Customer Reviews


635 Reviews
5 star:
 (466)
4 star:
 (129)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


165 of 175 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked Taken, you'll love this movie
WATCH THIS MOVIE!
Won't ruin it for you, but the basic premise is that someone gets kidnapped and this bad a@@ guy saves her. AWESOME! But not for little kids to watch as there is ALOT of violence and a lot of profanity. Action, Action, Action!
One of the best Korean movies that I have EVER SEEN. Won Bin is great in this movie and I have found a new found...
Published on January 10, 2011 by YoboDiver

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice pacing, good popcorn movie
I bought this after watching and enjoying Mother, another famous Korean movie. Won Bin played the part of a simple man in Mother, and was impressive. I heard a lot about The Man From Nowhere, and I was interested to see him play the total opposite of his character in Mother.

I am not going to write much about the plot or storyline and acting etc, as many others...
Published 4 months ago by Guy


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

165 of 175 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked Taken, you'll love this movie, January 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
WATCH THIS MOVIE!
Won't ruin it for you, but the basic premise is that someone gets kidnapped and this bad a@@ guy saves her. AWESOME! But not for little kids to watch as there is ALOT of violence and a lot of profanity. Action, Action, Action!
One of the best Korean movies that I have EVER SEEN. Won Bin is great in this movie and I have found a new found respect for the guy.
The theme song for the movie is by a Korean band called Mad Soul Child and it's called Dream...awesome song as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray: Riveting, pulse-pounding action and drama. "The Man From Nowhere" is simply magnificent!, March 16, 2011
Riveting, pulse-pounding action and drama. "The Man From Nowhere" is simply magnificent!

The winner of seven Korea Film Awards (the most awards ever received for a film in Korea) and multiple awards worldwide, the 2010 film "The Man From Nowhere" will be released on Blu-ray and DVD in the US on March 8th!

"The Man From Nowhere" was written and directed by Jeong-beom Lee ("Cruel Winter Blues") and stars popular Korean actor Won Bin ("Guns & Talks", "Mother", "Taegukgi", "My Brother").

VIDEO:

"The Man From Nowhere" is presented in 1080p High Definition and is presented in 16:9 widescreen. The picture quality of this film is absolutely wonderful as grime, blood and scars can be seen with detail on the characters. You can see the detail of the suit and clothing of various people, including the buttons on their clothing.

It's important to note that this is a bloody film known for its spectacular knife fight and its violence but by no means is it sadistic in a horror-film type of way.

While a film that does showcase a lot of black and does take place during the nighttime, during the day-time scenes or neon-light club scenes, you do see the vibrant colors. As for the action sequences, no blurring or any interlacing. I saw no compression artifacting, DNR or any significant visual problems. A pretty solid release PQ-wise from Well Go USA.

AUDIO & SUBTITLES:

"The Man From Nowhere" is presented in Korean and English 5.1 DTS-HD Surround Sound. While there is an English dub version of the film, I do not listen to English dubs for live action Asian films and prefer to watch the film in its original language, Korean dialogue with English subtitles. So, I can't comment on the quality of the English dub for this film.

But as for the lossless audio, the dialogue is clear and there are a good amount of action scenes with car chases, car crashing, gunshots and action-sequences which can be heard through the surround channels. While not a film that does have repetitive action that utilizes the surround sound and LFE to create an immersive soundscape, the lossless audio fits this film quite well and is pretty much crystal clear.

The only audio that sounds distorted is the special features but overall, the film sounds great in HD on Blu-ray!

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"The Man From Nowhere" comes with the following special features in standard definition:

[...]
[...]
[...] Teaser - (1:08) A teaser trailer for "The Man From Nowhere"
[...] Full Trailer- (1:42) The original theatrical trailer for "The Man From Nowhere".
[...] Highlights - (5:11) A feature that focuses on the important scenes between Cha Tae-sik and So-mi.
[...] Making Of - (17:23) The making of the action-based sequences. No dialogue but pretty much we can see how those scenes were created with the talent and the crew around them.

EXTRAS:

"The Man From Nowhere" comes with a slipcover case.

JUDGMENT CALL:

I have been highly anticipating to watch this movie. Having heard how it won all these awards in Korea and the fact that I have seen a good number of Korean films and very good ones that never won as many awards as "The Man From Nowhere", you can't help but think that this film must be special.

And after watching it, I can definitely say that this film was truly one of a kind. Stepping away from typical gangster or revenge films by focusing on the characters but also delivering in the action.

I have watched Won Bin grow from Korean dramas and seeing him become a film star, but "The Man From Nowhere" is a film where he truly shines and what best than to have a story where you play this character that seems quite stoic but then seeing him as an individual with emotions that he has dragged on all these years because of a tragic circumstance.

Also, the film does shed some light on the underground of Korea (which also happens in other countries of Asia) and where this film could have truly been hampered by terrible child acting, young actress Kim Sae-ron who plays So-mi, does it with so much emotion and adds to the film's efficacy.

And while the dramatic portions are well-done, you have or will probably read how "The Man From Nowhere" has one of the best knife fighting scenes in a film. As some Asian cinema fans may be used to seeing in samurai films with sword vs. sword battles, "The Man From Nowhere" is just impressive with its fight choreography that I was amazed. There is no cheapening of the scenes, you are made to feel that the fight scenes look at feel right and never come out feeling disappointed by the results.

This is classic planning and excellent execution when it comes to the action and in balance with great performances, well-written dramatic elements, "The Man From Nowhere" was just magnificent to watch and I enjoyed this film extremely.

Granted, it is bloody and it is violent but the violence are nothing compared to a slasher, horror film, so it's easily tolerable and not scary at all. But if you are sensitive to bloody violence, this film may not be for you. But if you are open to it, this film delivers in riveting, pulse-pounding action and drama. "The Man From Nowhere" is simply magnificent!

So far, Well Go USA has delivered with its Blu-ray release of "Ip Man" and now with "The Man From Nowhere" and with the Asian films that they brought to the U.S. thus far, I'm excited to see what other films they tend to bring in the near future.

Overall, there is really nothing for me to complain about this Blu-ray release. Granted, I wish there were more special features and wish the features were in HD but other than that, "The Man From Nowhere" is a film that I can easily give my highest recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Random Acts of Kindness Make A "Good Action Picture" Into A "Great Action Picture" In THE MAN FROM NOWHERE, April 13, 2011
Random acts of kindness make a `good action picture' into a `great action picture' with THE MAN FROM NOWHERE

South Korea's mega-popular THE MAN FROM NOWHERE was successful for very good reasons, so many that there's no way I could touch upon all of them in a single review. Suffice it to say that it's an action picture whose formula is broad enough to appeal to men (once the action starts, there's never a dull moment), women (there's a strong through-line about caring for society's lost children), male teens (who wouldn't want to be as coolly quiet as the film's lead), and female `tweens' (I've been assured by ladies that star Bin Won is very `easy on the eyes'). If that winning combination isn't enough, then add to the mix the social messages and perhaps a metaphor on "random acts of kindness" and it's no wonder that the film was a huge hit overseas.

Bin Won stars as Tae-sik Cha, who, quite literally, is the film's "man from nowhere." As our story opens, he's seen doing his best to blend into the landscape, buying some sausage to eat in his small apartment. He's treated like anyone on the street who has his slightly disheveled appearance: mostly ignored but slightly suspect due to his unkempt guise. Arriving back home where he runs a pawnshop shop out of his apartment in a quiet, rundown tenement building (the place looks much like he does), he meets the young So-mi hiding in the darkness at the bottom of the stairs. We soon learn that they're begrudging friends (of sorts), with Cha not taking any responsibility for the young girl (whose mother has essentially abandoned her to a life on the streets) but feeling tied to her more as the only responsible adult in her life.

But So-mi's mother is guilty of more than being a bad mother. In an attempt to make a big score selling drugs, she's stolen a small supply from the wrong people; and, when they show up looking for the stash, they're more than happy to take So-mi off the woman's hands because there's a big demand for black market body parts. Who would miss one more deserted child?

The mob never counted on Tae-sik Cha.

Truth be told, Cha is a former government assassin, living a life of self-imposed exile after seeing his wife killed by one of his former enemies. Now that he genuinely has nothing to lose, Cha realizes the only tether keeping him in this world is the young So-mi, so he makes it his personal mission to get her back alive no matter the cost.

The story doesn't stop there, and the plot is developed on several layers. There are competing mobs vying for control of the city's drugs and prostitutes, as well as the supply of human body parts, and, of course, the police can't be far behind. What unfolds is an incredible tale of one man's spirit sinking to the depths of despair and rising to the challenge when he realizes that no one else - not the government, not the police, not anyone - is willing to do what's absolutely necessary to bring down the thugs who snatched So-mi away from her sad life.

There's action a'plenty, and, in several daring twists of direction, not all of it takes place on scene. In fact, Cha's opening salvo against one of the heavies who shows up looking for the stolen drugs doesn't even appear on screen; cleverly, we're only shown a window shattering from outside, and when the camera is back on Cha's apartment, the heavy is out cold on his kitchen floor. Director Jeong-beom Lee clearly knows when to "play the action" and when to pull it back, providing the audience with sufficiently masterful hints as to what happened where we couldn't see. The film remains taut throughout, right up until what is, arguably, one of the most incredible knife fights you'll see on film EVER. I'm not talking samurai swords. I'm not talking fencing. I'm talking down-n-dirty knife fights. Watch closely because you won't forget this choreography any time soon.

Still, what surprised me most about THE MAN FROM NOWHERE isn't so much its penchant for violence, for which there's plenty but decidedly necessary given the circumstances. What surprised me was the underlying message about hidden acts of kindness. The story sprinkles them throughout - Cha allows the neglected So-mi to share a meal with him; So-mi gives Cha a funny little manicure while he's asleep; a kindly old store clerk who turns his head the other way so that the streetwise youth can shoplift some meaningless merchandise; So-mi puts a bandage on an injured killer's forehead cut; a grizzled police detective who grants Cha a parting wish - so much so that I can't help but think that they're all deliberate. Each and every one of these moments is crafted in such a way to deliver a happy message in a film rife with grim elements: you will be repaid for that random act of kindness. You will reap benefits from doing something good for strangers. Your reward may not come instantly, and it probably won't announce itself with any pomp and circumstance, but it'll be there, and you'll know it when you see it.

That's the hidden beauty of THE MAN FROM NOWHERE. The gift of such a great film is far from hidden. It's right there when you see it - laced with gunplay and plenty of derring-do - but you can't escape it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Won Bin - Need I say More!, June 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Man From Nowhere (DVD)
Highly recommend! Great acting between Won Bin & Kim Sae Ron. Good stunt performance by Won Bin who insisted on doing his own stunts. Kim Sae Ron just melted the hearts with her performance which was heart breaking to see. Talented for such a young age. As for Won Bin - Need I say More! WOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, February 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is a cross between leon the professional and taken, so if you like either of those you will love this movie. The details are limited on this release which is why I'm going to wait on pre-ordering it. It says language: English, do they mean its english dubs or contains english subtitles with the original korean audio.

::EDIT::
Got the Blu-ray in the mail today and just finished watching it. It has audio in Korean and English dub and also has English subtitles. It comes also in a slip case with some embossing of the shattered glass in the picture and the movie title.

I did notice there were a few minor misspellings in the English subtitles but overall they seemed good to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...Fear the quiet man, March 10, 2011
By 
C. Simmons (East Coast, U.S.A) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Man From Nowhere (DVD)
Because of films like this, I have grown to dislike most American made movies. This film is stylish, to the point, and hits like a hammer. You know the film is great, when the Hero hardly needs to speak, for you to understand how the demons literally haunt him. It's very interesting how the man out for vengeance seems to not only physically, but mentally slowly change back to the man he was before such traumatic events took place concerning his family. Hands down some of the best knife fighting scenes ever put to film. Five stars. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A movie that I watched instead of the superbowl 2012, February 5, 2012
I begun the movie to fill time before the Superbowl 2012 but couldn't stop watching it even after the game begun. I haven't missed a Superbowl in 20 years. Great movie, excellent directing and I loved the little girl. I have to admit it brought me to tears at the end which means I'll definitely be watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrumtrulescent, August 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Man From Nowhere (DVD)
First of all, allow me to start by saying that the very first thing I did before trying to write this review was open up a thesaurus to attempt to generate a worthy title that summarized my opinion of this particular film, because frankly, words like "great" and "amazing" just didn't seem to do it justice. Failing that, I took my search online and finally found a word coined by a popular comedian whom I'm sure most of you will recognize; Mr Will Ferrel. Scrumtrulescent, which isn't even a real word mind you, was the only word I found to be suitable by it's own self-assigned definition as being "so great that any other word employed would be woefully insufficient, and would serve only to limit the sheer magnitude of the greatness intended as a descriptor," (urban dictionary). This is absolutely true of what I feel for this film, and is the only way for me to describe it as my emotional investment to it transcends the worldly limitations of the human language.

Some of you may be thinking, how in the world can anyone like a movie that much? It's just a movie right? WRONG. This isn't just a movie, it is a bona-fide work of art. At times I seriously contemplate hanging the DVD on the wall in my living room, but then it'd make it a hassle to watch it again, of which I have many, many times.

Acting: 10
Ambiance: 10
Choreography: 10
Story: 10 (I don't care if it's been done, it's never been done this good damn it!)
Lasting Appeal: 10 (Still going strong after 2 months)

I show this film to anyone and everyone who'll watch it, and while my eyes are glued to the screen I can't help but wonder what must be going through their minds about it. It is an experience, and while everyone's may be different, the fact is they all FELT it, perhaps not to the fanatic degree that I have come to, but they FELT something, something that reaffirms who we are as people, and something all great films do. If you've read the other reviews you'll glean a good idea of what to expect, the main protag is a pawn shop owner, befriends abandoned little girl, girl gets taken - guy goes after her - and while there is a heavy emphasis on the action, I must point out that this film is so, so much more than that - and is seriously up to the gills with symbolism and metaphors about human life, and after every subsequent viewing I am more and more impressed over those tiny details that I missed the first time around.

You owe it to yourself, nay, to you AND everyone you know, to buy this film and expose it as much as possible.

buy.
it.
NOW.
%^*&@!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most realistic knife fighting scene., February 23, 2011
By 
T. Son (Santa Clara, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Man From Nowhere (DVD)
The storyline is pretty straightforward. Ex-special force (or whatever he's supposed to be) guy coming to the rescue of a little girl and basically tearing apart all the bad guys in the process. Korean version of "Man on Fire." But this one is a bit more personal in terms of violence. There are a lot of amazing shots in the movies. Two biggest scenes are where he jumps off from the second story building and last fight scene which involves both the gunfight and knife fight. But it's the knife fighting that's simply amazing. You'll have to see it for yourself.

But after all the blood and violence, the movie comes down to someone who fights for someone who can't fight for themselves. I guess all the guys, deep down inside, have soft spot for a movie like this. The little girl playing in this movie was really solid as well. She made the main character work. It's slow going for the first half of the movie, but you'll be rewarded toward the end. I'm glad that Amazon is carrying this for order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional film making, July 14, 2012
After having watched this film, I decided to read the reviews and instead of reading the pages upon pages of glowing 5-star reviews, I chose to read the 1-starred ones and see what they were about. Firstly, I am Korean. If that invalidates my rating in your eyes, then so be it. But, above that fact, I enjoy great films regardless of the country of origin. I've watched great Japanese, French, Swedish, Hong Kong, Chinese, British and of course American films. Talent, regardless of language or cultural barriers, is universal. The cast and crew of this movie is simply outstanding and deserve very high praise.

In not trying to rehash what other reviewers have said already, I find that the movie has all the "intangibles" that make a movie great. The flow, the sequence of events, the transitions, the pace, the careful development of characters. It's all there. Whether the movie comes from Korea or Haiti, does not matter one bit. Quality is quality, regardless of how you spell it or in what language you say it. This movie is excellent and a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Man From Nowhere
The Man From Nowhere by Lee Jeong-beom (DVD - 2011)
$12.98 $6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.