adrift in international waters. That may sound like a sarcastic joke to today's much more cynical generation but I assure you of my sincerity. It is hard for anyone under 25 to imagine but there was a time the actual word "Sex" was considered shamefull and the very idea of a promiscuous liberated female character was as shockingly fresh as Lady Gaga often tries to be. LONG before the Internet brought us dating sites and anyone actually took sexual harrasment seriously. There were about two mainstream ways for like minded singles to 'hook-up'. Vacations or bars. This show combined drinking and touring into an hour long satire that not only made ratings history, but also answered the then popular riddle... "When a married couple finally runs out of things to talk about, is a divorce really more practical than spending a fortune to go to Mexico and suffer a week of infidelity temptation." In conclusion. This show is not for everyone...anymore. I would say Baby Boomers and some Gen. X-ers. The modern day audience is either going to be too jaded or simply find the hairstyles and fasion wrecks mildly novel. Happily, i'm 40 and enjoy laughing at well writting scripts as well as bell bottoms, mutant afros and tomboys with girl next door looks and charm. If you can relate start collecting the seasons today! There are alot of them and all worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2013
I loved this series when I was growing up and had to get at least some of the episodes to watch. It has held up very well over the years compared to some other series and my whole family including nieces and nephews enjoyed watching it as well. I plan to get the rest of the series soon so that I can watch the episodes I missed all those years ago and I recommend anyone else that watched this series buy it to relive the great comedy of that decade.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
I haven't watched this yet because I am still on season 1. When these shows hit the air they came on once a week. And that is the way I watch them. This way I can experience watching it the way it was.
But, season 1 was great and no complaints. The way this was packed is great. So I am sure that the quality of the recording will be just as good. But if not, you can be sure I will let you know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.