Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look no further..
I usually don't like 'flash tattoo' books of any sort. Unless it's a very genre specific book with very high quality photos like
Bushido : Legacies of the Japanese Tattoo by Takahiro Kitamura.

Mammoth Tattoos is not a collection for the 'I must get this tattoo for my next inking' folks... Leave that for the flash books and various tattoo magazines out...
Published on April 16, 2009 by L. Bloom

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Book cheap craftmenship
The book arrived in great condition but has deteriorated quickly. The binding is falling apart, paging are coming out and it looks as though it has been used and abused even though it has be cared for well.
Published 20 months ago by Steph4x4


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look no further.., April 16, 2009
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Tattoos (Paperback)
I usually don't like 'flash tattoo' books of any sort. Unless it's a very genre specific book with very high quality photos like
Bushido : Legacies of the Japanese Tattoo by Takahiro Kitamura.

Mammoth Tattoos is not a collection for the 'I must get this tattoo for my next inking' folks... Leave that for the flash books and various tattoo magazines out there.

Unlike all those though--The Mammoth Book Of Tattoos had me floored as I had never before seen such a staggeringly fresh and inspirational collection of art on almost every page. And certainly every genre. Each artist and their art represented by very high quality photos. I had to pick what I didn't like and came up with three out of the 80 artists represented.

This really is a fascinating (coffee-table/reference)book for anyone who appreciates graphic design, classic and modern and yes art which only happens to be on an epidermal canvas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge help in planning/designing first tattoo, June 30, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Tattoos (Paperback)
I've been planning for my first tattoo since booking my appointments with my chosen artist 3 months in advance (since he was booked up that far out). This book really helped me consider the design/content I will have custom drawn, not only because of the large number of tattoo's shown in this book by top artists, but also because the Japanese tattooing style is very well represented (which is what I am getting). I also liked that there were quite a few large tattoos in this book, and not just full of smaller shoulder-sized tattoos.

There are also other styles represented, but I would say 40% of the book is Japanese style tattoos. To me it has been invaluable, and given the inexpensive cost, would be worth having for the seriously tattoo'ed as well as the tattoo admirerer as an eclectic coffee table book (although there's some nudity in it, so keep that in mind for the under 18 crowd).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, September 14, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Tattoos (Paperback)
This book is perfect for you if you're not familiar with the Tattoo/Flash/Savage magazines. Personally I've seen all this stuff a million times before in the previously mentioned magazines. The only thing this has that mags don't is nudity. I had to hide a few pages from prying eyes. My cynical side wonders why Kim Saigh, Corey Miller, and Hannah Aichitson were included. La Ink anyone??? Overall good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Book cheap craftmenship, August 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Tattoos (Paperback)
The book arrived in great condition but has deteriorated quickly. The binding is falling apart, paging are coming out and it looks as though it has been used and abused even though it has be cared for well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok art, poor bookbinding, April 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Tattoos (Paperback)
I purchased this book expecting it to be a good coffee table piece. I was a little surprised at how small it is. The art work contained within is ok, nothing that really moves you.

The big surprise was the bookbinding. My book literally fell apart at the seams the first time I went through it. Very poor job on the part of the printer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Quantity of Quality!, December 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Tattoos (Paperback)
The Mammoth Book of Tattoos is a stunning collection of artwork from a conglomerate of select tattoo masters of this generation. Most of the artwork featured in this book is in the styles of modern and Japanese tattoo art, so the variety is slightly limited, but all the photographs are in full color and dazzling quality which really draws you into the depth and detail of each tattoo.

Very little information is offered on the art of tattooing and the artists themselves, but the pictures speak volumes and offer a story that is, perhaps, not possible in the form of the written word. I have absolutely no negative comments about this book. Of all the tattoo-related literature I have collected thus far, The Mammoth Book of Tattoos is by far my favorite to look at again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor Binding Process, November 5, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Tattoos (Paperback)
The book has virtually fallen apart due to the cheap glue used in the binding; I'm left with a mess of scattereed pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is awesome., November 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Tattoos (Paperback)
I just got this book in the mail today, and it is completely worth the $13. I've bought alot of tattoo art books, and I have subscribed to several differant tattoo magazines, and this is one of the best. This book shows several of my favorite artists and is all around awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth a look, August 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
while reading this i noticed that a lot of these tattoos don't really seem "book worthy" however the artists themselves are all pretty solid, if you've seen Miami or LA ink then you probably have seen a lot of these tattoos.
this is a good book to check out if your thinking about getting a tattoo or considering becoming a tattooist
there are a lot of good ideas here along with a few mediocre ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Phots, August 24, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Tattoos (Paperback)
The pictures are great. Lots of up close shots that let you see the detail. Multiple rolling shots of tats that wrap around an arm or leg so you can see the whole design. I wish the writer went into more detail in their interviews with the artists. I am very happy with my purchase of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9caa2e34)

This product

The Mammoth Book of Tattoos
The Mammoth Book of Tattoos by Lal Hardy (Paperback - March 10, 2009)
$18.95 $14.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.