Buy New
$24.00
  • List Price: $58.00
  • Save: $34.00 (59%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 8 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
The Love Poems of Ahmad S... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Love Poems of Ahmad Shamlu Hardcover – December 1, 2005


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$24.00
$24.00 $56.58

The Complete Poetry by Maya Angelou
The Complete Poetry
Timeless and prescient, this definitive compendium of Maya Angelou's poetry introduces new readers to the legendary poet. Learn more | See related books
$24.00 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 8 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Frequently Bought Together

The Love Poems of Ahmad Shamlu + The Forbidden: Poems from Iran and its Exiles
Price for both: $41.05

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 188 pages
  • Publisher: IBEX Publishers (December 1, 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1588140377
  • ISBN-13: 978-1588140371
  • Product Dimensions: 9.2 x 6.3 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.9 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,918,739 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

Given that little of Shamlu's work is readily available in English, one can only hope that this volume of love poems will be followed by collections of his broader work that will help Americans learn more about a rich culture often reduced to hysterical stereotypes by politicians and cable news commentators. --Foreword Magazine

From the Publisher

Arthur Lane and Firoozeh Papan-Matin have translated the poems such that any reader, regardless of their language background, could grasp the original intent of the poetry and experience it as would a reader of Persian. The methodology has been to follow the original poetry as far as possible; where this proved awkward or obscure the translators have been guided by the rhythms and idiomatic usages of Modern English. Consequently a reader who is not familiar with the Persian language and its cultural intricacies will be nonetheless equipped to appreciate this poetry and its sublime qualities.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
The Love Poems Of Ahmad Shamlu by Firoozeh Papan-Matin is an erudite translation by Arthur Lane (Professor Emeritus of English, California State University, Northridge) of one of Iran's most influential literary figure, showcasing great works of poetic rhetoric. Epitaph: Nothing active in the leaving/No Stillness in the staying.//Branches would not detach from the root;/the tattling wind/revealed no worthy secret/to the leaves.//The maiden of my love/is an exotic mother./The speeding star/on its despairing route/revolves in an eternal orbit.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By faisal muhammen o'conner on April 30, 2010
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
These are the best translations I have yet seen of Ostad Shamlou's poems. I am a pretty good amateur poet, who studied poetry at school, and when I got this book I felt despondent; for here are exactly the poems I have tried and failed to write. I had to put the book back on the shelf while I took some time to absorb the shock.
Shamlou's work will certainly appeal to readers of Paul Celan or Nazim Hikhmet

One small complaint. About the forward by Ms. Firoozeh. Someone should let her know Azerbaijan is not now and has never been in Russia! What a phenomenal error! How could it be. Surely an educated person would know the difference between the Soviet Union and Russia?

There are several other pretty glaring factual errors in the forward that i am really quite surprised were missed by either the editor or the co-translator. Oh well, not to worry, the translations themselves are something else.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
The Love Poems of Ahmad Shamlu
This item: The Love Poems of Ahmad Shamlu
Price: $58.00 $24.00
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com