Truck Month Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 1, 2005
I was pleasantly surprised to find so much information packed into this book. Readers learn how the best seller lists are compiled, how (sadly) few new titles rise to the top each year, what factors make a best seller and what agents and editors are looking for. The interviews with industry pros and successful authors are insightful and this book not only prompts questions, but comes through and delivers ANSWERS. A great insight into the publishing industry for writers or anyone interested in how the book industry operates.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 4, 2005
In preparing their book The Making of a Bestseller Brian Hill and Dee Power interviewed more than fifty authors, agents, editors, booksellers, and assorted publishing industry experts on the subject of bestsellers--how books attain that status, what it costs an author to remain on the bestseller lists, what role various parties play in the creation of a best-selling book. The responses Hill and Power received form the backbone of their book, in which interview snippets are arranged thematically and interspersed with explanatory or introductory narrative. The book's eighteen chapters are divided into three broad sections--The Bestseller, Publishing, and The Author. The topics covered are too numerous to mention here, but the authors have included discussions of, for example, the various best-selling lists and how they are compiled; the importance--or not--of print reviews to a book's success; the influence of agents and editors on a manuscript; how booksellers select the titles they stock; and the process of adapting bestsellers for the screen.

The Making of a Bestseller is well written and clearly organized, and it is chock full of information about how the publishing industry works. Its authors, in interviewing so many subjects from throughout the publishing world, show readers a cross-section of the industry with its various strata, from author to bookseller, laid bare. The book should be of interest to would-be authors looking to scale the heights of bestsellerdom themselves as well as to industry insiders. Fans of the authors interviewed--among them Dan Brown, Peter Straub, Barbara Taylor Bradford, and Nicholas Sparks--may also be interested in this behind-the-scenes look at their favorite books.

Reviewed by Debra Hamel, author of Trying Neaira: The True Story of a Courtesan's Scandalous Life in Ancient Greece
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2005
In The Making of a Bestseller, authors Brian Hill and Dee Power reveal the secrets of the highest levels of publishing. They achieve this notable goal by asking those who occupy those dizzying heights questions designed to probe the mysterious mechanisms that propel books to the bestseller lists. To dig this information out they interview bestselling authors, agents, editors, booksellers; in short every one who plays a part in the process of creating books that fly off the shelves. The insight they provide, along with Hill and Power's fun and entertaining writing style, makes this book a must read for anyone curious about what it takes to make a bestseller. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a collection of information from interviews with authors, editors, agents and booksellers who were involved in the making of a bestseller. It is organized into three distinct sections - The Bestseller, Publishing, and The Author. Part one includes an examination of what makes a book become a bestseller, the effect of reviews, and how the constant change readers' taste affects the sale of a book. Part two examines editors and publishers, what publishers look for in a book they select for publication, why some books are declined, using literary agents, establishing brand name awareness, and book promotion. Part three examines how to build a career as an author from the initial idea to writing the book and the ins and outs of life as a bestselling author. There are no theories in this book; it is all advice and experiences from established publishers and bestselling authors. The Making of a Bestseller is recommended to anyone who wants to understand what it takes to become a bestselling author.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2005
The collaboration of Brian Hill and Dee Power, The Making Of A Bestseller: Success Stories From Authors And The Editors, Agents, And Booksellers Behind Them answers the fundamental question of why certain authors seem to be able to have what they write consistently end up on best seller lists. Readers will learn how literary agents affect the publishing process, how good and bad reviews affect sales, what the role of the bookseller is with respect to a book's success or failure in the marketplace, the importance of marketing and publicity in determining a books impact upon the reading public. The Making Of A Bestseller reveals just how more than fifty best-selling authors approach the craft of writing and marketing their books in ways that aspiring authors can emulate with their own works. If you want to be a professional author whose books are commercially successful, then give a very careful and considerate study to The Making Of A Bestseller.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2005
Here's a book that can really deliver. You have questions? They have answers. Brian Hill and Dee Power interview over fifty authorities to give us an in-depth and close-up look into the complex publishing world of best selling books.

In an easy to read format, we receive our information by way of informal interview. Authors, editors, agents, and booksellers explain what it takes and how it works. Candid tips and tidbits reveal the steps to success with personal stories that punctuate the enormous difficulty and ultimate reward of perseverance. More than worth the cover price, "The Making Of A Bestseller" is a must read for anyone interested or invested in learning more about this industry. Excellent.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 28, 2005
Anyone who comes up with a title like THE MAKING OF A BEST SELLER, and then puts the words: authors, editors, agents, and booksellers in the subtitle, has immediatly captured those of us who have written books, are writing books, are selling books, or dream of ever writing a book. This morning after Amazon sent me an email saying I might like this book...and I read the title... I was compelled me to stop and look. Then I read the first chapter and immediately knew I'd refer this book to all my author friends. I'm buying this book because as the author of four books, three with a major publisher - I still only DREAM of making the New York Times best seller list! And dreams need the fuel of inspiring stories. Good job,

Brian Hill, and Dee Power!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2005
If you've ever wondered what goes into the making of a best selling book, The Making of a Bestseller is a must read. This is a very informative book. Authors Dee Power and Brian Hill talk with numerous people involved with book publishing. They also interviewed authors who have obtained the rank of having written a best seller. This book gives information from both the author and publishing points of view.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2005
Brian Hill and Dee Power have written this inside look into the business of writing with a natural and approachable style. The light handed touches of humor and the down to earth language made this a very enjoyable read. I have never written an Amazon Review until now but was compelled to add my voice to the others. Count me as a very satisfied consumer.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2008
As the unpublished auhor of two novels I have read dozens of books about writing and publishing. Most either regurgitate tiresome old addages ( write everyday; use rejection as a motivator) or worse are filled with false hope and flowery descriptions of how to raise your craft to the level of great literature (usually written by other frustrated authors who have either not been able to publish fiction or who have published but not sold well).

This book is written witht he insight of two seasoned veterans of the publishing business who share their experience and knowledge with anyone willing to read. We learn about the ins and outs of the best seller list and are given a strong dose of realism about our chances af making the list or of getting published in the first place. Realistic but not discouraging the authors are carefully temper our enthusiasm so that we an absorb the information in a way that we can make useful.

In the end this book gives many clues to how to be the excption and crack the best seller list while preparing us for the long road that we must travel to have a chance. Write a good book and be persistant in our efforts in getting published are the themes that stand out the most after reading this book and if we as writers do that then we should be satisfied in our efforts regardless of our comercial success
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.