Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Untold Hollywood Story
Aside from it being the first biography of this phenomenal career, "The Man Who Seduced Hollywood" makes for quite a lively, captivating read. It's as if Bautzer were the Citizen Kane of entertainment lawyers, complete with nightclub dancing and studio takeovers. Mr. Gladstone makes legal cases of the stars accessible to the reader, revealing the emotional drives behind...
Published 20 months ago by Zantigar

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Generally solid bio
I found this biography of Bautzer satisfying, informative and easy to read.

However, one must always be careful to not blindly accept as true all stories about the people mentioned in this book.

As is the case with an enormous number of biographies - especially celebrity biographies - much use is made of other biographies as a source material. In...
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Untold Hollywood Story, May 1, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Man Who Seduced Hollywood: The Life and Loves of Greg Bautzer, Tinseltown's Most Powerful Lawyer (Hardcover)
Aside from it being the first biography of this phenomenal career, "The Man Who Seduced Hollywood" makes for quite a lively, captivating read. It's as if Bautzer were the Citizen Kane of entertainment lawyers, complete with nightclub dancing and studio takeovers. Mr. Gladstone makes legal cases of the stars accessible to the reader, revealing the emotional drives behind the proceedings - including everything from Ingrid Bergman's lengthy divorce to Kerkorian's takeover of MGM. Superbly done! Written in a clear and enjoyable style, it also works like a time machine, bringing us back to the heyday of Hollywood glamour and revealing the juicy facts we all love to know. From The Brown Derby to the Café Trocadero, Mr. Gladstone vividly transports us to the Golden Age of Hollywood, whisking us to the tables and dance floors of such legends as Lana Turner and Joan Crawford. The beautiful photo section of Bautzer with what seems like half of Hollywood's finest only clinches the deal. For all those who want to know the untold story of how the wheels of Hollywood were moved, I highly recommend "The Man Who Seduced Hollywood".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone interested in behind-the-scenes Hollywood History, May 13, 2013
By 
R. Gale (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Seduced Hollywood: The Life and Loves of Greg Bautzer, Tinseltown's Most Powerful Lawyer (Hardcover)
Actually, this might better be described as a Behind Behind-The-Scenes Hollywood history. We know about the men who ran the studios, but we don't know much about the men who advised them. This book provides a fascinating look at someone with whom I was unfamiliar, but who had his hand in an amazing number of high profile deals, and had another appendage in an amazing number of gorgeous movie stars. This was a man who screwed a lot of his female clients and they thoroughly enjoyed it! The book covers deal making, divorces, organized crime in Hollywood, and Howard Hughes (among other things), and is full of juicy and often unbelievable anecdotes involving Humphrey Bogart, Frank Sinatra, Joan Crawford, Ingrid Bergman and Bugsy Siegel, to name just a few. Business will never be done this way again, and this gives us a compelling look at the way it was. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Business as Pleasure: A wonderful romp through Hollywood history, May 13, 2013
This review is from: The Man Who Seduced Hollywood: The Life and Loves of Greg Bautzer, Tinseltown's Most Powerful Lawyer (Hardcover)
This is a captivating tale of a man whose rise as a film industry power-broker nearly matches the trajectory of the Golden Age of Hollywood itself. Gladstone does a marvelous job bringing Bautzer to life in the context of a whole panoply of well-known Hollywood stars and elite. Indeed, within the industry, no distinction was made between Bautzer and the stars he represented and bedded; Bautzer was unquestionable A-List in Tinseltown. But the magic of the book is the magic of Bautzer himself, a man of dynamic charisma and self-destructive inner demons. Gladstone illuminates the ineffable way in which charisma sets the course of Bautzer's career, as well as the way in which seemingly opposite personality traits can coexist in a single person. Even more so, the author should be commended for not simply presenting a tale of schadenfreude (we've all read "Oh, look how all that glitz and glamor merely plastered over a seedy, gritty underbelly!" before), but really presents the industry as it was (and is), a series of interlocking, sometimes rational, sometimes irrational relationships. This little gem is, in its own way, the best precis of the Golden Age of Hollywood to come out in years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb biography of a Hollywood legend!, June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Seduced Hollywood: The Life and Loves of Greg Bautzer, Tinseltown's Most Powerful Lawyer (Hardcover)
Whoever takes a serious interest in old Hollywood and starts exploring the web will, sooner or later, stumble upon the name of Greg Bautzer. The more you explore, the more and more the name pops up at the most unexpected of places. Greg Bautzer, Greg Bautzer. Why, you ask? He was, in a nutshell, the lawyer to the stars. His power in Hollywood was huge, and his reach was wide and his mark was deep.
This was a man who helped create Tinsel Town as we know it today.
Yet, why do more than 95% of the movie going public, who know who Humphrey Bogart, John Wayne, Charles Chaplin, Kate Hepburn (and so on) are, have no clue who Bautzer is?
Despite his obvious merits, Bautzer is not well known today.
The problem with him is that all info you can gather online puts him in a secondary role - he was either Howard Hughes' close associate, or Joan Crawford's boyfriend, Lana Turner's fiancée, Ingrid Bergman's lawyer, and the list goes on. It is an impressive one, speaking of a colossal figure, but the fact remains - Bautzer is always the marginal one, the less distinguished of the two names.

For this reason, I was very much surprised when Bautzer's biography surfaced. Never in a thousand years did I expect that, of all the neglected Golden Era Hollywood personalities (and that's a long list!), he would be one of the few selected to get his own book.
Mister Gladstone, the author, made a great choice. Bautzer was both a active player and spectator during many a hours that shaped Hollywood. His unique position - always there but never in the focus, makes him a wonderful subject for a biography, albeit not an easy one to write. Mister Gladstone strikes gold in this unenviable, gargantuan task that after all the heavy loads carried, reaps its own sweet reward.

Bautzer was a man of great complexity and extremes.
On the one hand, he was - as a true Tinsel Town resident - often a shallow and superficial man. Examples: dating several women at the same time - being a sucker for keeping up appearances, egoistical and a hedonist who liked to drink.
On the other hand, he was a genius lawyer, intellectually sharp, immensely charismatic - and most important of all - loyal and devoted to the very end to his friends and family.

Both sides are well presented and balanced in the book - I got a feeling of knowing so much about the man - not just the facts and dates, but HIM, his core and personality. Now comes the "biggest" ingenuity of the book (the very thing that puts it in a five star category - not an easy category to reach) - how much it is written in "Bautzer style".
Let me elaborate: while a familiarity develops towards Greg during reading, I never "felt" for him. Before you think this is a bad thing, I will say this: Bautzer was not a meek and overly emphatic man and this is exactly how he would have done it. Never in the book did I ache for him or shared his pain (as I did in some of the other biographiesI read in the past) - always he came off as an almost larger-than-life force, an intimidating ball of fire set on burning all hindrances and obstacles. There is no false sentimentality and things are made swiftly and to-the-point. Nothing sappy and lovely-dovely to find here. This way to go through life is both a blessing and a curse - it made him a powerhouse but also an emotional cripple. But that was just the way he was, and I accepted him as such. Pure genius from Mister Gladstone.

A warm recommendation to anyone interested in the golden age of Hollywood, a well written biography that gives a "second life" to a true Hollywood legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hollywood of Old, June 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a youth during the glamour days of Hollywood I was aware of the lawyer who dated the young starlets. Those were the times all of us teenagers dreamed of being rich movie stars. Lana Turner was like Cinderella only real.
This book tells all that was behind all the glitz and glam. All the gauze curtains were pulled away and the wizard was revealed. This was one of my favorite books I read, I read 64 that year. If the golden days of Hollywood intrigue you then you'll enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Remarkable Feat of Resurrection, June 15, 2013
This review is from: The Man Who Seduced Hollywood: The Life and Loves of Greg Bautzer, Tinseltown's Most Powerful Lawyer (Hardcover)
This book is both remarkable and superb. First, the remarkable part. The biography section of your local bookstore or library sags under the weight of books about famous people. This is that rare book about a once famous Hollywood powerhouse who has all but vanished during the quarter century since his death. That disappearance is all the more remarkable if you scan just a partial list of his clients (Howard Hughes, Clark Gable, William Randolph Hearst, Marlene Dietrich) or his girlfriends (Lana Turner, Ava Gardner, Ginger Rogers, Rita Hayworth). Gladstone has done a remarkable feat of resurrection, making the once famous and then forgotten Greg Bautzer come alive again for the reader.

Which brings me to the superb part. The challenge for a serious biographer is to figure out how to do the research necessary to tell the story but then tell that story without loading down the reader with that research. Gladstone accomplishes this metamorphosis brilliantly. The research involved--as recorded in more than 25 pages of endnotes and bibliography--is staggering. Somehow, though, he weaves it all into a fascinating and enjoyable rags-to-riches story of an obscure young lawyer's rise to power and fame. He tells the tale in prose that is clear and concise and witty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie-worthy, authoritative tale of a superhuman stud dealmaker, June 25, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Man Who Seduced Hollywood: The Life and Loves of Greg Bautzer, Tinseltown's Most Powerful Lawyer (Hardcover)
I just finished The Man Who Seduced Hollywood: The Life and Loves of Greg Bautzer, Tinseltown's Most Powerful Lawyer - it is superb - it is as if Madmen, LA Law and Hollywood Confidential morphed into one true story. The writing was compelling, authoritative and so well researched - completely engaging from start to finish. Greg Bautzer was an unbelievable character - like a superhuman stud dealmaker. Truth is truly wilder than fiction. Bautzer's life story - and the narrative of this book - is movie-worthy. Incredibly well-done and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Had not heard of this guy - wow what a life, June 20, 2013
By 
John Paul Mendocha (Grand Terrace, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like Hollywood stories than you must read this book. Also if you like reading about how deals get made than this is a great read. If you like both don't wait a moment longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Generally solid bio, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found this biography of Bautzer satisfying, informative and easy to read.

However, one must always be careful to not blindly accept as true all stories about the people mentioned in this book.

As is the case with an enormous number of biographies - especially celebrity biographies - much use is made of other biographies as a source material. In many cases, the authors of these biographies, reference other bios and on and on it goes, without actually getting to any primary, unsullied, completely verifiable source. In the end, stories gain status as definitive fact solely because they have been repeated over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kind of disappointed..., January 7, 2014
By 
Cbryce "CB" (Albuquerque, NM United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not as good as some of the reviews, for me. I have read a lot of Golden Age-era books, so I knew who Bauzer was. But as well as being a bio, this book goes into far too much detail about complicated business deals with Howard Hughes, Kurt Kervorkian, and others. Large segments of the book are given to these dealings, which we boring in a biography, and also mini-bios for every new person introduced to the narrative, even though most were celebrities whose bios are well known. So, a lot of waster words, for my taste. Also a lot of stories and rumors, much repeated, about various stars and studio owners, which may or may not be true, but are found in many books. If this book was whittled down to just a bio about GB, it would be much shorter. Lots of repetition, i.e paragraphs about important and well-known he was. Also too much detail about his war efforts, even though he seemed to spend much of WWII enjoying himself.

Yes, he was THE attorney for much of Hollywood, and yes, he certainly dated a lot of actresses. Those things I already knew coming into the book. The only parts new to me really were his early life and his marriage.

Also I took with big grains of salt what some of his women said about him, years later, i.e Ginger Rogers. claiming how badly he wanted to marry her. He notoriously avoided marriage for the most part, during his years on the rise, much preferring being single and was never faithful to any of his women, not even Lana. If he wanted to marry Ginger, or others, no doubt he would have, since most of the actresses he dated married numerous times...what was more?

If you don't know his story and manage not to glaze over all of the business deals, it is not a bad book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Man Who Seduced Hollywood: The Life and Loves of Greg Bautzer, Tinseltown's Most Powerful Lawyer
$27.95 $19.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.