Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this for the men in your life....
I wish I had 200 copies of this book. There are so many men I know that can find themselves depicted in Katz's clear and insightful reflections on male culture today. Why has the violence women suffer at the hands of some men been called a "woman's issue"? Where's the curiosity and creativity of more men when it comes to looking at why violence and sexual violence in...
Published on June 1, 2006 by Amy

versus
10 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book pissed me off...
Look, I know how huge a problem physical abuse of women is in our society and all first world societies that operate under the delusion that men and women are equal. We are not equal, we are quite different from each other. Equality under the law does not mean that men and women are "equal," like some kind of equation.

If you do a search in this book for...
Published 15 months ago by Aaron Smyth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this for the men in your life...., June 1, 2006
This review is from: The Macho Paradox: Why Some Men Hurt Women and and How All Men Can Help (Paperback)
I wish I had 200 copies of this book. There are so many men I know that can find themselves depicted in Katz's clear and insightful reflections on male culture today. Why has the violence women suffer at the hands of some men been called a "woman's issue"? Where's the curiosity and creativity of more men when it comes to looking at why violence and sexual violence in particular are so epidemic? Or even, more dangerously, glamorized in aspects of the pornography industry? Forget "Pretty Woman" or "The Girl Next Door" and dive into real life. Katz has done his research and articulates a vision that should make every man stand up and collectively work to make this a world they are proud their daughters and sons will inherit. I really wish I had 200 copies....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerfully Realizing What Happens All around Us, October 10, 2007
This review is from: The Macho Paradox: Why Some Men Hurt Women and and How All Men Can Help (Paperback)
Jackson Katz's book could be one of the most important I have ever read, hands-down. Two years ago, after my wife came home from a graduate-level class, she told me we needed to watch Katz's documentary, Tough Guise (MEF). The documentary revolutionized the way I veiwed masculinity both in myself and in our culture. I then found Katz's book. The Macho Paradox does the exact same thing: Katz includes an amazing array of statistics as well as references to a variety of studies and cultural icons in order to prove his case--that masculinity needs a serious overhaul in our contemporary culture. No longer can we allow women to be abused in such rampant fashion. Katz explodes the myth that men are simply "born" with a bent towards aggression and violence; rather, he questions and explores what in our culture teaches men to behave the way we do. I highly recommend this book to both men and women, as its message is one we severely need today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book on many levels, January 4, 2007
This review is from: The Macho Paradox: Why Some Men Hurt Women and and How All Men Can Help (Paperback)
This book is both accessible and sophisticated in its approach. It covers political and social issues and popular culture in great depth. However, Katz pitches his argument to the broadest possible audience; he almost never uses jargon. I used the introductory chapter in a classroom with both high school and college students, and they all responded to the piece with enthusiasm. Another aspect of the book that elevates it above many similar works is Katz's use of personal anecdotes from his career as an anti-sexist activist to illustrate his points. These stories not only help to ground the book in reality, but they make it clear that the author has tested his ideas in the field of deeds. He has constantly sought out new audiences and been challenged to refine his approach. He advocates for a very inclusive model of gender violence prevention. He wants us to be honest with ourselves and call "domestic violence" what it is--men's violence against women. However, he also makes it clear that viewing all men as potential perpetrators is not the answer. Rather, encouraging men to take the issue personally and own up to their social responsibility, while encouraging others to do the same, can make a huge difference. For anyone who would like to learn more about men's violence against women, or gender and society in general, this book is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taking Responsibility, March 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Macho Paradox: Why Some Men Hurt Women and and How All Men Can Help (Paperback)
Dr. katz did an amazing job with his book "The Macho Paradox". It goes into great depths about how all men (even the self-proclaimed "good guys") can help the fight against sexism, sexual harassment, sexual assault and rape. I liked that it was written from a male perspective, geared toward male readers, it really helps us as men identify with the issue much better on a level that we can relate to. It's not a book about guilt, it's a book about responsibility. And I would highly recommend it to anyone with a heart for women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katz is right on--this is the next step in ending violence., July 2, 2006
By 
This review is from: The Macho Paradox: Why Some Men Hurt Women and and How All Men Can Help (Paperback)
Jackson Katz believes that an end to violence (of all kinds, but particularly violence against women) must come from a new definition of masculinity that does not support violent behavior. His book explains clearly why this is and how to begin to make it happen and is some of the most positive and forward-thinking work in this field. This book is very accessible--it is not accusatory or preach-y and is very honest. I have bought a second copy of the book because so many people have been interested in borrowing it. Jackson Katz is a real innovator and his book is insightful and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-reader!, January 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of the best books I have read in a long time about how to end violence against women. The author analyses very well how the angle must be turned away from the women victims and how to make them safe, and rather towards men's actions and how to prevent them. He also looks at larger structural tendencies and mind sets which contribute to a "culture of rape" and subjugation of women. This is a book with a refreshing voice which shows how to go about strengthening gender equality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're not outraged, you're not paying attention, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Katz practically shouts the alarming seriousness of violence against women, mostly with simple statistics including that one in four women will become a victim. We all know people who are victims, yet we remain mostly silent. Katz makes it very difficult to remain silent and inactive, by making it very plain that we need to act, and that it is really men who need to change our behavior.

He then switches away from simple, unavoidable, perhaps obvious truths and identifies sometimes subtle factors that turn men violent.

I know it's uncomfortable; I don't like the guilt either, but every man should read this book. Every man should "man up" and act to stop the violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Men Can Change..., October 21, 2007
This review is from: The Macho Paradox: Why Some Men Hurt Women and and How All Men Can Help (Paperback)
...how they see and conduct themselves in society, how they treat women and other men and, this book can help. Thoroughly accessible, Katz simply asks us, and shows us how, to take responsibility for change. This book certainly has changed to way I look at things, the way I talk to men and other women and, most importanly, the way I listen. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, February 15, 2010
This review is from: The Macho Paradox: Why Some Men Hurt Women and and How All Men Can Help (Paperback)
I wish that every male was required to read this in high school or college. It would really change the current way men view their masculinity. It teaches men all the important lessons that they need to know in life with dealing with themselves and their insecurities as well as women. Terrific book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you to Jackson Katz for writing this book., July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Macho Paradox: Why Some Men Hurt Women and and How All Men Can Help (Paperback)
I have been studying how women are doing in the world all my adult life. In general, women and children are not safe in this world, and in general, men are the reason why. Jackson Katz explains the dynamic of male violence, the structure of the patriarchy that holds it in place, all without making men wrong. Indeed, he invites all men who love their moms, wives, sisters, girlfriends and friends, to stand against violence and participate in educating men around them...helping people to connect up the dots. Mahalo nui loa to Jackson for writing this powerful, important and enlightening book. I shared it with many women, including my daughter, who CRIED with relief from the very first pages. It's NOT women's fault that men beat and abuse. This book is one of the best wake up calls in the world. I'd like it to be required reading in every classroom from middle school on up. The book discusses how males determine manliness, and I can tell you from teaching in Kindergarten and First Grade, that the process is already in place by these young ages. Men need to look inside themselves and ask themselves what manliness means...what it means to be a man. And be willing to learn better and then DO better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Macho Paradox: Why Some Men Hurt Women and and How All Men Can Help
$19.99 $16.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.