Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Help kids stay connected while you're away with Magic Box
"The Magic Box: When Parents Can't Be There To Tuck You In," by Marty Sederman and Seymour Epstein (Magination Press/American Psychological Association, 2003, 32 pages. Ages: 3-7. Paperback,...) When children are faced with a parent's overnight absence, they can be frightened, angry or unhappy. Here's book that shows how families can cope with absences and even have fun...
Published on February 28, 2003

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too difficult for young children
Though the book is well intentioned and provides good ideas of what to do when a parent is away, the text is lengthy and a bit difficult for young children.
Published on April 3, 2007 by C. De Bie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Help kids stay connected while you're away with Magic Box, February 28, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magic Box: When Parents Can't Be There to Tuck You In (Paperback)
"The Magic Box: When Parents Can't Be There To Tuck You In," by Marty Sederman and Seymour Epstein (Magination Press/American Psychological Association, 2003, 32 pages. Ages: 3-7. Paperback,...) When children are faced with a parent's overnight absence, they can be frightened, angry or unhappy. Here's book that shows how families can cope with absences and even have fun with them.
It tells the story of Casey, whose father announces he has to leave town for work again. "Oh no! Don't go!" Casey pleads. Dad explains that although he misses Casey, he simply has to travel sometimes for work. Then he challenges Casey to plan what the two can do together when he's gone. The next day, Mom helps Casey locate where Dad is on a map, and, when he's particularly blue, she surprises Casey with a glittery magic box Dad left for him. The box is filled with hugs and kisses and new markers, the note says. Casey feels much better and decides to make a surprise for Daddy, too.
"The Magic Box" includes a note to parents by clinical psychologist Ann Rasmussen, who explains how temporary absences can actually be positive learning experiences when children find ways to plan for the absence, stay connected to the traveling parent and look forward to the reunion. Such skills, she says, will help kids later in life.
Although the traveling parent in "The Magic Box" is the father, this book may also help families where the mother must be out of town at times for work.
---Sonja Meyer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, December 2, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magic Box: When Parents Can't Be There to Tuck You In (Paperback)
The Magic Box is a well written book about a mom helping her son deal with the sadness of his dad often being away from home. It is a must read for any family who has a member that travels a lot for work. It lets a child know that is is okay to be sad (and even angry) when his dad is not home. It also offers an excellent solution to help ease that child's pain - to make a magic box filled with hugs and kisses. As my 7 year old said, "the best part about this book is that anyone can make a magic box."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too difficult for young children, April 3, 2007
By 
C. De Bie (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magic Box: When Parents Can't Be There to Tuck You In (Paperback)
Though the book is well intentioned and provides good ideas of what to do when a parent is away, the text is lengthy and a bit difficult for young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Children Whose Parents Have to be Away, December 7, 2002
By 
Kimberly Thayer (Easthampton, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Magic Box: When Parents Can't Be There to Tuck You In (Paperback)
Magic for children who miss their travelling parents!
At last a book that reaches out to children facing issues of parental separation of any kind!
I am a professional child-care provider and the mother of a four-year old. Some of the children that I read this book to have parents that are gone for weeks or days. For others, the parents are just out for the evening. But all the children who hear this book, including my son, identify with Casey and Whittnie and are comforted by the story. They are also captivated by the illustrations and are inspired to make magic boxes of their own.
Parents and teaches will find the "Notes to Parents" at the end of the book very helpful.
This book is a must for every home and school library. Definitely five stars.
Kimberly Thayer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful for kids and parents, August 27, 2007
This review is from: The Magic Box: When Parents Can't Be There to Tuck You In (Paperback)
My sons and I checked this out from the library. My husband has to travel at least one week out of each month and it is hard on us. This book was perfect! My sons (ages 4 1/2 and 3) each made a "magic box" this weekend for their dad to take with him on his trip this week and my husband made a box for each of the boys to have while he is away. I plan to give them their boxes when they are having a particularly difficult moment during his time away. What a wonderful book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars keeping connected, February 13, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magic Box: When Parents Can't Be There to Tuck You In (Paperback)
In this busy and fast paced world we live in, it is becoming more difficult to keep family members connected. It is especially difficult if a parent has a job which requires a lot of traveling. Children often do not realize why a parent has to leave so often. This book provides a wonderful way for traveling parents to stay connected to the daily lives of their children. It also gives the child the knowledge that even when dad is not at home he is thinking of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars keeping connected, February 13, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magic Box: When Parents Can't Be There to Tuck You In (Paperback)
In this busy and fast paced world we live in, it is becoming more difficult to keep family members connected. It is especially difficult if a parent has a job which requires a lot of traveling. Children often do not realize why a parent has to leave so often. This book provides a wonderful way for traveling parents to stay connected to the daily lives of their children. It also gives the child the knowledge that even when dad is not at home he is thinking of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story to read to any child whose parents travel for work., October 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Magic Box: When Parents Can't Be There to Tuck You In (Paperback)
My husband travels a lot for work and our boys are sad when Daddy is gone overnight. This book gave us a great idea to make the absences more bearable. I gave one to the school counselor at my son's elementary school as well and she was thrilled with it and is planning on using the book with students who have a parent that is deployed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Magic Box: When Parents Can't Be There to Tuck You In
The Magic Box: When Parents Can't Be There to Tuck You In by Marty Sederman (Paperback - January 1, 2003)
$9.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.