Customer Reviews


637 Reviews
5 star:
 (587)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


225 of 227 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Details For An Impressive Set That Advocates Active Learning And Parental Involvement
For four fact filled seasons from 1994 to 1998, "The Magic School Bus" paved the way for kids to believe that science was cool. As the television landscape continues to devolve, it's refreshing to see the Bus resurface in this Complete Series collection. Charming and educational, this animated delight is comprised of 52 thirty minute episodes. Ms. Frizzle (voiced by...
Published on August 17, 2012 by K. Harris

versus
93 of 113 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not captioned or subtitled!
FYI: Unlike the television broadcast and the individual DVDs you can purchase - the DVDs in this set do NOT have any closed captioning or subtitles so the material is inaccessible to children with hearing loss. We were so disappointed.
Published 23 months ago by TC Smutny


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

225 of 227 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Details For An Impressive Set That Advocates Active Learning And Parental Involvement, August 17, 2012
This review is from: The Magic School Bus: The Complete Series (DVD)
For four fact filled seasons from 1994 to 1998, "The Magic School Bus" paved the way for kids to believe that science was cool. As the television landscape continues to devolve, it's refreshing to see the Bus resurface in this Complete Series collection. Charming and educational, this animated delight is comprised of 52 thirty minute episodes. Ms. Frizzle (voiced by the distinctive and invaluable Lily Tomlin) takes her class of enthusiastic students on trips filled with fantasy and wonder. Astronomy, biology, geology, physics, chemistry, paleontology, and just about every other "ology" gets a visit or two through the course of the various field trips. However, if you're shopping "The Magic School Bus: The Complete Series," you probably want to know what is included with your investment.

Packaging: The box set looks great. The cover is done in a 3-D lenticular design that already ups the cool quotient. Each of the eight DVDs is enclosed in its own case within the set with complete episode information for easy access. Each individual season has thirteen episodes over two of the DVDs.

Content: 52 episodes at approximately 22 hours of complete running time. Recommended ages 4-10. English or Spanish language options.

Bonus Material: A 24 page kids activity guide is a nice addition (though not the most sophisticated presentation I've ever seen). More valuable is the Parents' Guide. This tool helps you orchestrate lessons with your kids and makes this an invaluable teaching tool. I, personally, love that "The Magic School Bus" advocates parent involvement as opposed to being just another TV show to plant your kids in front of (although that's certainly an option too).

Easily recommended, but perhaps cost prohibitive, there are smaller packaging choices available if you're on a budget. The ones I'm listing are new sets to DVDs (although episodes will overlap if you have previously released compilations). That is a potential pitfall to this buying strategy. If you want to collect "The Magic Bus," there are past DVD releases and new DVD releases and, if you're not diligent, it would be very easy to purchase some of the same episodes under different titles. The Complete Series choice will eliminate this possible duplication and offers every epsiode (some never before on DVD).

These two lower price compilation have an assortment of 12 episodes each:
(1) Blast Off! From Sea To Space
(2) Field Trip Fun and Games

Or even smaller, these four sets have about 90 minutes of content that bring episodes relating to a specific topic together:
(1) The Human Body
(2) Super Star Power
(3) Takes a Dive (coral reefs, tidal zones, etc)
(4) Takes Flight (weather, flying, etc.)

I love and respect "The Magic School Bus." Educational TV can be interactive and entertaining! KGHarris, 8/12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wahoo!, May 20, 2012
This review is from: The Magic School Bus: The Complete Series (DVD)
"Magic School Bus" was a major part of my TV-watching experience when I was a child. So honestly, watching the series today is a trip down memory lane -- and despite some scientific changes (such as computer advances or Pluto being exiled), "Magic School Bus: The Complete Series" still stands as a good, educational show for kids.

The story series around Ms. Valerie Frizzle (Lily Tomlin), an eccentric elementary-school teacher who dresses according to the episode's theme. She has a sentient lizard named Liz, and a school bus that can transform into whatever the episode requires.

She has a class of about eight students, who never seem to have math class or anything that requires them to actually stay in the building. Instead, Ms. Frizzle takes them on daily field trips, which the shape-shifting/time-traveling/shrinking bus allows them to do... in a very hands-on manner.

So the class goes on adventures in the digestive system, the bloodstream, a pickle jar, space (multiple times), the desert, a rotting log, an anthill, the Cretaceous Period, the water cycle, the bus's engine, a toy plane, Herp Haven, a beehive, an old monster movie, the Arctic, a magic pinball machine, muscles, the rainforest, a chicken egg, the swamp, the interior of a nose, electrical currents, a computer, a coral reef and so on.

And they learn about all sorts of things -- erosion, stars, cells, friction, ecosystems, microbes, recycling, tidepools, muscle oxygenation, reptiles, bats, light tricks, sound etc. Nothing is hugely in-depth, but they give a pretty good start for kids.

"Magic School Bus" was made in the mid-1990s, but it's actually held up quite well. Except for a few things that have changed (Pluto and home computers), most of the science stuff in this series is still pretty valid. It conveys sometimes-complex scenarios (muscle oxygenation) in a simple, easy-to-understand manner.

And they mix it up with plenty of comedy (Ms. Frizzle's entrances are always... unique) and some explicit demonstrations of just how these things work (a frictionless baseball game!). One warning for adults, though: lots of puns. LOTS of puns.

Though the kids have the appearance of having been chosen so no ethnic group would feel left out, they're each given a pretty decent characterization. One is sensible and bookish, one is strong and impulsive, one is idealistic and always talking about her "old school," one is overimaginative, one is a clown, et cetera.

It's been around for almost two decades, but "Magic School Bus: The Complete Series" has actually aged pretty well, and is still a solid form of education/entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rare and wonderful - I LOVE THEM ALL, April 30, 2012
This review is from: The Magic School Bus: The Complete Series (DVD)
Suitable for ages 3+ these animated adventures combine entertainment with education to help kids "learn about science in a fun way". Each episode is a half-hour long. Only 54 were made in the mid-1990s, with no plans to make any more, unfortunately, as they are wonderful. I LOVE THEM ALL.

Joyful and uplifting, The Magic School Bus children's cartoon series is rare because it is one of the few completely free from violence and brutality. (Studies have found that youngsters tend to mimic "fantasy" negative behavior seen on TV - which anyone with some common sense knows - so why is there so much, and for decades? Especially since, as other research shows, children actually prefer non-violent entertainment.)

Recently I sent a relative the full set of 54 for her grandchild (aged 4, whom she was looking after while her daughter had to be away on mid-wifery training) and was told "She has watched and watched the Magic School Bus over and over, all of them".

The complete collection is finally available again. Don't miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 113 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not captioned or subtitled!, November 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Magic School Bus: The Complete Series (DVD)
FYI: Unlike the television broadcast and the individual DVDs you can purchase - the DVDs in this set do NOT have any closed captioning or subtitles so the material is inaccessible to children with hearing loss. We were so disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Background music and effects are missing on some disck., January 1, 2013
This review is from: The Magic School Bus: The Complete Series (DVD)
The movies themselves are great, but quality of the DVDs needs to be improved. Music and background effects are missing on some discs, only the dialogs can be heard. But when we played with the audio function on our DVD player and switched to Spanish language we didn't have that problem. We e-mailed the company, waiting for the response.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Magic School Bus: The Complete Series (DVD)
The kids, 9 and 10 love to watch them. They wished they had a teacher like that. Science made simple for kids to grasp, understand and remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Defective, March 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Magic School Bus: The Complete Series (DVD)
Comments:Disc 3 doesn't work properly. You can't access the disc menu. The disc auto plays the first episode and then shuts off preventing access to any other episodes, if there are any on this disc (there are supposed to be several episodes). We haven't tried all the discs, but many of them and they've all worked fine and we've enjoyed watching those although we wish it had closed captioning or subtitles for our hearing impaired child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dvd's for kids but Amazon's pricing stinks, August 7, 2012
By 
mark a. (issaquah, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Magic School Bus: The Complete Series (DVD)
My kids love these; they laugh at them. And they're educational, so I love them too, and we can talk about them at the end. But I'm surprised that Amazon isn't competing on price. Amazon charges fifty-seven bucks while Barnes & Noble charges forty-eight bucks. I notified Amazon long ago about the price differential, but they didn't respond. Shop around folks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reinforcement for science curriculum!, September 7, 2012
This review is from: The Magic School Bus: The Complete Series (DVD)
This is my first time seeing The Magic Schoolbus episodes, and I purchased them solely on other peoples reviews. We are a first year homeschooling family, and I have found that these videos are a wonderful complement and reinforcement of what we are learning. We have only watched 3 episodes so far, on habitats, kitchen science, and the water cycle. They are entertaining enough to keep my 10 year old interested, as well as the other 3 children. Even my 2 year old gets excited about the Magic Schoolbus! I would highly recommend them for educational and entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Magic School Bus, May 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Magic School Bus: The Complete Series (DVD)
Great gift for my nephew, I loved this series as a kid myself, it is very educational and entertaining for kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Magic School Bus: The Complete Series
The Magic School Bus: The Complete Series by Charles E. Bastien (DVD - 2012)
$79.95 $46.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.