Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book will grow on you!
James Scheer has written and co-authored many excellent health books, and has a long and solid reputation in the nutrition industry. This book pays its respects to the many people who have been trying to make Chia seed a viable crop and educate others on its incredible health benefits. Although a bit simple in its approach, it is an up-to-date resource for those just...
Published on May 24, 2001 by Chris Valgardson

versus
40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chia good, book, bad
I became a Chia fan after reading the book Born to Run and then tried it myself. I wanted to learn more and bought this book. There is some very obtuse history and botony, and some anectodatal, kind of related, medical information, bordering on snake oil salesmanship at times....Chia can cure everything. The recipies at the end are simplistitic and lack originality...
Published on April 25, 2010 by Gus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book will grow on you!, May 24, 2001
This review is from: The Magic of Chia: Revival of an Ancient Wonder Food (Paperback)
James Scheer has written and co-authored many excellent health books, and has a long and solid reputation in the nutrition industry. This book pays its respects to the many people who have been trying to make Chia seed a viable crop and educate others on its incredible health benefits. Although a bit simple in its approach, it is an up-to-date resource for those just learning about the magic of the chia seed and its future potential for changing the health of millions. Read it, apply it, and pass it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chia Seed IS a miracle of nature, January 1, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Chia: Revival of an Ancient Wonder Food (Paperback)
Well, "they" say that the ancients knew best! In the case of chia, that appears to be true. One thing that chia seeds delivers, is boron, which helps transfer calcium to the bones. The author of the Magic of Chia does an excellent job of explaining the historical significance of chia seed, along with its nutritional value. You need to read this one, and start eating it, as I do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chia good, book, bad, April 25, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Chia: Revival of an Ancient Wonder Food (Paperback)
I became a Chia fan after reading the book Born to Run and then tried it myself. I wanted to learn more and bought this book. There is some very obtuse history and botony, and some anectodatal, kind of related, medical information, bordering on snake oil salesmanship at times....Chia can cure everything. The recipies at the end are simplistitic and lack originality. The author seems to be knowledgable, but seems to be holding back information for some reason. I will continue looking for better books on Chia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not much out there on chia, so this may be the best of the bunch, February 11, 2010
By 
Sandy "WR Gma" (Wood River, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Chia: Revival of an Ancient Wonder Food (Paperback)
Small book with primarily historical information. I wanted more recipes than this has to offer. Guess I'll stick with my own drink formulation (water, 2 tablespoons chia seeds and either orange, lemon or lime -- all the fruit except for seeds and peel -- sweetener to taste, whizzed in the blender to pulverize and mix it all. And, if you leave it too long, the chia gets gelatinous which I don't find particularly pleasant. I prefer the tiny seeds since I just chug it anyway.) I find the beverage mix filling, but the process of cleaning the blender is a bit of a disincentive, especially if I've let the seeds get gelatinous and sticky. My other planned use is on top of the "no knead" artisan bread loaves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CHIA, July 8, 2008
By 
Abby (Plano, TX USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Chia: Revival of an Ancient Wonder Food (Paperback)
Chia seeds have been around for years, but few people have heard about them. I was very interested in what the author said about the benefits of eating Chia seeds and adding them to your cooking. There are several pages of recipes included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the magic of chia, October 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Chia: Revival of an Ancient Wonder Food (Paperback)
i just want to share to you that really appreciate this book, acomplete information about this amazing chia seeds. chia was introduced to me by my sister, and i was really curious to know more about the product that i am taking! and boy! i really am satisfied about the benifits of chia seeds, from it's history to it's medical wonders!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chia Magic, February 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Chia: Revival of an Ancient Wonder Food (Paperback)
This book will give you an extensive background into the history of Chia seeds. I did expect a different approach. Perhaps there isn't a more detailed account of its properties. I was slightly disappointed in it as the info. i wanted could be gotten on the internet. The basic recipe and a list of health benefits are easily gotten on the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Find out about CHIA, September 21, 2007
By 
A. Hayward (Palm Beach Gardens, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Chia: Revival of an Ancient Wonder Food (Paperback)
Chia is one of the best kept seacrets in the health food field. This book gives you a complete rundown on what Chia is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chia for Everyone, August 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Chia: Revival of an Ancient Wonder Food (Paperback)
This book was very informative and interesting. Writer is concise, accurate and verifies his information. This truly is a breakthrough in modern health, and the whole world would do well to learn from it. Most especially Western culture of processing food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Magic of Chia, October 2, 2008
This review is from: The Magic of Chia: Revival of an Ancient Wonder Food (Paperback)
Incredible book -- everyone should know of the value of Chia seed and have this book for the best reference ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Magic of Chia: Revival of an Ancient Wonder Food
The Magic of Chia: Revival of an Ancient Wonder Food by James F. Scheer (Paperback - January 30, 2001)
$14.95 $12.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.