Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have anthology
Any book labeled The Mammoth Book of... risks sounding like a fifth grade primer. But if you love the distinctively American tradition of the private eye, this is it -- THE must-have volume. My copy is growing dogeared -- these is truly an amazing collection. My personal favorite is A Reason To Die, a Dan Fortune story so potent and poetic it drove me to write the late...
Published on October 13, 2007 by M. Ross

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2 Solid Book With A Good Mix Of Tales
This is a good collection of stories starting in the 1930's and going through the 80's. There are stories from the noir to one of my favorites, Shell Scott. The short stories don't all jump off the page at you but this is a book I could pick up at bedtime and know I would find a good read. It would be perfect to take with you on a vacation or business trip. I was burned...
Published on October 24, 2008 by Bonner '62


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have anthology, October 13, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Private Eye Stories (Paperback)
Any book labeled The Mammoth Book of... risks sounding like a fifth grade primer. But if you love the distinctively American tradition of the private eye, this is it -- THE must-have volume. My copy is growing dogeared -- these is truly an amazing collection. My personal favorite is A Reason To Die, a Dan Fortune story so potent and poetic it drove me to write the late Michael Collins, who responded with some friendly insights about the story's origins. If Reason isn't enough, well, reason, you've got Philip Marlowe, Lew Archer, Amos Walker, Joe Puma, Kinsey Millhone, Sharon McCone, Matt Scudder -- it goes on and on. If any book can be called definitive about a genre, it's this one. Love to see someone, someday, do a second volume or a revised edition bringing things up-to-date with the top '90s and 21st Century eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining!, March 20, 2007
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Private Eye Stories (Paperback)
This collection of detective-stories provides a great overview. The stories cover decades of fiction-writing, from the classic "Wrong Pigeon" by Raymond Chandler to modern writers of the private eye genre. There are sad and funny stories and all of them contain a lot of suspense.

The real jewel in this collection is Joseph Hansen's "Surf", featuring investigator Dave Brandstetter, hero of Hansen's "Brandstetter"-series.

If you like crime- and detective-stories you'll enjoy this book. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2 Solid Book With A Good Mix Of Tales, October 24, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Private Eye Stories (Paperback)
This is a good collection of stories starting in the 1930's and going through the 80's. There are stories from the noir to one of my favorites, Shell Scott. The short stories don't all jump off the page at you but this is a book I could pick up at bedtime and know I would find a good read. It would be perfect to take with you on a vacation or business trip. I was burned by the same series' "Book of Comic Crime". That was a stinker. This one is fine. (I'm a hard grader I almost never give a 5 and rarely 4 star review).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Overall Selection, February 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Private Eye Stories (Paperback)
I have read several collections of mysteries/action stories and this tops them all. Any Mammoth book is a great buy in topics that interest you. Private Eye Stories benefits from several superb efforts including editor Bill Pronzini. Originally published in 1988, this was re-released in 2004. Strong efforts from the golden age 1950s from Ross Macdonald, Ed McBain, Henry Kane, Richard Prather and Howard Browne. This is a book that begs to be read more than once. The tepid ratings here puzzle me, if one enjoys mysteries this is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another collection, January 28, 2008
By 
Fred Camfield (Vicksburg, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Private Eye Stories (Paperback)
I am giving this collection a neutral three star rating. It is yet another collection of short stories featuring one story each by a number of authors, in this case 24 authors. I really do not know how the editors select the stories for these collections. Perhaps they place all the available stories in a large bin, and draw them out at random. Contrary to the statement on the cover, it is NOT the "best in hardboiled fiction." It does not represent the best work of the featured authors and, indeed is not always their best short story (at least some have award winning short stories which were not included).

So, I give it three stars because it includes samples of work by a large number of authors, some better known than others. Some short stories are hard to find unless you find them in collections. But I will not give it more than three stars because it does not represent the best work of authors, and may mislead readers on the quality of their novels.

If you are a fan of the authors, and want to obtain their short stories, it is something worth buying. If you are looking for quality reading material, I would give it a pass and buy some of the outstanding novels by the authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Can Knock Someone Out With This, December 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Private Eye Stories (Paperback)
I love "Mammoth Books", it's impressive. This private eye story book is impressive in length, size, and shape. I got a used copy for under a buck and when it arrived, I couldn't put it down. It's a large book with a lot of stories, and a lot of hard boiled detective, sexy dames, and cases that would make even the greatest writers nod in approval.

For the price, you're not going to find a better paperback. It's well worth it, and very much a focused and impressive book. Cheap reads outweigh any television show you're going to buy on dvd. Hours of entertainment here...another reason to love books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Private Eye Stories (Paperback)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mammoth Book of Private Eye Stories, October 17, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Private Eye Stories (Paperback)
Enjoyed these stories immensely, some of the best PI writers in the business especially Block, Grafton, Pronzini and Muller. Only a couple of clunkers which do not mar this excellent collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Hammett, No Minorities and Needs Updating, November 25, 2013
By 
E. C. Abrahams (Jonesport, ME USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a bit dated and why isn't Dashiell Hammett included in the mix? Also, no minority writers, no gay writers. And it would be useful to have information as to when and where the stories originally appeared--I'm sure the Raymond Chandler citation is incorrect--he died well before 1971, and the story is an earlier one! On the up side, the introduction is good and the book is cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Mammoth Book of Private Eye Stories
The Mammoth Book of Private Eye Stories by Bill Pronzini (Paperback - April 15, 2004)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.