Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon March 19, 2014
It may not have been the best Masters, but it was close, so very close and this very fine book brings it all to life again, Nicklaus, Weiskopf, and Miller (and a very young Tom Watson was in it for a long time).

The drama, the emotion, the competition and a turning point in three of golf's greatest careers. Hard earned and gloriously earned as it was, it was Jack's last Masters title in his prime...who could ever forget that golden mane on that confident, stalking lion-like bear of a golfer on 16 that grand and glorious day. Perfect for golf and the Masters in every way...

For Weiskopf, it was his last and perhaps greatest disappointment in his Masters career...always a bride's maid, never a bride. And for Johnny Miller it was another major disappointment in an all too short career. Then there was Watson, giving a glimpse of the career that was to come...if he only he had not hit it in the water at 16.

The Greatest Masters? It is impossible to say that any one tournament is the "greatest" in an event with the tradition that the Masters has but this one would have to be close, so very close...

And the black and white pictures...while it seems like only yesterday in our minds and hearts, these black and white photos prove how very long ago it really was...

Yes, I was there, and after 40 years, it remains one of the most memorable highlights of a truly blessed career of watching and following athletics. One of the very best memories. I was blessed to be there, and now we are blessed to have this very fine book that brings it all back again
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2014
I simply couldn't put it down. I'm from Columbus and have followed The Golden Bear's career and have often wondered why Tom Weiskopf and Johnny Miller's careers never reached the mountop. Well, this book clearly provides the answers especially from very interesting recent insights from the players themselves and many others. Weiskopf and Miler are very candid with their thoughts then and now! Great stuff and a very quick reading prose. Read it this week in preparation for "A tradition unlike any other: The Masters". You'll be fired up and ready to go this Thursday!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2014
A great read for any golfer, sports fans and anyone who likes a great story. Very informative, lots of facts that I never knew. It's easy to start reading and not want to put down. I recommended to many friends and those who have finished it where very pleased,,, if you are a golfer it is a must read!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2015
What a great tournament. It was probably the best Masters finish ever. The author Gil Capps did a "Masterful" job of setting the stage for the final round on Sunday. In building up to that final round, he gave us considerable background on the Masters tournament and the top players, especially the three who could have won Sunday--Johnny Miller, Tom Weiskoff, and Jack Nicklaus. This outstanding book did remind me of another great golf book--The Match in which Hogan and Nelson took on Ward and Venturi. One other oddity. When I finished the Kindle book and the Review form popped up, my Kindle said I was at 72% completion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2014
The author has the unique ability to provide statistics to give context to the story. I have read a considerable number of books by some of golf's best writers, Jenkins, Darwin, Wind, Price, etc., however Capps did something few can do and that is make his case about the tournament and the players with facts. All that and at the same time build an interesting and captivating story. Learning more about the fathers of key 3 players helped me better understand their rise in the game. Lastly, reliving one irons and 4 woods "to 15 feet from the hole" was a reminder that, while today's stars achieve amazing feats, the best of any era could compete with the best in today's era. I thought it would be just another book about golf and the Masters, but was surprised that it was so much more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 9, 2014
Arguably the 1970s were the "good old days" of golf. The sport's enthusiasts refer to that time because of the quality of players who brought golf into our living room at that time and captured the imagination of walking majestic fairways. Author Gill Capps reminds us of of that as he relates the image of young Nick Faldo who was more interested in the beauty of Augusta than in the game taking place there.

Although the 1975 Masters is the singular point of this book, the real focus is on the three top golfers of the year (Jack Nicklaus, Johnny Miller and Tom Weiskopf), and their personalities and preparation in the event. Alone the way, Capps reminds us that the 1975 event also was the first time a black golfer (Lee Elder) qualified to play although Capps doesn't really present anything that hasn't been discussed previously.

Nicklaus, Weiskopf and Miller we're considered at top top of there game in 75 although Nicklaus was clearly the more intimidating of the three. Weiskopf likely never reached his potential in his career (likely because of his drinking issues and his infatuation with Nicklaus's game) and Miller...although recognized as having been singularly focused by his father to play, could never conquer greens east of the Mississippi.

This is not a shot-by-shot story of the 75 Masters as much as it is a study of those three golfers and the way the approached the game. Enjoyable for the golf fan and particularly those remembering the 70s.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2014
An extremely well researched and well written account of a fabulous event, a period in golf history, and the principal characters. I particularly enjoyed Capp's documenting the personal accounts and mindset of Nicklaus, Weiskopf and Miller. A terrific book.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2014
Having spent several decades as part of the Tournament, this book wonderfully describes its aura, history, wonder, and excitement. Golf fans will have to read it, as it is chock full of previously unknown nuggets of candid admissions from the sport's greatest competitors. I highly recommend it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2014
Great book about one of the greatest masters! Hogan 53, Palmers 1st , Woods 1st, and Jacks last are great but my favorite was this one in 1975. The stories surrounding it amazing. Hall of famers took almost every one of the top 10 spots!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2014
This is a good book. The author set the mood and atmosphere well and provided some worthy background on Johnny Miller and Tom Weiskopf. I had forgotten about Miller's brother dying at such a young age. And I have a new appreciation for Weiskopf. The tournament itself was covered nicely and its impact toward future Masters tournaments was also delineated.

My only qualm that prevented a five-star rating is the author needed some "light" editing assistance. He has too many minor errors that took away from the presentation. For someone so highly-regarded in the field of research, etc. to point out Nicklaus finished second in the Canadian Open "six" times, when the real number is seven, is unfortunate. If he didn't have the correct number, don't point it out. In addition, the sun will "peek" through clouds, not "peak". There are others sprinkled throughout.

However, for this generation of golf fans who only know Tiger, Phil, etc., this is highly-recommended to let them know a little of the game's rich history and its great players from the past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse