Customer Reviews


612 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (123)
3 star:
 (113)
2 star:
 (109)
1 star:
 (143)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you love 70's kung fu movies...
fantastic movie! i saw a lot of very unique and fun kung fu ideas that could only come from a true movie fan such as the rza! there is a brass statue of a man that is in many movies as a training dummy for qi (chi) blocking attacks. in this movie there is the statue and a man with skin that can become brass at will, it links up toward the end in such a cool way i was...
Published 22 months ago by null

versus
71 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Tarantino-esque movie, but overextends itself
The Man With the Iron Fists is a movie that was 'presented' (not produced) by Quentin Tarantino and directed by RZA. It centers on the story of a black blacksmith in China, who is trying to leave his hostile home village that's entrenched in between good ol' clan wars.

If you are seeking to be entertained, look no further. RZA blends the 'hip-hop samurai' type...
Published 21 months ago by B. Cravens


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Tarantino-esque movie, but overextends itself, December 3, 2012
This review is from: The Man with the Iron Fists - Unrated Extended Edition (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet) (Blu-ray)
The Man With the Iron Fists is a movie that was 'presented' (not produced) by Quentin Tarantino and directed by RZA. It centers on the story of a black blacksmith in China, who is trying to leave his hostile home village that's entrenched in between good ol' clan wars.

If you are seeking to be entertained, look no further. RZA blends the 'hip-hop samurai' type of music and feel -- prevalent in a lot of anime in recent years -- with the Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon-floating-around-style of fighting to create a high-flying (no pun intended) and adventurous parody of the genres with a Spaguetti Western flare. Needless to say, visually this movie is great in many respects.

However, beyond that, the movie suffers from more than a few noticeable stumbling points. The first being dialogue. Not only is the writing over-simplified, but the fact that some of the Chinese characters have Oriental-English accents while others speak perfectly clear English is something that will distract some viewers from the already simple plot. In addition, the main antagonist Silver Lion is portrayed as the funny one-liner villain, but there are times when his role feels overdone and out of place during the more serious scenes. Perhaps this harkens back to the older Kung-fu movie time other reviewers mentioned, but for me it was distracting.

Another caveat is the characters. They didn't feel very memorable, which is again probably due to the dialogue. The exception here is Russel Crowe's character, who exhibits wit, style, and the fact he sticks out like a sore thumb in a charming way. While I feel he did an extraordinary job in executing this role, I'm not exactly sure how his career will be affected in the long-run from this... You'll know what I mean.

Lastly, there were gaps in terms of the suspension of belief. While these types of movies are going to exhibit combat and visuals that are uncanny, a few of the developments toward the end, including one bad guy in particular, just felt like huge leaps of faith without any sort of explanation at all. I don't want to spoil anything, but again I think you'll know what I mean as you watch.

Now before I sound overly critical, let me tip my hat off to RZA. Not only did he direct the movie. He wrote it, helped compose the soundtrack, and starred as the blacksmith. This truly is RZA's movie in every sense of the phrase.

With so many responsibilities on one person, I can't help but critique this movie with admiration for it. It may not be on the Tarantino level, but if this is a beginning path for RZA I am excited to see what he comes up with next. Watch TMWTIF with the right expectations. If you're expecting Kill Bill or Pulp Fiction, take it down a good notch. If you're expecting a parody of exaggerated, oriental combat and hip-hop anime with Spaghuetti Western tropes, you're in for an entertaining ride. It's worth a watch, even if it doesn't etch itself into your soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you love 70's kung fu movies..., November 15, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Man with the Iron Fists (DVD)
fantastic movie! i saw a lot of very unique and fun kung fu ideas that could only come from a true movie fan such as the rza! there is a brass statue of a man that is in many movies as a training dummy for qi (chi) blocking attacks. in this movie there is the statue and a man with skin that can become brass at will, it links up toward the end in such a cool way i was blown away. i imagine the rza back in the 70's thinking "what if someone had to fight the qi training statue? then they would be really f*&%ed!"

i could see where he deliberately paid homage to old kung fu films with some of the camera work, hair and acting styles, this kind of thing might look odd too someone who hasn't seen older kung fu movies as some of it seems corny or stilted (which is how those old movies are, something fans love!). but even so, they would get over it every time one of the AMAZING battles started.

at first the rap music came off as out of place. this is coming from a wu tang clan fan since the 36 chambers, and digital bullet is one of my favorite albums, but they're in ancient china and it's all hip hop style which doesn't really match up, but it grew on me very fast and by the end i was bobbing my head to the beats and enjoying them with the fight scenes. i grew up listening to wu tang, and rza always puts cuts from classic kung fu movies in his music. it's really cool hearing them and then, years later, stumbling over the same lines or music while watching the movie they're from without knowing it ahead of time. it's like: "why do i recognize this? i've never seen this movie... oh yeah! wu tang!" this was the exact opposite of that and it worked pretty well! i'm watching a kung fu movie and thinking "wait a minute, i know that song!"

and the story? phenomenal! really fun stuff going on and lots of surprises. russel crow is a riot in this movie. i was thoroughly entertained. i love buddhism, kung fu, and i dig the rza's music so the scene at the buddhist temple had me smiling from ear to ear.

really great film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a Keeper, April 8, 2014
This review is from: The Man with the Iron Fists (DVD)
Having watched several of the Shaw Brothers classics during my day, I can definitely see where Rza got his inspiration for this movie. The only problem is, he created a bad Kung Fu fantasy instead of putting out a memorable film. As many people have already described this film in detail, I'm not going to go into the plot. But suffice to say, Rap music doesn't belong in a 19th century period piece. It just doesn't. Rza would have been better off getting the film properly scored instead of creating a Rap soundtrack for the background music. It was very distracting.

Second, Rza choosing to have an African American character in the film, working as a blacksmith, might have worked. The only problem is, he chose to play the role himself. I have to agree with what others have already stated. Rza is not a very good actor in general. Add to that his street flare as he delivers his lines, and you have a mismatch character who doesn't really belong in the story. As a result, It was difficult to buy into his role. Had he picked a seasoned actor instead, it might have worked out. But as is, this film was likely a life long dream of his, so I guess he had to fit himself in somewhere. In retrospect, it was a mistake.

I commend him, however, for tapping into the Asian American acting pool for his lead roles. Lucy Lui did well enough, as did Ricky Yune. Jamie Chung also appears in the film as Rza's love interest, but she doesn't really get enough screen time to leave her mark. It seemed like she was mainly there to give Rza's character a connection to the film. Russell Crowe also appears and his acting is always good. But in this case, he seemed out of place. His character was odd and seemed to be written in just to have an excuse for more star power on the screen. At least, that's the way it seemed to me.

The martial arts were OK, but they don't hold a flame to the HK classics from the 70's and 80's. My advice is, if you want a good Kung Fu flick, just go to the source. Either check out some Shaw Brother's films or look for some filmed by Golden Harvest Pictures. They have real Kung Fu stories that work while showcasing excellent Kung Fu. Rza's version is more of a Kung Fu parody that pays homage to the genre, but doesn't really hit the mark.

In the end I gave the film 2 stars. Rza did manage to insert some of the ideas you expect in a Kung Fu flick. He also enlisted the aide of Asian American actors, so he gets another star for that. But overall, this is not a great film. It's just too far out of the norm to be a good Kung Fu flick. All you're left with while watching this film is a lingering hope that it might improve. But unfortunately, it never does. Definitely a one time rental at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible in every sense, March 16, 2013
By 
Nicholas Kropp II (Yorktown, Va. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have not seen this film, don't EVER watch this film! This is a complete and utter waste of time. With the expection of perhaps two or three of the main actors giving their all to roles they certainly knew were bad, there is really nothing I can say nice about this movie.

1. The story is aweful, that's putting it nicely because I could rant for an hour on how bad the story is alone.
2. The acting is just as bad. The only saving grace is watching Byron Mann (Ryu from the first Street Fighter movie) play a ridiculous character. To be fair, Russell Crowe and Rick Yune seemed to do their best at trying to save bad roles.
3. The music selection is distracting. Choosing to play nearly incoherent rap over unexplained scenes that supposedly impact the story line does nothing but distract from whats going on. In fact, there are entire sections of the film I can barely remember simply due to how disconnected the music was.
4. RZA, and everything about him. I may be unfairly bashing RZA (the actor for the main role and director responsible for this travesty), but every part of his involvement in the movie is most notably horrible. He can't act, period. When he is attempting to deliver dialouge he can barely be understood. The costume wardrobe he has for most of the film would be laughable if it actually felt like it was intended to be a joke (he spends about half the film walking around a beat up Chinese village dressed like Ezio from the Assassin's Creed games). His atempts at fighting are pathetic, like watching kids with a camera play power rangers. All the decisions for the film were his responsibility as the director and therefore I can aim all my disappointment squarely at him.
5. All the combat scenes are bad. I can appreciate the Tarantino style gore, but to actually do "wire-fu" this bad in a kung fu 'parody' goes beyond deliberate and into the realm of incompetent. The film could have been justified if all else were bad so long as it actually had engaging fight scenes (the movies it's based on were like that), but this movie fails on that most important ingrediant.
6. Lastly, it feels too long. At only 95-107 minutes (depending on which version you watch), the movie itself is not long, but it is so filled with extranious backstories, worthless side stories and explanations, and forgettable if not unhearable dialouge that the movie just grinds on forever.

It's sad to see so many good names drug through the mud in this film. Do not be fooled by the "Tarantino Presents", RZA was the director and main screenplay and story writer for this movie. Knowing that films like this can be done right (see Kung Pow: Enter the Fist and Tarantino's own Kill Bill) and that expectations for this kind of movie really shouldn't be that high, it is a total shame to see a movie like this take money that could have been used for much more worthy projects. DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT as good as an original Chinese Kung Fu movies!, September 15, 2013
This movie wanted to be like a original Chinese Kung Fu movie, but fails as it seems to strange to watch. The action and fights scenes are okay. The story is really weird to watch. It seems like they just threw in a bunch of old kung fu movie cliches in and made a not so believable movie. It is defiantly a interesting watch, but only if you have a lot of free time on your hands. Also, you have to have nothing else to watch, otherwise, you might want to pass on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible, August 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bad directing, bad acting, bad dialogue, bad special effects. Rza tries to squeeze in too many storylines and doesn't do a good job segwaying between these subplots. Which also makes the movie long and drawn out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Homage to the 70s Hong Kong Action Movies, August 3, 2013
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Man with the Iron Fists (DVD)
RZA loves Hong-Kong martial arts movies. Even if you don't know the origin of his group's name Wu-Tang Clan, you know that for sure after watching "The Man with the Iron Fists" RZA stars and directs. Together with such famous actors like Russell Crowe and Lucy Liu, RZA's feature debut includes such veteran Chinese actors as Kuan Tai Chen, Ka-Yan Leung and Chia Hui Liu (credited as Gordon Liu), the star of, yes, "The 36th Chamber of Shaolin."

Unfortunately, loving something is one thing; making it actually is another. "The Man with the Iron Fists" just doesn't have a good story to tell, and a central character that hold our attention throughout the film's running time. Here RZA plays the titular reluctant hero, a skilled weapon-making blacksmith in the 19th century Chinese "Jungle Village," where warring clans fight over power, money and honor.

But I'd rather not summarize the plot which is slow and pretty dull. To be fair, the martial arts sequences are interesting, being choreographed by Cory Yuen (choreographer of "The Transporter" and many others). The gorgeous production design, with the set made in China, is also impressive.

This is RZA's homage to the 70s exploitation movies including Shaw Brothers kung-fu films. Like Tarantino's "Kill Bill," the film is made with love for the genre, but that is not enough to make a compelling action movie that stands on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Man with the Negative Review..., March 16, 2013
This review is from: The Man with the Iron Fists - Unrated Extended Edition (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet) (Blu-ray)
Oh, my. Where to begin? I am watching this steaming pile as I write this. I'm about 45 minutes into it. I am 39 years old, and grew up on Kung Fu Cinema. I have enjoyed "recent" kung fu movies, like Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Iron Monkey, and Kung Fu Hustle. I ran some errands today, and on the way home, hit up the Redbox. That is relevant info, from the standpoint that you need to know at the rental cost of $1.59, I feel completely taken. Holy cow, this is bad. Why Tarantino put his name on the front of this, I have no idea. I know he and Eli Roth (co wrote screenplay) are buds, I guess he owed him a favor. The characters are laughable. With the clans named after animals, there are may bad puns delivered. Take out the violence, and this could be an SNL skit. I have zero idea what Russell Crowe, and Lucy Liu, are doing in this. Are their careers really so bad, at this point? As for the writer, and "star", of this movie, this RZA guy. I will go as far to say that there are some decent ideas here. Rival clans fighting for power, betrayal, cool weapon ideas, etc... The mistake was that he should've had a real writer punch up his ideas, and make it flow better. Second, and BIGGEST mistake? Casting himself as the star. His facial expressions rival only Tim Duncan (sports reference). His lines are delivered in a mumbled, lackluster, fashion, that make the viewer believe nothing. He should have taken a page from those who've come before him, like Tarantino, Hitchcock, and just given himself a cameo, or small speaking part. In closing, I wish I had taken a minute to read the reviews, and spared myself this hot mess. 38 minutes to go, I don't think I'm going to make it. I should've rented SKYFALL. *sigh*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good kung-fu movie reminded me of the old ones, March 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
good movie for a martial arts film. would have like to seen more fighting styles and the other clans in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Product fine, movie stunk, September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Man with the Iron Fists (DVD)
The box and DVD were in excellent shape, but I really would not let a kid watch this movie. Way to stupid in it's suggestive manner of sexual exploitations. That's just my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.