Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $4.44
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Man Who Became Sherlock Holmes: The Tortured Mind of Jeremy Brett Paperback – December, 2001


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$182.14 $59.99
Best%20Books%20of%202014
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 244 pages
  • Publisher: Virgin Publishing (December 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0753505363
  • ISBN-13: 978-0753505366
  • Product Dimensions: 9.2 x 6 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.1 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 2.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,462,944 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

42 of 45 people found the following review helpful By retroredux VINE VOICE on November 22, 2007
Format: Hardcover
I was fortunate to get several Jeremy Brett books through a Library loan to read, as I cannot afford the exorbitant prices they currently go for:) My review is for other Brett fans who are wondering if certain books are worth spending their hard earned money on.

I just finished Robert Stuart Davies Bending the Willow: Jeremy Brett As Sherlock Holmes and Dancing In The Moonlight, and now have read this book.

I start my review for The Man Who Became Sherlock Holmes with this: For a work of fiction it was very interesting reading. Why, do you ask, that I consider this a work of fiction?

Well, my main concern is, nowhere in this book does the author cite a SINGLE source for the supposed intimate, personal and first hand information that he writes as the "truth". I find ANY biography of a recently deceased person that is unable to cite sources HIGHLY suspicious.

What makes this even more disheartening is the intimate, supposedly truthful events he reports in this book while not saying where or even how he received this information.

Information about affairs, sexual preferences, delusional public episodes, even Mr Brett supposedly being molested as a child! When dealing with SUCH personal information-if an author cannot say where he received such info than as a responsible reader I feel all info should be taken as FICTION, salacious gossip and slander-period. Which is ironic as the author writes of Mr Brett's struggle to keep his private life private-so how exactly was such intimate info learned about such a private man? One would realistically surmise that it's inaccurate and fictitious at best.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
57 of 70 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on February 24, 2002
Format: Paperback
If only I could rate this book less than one star ... very disappointing to anyone who is interested in learning more about Jeremy Brett. I put this book down before I half finished it, and feel he has been dishonored.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful By JM on October 22, 2011
Format: Paperback
An awful "biography" by and awful "author". This man wrote this biography to cash in on the death of Brett when it was originally released in 1997. The writer even admits that most if not all of Bretts friends and family refused to even speak with him, and those that did remain unnamed. There is no effort put into the research necessary, or the writing. It's evident from the number of easily checked factual errors. The author even goes as far as to describe Brett's death from Brett's "point of view." This is not how a biography should read.
8 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
22 of 33 people found the following review helpful By R. Riis VINE VOICE on January 26, 2002
Format: Paperback
Jeremy Brett was a brilliant actor and the best Sherlock Holmes ever, in my opinion. Knowing little of Mr. Brett other than his Holmes role and some films like "My Fair Lady", in which he played Freddy, there was much of interest here, from his childhood and youth, life as a young actor and with his wife and son, and his lifelong struggle with manic-depression and his own bisexuality. About half the book deals with his Holmes-era life and his love/hate relationship with the role that made him most famous. Well recommended for fans of Mr. Brett and Holmes afficionados.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?