Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
69
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 4, 2010
Pickpocket-turned-wizard Connwaer is back for his biggest adventure ever in FOUND, the final book in the Magic Thief fantasy trilogy. This series is set in the magical city of Wellmet, which is comprised of two very different sections separated by a serpentine river flowing between them: beautiful and glamorous Sunrise on the eastern shore, and ugly, run-down Twilight on the western shore, home to all of Wellmet's warehouses and factories. The Dutchess Willa Forestal ruled over Sunrise with the help of her wizards, while Twilight found itself in the fearsome clutches of Underlord Crowe, whose minions handed out their own brand of justice.

Conn had been a "sneakthief" and "gutterboy" living on the mean streets of Twilight, trying to fill his stomach each day while evading the Underlord's grasp. That was before the great wizard Nevery Flinglas had found him and made him his own apprentice. Conn had gone to live with Nevery and his muscle man Benet in Nevery's mansion, Heartsease, on an island in the river.

In the first book, Conn had discovered that the magic that protected Wellmet and indeed enabled the city to exist at all was a living being. Magical spells were simply words spoken in the being's own tongue to enable the wizard to communicate with it, with the aid of a locus magicalicus, or a magic stone. However, in protecting the magical being from an enemy who sought to trap the magic of the city, Conn had lost his splendid locus magicalicus with which to speak to, and direct, the magic of Wellmet.

The second installment described Conn's increasingly frenzied attempts, using dangerous pyrotechnics, to find a new locus magicalicus with which to fend off the deadly shadowmen who targeted Wellmet. Since the use of pyrotechnics within the city wall's was strictly forbidden, Conn found himself banished from Wellmet and sent to the distant desert land of Desh. But exotic Desh, ruled by a crazed Sorceror-King, turned out to hold the secrets behind the shadowmen and the key to Wellmet's own fate.

In the final part of the trilogy, Conn has found his way back to Wellmet, a city that is in perilous danger from the evil magic Arhionvar that is coming to kill the city's magic and, by extension, the city itself. To save his home, Conn must travel far from Wellmet in search of a new locus magicalicus at the very time that the city needs him most. Conn's heart-stopping journey into uncharted lands leads him finally to dragons --- long-forgotten, mysterious creatures out of legend. Now Conn must discover the surprising connection between dragons and Wellmet's magic, and use his knowledge to learn what Arhionvar wants and how the magic of Wellmet can survive in the face of the assault from Arhionvar.

FOUND easily lives up to the promise of the other books in this delightful trilogy, giving the reader a thrill-a-minute ride to the very end. Conn --- wily, bright and determined to do the right thing at any cost to himself --- leaps off the pages of the book as a memorable and intriguing young hero. His many friends, such as Nevery Flinglas, the stern but goodhearted wizard; Benet, a bear of a man who loves to bake, knit and clean; Rowan Forestal, the beautiful and brave daughter of the Dutchess; Kerrn, the dutiful yet fair captain of the Guard; and Embre, the mysterious pyrotechnics man from Twilight, all lend interest to the story.

The heart of the story, though, belongs entirely to the dragons, which breathe warmth, color and majestic beauty into the tale. I enjoyed how they were portrayed, as fundamentally mysterious and awe-inspiring creatures answerable only to themselves, rather than as large and cuddly rides as is sometimes the case. The scenes leading Conn up the mountains and into the dragon's lair are so vividly and gorgeously described that readers can see the entire breathtaking scene unfold in front of them in cinematographic scope, a sign perhaps that this trilogy would be just as enjoyable in movie format.

As with the previous books in the series, FOUND is visually gorgeous with artwork that is perfectly matched to this enchanting story. The cover art with its vibrant, gemlike color has immediate appeal, as do the many beautiful illustrations by Antonio Javier Caparo, inserts of letters from different characters, knitting patterns, character guides, and secret rune codes that fill the pages of the book.

English professor, Tolkien expert, and dragon fan Sarah Prineas has given us a magical new fantasy classic for all ages. My only complaint is that the series was done before I was quite ready to say goodbye to Conn, Nevery, Pip and all the other characters.

--- Reviewed by Usha Reynolds
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 3, 2011
Volume 1, (The Magic Thief), effectively established the characters and the plot arcs for the trilogy. Volume 2, (Lost), was passable, but like all middle volumes it's purpose was to move the story and the players to the final installment, and to introduce whatever plot elements were needed to establish a foundation for the final installment.

So, the question then becomes, was it worth it and is this final volume worth the wait and effort? I would suggest that the answer to those questions is "yes". Each character stays true to form, but develops. I'm not a dragon fan at all, but the dragon's role here feels authentic. The conclusion is satisfying. The writing is leaner than in volume 2, and the author wastes little time moving the tale along.

This trilogy just seems like a very good introduction to quest/fantasy for younger readers, and well worth your consideration.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2011
I've bought, borrowed and begged feedback from kids to find a series my son would love and not just read because we make him. He is up early reading this book. It is the third one and he takes it with him everywhere. He has 24 pages left and is really upset to see the end is near. I just googled the author and there is a fourth, but not scheduled for release until 2014. Raise a voice to the publisher and let's get this book now.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2015
This has been a wonderful trilogy. My son and I have been reading the Magic Thief series together and have loved Conn's adventures in becoming a wizard against all odds. It has been a while since this book cam out, however, it appears that Conn will be returning in a 4th book later this year, Super!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2014
This is the third book in the Magic Thief series by Prineas. It was an excellent book in this series. The fourth book in this series, Magic Thief: Home, just came out last week. I was unable to find confirmation that there will be a fifth book in the series, but I did find a comment by Prineas saying she does have ideas for a 5th book. This is a wonderful fantasy read that is great for all ages.

I listened to this on audiobook and the audiobooks for this series are incredibly well done. The narrator gets Conn’s voice spot on and does an excellent job with the other characters as well. We listened to this in the car on a road trip as a family and everyone really enjoyed it (my son is 7 years old).

Conn has been exiled from Wellmet and his master Nevery isn’t pleased with him. Conn is determined to stay in the city of Wellmet and protect it from the evil magic that is coming. However, when things take a turn for the worse Conn is forced to leave Wellmet. On his adventures he discovers some truly astonishing secrets about magic and how it is tied to the cities.

This was an excellent book in this series. There is a lot of magic, adventure, and humor. The characters all have great relationships (wonderful friendships and mentor/student) with each other and I really enjoyed that too. I love the positive messages, the humor, and the wonderfully unique magic. This book includes....DRAGONS...so awesome!

Conn is such a plucky youth which such a positive outlook on things. Yet he started life as a thief and is struggling to prove himself as a wizard. He is always determined to do what it right despite what other people try to force him to do. He also always tells the truth, even if other people aren’t happy with that truth. He is funny and daring and just a wonderful character.

We also spend a lot more time with Rowan and the new Lord of Twilight, Ember. Both are wonderful characters. I really enjoy Rowan as a character. She is a young woman with a huge responsibility being thrust on her. She’s a great role model, she knows how to deal with Conn’s independence and she is just a ton of fun to read about.

This book does an excellent job of wrapping up the storyline involving evil magic invading Wellmet. The ending did feel a bit rushed, so I am happy to see there is another book coming out for this series.

Overall this was another wonderful book in this series. I just can’t say enough good things about this series. These books are packed with magic, adventure, and excitement. The characters have healthy relationships, there is humor in here, and I love the characters and world. I can't wait to read Magic Thief: Home when it releases. This whole series is highly recommended to fantasy fans of all ages. It’s one of my favorite middle grade fantasy series ever.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2014
Story for young and old. Conn, the protagonist, a thief who battles obstacles to eventually become magician of wellmet.
Great friendships, creepy villains, helpful animals, both real an imaginary, quests, battles, several imprisonments, and tasty biscuits all combine to make this a fun series to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2012
The Magic Thief:Found is the third and final instalment of The Magic Thief series. It has a great adventure with exotic characters including twists and turns in the story. The book has wonderful art work throughout which really adds to the story. The story answers a lot of the questions wondered about from the first two books such as: What is slow silver? or Where did slow silver come from?

Sarah Prineas writes with more versatile landscape than in the first two and adds more maturity in the characters.

For parents looking for great reads for their children--there is no real violence and focuses on good verses evil. It ends well and everything is resolved peacefully.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2014
Bought this for my 4th grader. He enjoyed the 1st and 2nd books. He requested this, the 3rd and final to complete the series. Don't really know 1st hand how good they are, just happy he is reading. That's aces in my book as I try to counterbalance the pull video games have on his generation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
Well this was a good story and made it tuff to see it end.

The book continued to move well, characters and relationship continued and grew.

It was a good ending since it was not a "cliche ending" but some may not like that, still maybe it could be used to launch a followup for an older Conn story?????

Sad to see it end but enjoyed the story and will keep in on the Kindle for sometime in the future to re-read when I have had time to forget much of it with all the other fantasy reads I do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2013
Excellent book and a brilliant chapter in this storyline. Agree with reviewer who said he/she was not yet ready to say goodbye to Conn and his friends. We barely met Pip who you KNOW could cause all sorts of problems with the Magisters and Sunrise. Am hoping Ms. Prineas will continue this series with new books. I would readily pay the same fee for more of Conn that I do for Harry Potter and J.D.Robb. I don't suppose a petition would be effective or inspiring to Ms. Prineas.

Get the book. You won't be sorry until you reach the end. At the end, you will be sorry it IS the end. (sigh)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.