Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you ready to lose your political innocence?
A real eye-opener! Unless you have some familiarity with the people and events detailed by Mr. Brewton, you will probably find all of his assertions nearly impossible to believe. I would have myself, except that I have been able to confirm several of the details with people directly involved with some of the principals in this book. Of the things I was able to check...
Published on June 1, 1998

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Streams of Consciousness strewn together without a game plan or a meaningful context
At neck-breaking speed and with few road signs to guide the reader through the complicated maze of exposes, this author engages the reader in perhaps the densest and most dissatisfying and unreadable prose one is likely ever to encounter in an investigative brief. And while it all seems to have the smell of conspiracy, somehow it never quite rises even to that minimalist...
Published on September 3, 2012 by Herbert L Calhoun


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

127 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you ready to lose your political innocence?, June 1, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mafia, CIA and George Bush (Hardcover)
A real eye-opener! Unless you have some familiarity with the people and events detailed by Mr. Brewton, you will probably find all of his assertions nearly impossible to believe. I would have myself, except that I have been able to confirm several of the details with people directly involved with some of the principals in this book. Of the things I was able to check out, I have not found anything contrary to what Mr. Brewton says.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Surprises Here, January 21, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Mafia, CIA and George Bush (Hardcover)
Where to begin? As I tallied up all of the mind-boggling abuses of power, criminal activity and greed I became filled with a deep sense of dread. I came to the realization that if only 1% of this book is true then this is a president (a family) that should be behind bars for a very long time. And we are all in some very serious trouble - unless you're Kenny-boy Lay.
Dubya's stolen election, lies to start a war and the rampant cronyism plaguing our government today give all the more credence to this awesome work and further demonstrate just how desperately ruthless and vicious the Bush family is. For those of you who dismiss this tome as fiction - there's a reason the first few publishers wouldn't touch it. Here we go again - this time it's global!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


157 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Important Book, December 9, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mafia, CIA and George Bush (Hardcover)
This is one of the two most important books published in this country this century. The other is "Dark Alliance" by Gary Webb. Brewton is a journalist par excellence. He makes the goose-steppers at the New York Times, LA Times and Washington Post look like the complacent wimps they really are. Yes, Virginia, the S&L "crisis" was a $160 billion ripoff by the mob, the CIA and George Bush and Sons. Read it and weep, America!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And you thought Clinton was bad!!, April 11, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mafia, CIA and George Bush (Hardcover)
In comparison to George Bush (not Dubya) Clinton looks like a choir boy!! Everybody should read this book. Pete Brewton outdid himself! Extremely informative and well researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure trove of dirt on the Bushes, September 7, 2004
By 
treefrog (Oak Ridge, TN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mafia, CIA and George Bush (Hardcover)
The George Bush in the title is Bush 41, not Bush 43. You find binLaden and George W. Bush (43) each mentioned twice in the 400 page book. Interestingly the mentions are all within two pages of each other, and concern a national guard buddy of W getting a contract to manage the financial affairs of one of the bin Ladens, back in the late 60s or early 70s. So there is a good chance W and Osama ore old friends! The book chronicles a lot of shady stuff the family has been mixed up in for a long time. It's not an easy read but it is like looking at source data and you can make up your own mind. At the time this book was written, the idea that W would ever be in important government position was not on anybody's mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mafia, CIA & George Bush, September 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mafia, CIA and George Bush (Hardcover)
I bought my first copy of Pete Brewtons "The Mafia, CIA & George Bush" in the election season of 1992 from the author at a folding table set up in front of the Harris County Courthouse. Retail sales of this accurate history were deemed 'inflammatory' and barred from major booksellers inventory. I was a newly registered engineer in the eighties and had direct, personal knowledge of at least a dozen individuals and over fifty of the fraudulent real estate tranactions that are documented by Mr Brewton.

I was introduced to the concepts of "other peoples money" and "creative bankruptcy" by these very players, years before these terms were part of the popular vernacular. I was a first hand witness to these intentional crimes and am very knowledgable of the processes involved. So endemic was this condition in Houston that it was near impossible to avoid contact with these dirty players. The "S & L Robbery" was the model for the Enron, Dot Com and 2008 Banking TARP frauds that were to follow. I have bought a second copy from Amazon to share with those who are recently awakened to this criminal syndicate presuming to rule the entire world.

I would state under oath that "As to all of the persons and events in this book that I have PERSONAL FIRST HAND KNOWLEDGE, I verify that every statement presented in this book is 100% correct and well documented".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book has come of age, August 7, 2006
This review is from: The Mafia, CIA and George Bush (Hardcover)
Information before the fact is always a good measuring stick. This work has all that and more. When this book first came out in 1992 the information within was not widely known or could not be readily documented beyond doubt or question. (even tho it was documented and the facts were there for anyone to see they received no press or attention...perhaps because it was an election year and the information went unnoticed)

Today much of that information and its embeded documention is found blasted in the headlines of today. The S&L is old news. The Iran-Contra, is old news. The drug war of the Regan era is old news. The alledged sweet deals of the time and their cover ups are also old news. However Mr. Brewton's book tells us about them when they were happening and while they were being covered up. They have become the FACTS of today and are now household stories. Time has proven the work. As of today, the facts have been establish for all to see and read .

We the American people have been had and it seems we don't care anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Journalism, October 10, 2006
This review is from: The Mafia, CIA and George Bush (Hardcover)
This is an excellent work on yet another of the major scandals that the major U.S. "watchdog" news media had somehow missed. Very well-researched and reported, "The Mafia, CIA & George Bush" follows the trail of corruption of some of the most powerful, elite figures in U.S. and international finance, organized crime and spying. It is, in fact, a trail that leads in this book all the way to the law firm of the newspaper Brewton then worked for, the Houston Post (Brewton now teaches journalism at Texas Tech University). The spider's web that ties all these shadowy elements together is presented in a very readable format, despite the overwhelming amount of information that journalist Brewton presents.

Although this book was published in 1992, four years before Gary Webb broke the "Dark Alliance" series in the San Jose Mercury News, unsurprisingly many of the players in Brewton's work reappear in Webb's extended "Dark Alliance" investigation. The late Webb, when he was still alive, publicly recommended that people buy this book by Pete Brewton if they could find it. Now you can, right here on Amazon. As a journalist, I highly recommend it too. Read Brewton's "The Mafia, CIA & George Bush" and Webb's "Dark Alliance" back to back, and find out more than you ever wanted to know about what the U.S. government is really doing behind all those American flags waving in the wind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Connect The Dots, November 26, 2010
This review is from: The Mafia, CIA and George Bush (Hardcover)
Pete Brewton was an investigative journalist for the "Houston Post" newspaper. This book is the result of his extensive investigation into the Savings and Loan bailouts in multiple states including Texas.When some of his articles weren't published he concentrated on writing a book on the scandals related to the bailouts.
This reader can't help but notice some parallels with the TARP program. The taxpayers pay for a bailout and the money is seldom traced. Somebody makes out really well. On page 380 there is an observation that could have been written in the Fall of 2008-"the taxpayers are now bailing out the savings and loans that were bailing out big banks and insurance companies."

This book is a "Pandora's Box" with connections running through bankers, politicians, power-brokers, CIA assets, and the Mafia.
A lot of the characters are from Texas, but the financial crimes covered the globe with offshore accounts and foreign governments involved. The Iran-Contra affair was but one activity that had links to the S&L institutions that are the subject of this book.

As the title suggests, Mr. Brewton did examine the elder George Bush's connections to people involved in the activities at the financial institutions. There is actually more material dealing with sons Neil, Jeb, and George W. than with the Bush patriarch himself. Some Bush- Saudi connections were exposed and these resurfaced later.

This book turned up some interesting connections between Carlos Marcello and figures in Texas.

Among other subjects, the CIA's aviation assets were investigated regarding drug smuggling and gun running.

Pete Brewton did a thorough job on a complex conspiracy with a large cast of characters, most of them villains on some level.
While dated, this book puts the Savings and Loans scandal in a much brighter light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most important political book available, December 24, 2009
By 
Oswald63 (Heaven above USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mafia, CIA and George Bush (Hardcover)
This is the most profound political book I have ever read. I have read "Dark Alliance", at least three thousand pages of Noam Chomsky, a similar amount from Gore Vidal (including fiction), and let us not forget Jonathan Kwitney (I own "The Crimes of Patriots"). Mr. Brewton not only documents hundreds of serious and egregious financial crimes -and worse- but more importantly he documents within the prose the patterns of behavior that recur among members of "The Company" (CIA). If you read deliberately, and closely, and go over this work carefully, you will be able to spot CIA criminals within the pages of news stories, particularly in the business press.

Everything within the pages of "The Mafia, CIA and George Bush" is current today. What is here was current on September 11th, 2001.

That said, it is tragic that Mr. Brewton has not returned to journalism in any capacity. Yes, he survived where Gary Webb did not, and we can feel good about that, but Pete Brewton is still dead in a way that is very important.

Mr. Brewton should have been hired by the New York Times after this book was published, instead that publication refused to review the book. The New Yorker did not hire him to write for "the magazine" either.

In an interview in 1992, Mr. Brewton said he wanted to write another book. He did, but it's a novel, and clearly not the same, nor is that what he meant in 1992. After 9-11-2001 we need Mr. Brewton to dig in and tie the pieces together.

Get a copy of this book while you can. It is not an easy read, but it will be the most rewarding read of your life.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Mafia, CIA and George Bush
The Mafia, CIA and George Bush by Pete Brewton (Hardcover - Dec. 1992)
Used & New from: $7.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.