Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NICE EDITION: SAVE SOME SHELF SPACE
This is of course a combination of the first three books which make up "The Melloreon," which is the continuation of the five books that made up "The Belgariad." In this one volume you get Gardians fo the West, King of the Murgos and Demon Lord of Karanda. This is actually a pretty good deal as it does save some space. On the other hand, the print in this edition is...
Published on November 14, 2008 by D. Blankenship

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Series
I love this series, but I am not liking the size of this book. It is too big and akward to hold when reading. The only good thing about it really was the price so I will live with it. I really wanted to get these on my kindle but apparently that is never going to happen so I gave up and bought the paper back version (again). Would not reccommend this to my friends.
Published on January 24, 2013 by CindyLynn


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NICE EDITION: SAVE SOME SHELF SPACE, November 14, 2008
This review is from: The Malloreon, Vol. 2 (Books 4 & 5): Sorceress of Darshiva, The Seeress of Kell (Paperback)
This is of course a combination of the first three books which make up "The Melloreon," which is the continuation of the five books that made up "The Belgariad." In this one volume you get Gardians fo the West, King of the Murgos and Demon Lord of Karanda. This is actually a pretty good deal as it does save some space. On the other hand, the print in this edition is smaller than normal and if your eyes are getting as old as mine, then this is something to consider. That is really the only gripe I have about this particular book.

As has been pointed out by many, many reviewers, these books are not "high literature," and in fact are completely filled with errors from the first book to the last. That is not a problem though. As I have pointed out in other reviews on this series, these books are simply fun to read. The plot is simple and to be honest, The Melloreon is just another version of The Belgariad, only told just a bit differently. Again, this is okay, they are still fun. I read these books purely for the relaxation. I know the characters as I have read the books several times, could care less about the plot, and don't rally have to give any deep thought to the reading process. Now don't get me wrong, it would be horrible to have an absolute steady diet of this stuff, but to read these books between heavier works sort of acts as a cleaning agent.

For a light read that is purely for entertainment, you cannot go wrong. You must start though with the first book in The Belagriad which is the Pawn of Prophecy, and read all the books in order our you will never know what is going on. After reading the first book in the two series, and if you find you do not like it, then drop them and don't waste your time as you get about ten books of the same.

Personally, I love this entire series and plan to keep reading them even as I wear copy after copy out.

Don Blankenship
The Ozarks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read!, September 27, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Malloreon, Vol. 2 (Books 4 & 5): Sorceress of Darshiva, The Seeress of Kell (Paperback)
I read the two books that are contained in this single volume when they were originally released. It was difficult waiting the 12-18 months between volumes. Each book is well-written, fast-paced, resolves things for the reader -- and then creates another dilemma which leaves the reader hanging -- until the next book hit the bookstores.

The Malloreon Epic Series is the sequel to the equally gripping trilogy, The Belgariad. Eddings creates a mythical world -- the kingdoms of the West and the Angaraks and populates it with noble people you will come to love -- and villains you will justly despise. Good is represented by Garion, farm boy turned warrior king, Belagarath, the 7,000 year old immortal sorcerer, and Belgarath's daughter, the Sorceress Polgara.

Garion becomes King of Riva after slaying the evil God Torak. You will admire his sense of justice and right and wrong as the series evolves. Garion and his wife, Queen CeNedra have an infant son who is kidnapped by Zandramas, the Child of Dark. If he cannot be rescued the boy will be used in a ritual that will make Dark Destiny supreme forever.

In these final two volumes Garion and his companions must reach The Place Which is No More to rescue Garion's son and prevent the Dark Prophecy from being fulfilled. The Seeress of Kell is the only one who can reveal the location, but first Garion and Polgara must fulfill an ancient prophecy.

And the more that Garion and his party learn and accomplish in order to defeat Zandramas, save the world, and rescue the Garion's son, the more they are at risk of having Zandrama's dark magic extract what the group has learned by entering the mind of one of them.

Once again Eddings has continues to spin story lines that keep you reading past the time when you'd promised yourself you would stop. And because the series is now complete you don't have to ration yourself because it will be a long wait for the next installment -- read on, the next and final installment is in the back of the volume.

I highly recommend this series to anyone who loves to see good triumph over evil and sacrifice justly rewarded.

Armchair Interviews says: These are novels that won't disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, inexpensive and practical :), September 21, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Malloreon, Vol. 2 (Books 4 & 5): Sorceress of Darshiva, The Seeress of Kell (Paperback)
This edition compiles the two last books in "The Malloreon" series, "Sorceress of Darshiva" and "The Seeress of Kell". In my opinion, those books are a fitting conclusion to the adventures of Belgarion and his friends, and will leave you eager to read more.

Belgarion, the Child of Light, is still seeking the clues in order to know where to meet Zandramas, the Child of Darkness. Along the way, his former enemy Zakath (the Emperor of Mallorea) and some other unlikely companions will join his cause. Cyradis, the seeress of Kell will also be part of this journey, at the end of which she will have to choose between two new Childs of light and Darkness, in an event that will involve the fate of our friends but also that of the rest of the world.

In my opinion, buying "The Malloreon: volume two" is a great idea, because it is an inexpensive and practical way of getting hold of the last two volumes in "The Malloreon" series. This volume doesn't take up too much space, but contains wonderful adventures that will keep you entertained, and laughing. On the whole, highly recommended :)

Belen Alcat

PS: If you are one of the many fans that already read the series but wants to buy an extra copy of their very well-read books (my case), do it, but don't forget that Eddings also has other excellent series. I specially recommend the Elenium triology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reading, November 12, 2006
This review is from: The Malloreon, Vol. 2 (Books 4 & 5): Sorceress of Darshiva, The Seeress of Kell (Paperback)
I was introduced to this series a couple of years ago and I've been in love with it ever since. I can't believe I never came across it sooner. Of course now that I've read it I come across it in book stores all the time now. This series is a beautiful series for all readers. I wouldn't limit it to fantasy lovers because it is simply a terrific series. It has everything you can ever want to read in a book - humour, fear, action and satisfaction that good does indeed have a say in what goes on in the world. The characters come alive in your head without even trying, the storyline is addictive so it's best to either buy all the books in the series from the start or make plans to get it as soon as you can.

It was great to get these books in 4 books instead of 10. I still re-read this series and I've recently bought them as christmas presents. It's an excellant buy for any avid reader or even for those you might want to encourage to read. For all those who do buy this series, check out Belgarath and Polgara - the companion editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the Belgariad, July 8, 2012
By 
Jade Kerrion (Fort Lauderdale, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Malloreon, Vol. 2 (Books 4 & 5): Sorceress of Darshiva, The Seeress of Kell (Paperback)
Our humble Garion from Belgariad fame is now Belgarion, Lord of the Western Sea, Overlord of the West, and Godslayer. His infant son is kidnapped and Belgarion must recover the child before his son becomes a dark god. (I'm still trying to figure out why it's such a bad thing to have a son who's a god--dark, light, it's all just variations on a theme, right?)

Anyway, in the Mallorean, Garion once again sets out on a cross-continental journey, this time to save his son. He is accompanied by beloved old friends, Belgarath, Polgara, Durnik, and Silk. We're also introduced to many new friends, including Zakath, Sadi, Liselle, Beldin, and Eriond. The Mallorean draws readers into the kingdoms of the East and their unique political systems, contrasting them--often sharply--to the kingdoms of the West. Yet, in the end, we find that people are more alike than different, and that there is plenty of common ground on which to meet. (That's the feel-good takeaway from the Mallorean.)

I enjoyed the Mallorean, though not as much as the Belgariad. In the Belgariad, we watched with hope and wonder as Garion came into his power and claimed his birthright. The themes are darker and more desperate in the Mallorean, certainly not as bubble-gummy. Still, it's a thoroughly enjoyable series and highly recommended for high fantasy fans.

This is a review for the Mallorean Book 1 and 2.

The Malloreon, Vol. 1 (Books 1-3): Guardians of the West, King of the Murgos, Demon Lord of Karanda

The Malloreon, Vol. 2 (Books 4 & 5): Sorceress of Darshiva, The Seeress of Kell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, May 23, 2011
By 
T. Anderson (canton, mi United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Malloreon, Vol. 2 (Books 4 & 5): Sorceress of Darshiva, The Seeress of Kell (Paperback)
this is the conclusion to the mallorean and to the whole series that began with the belgariad. as in previous reviews, this is my all-time favorite fantasy series. eddings' best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Eddings, January 23, 2008
This review is from: The Malloreon, Vol. 2 (Books 4 & 5): Sorceress of Darshiva, The Seeress of Kell (Paperback)
For people who enjoy reading for the purpose of getting into the story. The books written by David Eddings' are for people who get attached to characters and love to immerse themselves in reading. To me his books are like coming home for a visit.

If you want to read simply to get to the finish line---Eddings is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Fantasy Yarn, October 21, 2007
This review is from: The Malloreon, Vol. 2 (Books 4 & 5): Sorceress of Darshiva, The Seeress of Kell (Paperback)
While Eddings Books are not Shakespeare, Hemmingway, Faulkner or Tolkien they are enjoyable reading and a lot of fun. You will find yourself engrossed in his world. There is a lot of humor and from time to time you will find yourself chuckling out loud.

These books are definitely worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Malloreon Vol 1 and Vol 2, November 4, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Malloreon, Vol. 2 (Books 4 & 5): Sorceress of Darshiva, The Seeress of Kell (Paperback)
First a note regarding the Malloreon and the Belgariad series by David Eddings: Begin with the first book in the Belgariad series, "Pawn of Prophecy." If you can put this book down as dull, then stop (I have yet to find the person who started at the beginning and then stopped). The characters are vividly drawn, humorous, and oh so human. The plots evolve into twists as one country after another is drawn into a web of building suspense. Five books bring you from a relatively easy beginning to a complex conclusion in the Belgariad and leave you saying, "Again!" With the Mallorean, you are plunged back into the same world with the same main characters (some, at least) and your demand for more is answered. David Eddings uses five books instead of a trilogy and keeps the fun of the writing alive. I have taken these books with me to the hospital for a long wait or to other tense situations. Only the best books can distract at times like those.

Why then only offer four stars and why would you want this edition? All ten books rate an absolute five star rating, but if you have all ten books, you have a shelf full. Do you have space to spare? If you are in a small apartment, you may answer no. The two-volume set of either Mallorean or Belgariad is a compromise. The pages are thinner, the writing is smaller, but the books are available. My eyes may need the larger print now, but that is not a problem for everyone and the stories are still first-class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good ending to a good series., May 11, 2009
This review is from: The Malloreon, Vol. 2 (Books 4 & 5): Sorceress of Darshiva, The Seeress of Kell (Paperback)
Like with all of Eddings's work these are very good light Fantasy, I think this would be the perfect Fantasy for beginners or for kids just starting out on their Fantasy adventures. A like all of the characters in this series from Garion to Silk and even the King of the Murgos, Eddings writes his characters very well to the point were you really start to care about them and I even found myself sad when main characters were killed. All in all these works are great traditional Fantasy that is a must for any Fantasy fan to read. Also this omnibus edition of The Malloreon is great value for money.

After escaping the plague ridden city of the Malloreon Emperor, they must race to find the missing codex texts and also find the lost city of Kell. Along the way they will meet old friends and older enemies, do battle with demons and dodge assassins all the while trying to stay one step ahead of two huge armies that plan to end their quest. The fate of the world stands in the hand of the child of light!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Malloreon, Vol. 2 (Books 4 & 5): Sorceress of Darshiva, The Seeress of Kell
$17.95 $15.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.